Political Question, UML, evosti et al jump eeen

Postby ronsin1 » October 21st, 2009, 8:37 pm

wait ah minute buzz, so you telling me I can't vote just because I don't have a degree

W8

Postby W8 » October 21st, 2009, 8:40 pm

buzz you quoted spike, he drives a vauxhall which is a poor life choice in itself LOL I kid I KID.

But I get where you're coming from with the lack of education, and the greed and inconsideration. The sad part is, quite alot of those people actually do NOT lack education.

But it really is a matter of morals and this flipping race thing that ppl LOVE.

Last elections I was driving thru Brasso Seco and bend one of the hairpins, on the other side in the road was a maxi with ppl having a drink up. A woman taking a piss on the corner itself in front of the maxi and smiling from ear to ear. Mih boy turns to me and says, to imagine is dem picking we next leaders...

But I guess we could try a votes based on a point system and you get points for different things like in the book 'In the Wet' .

So a point for stability, a point for education, a point for national service of some kind, to add up for your votes?

Postby 16 cycles » October 21st, 2009, 8:56 pm

how about....as long as you paying taxes, you legible to vote?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 9:06 pm

how about we let every adult citizen vote and then WE as a society spend the time, effort and money behind making our population regain its morals and values again.

the problem with that is none of us want to actually and physically have to do it ourselves.

we ourselves have lost some morals and values and do not realise it. We often know what is right but do not practice it.

the shameful part of this is we have reached a point where we will not even help ourselves. We see someone breaking the law and we all we do is shake our heads, but we do nothing to correct it and nothing prevent it from happening again. Imagine if we adopted the same approach to raise our own children - that is definite doom.
And it will only get harder to reverse as time goes by.
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on October 21st, 2009, 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 9:07 pm

W8 wrote:buzz you quoted spike, he drives a vauxhall which is a poor life choice in itself LOL I kid I KID.

But I get where you're coming from with the lack of education, and the greed and inconsideration. The sad part is, quite alot of those people actually do NOT lack education.

But it really is a matter of morals and this flipping race thing that ppl LOVE.

Last elections I was driving thru Brasso Seco and bend one of the hairpins, on the other side in the road was a maxi with ppl having a drink up. A woman taking a piss on the corner itself in front of the maxi and smiling from ear to ear. Mih boy turns to me and says, to imagine is dem picking we next leaders...

But I guess we could try a votes based on a point system and you get points for different things like in the book 'In the Wet' .

So a point for stability, a point for education, a point for national service of some kind, to add up for your votes?

Ahem...

While your point about morals (I think you mean ethics) is right re tribal politics, you may have missed Buzz' point. Education is used to form levels of qualification in order to identify levels of appropriation - not to see you know more English or Maths. It is assumed by all civilized society (past and present) that acquiring education goes hand in hand with acquiring ethics and wisdom. Thus it is that the higher up the ladder you go in a career, the greater the qualifications required. Logarithms and abstract maths are not needed to run a bank, but society expects that if you need discipline to learn a discipline, then the more you learn, the more ethics (or morals, if you will) you acquire.
Thanks to easier access to information and easier and faster forms of communication, knowledge is being broadcast more easily than before - but I would think that the Jedi would know the difference between knowledge and wisdom... :lol:

Finally, my observant lad, of the Kia Sportage, Escort, and Vauxhall that I have (and a Galant I have access to), the Viva is the most fun to drive... not kidding.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 9:11 pm

^ fair enough but knowledge does not make one wiser unless he is so inclined.

that inclination is what Buzz may be seeking, but how do you really test for that?

Postby Greypatch » October 21st, 2009, 9:13 pm

all alluh spinning top in mud..

at the end of the day the masses with 10 pickney and no water voting fuh dem "gods"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 9:15 pm

^ truer words...

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 9:21 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:how about we let every adult citizen vote and then WE as a society spend the time, effort and money behind making our population regain its morals and values again.

the problem with that is none of us want to actually and physically have to do it ourselves.

we ourselves have lost some morals and values and do not realise it. We often know what is right but do not practice it.

the shameful part of this is we have reached a point where we will not even help ourselves. We see someone breaking the law and we all we do is shake our heads, but we do nothing to correct it and nothing prevent it from happening again. Imagine if we adopted the same approach to raise our own children - that is definite doom.
And it will only get harder to reverse as time goes by.

You HAD to go and get serious, eh? An' I was havin' such fun...
You're quite right, though, and take a look at this:
would you say that there is a definite change in the way many young people are thinking regarding tribal politics? The kind of discussions I hear now tend to involve individual thinking (yeah, yeah, yeah, I know there still are racially and ethnically biased people out there who talk loud and long - but we have always had them) and these people are starting to speak out. If this trend continues (and it has to do with education, but let's not start that argument again) then the days of tribal politics are numbered.

Wha yuh say?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 9:37 pm

yes, but

d spike wrote:Thanks to easier access to information and easier and faster forms of communication, knowledge is being broadcast more easily than before

same goes for hate, racism and stupidity
they use the internetz to share their ideals too!

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 9:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yes, but

d spike wrote:Thanks to easier access to information and easier and faster forms of communication, knowledge is being broadcast more easily than before

same goes for hate, racism and stupidity
they use the internetz to share their ideals too!

Can't argue wi' dat...

W8

Postby W8 » October 21st, 2009, 10:22 pm

d spike I ent doubting that, twas a joke, I half pledge to the English flag.

His argument was not about wisdom though, it was about knowledge, Education and meritocracy, but I guess that point is clarified anyway.

I would love to know how to get people to care about others tho' and willing to make a change.
I personally don't believe that we as a people have the courage to change ourselves

I say this cus I used to work at a certain state company that I ended up leaving. Despite FLAGRANT problems and inconsistencies, everyone talked about doing things different and being honest in hushed quarters. when the boss lady came in all the peons scampered and did as they were told. NO ONE stood up and said hey maybe this ent so kosher.
And dem had PLENTY more qualifications than I could dream of, before it's asked, in fact alot had more than she did.