T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Renaldo25

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Renaldo25 » November 1st, 2013, 8:54 am

corolla isnt that cheap tho...

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 1st, 2013, 9:47 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Men be reading US reviews and then posting oui.

Only thing different between the LOCAL mk6 Jetta interior and the mk5 is that the mk5 had padded cloth in the door trim vs the mk6 with a hard cloth. That's it. That's from a mk5 owner comparing vehicles side by side.

The plastic trim on the MK6 doors are cheap plastic.
The same goes for the plastic gate in the rear center console that gives you access to the trunk.
Which also holds for the plastic used in the trunk for the compartment gate on the left.
Low quality fit and finish are also evident in material used on the A, B and C pillars. Especially where the C pillar meets the headliner.
Enjoy after all "These aren't the droids you're looking for"

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2013, 9:55 am

2WNBoost wrote:

Only thing different between the LOCAL mk6 Jetta interior and the mk5 is that the mk5 had padded cloth in the door trim vs the mk6 with a hard cloth. That's it. That's from a mk5 owner comparing vehicles side by side.

The same goes for the plastic gate in the rear center console that gives you access to the trunk.
Which also holds for the plastic used in the trunk for the compartment gate on the left.
Low quality fit and finish are also evident in material used on the A, B and C pillars. Especially where the C pillar meets the headliner.

If that's how you really feel and you still bought the car then the joke is on you really. You don't want plastic in this price bracket and cheaper? Well good luck with ANY manufacturer.

My point still holds that the mk6 jetta has the same interior as the mk5 apart from the soft cloth padding on the doors.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 1st, 2013, 10:28 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:

If that's how you really feel and you still bought the car then the joke is on you really. You don't want plastic in this price bracket and cheaper? Well good luck with ANY manufacturer.

My point still holds that the mk6 jetta has the same interior as the mk5 apart from the soft cloth padding on the doors.

I'm not the one claiming this is a premium ride.
It's a Jetta.
There's nothing premium about a Jetta, even less so in moving from the MK5 to the MK6.
The appeal of the vehicle is the power and drive train.
Plus, there's plastic in all vehicles.
Some just use lower quality materials than others.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 1st, 2013, 11:28 am

Corolla starts in the 180 something bracket ...

Mazda 3 = 208 I think
Cerato = around 200
Civic = 240 ish
jetta = 230 ish
elantra = 170 ish
cruze = in the 170 range
Focus = no clue never checked it out
Its not the cheapest but it is one of the cheaper contenders.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 1st, 2013, 11:32 am

2WNBoost wrote:

I'm not the one claiming this is a premium ride.
It's a Jetta.
There's nothing premium about a Jetta, even less so in moving from the MK5 to the MK6.
The appeal of the vehicle is the power and drive train.
Plus, there's plastic in all vehicles.
Some just use lower quality materials than others.

This guy does not understand relativity, to state again compared to its class of vehicles like the one's mentioned in the previous post it has more a premium feel. Tell me then kind sir which out of the vehicles in its class has the most premium feel in your opinion. Don't just rant man, contribute/discuss :)

alan1991

Postby alan1991 » November 1st, 2013, 2:40 pm

this allergic guy is all over trinituner praising the jetta as if its a rolls royce. at the end of the day a jetta is a economy car with a bit more power than the others. the interior is very cheap other than the touch screen radio which is nothing other than touch screen presets and the ability for ipod hookup. they are known to give endless problems with the transmissions etc. my mother had a tiguan r line top spec and father has a touareg so im very familiar with vw vehicles and i could tell you they are not that good. tiguan has alot of problems such as build quality on the interior. suspension is weak and the transmission gives problems. i wont even get into the touraeg which was a nightmare. owned both the 2007 and 2012 both are rubbish. mother now owns a 2013 santa fe diesel and it is a FARRRR superior car to the VW. interior quality, ride and suspension, power, and it can take more licks. owned a 2010 also and never a problem. overall what im trying to say is people think that VW is some sort of premium brand but it isnt. they attract customers with a little european feel and some nice screens and dials which are identical in ALLL their models so its actually probably cheaper for them to make.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » November 1st, 2013, 3:00 pm

alan1991 wrote:this allergic guy is all over trinituner praising the jetta as if its a rolls royce. at the end of the day a jetta is a economy car with a bit more power than the others. the interior is very cheap other than the touch screen radio which is nothing other than touch screen presets and the ability for ipod hookup. they are known to give endless problems with the transmissions etc. my mother had a tiguan r line top spec and father has a touareg so im very familiar with vw vehicles and i could tell you they are not that good. tiguan has alot of problems such as build quality on the interior. suspension is weak and the transmission gives problems. i wont even get into the touraeg which was a nightmare. owned both the 2007 and 2012 both are rubbish. mother now owns a 2013 santa fe diesel and it is a FARRRR superior car to the VW. interior quality, ride and suspension, power, and it can take more licks. owned a 2010 also and never a problem. overall what im trying to say is people think that VW is some sort of premium brand but it isnt. they attract customers with a little european feel and some nice screens and dials which are identical in ALLL their models so its actually probably cheaper for them to make.

I'm interested in your problems experienced in the Tiguan...

I can't say I've had problems with the interior at all. The leather has held up very well (like new) compared to my Forester. And I have young kids.

Which transmission did you have?
So far no problems... don't have the DSG though which is where most of the problems come from.

Suspension is weak?
I don't understand really? The R-line has a sports suspension so don't know what you were expecting. Santa Fe is has a soft suspension made for comfort and not sportiness.

Where I will complain about the Tiguan is when it comes to electrical problems.

Santa Fe is a reliable car but I'm sorry I don't think there is anything superior about the interior of that car. A VW is no BMW/Benz/Porsche/Audi but it is above the other eco vehicles. Read some reviews they always comment on the quality of the interiors compared to others in the class.

But everyone has different tastes so I respect your opinion. If you want to complain about the service at Best Autos service then I'm there.

Postby S_2NR » November 1st, 2013, 3:44 pm

alan1991 wrote:this allergic guy is all over trinituner praising the jetta as if its a rolls royce. at the end of the day a jetta is a economy car with a bit more power than the others. the interior is very cheap other than the touch screen radio which is nothing other than touch screen presets and the ability for ipod hookup. they are known to give endless problems with the transmissions etc. my mother had a tiguan r line top spec and father has a touareg so im very familiar with vw vehicles and i could tell you they are not that good. tiguan has alot of problems such as build quality on the interior. suspension is weak and the transmission gives problems. i wont even get into the touraeg which was a nightmare. owned both the 2007 and 2012 both are rubbish. mother now owns a 2013 santa fe diesel and it is a FARRRR superior car to the VW. interior quality, ride and suspension, power, and it can take more licks. owned a 2010 also and never a problem. overall what im trying to say is people think that VW is some sort of premium brand but it isnt. they attract customers with a little european feel and some nice screens and dials which are identical in ALLL their models so its actually probably cheaper for them to make.

he defends everything he owns/uses to his dying breath. Jetta, BBM, gold iphone, etc etc etc :lol: :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 1st, 2013, 4:18 pm

though I don't see eye to eye electronically with this bunny dude I actually agree that the Jetta is the best compact out there. But I won't consider him to be a vw fanboy though because he objectively praised other makes the same way.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2013, 4:40 pm

C Class:

Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on November 1st, 2013, 4:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2013, 4:40 pm

Visited a couple showrooms.

Mazda 6: 2.0 litre Skyactiv engine with stop start technology, bluetooth, fogs, steering wheel controls, independent rear suspension. Uses super. I tried to get a spec sheet from the sales rep but he just gave me a glossy brochure. I asked him about specs and he couldn't be bothered to run thru a list. Car is roomy in the back. Phone pics don't do it justice.

Price: $315,000.

Mercedes Benz A class:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 1st, 2013, 4:42 pm

well done.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2013, 5:05 pm

I give credit where credit is due. I always reference the Jetta within its price bracket when speaking of features and/or interior. In its price bracket I would say its features rival all. Key phrase being: IN ITS PRICE BRACKET. I have NEVER referred to the interior of the Jetta as premium nor have I praised it as if it is a Rolls royce. If so post QOUTES or go home to your listen to what your parents bought.

I hardly ever recommend the Jetta to anyone. Search my posts if you want. If you want a run down of how it performs I'll tell you. If you are looking for the fastest car in its price bracket I'll list it as an option. I see nothing wrong with this. There's a thread posted for all and sundry to see how my Jetta is or isn't working as well as tips or suggestions on how to get things fixed. Not hearsay.

If what S_2nr said was true I'd never even visit these other dealerships and fawn over some of the cars I see there.

Oh and Skoda Octavia coming next year...full spec for $280K :shock:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 1st, 2013, 5:49 pm

Almost forgot.

Benz CLA: $370k.

karl

Postby karl » November 1st, 2013, 6:51 pm

never met bunny either, but he goes out of his way to contribute to this thread, his research and advice is great, and i did test drive the new jetta and it is everything he said. Coming from any Japanese (in similar price range) it will be premium+, esp the power and cabin sound proofing and lotsa features, very quick car and it does blow away the competition in the price bracket, i almost bought it but i got the new a3 instead.

thanks and continue contributing bunny !

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 1st, 2013, 7:34 pm

Toureg was a nightmare in 2007 and you went ahead and bought a 2012 one?

And WOW in 6 years you guys spent around 2.7 million on vehicles .... not bad :)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 1st, 2013, 7:43 pm

280K for a octavia?
The new model starting in the UK for just over 15k GBP and the Jetta starting at 17K GBP. Same engines and transmissions, options should also be the same as VW group tends to share alot of its features.

This car should be cheaper than the jetta ... then again we live in T&T :D
I wonder what they will charge for the VRS version 400K?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » November 3rd, 2013, 7:40 pm

That should probably be 180k.
Fairly certain 280k is wrong.

Bunny, just 3 weeks ago the salesman told me it was 400k for that C class you took pics of there! Wha going on in this place!

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 3rd, 2013, 7:50 pm

syncrod wrote:is was suggested by BA to replace them as they seem to be the cause of my persistent fault code.
1 Fault Found:
006012 - Clutch 2
P177C - 003 - Tolerance Limit Reached - Intermittent
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 00100011
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 5
Reset counter: 10
Mileage: 33435 km
Time Indication: 0

all gears on #2 slip when pushed (70% throttle+)
most noticeable in 4th gear then 6th

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Ask them for goodwill? You've barely used the thing at 33k km. Points to a fault outside your control. I doubt they had to change clutches on the drag and wind jetta and that's roughed up more than daily drivers. Are you out of warranty?

2WNBoost wrote:
JackAttack wrote:
JackAttack wrote:I'm interested in buying the Jetta 1.4 TSI from the firm.
Whats the gas mileage like? I've heard people say they can get up to 700km of a tank.
Is this realistic?

Short trips, traffic, stop start driving, sustained high speeds (140kph+), heavy acceleration are all going to bring down fuel econ. With this type of driving expect about 500 km per tank. With more highway mileage I do think it is possible to get 800 but one would really have to plan out their driving to avoid heavy or standstill traffic.

Thanks for this,I won't be doing to many highway runs.I guess its a pickup then.

This could be your future if you buy
Clutch built to last 400,000km
DSG/Mechatronic maybe a bit less /s

any background story? mk5? mk6 Jetta? Passat? I'm always up to hear about mechatronic failures locally.

MK6 Jetta

drchaos wrote:Never dropped down the back seat to get more trunk space. Today had to do it to load a long object and the little knobs weren't working. When i went to the back seat and pulled the seat forward it came down effortlessly. When I tried to lock it back I realized the locking mechanism was not working.

Anyone else have problems with dropping the rear seats?

fastredcar wrote:Hello folks

My 2012 Jetta MK6 is at

27800 miles (approx. 44800 km)

Going great so far except for

the rattling from the gearbox area
changed my front cradle bushings
changed water pump
changed wiper blades

Other than that, great vehicle!

I love my VW!

cdx2k1 wrote:Ha..get this..after putting 2 used front tyres on my Jetta the mechatronic suddenly calls it quits..this is the 3rd one I think I am changing in this ride..currently @ BA undergoing surgery.Don't think I have to pay for it because it was changed just MAY 2012; unit barely over a year old.

+1 Mechatronic Fail...now totalling 3
It's quite clear that VW hasn't gotten this DQ200 to be reliable

Just seems too big of a risk to me. If it's worth it to some of y'all fine.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » November 3rd, 2013, 8:10 pm

Nemesis it depends on what features the C class is specified with.....that changes the price. You could spec a C class from the base $360K to over $450K based on the options choosen. The easiest way is to take the base model C class and add the features you want, and get the price.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » November 3rd, 2013, 8:21 pm

Yeah I know that. Just wondering if that 420k sheet shown there is for the same car pictured.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 3rd, 2013, 11:01 pm

nemesis wrote:Yeah I know that. Just wondering if that 420k sheet shown there is for the same car pictured.

Yeah the sheet price matches the pics. There was a black C class for 370k in the showroom as well.

Neighbour mentioned that A4 be going for 310K as well. Base. Maybe someone else can go in and verify.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » November 4th, 2013, 5:35 am

A base A4 starts at around $360K......that price mentioned was probably the before taxes price. Nemesis I have been lazing with Mercedes for the past few months, nothing has changed on that C class price and options list.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 4th, 2013, 9:09 am

What's the warranty like on the C class?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 4th, 2013, 9:24 am

2 years warranty on C class.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » November 4th, 2013, 10:09 am

2yrs on a benz kinda low yes

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 4th, 2013, 10:35 am

VW also does this rubbish.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 4th, 2013, 12:08 pm

3 years should be industry standard ... wish our consumer affairs had some teeth

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 4th, 2013, 1:56 pm

I think Ansa (BMW) offers 3 years.