i'm turboing my AD

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 1st, 2007, 8:18 pm

hey bro,to share wit picasso...i had a n16 almera with a qg16,i did a lil research online and turboed the engine,even got a friend to bring down forged pistons that would fit the qg16,eveyone told me in wouldn't last...and guess what..they were right.Engine went up in smoke 4 days after in was boosted,it really not worth the time and money.even after boosted,stock SR20's was busting my arse !!! really buya SR20 turbo,it'll cost and work out better.....

and about watching turbo cars pass you.....to turbo a car or to keep a turbo vehicle is what some trinis call "a rich boy hobbie"...if you have the cash,by all means...but there is more important things to spend your money and time on.......like saaaaay....57" plasma tv's...

Thank you for sharing it with these people... RIP QG16DET :(

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 1st, 2007, 8:55 pm

But how much hp allyuh feel i running now? I have the racing intake kit, extractors with a 2" exhaust, platinum plugs heat 6...but changing to iridium soon; and i does use a bit of octane boosters. And i also have 15" tyres 195/65, also with castrol full syntec oil 5W-50. Allyuh feel ah pass 120hp?

No power gains there. In fact you may lose some because of the intake...and improper MAF calibration.....

QG

Postby QG » January 1st, 2007, 9:12 pm

sad experience there 15devils, but thanks for the info i doh think i wanna experience that so i'll squash the turboing of the qg :| . I am looking at another alternative other than the SR20DET...i'll save that for last, i will look around and do some research and i'll tell you what i will do. I need to come out with a bang, something original or unique.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 1st, 2007, 10:06 pm

qr25
:mrgreen:

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » January 2nd, 2007, 2:22 am

here's some insperation

Postby Dave » January 2nd, 2007, 7:59 am

^^u good if u pass 90whp

hey bro,to share wit picasso...i had a n16 almera with a qg16,i did a lil research online and turboed the engine,even got a friend to bring down forged pistons that would fit the qg16,eveyone told me in wouldn't last...and guess what..they were right.Engine went up in smoke 4 days after in was boosted,it really not worth the time and money.even after boosted,stock SR20's was busting my arse !!! really buya SR20 turbo,it'll cost and work out better.....

was an "autopsy" done to see what gave way?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 2nd, 2007, 8:40 pm

Aye even this man know not to turbo a QG MUHAHAHAH :twisted:

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » January 3rd, 2007, 2:41 pm

my advice go QG18 ....the pistons are weak and they carry the same rods as the GA16 ....

No internal mods and 7psi boost

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 3rd, 2007, 3:30 pm

^^ You advising man to throw away money... I just want to be there when the piston goes through the bonnet. It should be a nice site lmao....

If yall really want to boost the QG16DE then I will suggest that you invest in a good management system. It all comes down to tuning and please do not crank the boost up take your time cause that engine is soft as a Price Mart chair

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » January 3rd, 2007, 4:17 pm

i advising him to turbo a QG18 .....if he want to turbo the qG15 thats his buisness

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 3rd, 2007, 4:29 pm

^^ You see the list of mods on Nissanperformancemg.com just to pull 200whp ? To me that is just a waste of friggin time. It's a unique setup but jeez you can just buy an SR20DET take your time and get the right people to have it running right and you good to go.

JWT

Postby JWT » January 3rd, 2007, 6:30 pm

Picasso wrote:^^ You see the list of mods on Nissanperformancemg.com just to pull 200whp ? To me that is just a waste of friggin time. It's a unique setup but jeez you can just buy an SR20DET take your time and get the right people to have it running right and you good to go.

for once i agree with picasso
sr20det
say what you want no replacement for displacement

QG

Postby QG » January 4th, 2007, 9:17 am

sr20ve wrote:here's some insperation

Is that a QG18?? :D I can consider it but i'm kinda looking at the Neo vvl SR20VE-T and i can go all out with this engine...full works. But if the QG18 can turbo safely; i don't mind taking the risk.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 4th, 2007, 5:32 pm

i'm kinda looking at the Neo vvl SR20VE-T

You know what you sounding like me in my noobie stage. As my grandfather said " You are running around like a headless chicken " Take your friggin time nuh. Do a lil research first. I am not saying there aren't men who thought like you and did a special turbo project... but creep b4 you walk nah. SR20DET's and N/A GA15DE's adn GA16DE's will walk all over you if you don't spend that cash. Boosting a Qg series engine and expecting some good results require deep pockets.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 5th, 2007, 2:06 am

^^ rite is correct.. leave the fireworks show for someone who wants 2 waste time and hard earned cash... u gettin some great advice.. an sr20de can do wonders and wont cost as much jus to get your qg series to pump put 175Whp..

the price u will pay to get your qg to hit that.. that sr20de wud now be ah DET and pumpin somewhere about 220-250 once its done GOOD ! or even more imo

QG

Postby QG » January 5th, 2007, 8:13 am

*sigh* :|

demented

Postby demented » January 11th, 2007, 10:04 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:*sigh* :|

turbo master

Postby turbo master » January 11th, 2007, 11:21 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:No i'm NOT, but who doesn't like to drive a turbo car??? Do u know how hard it is to see turbo car whooshing right pass u, or even yet people papi-showing yuh on d road? I think it's time to go turbo.

dude..its not hard at all..that's pride and sad to say but u sound like a 'young boy'.so what if they have a turbo car.be happy and content with what u have..let them pass n fix up.i had cars with rb20det's n i used to let ppl rev n pass n figure they real fast..only when i mash out..den dey shocked.

jnqaz wrote:
Nissan QG15DE wrote:But how much hp allyuh feel i running now? I have the racing intake kit, extractors with a 2" exhaust, platinum plugs heat 6...but changing to iridium soon; and i does use a bit of octane boosters. And i also have 15" tyres 195/65, also with castrol full syntec oil 5W-50. Allyuh feel ah pass 120hp?

u not even pass 100 yet :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

THIS MAN IS KIXX YES>.yr sig says what?u dont have anything to baet anyoen with and u arent doing yr research.
how much is yr budget?then decide..not cuz an engine putting out plenty HP means u should buy it..do like everyone told u..jus go the sr way..go sr..non turbo first..when u accustomed with that (n have installed brakes n suspension) then look to turbo..its a procedure that has been done hundreds of times..and wont cost u that much.

if u have sufficient $...buy the engine on the ground n do what work needs to be done and can be done with it off the ground..e.g. changing clutch etc..n install..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 11th, 2007, 11:57 am

No i'm NOT, but who doesn't like to drive a turbo car??? Do u know how hard it is to see turbo car whooshing right pass u, or even yet people papi-showing yuh on d road? I think it's time to go turbo.

What's worse: Having a stock QG and getting left out by Turbo cars...or turboing a QG at an amazing 5 psi...and STILL getting left out by a Turbo (OEM turboed) car?

jnqaz wrote:
Nissan QG15DE wrote:
But how much hp allyuh feel i running now? I have the racing intake kit, extractors with a 2" exhaust, platinum plugs heat 6...but changing to iridium soon; and i does use a bit of octane boosters. And i also have 15" tyres 195/65, also with castrol full syntec oil 5W-50. Allyuh feel ah pass 120hp?

u not even pass 100 yet

THIS MAN IS KIXX YES>.yr sig says what?u dont have anything to baet anyoen with and u arent doing yr research.
how much is yr budget?then decide..not cuz an engine putting out plenty HP means u should buy it..do like everyone told u..jus go the sr way..go sr..non turbo first..when u accustomed with that (n have installed brakes n suspension) then look to turbo..its a procedure that has been done hundreds of times..and wont cost u that much.

OK...what suspension mods would you suggest for Mr. Nissan QG15DE? What...TEIN drop springs? Please :roll: Don't even THINK of saying that those are performance springs. Even TEIN says their drop springs are for looks only.

Coilovers - yes (buh doh tell mih Dropzone coilover...those are el cheapo)
Spring / shock combo - yes
Performance Springs only - yes (but not as much as the first two)
Performance Struts only - yes (but if you have performance oriented springs to begin with)

And none...I repeat...AFAIK....NONE of the above are available for the Wingroad/B15/Almera. You could try to swap suspension with something from another nissan car..but most (ah say MOST) of what could be swapped in in this car would still feel "soft" anyways.

have the racing intake kit, extractors with a 2" exhaust, platinum plugs heat 6...but changing to iridium soon; and i does use a bit of octane boosters.

The only thing helping your power there really is the octane booster

"Racing Intake kit"? What brand? Ractive, Arospeed? Read some reviews.....some cases...no gains...or power losses :lol:

Platinum/Iridium Spark Plugs - good for longevity..but don't expect a power upgrade from that. You still have stock ignition Coil Packs ..pushing the same power. So there will be no gains really. Even if you did modify your ignition system...there would be no appreciable power gains IMO.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » January 11th, 2007, 12:06 pm

knight..umm i didnt mention anything..i jus told him to get some better brakes and suspension

what u gettin on for?

QG

Postby QG » January 11th, 2007, 4:02 pm

Well I know the difference between drop low and coilovers, but thanks for the suggestion. I'm working on those things as well.

Postby Maserati » January 11th, 2007, 7:17 pm

You know what you sounding like me in my noobie stage

:lol: :lol: man u make real pelnty threads in them days yes :lol: but u learn and u do it the right way 8-)

QG

Postby QG » January 11th, 2007, 7:28 pm

bump

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 11th, 2007, 7:55 pm

knight..umm i didnt mention anything..i jus told him to get some better brakes and suspension

what u gettin on for?

I think I came across the wrong way. My apologies.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » January 12th, 2007, 9:12 am

Knight1 wrote:

what u gettin on for?

I think I came across the wrong way. My apologies.

jus i find too much ppl on tuner not reading the posts before cuz i stating everything in proper plain english n ppl still misunderstandin n misinterpreting

but cool scene man..doh study it 8-)

QG

Postby QG » January 12th, 2007, 10:05 am

I will be giving Bamboo a call...I think i found the engine that i want. (Something Unique) I'll let you all know what happens.

QG

Postby QG » March 17th, 2007, 1:34 pm

I not too long came back from Bick's in Penal, and i found a QG18 with gear box for $4000 :D . Do anyone know how much it will cost to wire up the engine?

I'm getting real tempted to turbo my QG15 engine because my uncle partner from Oropouche has a turbo QG15 in a white B15- (Automatic) and it working rel good.

I also found a CA18DE with gear box for $5500...front wheel drive too eh :D . I don't want to rush into anything as yet, cause money ain't something that grows on trees.

APACHE

Postby APACHE » March 20th, 2007, 6:37 pm

if u wanna build sumtin unique , i say convert that thing to rwd and suish in a rb ....... lol thaz as unique as u guh ever see

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 21st, 2007, 9:57 am

^^ Them Y11 diff will wring out like a macaroni :lol: :lol:

QG

Postby QG » March 21st, 2007, 5:24 pm

I have plans for this AD boy casso, i will have it up and running like ah mad horse...(with safety in full effect).