Re: Highway drag race kills 3

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 6th, 2011, 3:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:Its good no innocent ppl were involved..let them kill theyself

x100

Postby toyolink » June 6th, 2011, 3:46 pm

The loss of young people on our roads in cases like these continue to hit like a dagger in the hearts of many parents like myself.
The folly of the young now-a-days brings with it a high risk of final terrible results.There is really no room nor acceptance of indiscretions on our roads,and parents continue to live in fear that tonite might be last for our kids when they are on our roads.
We beg,we shower our hopes for a safe trip,we call to find out where you are and we pray.
The youth and the young we know are prone to lapses in judgement (and maybe that is what being young is about) but how can you convince this group that the magin of error which may have been there before has gone.
Maybe, the only way is to properly populate the roadways and highways with police patrols and spotters.....but then again if wishes were horses beggars would ride!
Hope these boys are in a better place.
In closing this post i would like people to consider the saying that....he who is without sin should cast the first stone!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 6th, 2011, 4:13 pm

toyolink wrote:
In closing this post i would like people to consider the saying that....he who is without sin should cast the first stone!

I dont think a dragster would say it good they killed themselves and no other innocent motorist

Postby A172 » June 6th, 2011, 4:18 pm

wtf is a 'dragster'?

d spike

Postby d spike » June 6th, 2011, 4:34 pm

toyolink wrote:The loss of young people on our roads in cases like these continue to hit like a dagger in the hearts of many parents like myself.
The folly of the young now-a-days brings with it a high risk of final terrible results.There is really no room nor acceptance of indiscretions on our roads,and parents continue to live in fear that tonite might be last for our kids when they are on our roads.

Too late. The folly of many parents is to attempt to bend the tree when it has grown too big.
If you have brought up your child to not appreciate the consequences of his actions, then you are just as much to blame for his "indiscretions" as he is. You are your child's first and greatest teacher. If you screw up, then you end up with a screw-up. Simple.
I have had to work with and deal with too many results of failed parenting.

It's easy to consider the children of slackers and criminals to be the results of poor parenting, but the offspring of hard-working, materialistic folks are also damaged goods - they grow up recognizing what you have is more important than how you live. Those who state, "my child will not have it as hard as I did" are creating kids who lack their work ethic, among other things - which are all connected to the ability to make right and sensible decisions.

Children must be taught: Actions have consequences. We are responsible for everything we do, everything we cause to happen.

toyolink wrote:We beg,we shower our hopes for a safe trip,we call to find out where you are and we pray.

As my own mother would say, you are wasting your energy. Doing these things makes him make the right decisions? So after you pass on out of this world, who is going to do all that? Why are you doing it? If you had done your job right, your child would be capable of making proper, adult decisions.

Either lock him up in a box, or let him live his life, reaping what he sows.
Learn from your mistakes and make an improved model... if you can't, then don't.

toyolink wrote:The youth and the young we know are prone to lapses in judgement (and maybe that is what being young is about)

Not necessarily so, for learning (and making errors) takes place throughout life. However, one teaches one's children to become aware of their surroundings, to be aware of the possibilities that can occur, and to identify the possible outcomes of an action. Your job as a parent is to instill in your offspring the respect for what is right. Teaching only takes place when learning occurs. If your child persists in error, then you didn't do your job.

toyolink wrote: but how can you convince this group that the magin of error which may have been there before has gone.

If you wait until they are performing adult actions, like forming adult relationships, driving a car, or earning a living, and you have yet to convince them to identify actions/decisions that are dangerous, that make them a danger to themselves and others... you have waited too long to do your job. Parenthood is preparing children to be adults... not making grown-up children do the right thing. All you are doing is unleashing a threat into our society.

toyolink wrote:Maybe, the only way is to properly populate the roadways and highways with police patrols and spotters....

The only way is to govern and certify those who should drive... and those who shouldn't.
The boy clearly should not have had the responsibility of driving a motor vehicle.
(Again I state that parenting should be a certified ability.)

toyolink wrote:In closing this post i would like people to consider the saying that....he who is without sin should cast the first stone!

Quite right.

Last edited by d spike on June 6th, 2011, 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » June 6th, 2011, 4:41 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
toyolink wrote:

I dont think a dragster would say it good they killed themselves and no other innocent motorist

Yesterday, some guys were saying that they view the youtube vids of local street racing,seeing the number-plates of almost all the vehicles,seeing what they do,even on the hiway,when there are 'normal' motorists lined up at traffic lights,they are in front,they shoot out in front everyone,doing their race.

Then when they come on tuner, the same men here, and we have a big banner saying RASR!

Its funny how men 'modify' their rides, go drag racing at nights, then the next day, say that 'those fools drag racing/ good they dead/etc.

Most of us on tuner,whether we have a modded car or not,will tend to speed, be it against a next car going same direction, cuz you get vex he pass yuh! You wont admit it tho, but if a b13 pass u and u driving a s13/s14/skyline/civic/whatever,,,yuh vex,and yuh wanna pass him so u accelerate and ''gee dem fyaz''.

Sad to see young lives lost, as we do see more almost every day on the media, but guess he couldnt handle it.

Dont say ''Gone too soon/untimely death/so young and they died. If God wants you, He takes you, no matter what time/day/year, no matter your age etc.

Flame on Trinituner Street Racers.

Postby Greypatch » June 6th, 2011, 5:15 pm

Highway drag race kills 3
By Innis Francis South Bureau

Story Created: Jun 5, 2011 at 10:47 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jun 5, 2011 at 11:13 PM ECT

Innis Francis...the ROAD IS NOT A DRAG STRIP...

ROAD RACE MAY BE A BETTER TITLE>>>educate yourself..

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » June 6th, 2011, 5:30 pm

d spike wrote:
lostallos101 wrote:ok so i really wanna know why they chose "drag racing"....did someone see them drag racing? i see nothing about that in both articles so speeding it was...

Where have you been all this time? The previous Commissioner and the media have made it very clear that any car that crashes is either the result of an obscure "drag race", or "loss of control", or both.
Please don't bore the choir to death by preaching to them...
I beg you, on behalf of all those who wore the pages thin with futile arguments, don't dig that dead argument up again...i see...i don't watch the news so much again so now i know

lostallos101 wrote:...this would not be a prolem if the government would just build a strip of road for people with heavy feet to dent their floor panel and release the fyazz inside them

So when the idiot crashes and burns doing this on a specially-built "strip of road" it won't be a problem? A nut behind the wheel is a nut wherever he drives, and a dead nut is just as dead wherever he chooses to decorate a roadside pole. The only difference is that he won't be a risk to illegal cyclists, pedestrians and protesting politicians - only gaping spectators.hmmm...point taken....but reason i said that is due to tracks usually having safety procedures and anyone in breach of it usually banned or something so some form of control would have to be established but i understand what you mean

lostallos101 wrote: better yet a autodrome or something if they so wanna make money off it

You're walking on thin ice here, lad. Suggesting the building of an "autodrome" to reduce speeding accidents would mislead the public to associate fast car-owning arses with motor-racing enthusiasts. (The former will crash and kill themselves and others wherever they drive, as I said before.)
...but this argument has also been beaten to death on this forum...

WAIT...never said that would stop speeding but i guess any "fast car" accident would be linked to it regardless....why i said autodrome is its would be viewed as a more substantial reason for building somewhere for people to use instead of just a simple track as it would be a more dedicated official area with the stands and whatnot

sinistersam

Postby sinistersam » June 6th, 2011, 6:28 pm

when did this happen? saturday night?

if i could remember correctly, saturday night was really rainy, therefore the road would have been wet and slippery, so they didn't have to be racing as stated, he could have just been driving recklessly fast on wet roads and could have just lost control.

nevertheless its a terrible way to die and for family to lose love ones.

rip to them all.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » June 6th, 2011, 6:31 pm

Someting i noticed today while headin north bound. Jus before the vacinity of the accident the road tends to get voilently unstable. If u drivin inna car with fair suspension you may not really notice it but iam sure in an older model car it could cause it especially at a high speed. Maybe this can be a contributing factor.
Check it out urselves when ur passing by. That piece of road kinda dangerous at high speeds.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 6th, 2011, 6:49 pm

Those guys were definitely going VERY fast on that strip, judging from the length of the skid marks before impact as well as how far that concrete slab (about 30 cubic feet in volume) was dragged onto the side road. They did not stand a chance, and the sad part is that this will continue, many persons automatically speed up when heading north and there is the switch from 2 to 3 lanes at Caroni. Onlookers and the EMTs stood by for about half hour until fire officers could arrive and cut the car open. Very fortunate that another car wasn't involved....

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 6th, 2011, 7:27 pm

sad ending

Postby turbosingh » June 6th, 2011, 7:32 pm

Heard the Sonata pumping a Sr20vvl....

Postby toyolink » June 6th, 2011, 8:40 pm

I truly wish the behaviour of the homo-sapien was as clear cut to define and control as a previous tuner(s) have made it out to be.
My pragmatic experience as led me to believe differently.

kieronbrooks

Postby kieronbrooks » June 6th, 2011, 8:49 pm

cinco wrote:any display of speed on a highway is called drag racing
we all know the papers could never use that term correctly

So true who d fudge is drag race wit a sonata dem tellers rip but don't hate cuz I am pretty sure they was not drag racing

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » June 6th, 2011, 9:01 pm

aye dem fellahs from up on my side........never saw them, don't even know them.....then again, I does only spend the night here.....

as you were.....

legoRB

Postby legoRB » June 6th, 2011, 9:05 pm

RIP...

SR men again...

Postby Damien » June 6th, 2011, 9:53 pm

wow rip!!!

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » June 6th, 2011, 9:55 pm

is Jack Warner fault. who say put pole there?

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » June 6th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Just for the record i am a UNREPENTANT street racer and all speed does is just make a bigger mess.

d spike

Postby d spike » June 6th, 2011, 10:27 pm

toyolink wrote:I truly wish the behaviour of the homo-sapien was as clear cut to define and control as a previous tuner(s) have made it out to be.
My pragmatic experience as led me to believe differently.

The decisions, and thus actions, of a person are made based on their values. These values are created due to environment, experience, guidance and wisdom.
Of course your experience would lead you to believe differently - your post makes it clear that you have not been exposed to the same environments, experiences, guidance and wisdom that I base my statements on. There is nothing wrong with that - one does what one can with what one is given.
Look at yourself - how come you consider driving like an idiot to be a rash thing? The knowledge you acquired to come to this decision came from somewhere. As a parent, you should ensure this sort of knowledge comes to your child before he is in a position to make decisions in which his safety and the safety of others depend on having such knowledge. You don't take a child for a boat ride before he knows how to swim.

toyolink wrote:We beg,we shower our hopes for a safe trip,we call to find out where you are and we pray.
The youth and the young we know are prone to lapses in judgement (and maybe that is what being young is about) but how can you convince this group that the magin of error which may have been there before has gone.

As far as being pragmatic is concerned, experience has shown that the above concerns spoilt, self-centered brats.

Would you have to beg a rational person to drive safely? Why give a child access to a vehicle, if he is incapable of making mature decisions regarding the use of it? Because he is "old enough"? Who are we fooling? Isn't it that he should be ready? Age has little to do with it, other than being a vague gauge of readiness. (You hope he would be ready by that age.) Just because a person can get married at 18 doesn't mean that one should. These people that are described in the previous quote may have fed and clothed their children, but, clearly, never gave them the tools to become mature, rational adults. They just raised their children to grow up into adult-sized children - and it is these "big children" who refuse to take responsibility for their actions, causing all sorts of havoc in today's world... from speeding dangerously and recklessly on our roads, to running companies that willfully pollute our environment.

As I said earlier:
"Yuh could make ah chile, but yuh cyah make he mind" is a standard cop-out for slack parents who prefer not to be held responsible for the loose cannons they inflict upon the wider society.

Parenthood should be taught and made a certified/licensed activity.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » June 8th, 2011, 6:57 pm

d spike wrote:
An old and true statement goes, "If you do not condemn, you condone..."

There's a line that lies between the two....his actions was condemed on numerous occasions by many....supporting the love for a sport is ok...however,the lines become blurred according to the choice of time and place..........

d spike wrote:"Yuh could make ah chile, but yuh cyah make he mind" is a standard cop-out for slack parents who prefer not to be held responsible for the loose cannons they inflict upon the wider society. (I say parenthood should be certified.)
.......I somewhat agree/disagree to that statement,.....Horses are led to the water but can we make it drink?....

d spike wrote:At least he didn't cross the median and snuff out a carload of other folks.
........Agreed.........

......I stood there..... over the Coffins of Dillon and Dale today..The first time i felt the temptation to slap a dead guy and...ask why? The consequences of bad decisions (sigh).....At the end of the day..a lot of lessons learnt indeed.....

d spike

Postby d spike » June 8th, 2011, 8:59 pm

slimshiney wrote:
d spike wrote:
An old and true statement goes, "If you do not condemn, you condone..."

There's a line that lies between the two....his actions was condemed on numerous occasions by many....supporting the love for a sport is ok...however,the lines become blurred according to the choice of time and place..........

As far as "if one does not condemn..." is concerned, I was referring directly to the father's response to his son's actions - my response was about the parent in question.
d spike wrote:
slimshiney wrote:Buddy.....you gotta father two sons, nurture them to where they were...and then....... get the call he got saturday night.......U might understand then..:?

Nurture, you say...
An old and true statement goes, "If you do not condemn, you condone..." If the father 'nurtured them to where they were', then why did they feel the need to drive at that rate?
Either their father knew about the boy's speeding habit and said nothing...
Or he spoke to the boy, and the boy ignored him - another habit that must be nurtured to gain root...

As far as "supporting the love for a sport is ok...however,the lines become blurred according to the choice of time and place..." is concerned, I have a problem with this.
Driving like a damned arse is not supporting any sport - unless there is a sport that gambles on multiple ways to die. Lines are never blurred where this is concerned. Either you take part in a sport, or not. A sport requires a specific environment. You don't go swimming where there is no water. A man who is killed while standing on the highway with a cricket bat will not be described as "an avid cricketer who mistook the asphalt for a pitch", but a "damned idiot". Unfortunate... harsh... but true.

slimshiney wrote:
d spike wrote:"Yuh could make ah chile, but yuh cyah make he mind" is a standard cop-out for slack parents who prefer not to be held responsible for the loose cannons they inflict upon the wider society. (I say parenthood should be certified.)
.......I somewhat agree/disagree to that statement,.....Horses are led to the water but can we make it drink?....

Good response, but not an accurate one.
"Leading a horse to water..." refers to presenting an opportunity to someone, but not being in control of whether they accept it or not... A child is a horse of a different colour (sorry :lol: ), as you are SUPPOSED to have control over his learning environment - this is what I tried to explain in another post - thus enabling him to make proper judgements in his adult life.
Please bear in mind that this "control" only holds sway up until approximately early to mid-thirties. After that the human is (hopefully) matured enough to make proper decisions in spite of the home environment's culture. Parenting creates a base/foundation... but it must be built.

slimshiney wrote:......I stood there..... over the Coffins of Dillon and Dale today..The first time i felt the temptation to slap a dead guy and...ask why? The consequences of bad decisions

Very sad... I really feel for their family. Burying your child is painful, and to bury two at the same time...

I was told of a fisherman in St. Vincent, who continually told his son not to go swimming off a specific jetty, due to the dangerous currents there. When he was called to that very spot to identify his son's body (the child drowned while swimming there) he asked for a moment alone with his boy. The onlookers complied, but to their horror, the old man proceeded to tear off his belt and blaze his dead son, crying, "Yuh too blasted stubborn! Yuh know how many times..."

May it serve as a lesson to those who are blinded to their own error, by their own stupidity, pride and a misplaced sense of immortality.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 8th, 2011, 9:16 pm

in my younger years, I honestly played the arse many times in terms of speeding and DUI.....I was lucky (and I do mean lucky) not to have or have caused accidents.....

wised up in time.....

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » June 9th, 2011, 4:07 pm

d spike wrote:
Driving like a damned arse is not supporting any sport - unless there is a sport that gambles on multiple ways to die. Lines are never blurred where this is concerned. Either you take part in a sport, or not. A sport requires a specific environment. You don't go swimming where there is no water. A man who is killed while standing on the highway with a cricket bat will not be described as "an avid cricketer who mistook the asphalt for a pitch", but a "damned idiot". Unfortunate... harsh... but true.

By all means sir...............A time and a place for everything......I'm saying the lines become blurred when there is no clear cut definition..... (individual perception)...we take something that would have been fun, legal and accepted........then twist it.....just by the change of time and place.....All sports carry a level of risk with it...some even gamble with life..The risk level runs red when the instructions are not followed .....They went diving into an empty pool....the consequences followed.........