3ne2nr fishermen

30hz

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby 30hz » October 23rd, 2013, 8:51 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Never fished there but i still pass an see ppl fishing there...dunno if they still catch anyting ...

A friend of mine frequents there. Goes hunting tarpon, with live mullet. Parks by the lookout and walks in waist high, hand caster only. Saw him pull two in one night- 45 & 85lb respectively.

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2013, 8:57 pm

Where exactly is that?

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 23rd, 2013, 8:58 pm

By the lookout, before peakes

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 23rd, 2013, 8:58 pm

Daz rite before where dey hav the rc boat race an stuff...

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 23rd, 2013, 9:05 pm

Exactly. Water is hot n cold literally. There's also the smaller apple size sea conchs there a certain time of year. The spikey ones. Headache to catch though, you walking in neck high and feeling for them with your toes, muddy, silty and slimy, then hadda dive in for them. And you need bout 30 to make one pot

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2013, 9:43 pm

I dont think the water is hot by rc boat area.
The hot water fom ttec cooling exits on the east side of movietowne
The little bridge by where wrecked cara are parked is the hot river

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 23rd, 2013, 9:45 pm

Daz by d wholesale fish market there?

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 23rd, 2013, 9:54 pm

Where d rc boats ppl does be, dats d foreshore right. My friends and dem pull a seine dey a good while ago, a set of small snook, but I really hear dat during d rainy season dat it does have big cavalli passing there.

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 23rd, 2013, 10:51 pm

The hot n cold don't mix and you feel the difference when moving from one to the other. Yeah, it's what we call the foreshore. Before market n peake's. Right where the rc boats race. My experience there is

You have to get wet and remain all night if your going to catch anything. Bites are few and far between, but that's how big fellas come. Separates the fishermen from the boys

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2013, 11:13 pm

ooh ok, never fished there, water's always silty and that to me means catfish lol.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 24th, 2013, 5:11 am

Used to fish there with pops when it was 'spectrum' next to an old wreck.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 24th, 2013, 8:33 am

ryan99tt wrote:Daz by d wholesale fish market there?

Way past the fish market, literally behind Movietowne, all the way along the foreshore.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 24th, 2013, 9:05 am

meccalli wrote:oh my god, hot and cold, that's my first fishing memories @ 4. My dad grew up in luis st. and they used to swim up hot and cold, catch those hogleg mullet and the tarpon and mangrove snappers behind the jean pierre complex mangroves. It still pains me every time i pass there and see how everything changed. And its happening to williams bay too...sigh. btw you have to pay to go in there now or what ?? :/

On weekends and public holidays you have to pay. $20 per car. Not sure exactly what you paying for though; there isn't any toilet facilities or anything like that.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 26th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Anybody fish today?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 26th, 2013, 10:41 pm

To much rain! Gonna try for tomorrow!

Postby joker » October 26th, 2013, 10:45 pm

sardines close to shore in south ....

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 27th, 2013, 10:01 am

Nothing in chaguarmas last night, but plenty bait dancing on water. Twas a falling tide.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 27th, 2013, 7:20 pm

Went Granville, nothing only catfish. sardines Los iros side and dat salmon biting.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 27th, 2013, 7:33 pm

North coast horrible!!! Too much wind so the sea rough like hell!!! I'm sitting down with a line set out with a small jack as bait waiting for something to take right now!
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382916689.762315.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382916717.160975.jpg

Bait set close to white buoy!!

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 27th, 2013, 7:53 pm

Cool! Hope u get a big grouper:)

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 27th, 2013, 7:54 pm

Where u at?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 27th, 2013, 8:34 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Where u at?

Rock with the light on it in balandra!
Now caught a eel about 5ft cut line and making a do over!!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 27th, 2013, 8:52 pm

New set out! Running sinker.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382921521.731263.jpg

Postby joker » October 27th, 2013, 8:55 pm

yuh on de rock ?!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 27th, 2013, 9:07 pm

joker wrote:yuh on de rock ?!

Yup! Went to dive but water rough and visibility is next to Notting! So decided to just stop and try here!!!!
Hoping to stick a big grouper or barracuda!!!!

Postby joker » October 27th, 2013, 9:09 pm

COOL .. good luck , be safe ...

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2013, 9:09 pm

GL, looking good. Hardtails and grunts are the strongest bottom baits you'll find.

krazed

Postby krazed » October 28th, 2013, 9:36 am

went friday evening north coast.. rain like that for a couple hours.. just got one snapper about 12".. about 7:30pm.. Saw some tarpon in the water.. tried a little float set up for them but bait wasnt all that great.. Any Advice on how to set lines for them..? Never really fish them with line before.. so i just put a bottle on the line an bait suspended about 3' below water. Not sure if that was any good..?

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 28th, 2013, 7:12 pm

Wat u end up catching, hardcore?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 28th, 2013, 11:20 pm

krazed wrote:went friday evening north coast.. rain like that for a couple hours.. just got one snapper about 12".. about 7:30pm.. Saw some tarpon in the water.. tried a little float set up for them but bait wasnt all that great.. Any Advice on how to set lines for them..? Never really fish them with line before.. so i just put a bottle on the line an bait suspended about 3' below water. Not sure if that was any good..?

I have always seen people catching tarpon with spoons. However in Daimen Bay off the rock. I set out a floating line in the night.
A tarpon took the line; by the time i realized and started to pull he made one jump out of the water and spit out the line.

Hand caster, hook was 3-4ft. below the float with a small sinker to keep it below the water, shrimp bait

p.s. What would have been the best way to set the hook & what size hook is typically used for Tarpon
Last edited by francis1979 on October 28th, 2013, 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.