Best Place to Purchase A HDTV

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 20th, 2009, 12:38 pm

madman.devin wrote:most sony tv's sucks balls, well the ones avaible locally. Bring in ur tv u'll get a better tv for a nice price. lcd sucks ass to buy plasma for get about burn in that was a problem 5 yrs ago not anymore.

plasma is on the way out. Dying technology.
The highest end plasma has better picture quality than the highest end LCD
true

but when looking at midrange stuff, plasma is a huge waste.

buying a plasma tv now is like buying a HDDVD player now.

anyway you are not making any sense whatsoever.

slow323

Postby slow323 » May 20th, 2009, 12:44 pm

check ssl power seller he also sells tv's

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 20th, 2009, 1:11 pm

plasma isn't dying, panasonic has 21 new tv's for 2009 13 of which are plasma.
Plasma has superior colour and black levels when compaired to even the high end lcd, imho lcd is really slow and lacks real colour and doesn't even show black just a kinda dark grey.

But say what trini's are pretty dumb and belive whatever they read on a forum.
to each his own yes

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 20th, 2009, 1:25 pm

madman.devin wrote:plasma isn't dying, panasonic has 21 new tv's for 2009 13 of which are plasma.
Plasma has superior colour and black levels when compaired to even the high end lcd, imho lcd is really slow and lacks real colour and doesn't even show black just a kinda dark grey.

But say what trini's are pretty dumb and belive whatever they read on a forum.
to each his own yes

Panasonic Plasma = Fail
Plasma = Fail

Plasma is being Phased out. Fact.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 20th, 2009, 1:50 pm

rodfarva = FAIL

lol i guess i appreciate a higher quality picture than u.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 20th, 2009, 2:02 pm

madman.devin wrote:rodfarva = FAIL

lol i guess i appreciate a higher quality picture than u.

not if your backing panasonic Plasma

Theyre ok. Definately lower middle of the pack.

Then again, picture quality is subjective. So your 'appreciation' of image quality might be pretty high for some people.

The only good Plasmas are made by Pioneer.

See a doctor, you might be color blind... or color retarded.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 20th, 2009, 3:13 pm

It makes no sense arguing about something u'll only see in stores.

Panasonic is the largest plasma manufacturer in the world Pioneer used to buy their screens from them, BTW pioneer plasma are now owned by sharp.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 20th, 2009, 3:25 pm

madman.devin wrote:It makes no sense arguing about something u'll only see in stores.

Panasonic is the largest plasma manufacturer in the world Pioneer used to buy their screens from them, BTW pioneer plasma are now owned by sharp.

it doesnt matter who makes what.
Each brand is built to different specifications, even if its made by another brand.
Just because Panasonic manufactures another brand's Screen, it doesnt mean that Panasonic has the same quality as that other brand.
Built to lower standards, using different image processing chips, etc.
thats like saying carib and stag taste the same because carib makes stag.

Either way, your talking about a dying breed.

LCD has Typically better Resolution to size ratio
LCD (LED backlit) has caught up in terms of Contrast Ratio
LCD Picture is crisper
LCD Rarely suffers from Burn In
LCD has a longer lifespan
LCD draws less power
LCD weighs less

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 20th, 2009, 3:32 pm

OK You WIN LCD rocks

HOLD THIS !

ps oled is the future, lcd should only be used for pc monitors fugging bs

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 20th, 2009, 3:42 pm

forget about TVs on the whole there all on the way out ....get urself an HD projector thats where its at now

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 20th, 2009, 3:48 pm

the projectors nice but the price dred in a few years i'm getting one for my tv room tho :D infocus ftw

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 20th, 2009, 4:04 pm

madman.devin wrote:OK You WIN LCD rocks

HOLD THIS !

ps oled is the future, lcd should only be used for pc monitors fugging bs

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 20th, 2009, 4:05 pm

na u can pick up a projector for just over a 1000US now, which is about the same if not less than the price they selling these HDTVs here for.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 20th, 2009, 7:02 pm

hmmm call circuit zone 2day cause i wanna go get a tv 2morrow...saw the 37" Sharp Aquos and it looks WAY better than the 32"

Circuit Zone tech guy told me that the Toshiba is by far better than the Sharp tv's so i was a bit confused..radio shack ppl told me toshiba good 2..but they only sell toshiba so i eh studying them...they jus wanna get their stuff sold..

but circuit zone has both the sharp and the toshiba and i was told that the toshiba was really better.... so 2morrow when i go i'd have to check...

really wanting the 37" Sharp though but the onnly place i getting it is in Trincity mall which i dont wanna buy it in that store..some AGH Trading or something so....doesnt look like a place i wanna buy something from..

Does anyone know where i can get a sharp Aquos 37"??

Thanks.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 20th, 2009, 7:58 pm

TriniVdub wrote:na u can pick up a projector for just over a 1000US now, which is about the same if not less than the price they selling these HDTVs here for.

Plus the price of a good screen.

JJ16 call them tomorrow and get the model # they have and google it Cnet has some great reviews. U'll learn about the tv and how often it fails and so fourth.

I bought a 64" projection tv from comfort zone only to realise that the Tv needs replacement bulbs every 2-3 yrs, they don't sell them, and it's a common problem with that tv, so it pays off to do a lil research.

Wizard

Postby Wizard » May 20th, 2009, 8:34 pm

2000 usd can get you into a pretty decent hd projector and screen these days plus you can make your own screen wall with specialty paints for under 1000 usd

does anyone know if pricemart or circuitzone actually honour warranties if something goes wrong

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 20th, 2009, 8:59 pm

have u checked comfort zone right here in chaguanas in island mall ...they had some really nice sharp aquos @ good prices

like i said b4 to my eyes d sony bravia showed more brighter\clearer to me than d sharp \ samsung & some other big brands when i saw them together in pricesmart & other places ....d sony showed clearest in any store i went & checked so thats y i bought a 40" bravia just b4 xmas last yr ...no regrets

i like d bravia 1st & d aquos picture quality is a very close 2nd IMO

u cud read a million reviews & opinions BUT its what ur eyes like so go to places & get some demos .... btw _ some smart stores have their sets being demoed with original blueray disc movies so they show damn crystal clear so doh expect ur burnt pirate dvds to show that clean ..... :|

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 21st, 2009, 1:41 am

(...Rovin...), :lol: u know i never knew it had a CTC in chag...where is island mall..is that the one nxt 2 mid centre? i living chag all my life, but doh really go down chag at all..so i aint to familiar with the places in chag....

but hmm comfort zone and circuit zone may be on the same level i guess when coming to warrenty and prices.... so far circuit zone has the best prices, but i somehow feel CTC will also have the same exact prices....i'd go and check for either a bravia or a aquoas..but for sure i hadda get something tomorrow