Republic bank locking bank accounts for fraud?

Re: Republic bank locking bank accounts for fraud?

Postby stev » July 9th, 2012, 9:01 am

my mother used only 2 ATMs for the month of June and her card got affected.

Scotia Bank in Price Plaza and Scotia Bank in Mid Centre Mall.

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 9:33 am

SR wrote:
2 weeks ago a friend used his wife's cc to pay for gas and signed mickey mouse on the slip
just to prove a point

Reminds me of the time I was helping out my friend at his bar, he was short staffed that night and I got one signed "drunk" :lol: :lol:

Postby pete » July 9th, 2012, 10:15 am

SR wrote:many merchants staff are either not trained properly or careless in accepting cards for payments

2 weeks ago a friend used his wife's cc to pay for gas and signed mickey mouse on the slip
just to prove a point

If the signature is important at gas stations then how come you don't have to sign at ANY gas stations where you swipe at the pump?

Are they going to upgrade the local system to have the touch sensitive LCDs to sign on?

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2012, 10:20 am

My sig never consistent. I would be in trouble yes.

Postby SR » July 9th, 2012, 11:19 am

banks need to move to the chip technology
only republic has done so

Postby r3iXmann » July 9th, 2012, 11:29 am

i always get my signature checked and asked for id when i pay with my credit card..how come?

wait,dont answer that :(

Postby Hook » July 9th, 2012, 12:28 pm

^^^ :lol:

crazybalhead wrote:My sig never consistent. I would be in trouble yes.

I've input my sig into RBL's system at least three times since 1993 and they STILL don't have it on file. I fed up. ATM withdrawal and cheque deposit box for me oui.

SR wrote:banks need to move to the chip technology
only republic has done so

I have had my One Card replaced since 2001 or thereabouts and have never changed it since or received any notification that it needs to be changed. Does this mean that my card can be easily compromised? Should I get a new one?

Postby SR » July 9th, 2012, 12:37 pm

chip technology is for your credit card
atm bank cards are not replaced unless it either is damaged or suspected fraud

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » July 9th, 2012, 12:41 pm

ummmmm. u all only tlkin bout the linx cards or normal bank cards..
the credit card on thje other hand dont require no pin to operate. One the credit card info is copied and can be transfered on to another card and be used as norm. an we all know dat u dnt need pin to use credit card unless its a withdrawal. PROB A ID card and this is easily attainable illegally. SO I wana assume the skimmers were targeting peeps dat actually use their credit card to withdraw cash

my assumptions

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 2:14 pm

SR wrote:chip technology is for your credit card

Hard luck dey hook, no chip going on no linx

Postby pete » July 9th, 2012, 2:20 pm

The whole issue is with DEBIT cards. So the chip on Republic Credit cards didn't make anyone less prone to attack..

Postby Hook » July 9th, 2012, 2:20 pm

^^^ is that what u thought my question was about?

Postby pete » July 9th, 2012, 2:23 pm

To answer your question Hook, yes your One card could be easily compromised but the banks have notified everyone who they suspect has been compromised and told them to come in for a new card (and disabled their accounts in the interim).

Postby Hook » July 9th, 2012, 3:07 pm

:lol: tnx...I was chookin' Stefon tho...u posted a second b4 I did

Postby Stephon. » July 9th, 2012, 3:13 pm

A man thief meh bull dey?

Postby Hook » July 9th, 2012, 3:16 pm

PM me for details on how you could still redeem it

Postby eliteauto » July 9th, 2012, 5:10 pm

webb

Credit /ATM card skimming

Postby webb » July 10th, 2012, 6:20 am

The U.S. Secret Service estimates identity thieves scoop up billions of dollars per year through “skimming,” where they place tiny devices on credit card slots and pin pads to capture your account information. It can happen at ATM machines, gas stations, even inside stores. Here’s advice from the experts to protect yourself:

1. If an ATM machine doesn’t look right to you, you can literally tug on the card slot to see if it’s lose. Crooks often install their skimming devices right over the real one, and many consumers have had them come off right in their hands.

2. Cover your hand while entering your PIN number, so that if criminals have installed a surveillance camera, they won’t be able to see your secret code.

3. Experts suggest “re-pinning” your credit and debit cards every six months. You just go to your bank and swipe your card through a little gizmo and choose a new PIN.

4. When it’s time for a new credit or debit card, you can ask for a fresh card number. This will stop the cycle of theft, if your old card has already been compromised.

5. Thieves often install skimmers inside gas pump credit card slots. To thwart them, pay inside or pay cash.

6. And finally, consider using a credit card rather than a debit card, so that if crooks DO access your account, they are stealing the bank’s money not your own money. That way, you won’t be out your own funds while the bank investigates.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 10th, 2012, 7:49 am

Them should hang them kants when they catch them.

Postby eliteauto » July 11th, 2012, 10:04 am

2 men were detained in an exercise last night

Postby sharkman121 » July 11th, 2012, 10:10 am

crazybalhead wrote:My sig never consistent. I would be in trouble yes.

sigh..me too

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 11th, 2012, 10:27 am

eliteauto wrote:2 men were detained in an exercise last night

that's good cause is pol like them who doing the credit card fraud too.

silver

Postby silver » July 11th, 2012, 3:50 pm

you know the penalty for card fraud is like 60 days in jail and/or a pathetic fine right?

The legislation needs to deal harshly with these types of criminals, they are caught many times and are back to their trade in a few months.