http://blog.us.playstation.com/2011/04/21/latest-update-on-psn-outage/

humm no reason for the outage? ... strange

iDynamic

Re: SONY currently under attactk !!

Postby iDynamic » April 21st, 2011, 4:28 pm

here : Worldwide PSN Outages — for two whole days

Code: Select all

According to the PlayStation Blog (US & EU), the PlayStation Network (PSN) is currently experiencing worldwide outages. It’s unclear who is responsible for this downtime–could this be the work of an outside group called Anonymous? Perhaps, but they haven’t claimed responsibility yet. We’ll keep you posted as this story develops.

blog.eu.playstation.com:

As you are no doubt aware, the current emergency outage is continuing this afternoon and all Sony Online Network services remain unavailable. Our support teams are investigating the cause of the problem, including the possibility of targeted behaviour by an outside party. If the reported Network problems are indeed caused by such acts, we would like to once again thank our customers who have borne the brunt of the attack through interrupted service.

Our engineers are continuing to work to restore and maintain the services, and we appreciate our customers’ continued support. For further information, please refer to updates on PlayStation.com, here on PlayStation.Blog and via our @PlayStationEU twitter feed.

blog.us.playstation.com:

We’re aware certain functions of PlayStation Network are down. We will report back here as soon as we can with more information.

Thank you for your patience.

Update: Sony has updated the status of PSN–these outages may last for two whole days:

Code: Select all

While we are investigating the cause of the Network outage, we wanted to alert you that it may be a full day or two before we’re able to get the service completely back up and running. Thank you very much for your patience while we work to resolve this matter. Please stay tuned to this space for more details, and we’ll update you again as soon as we can.

Swisha

Re: SONY v.s Hackers - (PSN in critical condition)

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2011, 4:48 pm

and to think all they had to do was let ppl jailbreak their PS3s in peace :lol:

Postby Chimera » April 21st, 2011, 6:12 pm

great..no blackops...might as well play some assasins creed brotherhood yes

Postby S_2NR » April 21st, 2011, 6:55 pm

AllTrac wrote:If you buy a product, then its yours, how you choose to mod it is your business, imagine if car companies did this...

i agree..sony being stupid!
go anonymous! :mrgreen:

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 22nd, 2011, 2:02 am

AllTrac wrote:If you buy a product, then its yours, how you choose to mod it is your business, imagine if car companies did this...

dawg sony doh make money off d machine... dey make money off d games... if ppl piratin d game... how dey go make money? anon sour cuz dey realise dey contradictin deyself by attackin psn... now dey wa hold sit in in dem sony store an dem lmao (it have a sony store in trinidad?)

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 22nd, 2011, 9:55 am

^^^ wa?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 22nd, 2011, 12:05 pm

from what i gather , he said :

Scoobert Bauce wrote:

01100100011000010111011101100111 sony doh make money off d machine... dey make money off d games... 01101001011001100010000001110000011100000110110000100000011100000110100101110010011000010111010001101001011011100010000001100100001000000110011101100001011011010110010100101110001011100010111000100000011010000110111101110111001000000110010001100101011110010010000001100111011011110010000001101101011000010110101101100101001000000110110101101111011011100110010101111001001111110010000001100001011011100110111101101110001000000111001101101111011101010111001000100000011000110111010101111010001000000110010001100101011110010010000001110010011001010110000101101100011010010111001101100101001000000110010001100101011110010010000001100011011011110110111001110100011100100110000101100100011010010110001101110100011010010110111000100000011001000110010101111001011100110110010101101100011001100010000001100010011110010010000001100001011101000111010001100001011000110110101101101001011011100010000001110000011100110110111000101110001011100010111000100000011011100110111101110111 dey wa hold sit in in dem sony store 0110000101101110001000000110010001100101011011010010000001101100011011010110000101101111 (it have a sony store in trinidad?)

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 22nd, 2011, 12:13 pm

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 22nd, 2011, 1:07 pm

now Im with them, they disabled the update service feature on my SE w810i

full powah anon

Postby Stephon. » April 22nd, 2011, 1:25 pm

LMAO You guys are supporting anon as if they're going to benefit any of you in the end!

Hopefully Sony get a hold of everything and everything goes back to normal soon. I'm hardly ever on PSN but come on.

Postby tr1ad » April 22nd, 2011, 1:33 pm

man it real crappy to have a long weekend like this and can't play online....

now i have to resort to going to the bar and drink

Postby sharkman121 » April 22nd, 2011, 1:39 pm

blessing in disguise...really needed to start my assignments yes

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 22nd, 2011, 1:55 pm

tr1ad wrote:man it real crappy to have a long weekend like this and can't play online....

now i have to resort to going to the bar and drink

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 22nd, 2011, 9:09 pm

ShIvAm wrote:^^^ wa?

sigh...
Sony Computer Entertainment of America does not generate revenue through your possession of the Play Station 3, they generate revenue through selling the rights to create programs called 'games' to operate on the interface of aforementioned Play Station 3 to companies that make these games, and as these games sell, they can pay Sony, and they too, can generate revenue. If they allow owners of the Play Station 3 to modify their gaming systems in order to play illegal copies of the games, also known as 'pirate' and 'burn' games, revenues generated by legal versions of games will decrease, game creators would not make money and pay Sony, and thus, Sony will not make money, hence the lawsuit.

The group Anonymous, known as Anon for short, realised that they have contradicted their core values by attacking the Play Station Network, aka psn as this act inconveniences the same persons they claim to protect, and now, out of desperation, planned a form of protest called sit ins at Sony exclusive stores around the world, which FAILED MISERABLY. and on another note, is there a Sony store here in Trinidad?
dat clear enuff?

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 23rd, 2011, 12:01 am

ooo english, nice! :|

Postby Stephon. » April 23rd, 2011, 1:33 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:The group Anonymous, known as Anon for short, realised that they have contradicted their core values by attacking the Play Station Network, aka psn as this act inconveniences the same persons they claim to protect, and now, out of desperation, planned a form of protest called sit ins at Sony exclusive stores around the world, which FAILED MISERABLY. and on another note, is there a Sony store here in Trinidad?
dat clear enuff?

And these are the same people supporting their "hack" :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 23rd, 2011, 12:44 pm

Update On PlayStation Network/Qriocity Services
+ Posted by Patrick Seybold // Sr. Director, Corporate Communications & Social Media

An external intrusion on our system has affected our PlayStation Network and Qriocity services. In order to conduct a thorough investigation and to verify the smooth and secure operation of our network services going forward, we turned off PlayStation Network & Qriocity services on the evening of Wednesday, April 20th. Providing quality entertainment services to our customers and partners is our utmost priority. We are doing all we can to resolve this situation quickly, and we once again thank you for your patience. We will continue to update you promptly as we have additional information to share.

PlayStation.Blog

casper

Postby casper » April 23rd, 2011, 2:02 pm

gosh man...the people in here that supporting this takeover by anonymous and relating it to nissan not allowing you to mod ur car being the same situation as this are relll Sony haters man...when nissan sell u a car they already made their money by the car sale...is not like they sellin the car to u at a loss and make back the money everytime you put gas in it :?

Scoobert is right...Sony doesnt make money off their console sales...but rather their games they sell after...ontop of that they gave u free online play, a blueray player and one powerful ass machine all in one console....when XBL PERMANENTLY banned all the people who modded their Xbox and were playing online with it where were you guys??? how come no one said anything bout that?...with alyuh same philosophy, ent when u buy an XBOX its ures??? why whud you have to keep paying for yearly membership to play online? plus still hadda buy stuff from the store???

THATS robbery!!!!!!!

Postby Stephon. » April 23rd, 2011, 2:13 pm

@casper Half the people supporting anon doesn't even own a PS3 :lol:

casper

Postby casper » April 23rd, 2011, 2:26 pm

^^^yea i'm pretty sure they dont

the whole point of this takeover by d hacker group "Anomynous" is just really childish if u ask me...they complaining that sony enforcing rules and guidelines to follow when u buy a PS3 which they shouldnt be doin cuz after u buy it it's YOUR property...but sony doesnt make their money on console sales..they make it by the games u buy afterwards...so in all fairness Sony not wrong for doing what they doin...

these ppl have no respect for copywrite laws...Sony shud put them behind bars forever...that come like u buyin an original destra cd and because u buy it original and it's now ures...u feel its right that u go and burn over 100,000 copies of it and sell dem for $20 each....after u sell 100,000 of those burned destra cds what percentage of the market u left for destra to make her sales???

dem fellas is sum rell selfish children boi weyyyyyyyy

Postby sharkman121 » April 23rd, 2011, 2:30 pm

lol casper doh beat up, PSN cmin back jus now :lol: :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 23rd, 2011, 2:30 pm

lol @ these holier than thou ppl up in here :lol:

pretending like them doh download movies and mp3s :roll:

and the issue of jailbreaking the PS3 is not about pirating games alone. a lot of ppl were up in arms when Sony decided to remove OtherOS support through firmware updates and ppl who already had Linux installed on their consoles lost it

casper

Postby casper » April 23rd, 2011, 2:34 pm

ok ok lemmie hush now cuz i does d/load level movies and songs freal....carry on :lol:

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 23rd, 2011, 2:44 pm

mitch wrote:lol @ these holier than thou ppl up in here :lol:

and the issue of jailbreaking the PS3 is not about pirating games alone. a lot of ppl were up in arms when Sony decided to remove OtherOS support through firmware updates and ppl who already had Linux installed on their consoles lost it

Yup, I think the removal of Linux support is what really got users pissed and was one of the main things that attracted a lot of users to the console.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 23rd, 2011, 2:52 pm

sharkman121 wrote:lol casper doh beat up, PSN cmin back jus now :lol: :lol:

he must beat up cause right now he is like a fish out of water .... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Stephon. » April 23rd, 2011, 4:01 pm

:lol: Well true but
I buy mp3s, depends on the artiste though.

BUT the point is all anon is doing is inconveniencing people and won't accomplish much at the end, all they're doing is delaying the time PSN users have before they're able to go online again.

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 5:33 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:

Yup, I think the removal of Linux support is what really got users pissed and was one of the main things that attracted a lot of users to the console.

This isnt about pirating games at all. (although this is the agenda sony wants to show)

Geohot was trying to fight against them also not just for the PS3 device alone but for safeguarding the jailbreaking of all devices. well that's what he said on his blog. As mitch said... it all started as a result of Sony removing the ability to add OS' such as linux builds onto it. Something that was stated as a Feature by Sony when the PS3 was released.