trottle body cleaning

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 6th, 2008, 1:58 pm

Yea the PCV vents one way.......right back into the intake manifold!

I always believed that the PCV vents blow-by oil and gases back into the intake manifold for combustion.

No, the CK is not throwing ah set of oil........just ah "why not" mod.

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2008, 2:02 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:bars is not for TB.......i dropped my car to change an intake manifold gasket by L&D, and they used bars to clean the TB.......because bars does not lubricate the TB.......its sticking now.......going to scrap it out tonight.

Amsoil Power Foam?

Postby Dave » February 6th, 2008, 2:17 pm

No, the CK is not throwing ah set of oil........just ah "why not" mod.

if no residue in intake path then sell it and do a next mod

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2008, 2:20 pm

okie..I get a very thin oily residue like prolly every 3-4mths when I'm servicing...does it warrant the installation of a catch can?

Postby Dave » February 6th, 2008, 2:28 pm

if u have the $300 or so then ok
a basic cleaning of the intake pipe might be all u need every 3-4mths as an option to the $300
4ag's are a different kettle of fish though

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2008, 2:34 pm

well thas d thing....any oil residue that get into the airbox that don't get sucked into the ITBs basically pools up at the bottom of the pan, which gets sucked back into the IM by the ISCV anyway...

I just concerned about the ITBs, cuz to take those things out and clean them is a real hassle, so the less oil vapours the better..not so?

what's the service interval for cleaning a TB anyway? or is it a case where u leave it alone until it decides to act up?

Postby Dave » February 6th, 2008, 2:44 pm

so the less oil vapours the better..not so?

yup and in the case of the 4ag then oil catch can is warranted
u can also use a filter to vent outside but the filter would require cleaning also

tb's is a 60k -80k km, check, service/replace

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2008, 2:54 pm

the filter may well be the cheaper option (iz like wha, $85 for a K&N vent filter?), but on that topic I'm concerned about the operation of the PCV valve

doesn't one end of the cam cover need to be vented to TB for the PCV valve (valve connected between IM and cam cover) to operate poperly?

Postby Dave » February 6th, 2008, 3:02 pm

but then the filter needs re-oiling
get the mesh type if going that route

the pcv and the breather is 2 different vents on the valve cover
never do away/alter with the pcv system and its operation

Postby RBphoto » February 6th, 2008, 3:32 pm

^^There are kits that vent both the breater and the PCV outlet on the cover to the exhaust. It uses the exhaust blowing across the nozzzel of the tube (inserted at an angle into the tailpipe) to create a vacum to evacuate the blow by. Personally, I would leave the PCV alone, as it regulates the vacum on the crankcase to a constant level.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 6th, 2008, 5:17 pm

^^^^ a venturi nozzle? never came across one of those to take out blow-by.....

who is the distributor for Amsoil here???? might try that Power Foam

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 6th, 2008, 6:49 pm

^^Last got a can by Marud Marketers, Union Rd, Marabella.

Dave, I decided to not mess with the operation of the PCV setup, as you suggested, and make life simple. The catch can is now between the tappet pan and the air intake.

Its working out a lot better!.... :wink:

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 7th, 2008, 10:39 am

^^^^^bess place to locate it, and if engine starts to back pressure it will come in handy to handle the excess oil....

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 7th, 2008, 1:52 pm

Rudman, pics?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 9th, 2008, 5:05 pm

Got some free time to take some pics. This is how the overall installation looks:

Note that I did not mess around with the hose form the PCV valve. The tappet pan breather hose that normally runs to the air intake is plumbed to the catch can.

I did not plumb the can back into the air intake, I gave it its own breather.

Then I sealed off the nipple that connected the breather hose to the air intake.

None of that crappy stuff is ever coming back into my intake again!..... :D

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 9th, 2008, 7:30 pm

hold on......doesnt the PCV vent to the intake suction and the breather vents to the manifold? or i have it backwards? :?

Postby Hook » February 9th, 2008, 9:18 pm

backwards...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 9th, 2008, 11:13 pm

^^^cool....thanks :wink:

blazing

Postby blazing » February 11th, 2008, 8:04 am

Dave wrote:never do away/alter with the pcv system and its operation

Out of curiosity.. why can't you put a catch can between the PCV and manifold as well? I've seen many cars with catch cans for each valve.

After all, oil does pass through there as well and grimes up the manifold.

Postby Dave » February 11th, 2008, 8:12 am

why not put it back into the path?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 11th, 2008, 9:02 am

blazing wrote:
Dave wrote:never do away/alter with the pcv system and its operation

Out of curiosity.. why can't you put a catch can between the PCV and manifold as well? I've seen many cars with catch cans for each valve.

After all, oil does pass through there as well and grimes up the manifold.

Yea Dave, why not? I have seen this done as well, hence my initial confusion.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 11th, 2008, 9:41 am

Dave wrote:why not put it back into the path?

X2^^^^^^^^^^ :roll:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 11th, 2008, 11:36 am

the PCV valve needs vacuum to operate properly if its plumbed as shown in the pic oil vapors just staying in your engine. The right way to do it is plumb it inline between the PCV valve and the manifold...same goes for the breather that goes to the air intake. This is how I did mine..and u could use a filter for pneumatic power tools (they use it to filter water vapor out of the air line so it doesn’t damage the tool) for a fraction of the price for a commercial OCC. Its like 200$ in peaks and it works great...there is even a tap under it to make draining it easier. Mine is usually 1/2 full every 5k km. I use a light oil..10w30

Postby Dave » February 11th, 2008, 11:39 am

I lorse too, always wondered why rudman and ryansouthman

i doing mine soon and plan on plumbing it back into the intake

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 11th, 2008, 12:54 pm

the PCV valve needs vacuum to operate properly if its plumbed as shown in the pic oil vapors just staying in your engine. The right way to do it is plumb it inline between the PCV valve and the manifold...same goes for the breather that goes to the air intake. This is how I did mine..and u could use a filter for pneumatic power tools (they use it to filter water vapor out of the air line so it doesn’t damage the tool) for a fraction of the price for a commercial OCC. Its like 200$ in peaks and it works great...there is even a tap under it to make draining it easier. Mine is usually 1/2 full every 5k km. I use a light oil..10w30

That's a good idea there outlaw, never though of that.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 11th, 2008, 1:34 pm

^^ and it looks just as good as commercial occ...ill take some pics of my setup later this week

blazing

Postby blazing » February 11th, 2008, 10:06 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:the PCV valve needs vacuum to operate properly if its plumbed as shown in the pic oil vapors just staying in your engine. The right way to do it is plumb it inline between the PCV valve and the manifold...same goes for the breather that goes to the air intake. This is how I did mine..and u could use a filter for pneumatic power tools (they use it to filter water vapor out of the air line so it doesn’t damage the tool) for a fraction of the price for a commercial OCC. Its like 200$ in peaks and it works great...there is even a tap under it to make draining it easier. Mine is usually 1/2 full every 5k km. I use a light oil..10w30

saw it there just last week. You can also use any air/water seperator filter used in refrigeration systems. I'll wait until i get 2 good aluminium cans though.

Rudman, you should reattach the vacuum hose and add a 2nd can

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 12th, 2008, 10:29 am

Yea blazing, plan on doing that as soon as I check out the ones in Peaks.

Postby Hook » February 12th, 2008, 10:33 am

^^^ get back to us on the different types (if any) and take pics if u can plz

Polydor

Postby Polydor » February 12th, 2008, 12:53 pm

blazing wrote:
[X]~Outlaw wrote:the PCV valve needs vacuum to operate properly if its plumbed as shown in the pic oil vapors just staying in your engine. The right way to do it is plumb it inline between the PCV valve and the manifold...same goes for the breather that goes to the air intake. This is how I did mine..and u could use a filter for pneumatic power tools (they use it to filter water vapor out of the air line so it doesn’t damage the tool) for a fraction of the price for a commercial OCC. Its like 200$ in peaks and it works great...there is even a tap under it to make draining it easier. Mine is usually 1/2 full every 5k km. I use a light oil..10w30

saw it there just last week. You can also use any air/water seperator filter used in refrigeration systems. I'll wait until i get 2 good aluminium cans though.

Rudman, you should reattach the vacuum hose and add a 2nd can

The Positive Crankcase Ventilation valve, or PCV :|

It needs vacuum :!: