Trinidad and Tobago V8 projects

nigie

Re: Trinidad & Tobago V8 Car Club

Postby nigie » August 3rd, 2010, 10:13 am

FANTASTIC...!!!!!!!!!!

nigie

Postby nigie » August 3rd, 2010, 10:15 am

every thing looks straight as a pin....is this the car u need the rover for?

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2010, 10:17 am

yup!
the 3.5 will fit with just minor engine mount mods, and a wee bit of cutting to the transmission tunnel
Other than that, reworked exhaust manifolds, uprated brake pads, V8 springs and bushes, and an anti-tramp bar......plus MGB V8 spec carms to avoid a bonnet bulge

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2010, 10:21 am

nigie

Postby nigie » August 9th, 2010, 9:05 am

REMEMBER THIS SUNDAY.....OLD SCHOOL MEETS MUSCLE....
FOOD...FOOD...
OLD SCHOOL LIME....
NO GAZA and GULLY :mrgreen:

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » August 10th, 2010, 7:49 am

there is a bike show also on that date at Pier 2, but we will pass through and represent before we go down....must get in ah bbq first meng...

Postby MG Man » August 10th, 2010, 9:15 am

nigie, no comment on those V8 MGB pics I posted?
ah still waitin on ah gearbox eh

nigie

Postby nigie » August 10th, 2010, 9:27 am

thanks soze...bring friends...

Looking great..mg....but i just dont like how the extractors going tru the sidewall...in the red ones..fender well exits are normally associated with a race cars ..and i cant see the header configuration on the blue 1...is there no room????.all i have is a old block minus heads .....

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 10th, 2010, 5:26 pm

MG Man wrote:...and the trunk floor

We will be stripping it back to bare metal..........I know Sanctifier will frown on the methodology, but the money won't allow for more..........getting the floor panels pressed to original spec locally as well.........thinking about getting a front spoiler similar to the one in the flame car Wagonrunner posted above as well

Why shouldn't I agree, my friend? It's messy and you have to be careful when using it...
but paint stripper has been used on projects and on earlier ol' school custom paint jobs for decades.
You just have to be careful to neutralize it properly or it will bleed-out from seams and spoil your new paint.
To prevent that, custom shops suggest masking all seams first...use stripper...neutralize...remove tape...then manually remove paint in seams with blades, scrapers etc.

Bead blasting (plastic) and even soda blasting were cutting edge (and more expensive) up to fairly recently. Both are perfect (and much easier) IMHO but these days the "standard" is dry-ice blasting. Not available to me...maybe Ryan Pinheiro might go that way in future.
Last edited by Sanctifier on August 11th, 2010, 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 9:10 am

well you know I aspire to your standards of prep but I am very skeptical abuot those locals who wield blasters..........most of them are self-taught and inept.......in an ideal world, I would have hung the car on a rotisserie and thoroughly prepped the shell..........which is my 10 year plan, which is when I plan to do a more thorough resto on the MGB

d spike

Postby d spike » August 11th, 2010, 12:01 pm

MG Man wrote:well you know I aspire to your standards of prep but I am very skeptical abuot those locals who wield blasters..........most of them are self-taught and inept.....

Old ways are no match for a good blaster at your side, kid. :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » August 11th, 2010, 12:06 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

What is this I am seeing? Do my eyes deceive me? Et tu Brute? Then fall GS!
(runs off weeping)

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 12:51 pm

lol GS will not fall..............but wait...........ain't you the old feller who stuffing a bigger lump in the Red Devil?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 11th, 2010, 1:09 pm

MG Man wrote:well you know I aspire to your standards of prep but I am very skeptical abuot those locals who wield blasters..........most of them are self-taught and inept.......in an ideal world, I would have hung the car on a rotisserie and thoroughly prepped the shell..........which is my 10 year plan, which is when I plan to do a more thorough resto on the MGB

your standards of prep... Whoa! The smell of B/S is strong in this thread... :lol:
My wishful thinking...a little reading...& buying some equipment...DOESN'T make me an expert on anything, my friend.

But I agree with you...a rotisserie is a HUGE advantage for better quality workmanship...
I don't have your time frame...don't want to re-do anything in 10 years...it's now or never...
so I intend to fabricate one before starting any of the three projects.
It's one way to reduce my MANY future mistakes...I hope! :wink: :)

My $0.02¢

nigie

Postby nigie » August 11th, 2010, 1:16 pm

Sanctifier give a few pics of your standards of prep please..... cause once u get the seal of approval from spock.....u have to be the restorers GURU

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 1:17 pm

in the meantime, can I pass for the engine this weekend?

d spike

Postby d spike » August 11th, 2010, 1:57 pm

MG Man wrote:lol GS will not fall..............but wait...........ain't you the old feller who stuffing a bigger lump in the Red Devil?

Who, me? That? Why, that's just a lil' ol' Pinto, an engine that was designed when Satan's uncle was a lil' boy... t'ain't nuttin'...

Only 140bhp (if I could get the headers from a pal, and find the manifold for my side draughts) :mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2010, 2:01 pm

d spike wrote:
MG Man wrote:lol GS will not fall..............but wait...........ain't you the old feller who stuffing a bigger lump in the Red Devil?

Who, me? That? Why, that's just a lil' ol' Pinto, an engine that was designed when Satan's uncle was a lil' boy... t'ain't nuttin'...

Only 140bhp (if I could get the headers from a pal, and find the manifold for my side draughts) :mrgreen:

That's in TT, US or Pounds? could never tell with the two of allyuh. :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 2:04 pm

wid Spike, BHP might mean big hard pr............***

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2010, 2:06 pm

prawn? :shock:
that's what he using the crayfish for now?

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 2:08 pm

yup
hence the shortage in Toco

nigie

Postby nigie » August 11th, 2010, 2:10 pm

Is there a version of the car that came with the V8? mg

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 2:17 pm

yup
the one in the 1st pic is a factory MGB GT V8
notice the two SU carbs waaay to the back of the engine?
In order to maintain the stock bonet, MG made a custom intake manifold to mount the SUs like that

d spike

Postby d spike » August 11th, 2010, 2:22 pm

Look, yuh see de two ah allyuh? Me eh taking no chat from either ah you.

(One who cyah tell de difference between a Nissan and ah Datsun... an de nex' one plannin' on an engine so big fuh he lil' car, dat he will end up bolting de windscreen onto de tappit-pan covers, sitting on de bell-housing, and changing gears wit' ah 5 foot long gear-stick coming tru de back seat...) :evil:

nigie

Postby nigie » August 11th, 2010, 3:00 pm

MG Man wrote:yup
the one in the 1st pic is a factory MGB GT V8
notice the two SU carbs waaay to the back of the engine?
In order to maintain the stock bonet, MG made a custom intake manifold to mount the SUs like that

so the factory exited the exhaust tru the fenderwells...interesting

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 3:22 pm

nope
that's aftermarket
The factory exhaust manifolds were cast iron pieces that hugged the block so the down pipes would pass between the block and fenderwell........practical, but not very efficent. It is now a popular mod to run tubular manifolds thru the fenders. With the front suspension being fully independent of the body, the access cut does not compromise structural integrity, and there is enough space so that manifold ehat does not affect the brakes...

nigie

Postby nigie » August 11th, 2010, 3:48 pm

OK the british had meh lil worried dey 4 a while ... :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 4:01 pm

I can understand
Only the British would mount the ignition coil UNDER the carbs, which tend to overflow when the check valves stick. I ended up relocating the coil on the vauxhall just in case
or mount the carbs over the exhaust, so when the overflow, they drip fuel onto the exhaust manifold
Good thing the fuel just vaporises!
As my mechanic likes to say, 'Englishman does like to sell ah car for dey customers tuh finish'

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 11th, 2010, 5:27 pm

nigie wrote:Sanctifier give a few pics of your standards of prep please..... cause once u get the seal of approval from spock.....u have to be the restorers GURU
GURU... Thanks for the compliment but I don't know enough about anything to be anyone's guru... :lol:

seal of approval from spock... Not if one of these happens to be MG's Seal of Approval... Image ... Image :lol:

Auto Restoration equipment purchased to date...
Image Image Image
.....5HP 2-stage Air Compressor.....Pressure Pot (Sandblaster)........Sandblast Cabinet & Dust Collector...

Image Image
......48" Sheet Metal Box & Pan Brake......................240 amp Mig Welder ...

...and this for "Paintless Dent Repair". Older/used panels need this to avoid using much body-filler (if any at all.)
MUCH more tools & equipment to come first before I start the first car! (Broke!) :lol:

When finally I have something finished, I'll post a Resto-thread with pix...until then this will have to do...
Link--> THE ASYLUM!... Workshops & Tools for DIY MadMen.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 11th, 2010, 10:30 pm

Emily parts came in ....so work full steam ahead

line up time....

Real makeover for a 41 yr old car

Lill plug for V8 boyz garage in Mt hope