one more time ("illegal tint") define...

v_persad@hotmail.com

Postby v_persad@hotmail.com » September 10th, 2009, 1:32 pm

fellas, 2000ttd what? them police men go take bribe like that!! officer hold at 500 dey. n u free! more corruption more than nething else..! all ah dem blasted corrupt!!

Postby equipped2ripp » September 10th, 2009, 6:15 pm

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 10th, 2009, 6:54 pm

when yuh see a police car with tint ... take a big stone and pelt

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 10th, 2009, 6:56 pm

curtains FTW

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 10th, 2009, 7:02 pm

i sent out a letter to the editor

rossi

Postby rossi » September 10th, 2009, 9:42 pm

sigh.....this is a long battle....just give it some months and it will die down, as with everything TRINI.

oh btw, they should have roadblocks in ALL crime "hot spots" and make those gangsters pull off their tints...an i mean EVERYDAY of the flikkin week...don't just target hardworking me over here...

i hate tnt rite now...sigh..... :cry:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2009, 11:35 pm

here is a letter from the Transport Commissioner defining the "legal density" of tint

here is the resulting letter back from the TAA sent out to the media for publishing

silver racer

Postby silver racer » September 10th, 2009, 11:50 pm

^^^ um the dates are diff! the TC letter is may 12th 2009 an d Taa lttr is sept 9th 2009..

so he sayin it hav no std density???? :? :shock:

Postby Hook » September 10th, 2009, 11:56 pm

silver racer wrote:^^^ um the dates are diff! the TC letter is may 12th 2009 an d Taa lttr is sept 9th 2009..

of course the dates different....the first letter is the TC's pig-headed response to a query on the topic that was launched during the major tint crackdown around the time of the Summit...the second letter once again appeals for clarity on stipulated guidelines concerning tint density after the increase in fines for "illegal" tint in the last budget presentation

geez
Last edited by Hook on September 10th, 2009, 11:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2009, 11:57 pm

^ he feel is MSN

silver racer wrote:^^^ um the dates are diff! the TC letter is may 12th 2009 an d Taa lttr is sept 9th 2009..

yes thats what I said - they sent a letter to the transport commissioner and he replied in May - given the new fine of $2000 the TTA wrote a letter on Sept 9th

silver racer

Postby silver racer » September 11th, 2009, 12:01 am

:oops: :oops: i didnt see the line sayin resulting lttr lol.. :oops: :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2009, 12:10 am

^ no probs

I can't see why the transport division or the police can't invest in some transmission densitometers

this portable one costs US$1000
http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=25

that's around the same amount as 3 persons fined for illegal tint
They only need half a dozen of these to cover all the possible simultaneous road blocks around.
surely they can have this pay back for itself while ensuring that those who abide by the law have peace of mind.

silver racer

Postby silver racer » September 11th, 2009, 12:17 am

^^^ exactly!

silver racer

Postby silver racer » September 11th, 2009, 12:19 am

an also if they clearly stipulate a standard % it will be much less a nuisance!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 11th, 2009, 10:19 am

"I can't see why the transport division or the police can't invest in some transmission densitometers "

This seems so fundamental, but it is too easy.

First recommendations have to be made to the minister, then advice sought from his senior public servants, then some body will say OK, then tenders sought, tenders opened, cost of equipment now $100,000.00, supply time about 1 year, and on and on and on...

Look at the Radar equipment (already used in Guyana) and the Breathalyzer, lost in red tape.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 11th, 2009, 10:53 am

Guyana have the radar before we do???

AHH yes- trinidad the place where you can become a caveman again!

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 11th, 2009, 12:49 pm

but jsut like the breathalizer the problem lies in the fact that there is no law to goven this.. jsut like the dna bil that i think was only just jsut pased through one house.. it is rediculous that u an i can buy the correct equipment and the powers that be seem oblivious to the existance of these equipment.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 11th, 2009, 3:05 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ no probs

I can't see why the transport division or the police can't invest in some transmission densitometers

this portable one costs US$1000
http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=25

that's around the same amount as 3 persons fined for illegal tint
They only need half a dozen of these to cover all the possible simultaneous road blocks around.
surely they can have this pay back for itself while ensuring that those who abide by the law have peace of mind.

I can ask ruben himself but when we spoke last week , he outlined to me that he was very busy with the computerization project and dissident licensing seniors

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2009, 8:47 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Guyana have the radar before we do???

AHH yes- trinidad the place where you can become a caveman again!

Narend, Devi and I were stopped in Guyana in 2007 by a radar wielding officer on the road for going 7km/h over the 30km/h speed limit on a road long like the uriah butler with nothing but bush on both sides

truth be told, trini dunno nothing about radar, so I swear the man had a hair dryer in his hand and told Narend to press-out before that madman give us a gerry curl and a perm.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 12th, 2009, 11:20 am

The letter i sent out to the editor was published let me know what you all think

I got ideas on writing it from reading this thread.

Let me know what you all think.

It is in today's (Saturday) express.
Last edited by noyztoyz on September 12th, 2009, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 12th, 2009, 11:28 am

Good work NCD

Rx

Postby Rx » September 12th, 2009, 11:46 am

evo-STI-k wrote:Well I certainly HOPE that this law will APPLY to ALL across the board.

because some of the most HEAVILY ILLEGALLY TINTED cars are

POLICEMEN

LISCENCING OFFICERS

MINISTERS

GOVERNMENT VEHICLES.

Make EVERYONE RIP off ALL tint

Set the example those officers in authority!

wah about Cheechers ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2009, 1:21 pm

noyztoyz, did you post it here? if not you should.

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2009, 2:15 pm

to easy and simple is the problem,
the govt approach has to be blimp style, plenty money and hoorah to
blind the masses

breathalyzer will probably never get put in place
too many friends of politicians and people in high places will get stopped

govt can't afford to rock the boat and offend their people

AutoSport wrote:This seems so fundamental, but it is too easy.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 12th, 2009, 7:10 pm

i dont know how to access the article on the express website,

i tried to cover everything

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2009, 7:37 pm

unless u wrote it by hand and mailed it in, u can still copy and paste it from whatever document or email u sent to the editor

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 12th, 2009, 9:27 pm

Ok here is it

Dilemmas over new tint laws

Many praise the government for the new tint fines approved by the budget,
Its sad that many cannot see properly how more backwards we just pushed ourselves.
One must realise that there are may reasons that citizens have dark tint on their vehicles.

1) We live in the tropics in a changing climate where I in my 20% tinted vehicle fully air-conditioned have problems dealing with the heat.
Its going to get a lot worse now. Also there stands the harmful cancerous effects of UV radiation which me and my little kids in the car seats in the back will be forced to accept now.

2)During the recent tint crackdown i was forced to removed all tint from my vehicle. I have a lot of electronics in my car that was concealed by that dark tint when my car was parked anywhere. I have had heavy tint for 2 years and never had my car robbed of its valuables. In the past 3 months alone however, i have had 2 break-ins and looting into my car, with huge losses and no response after help was requested from the police services. I was forced the remove my tint and forced to deal with the consequences alone. I cannot park my car safely anywhere anymore.
Did anyone who set these regulations ever experienced having to run out to meet their car and bandits after being alerted by its security system that it had been tampered with?

3)Corruption is being forced onto police officers now. A small payout or a $2000 fine?

4)I have seen fully legal 35% tint being stripped from cars because police officers could not see through at 9 pm during a roadblock.
You cannot be checking tint during the night, and anytime without a light meter to measure the tint density.
It cannot be subjective. Check out the state of California laws on vehicle tinting and learn.

5)If it remains subjective and clear guidelines are not set and meters are not used to measure tint percentage, many more traffic courts will have to be opened up.

6)The tint laws have been implemented before the breathalyser act. Which one would benefit this country more? Maybe the dead will answer this one.

7)The new tint laws will not reduce road fatalities and will only go a certain level to reduce crimes committed by criminals using tinted vehicles, but its benefits will be much outweighed when hundreds of cars get their windows smashed and their valuables cleaned out, remember "What the eye can't see, the heart can't grieve."

I beg those in charge to consider these points and get out of that box.

Just like in the state of California we should be allowed down to 30% tint on our front side windows, any density on rear sides and back windows, and just a 4" deep strip on our front glasses.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2009, 9:38 pm

^ I hope you didnt send it to the newspaper in blue.

noyztoyz wrote: I have had heavy tint for 2 years and never had my car robbed of its valuables. In the past 3 months alone however, i have had 2 break-ins and looting into my car, with huge losses

noyztoyz wrote:Just like in the state of California we should be allowed down to 30% tint on our front side windows, any density on rear sides and back windows, and just a 4" deep strip on our front glasses.

but if they listen to you an allow 30% how will your valuables be "protected"?

also I don't agree with "any density on back window" - it helps with road safety and safer driving conditions when you can see through the car in front you. The reaction time will be greatly increased if drivers behind you cannot see the car infront you. While there are vehicles like panel vans and trucks that completely block your view you should want to make things as safe on the road as possible for you and other drivers, not make it worst.

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2009, 9:51 pm

noyztoyz wrote:
1) We live in the tropics in a changing climate where I in my 20% tinted vehicle fully air-conditioned have problems dealing with the heat.
Its going to get a lot worse now. Also there stands the harmful cancerous effects of UV radiation which me and my little kids in the car seats in the back will be forced to accept now.

you should get your a/c checked........I drove a car with NO tint and a glass sunroof for a year and had no issue with heat or the a/c struggling.......do a search and you will find virtually clear tints that still keep your car cool.....and there are security films to deal with bandits...........in any event, the argument about tint deterring bandits is a weak one.......ppl with heavily tinted cars get their windows smashed too......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2009, 10:17 pm

noyztoyz wrote:

you should get your a/c checked........I drove a car with NO tint and a glass sunroof for a year and had no issue with heat or the a/c struggling.......do a search and you will find virtually clear tints that still keep your car cool.....and there are security films to deal with bandits...........in any event, the argument about tint deterring bandits is a weak one.......ppl with heavily tinted cars get their windows smashed too......

agree with this fully