TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 12:52 am

i had to use one today. Worst thing i have ever used. Was in Charlieville.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 12:56 am

^ I think Charlieville is a dead spot

I use mines in Endeavour and it works great ~2MB/s

I realise it doesnt work well in a moving car - park up and it starts working well.

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 1:21 am

hadda be, last time we tried the old 3G dongle, that didnt work either. Edge too from Digicel was giving me 30kbps :?

brickman

Postby brickman » February 6th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Called them this morning,actually got a local tech on the phone but the best advice he gave me was to turn it off for 45 mins which i did,although i knew i wouldnt solve the issue since its their wimax signal in the area that is giving trouble.Said he cant do anything else until more people complain......smh

200sx

Postby 200sx » February 13th, 2012, 5:09 pm

Use my hot spot in work at Malgretoute, works real good! Just drops signal from time to time! A simple re boot and all is well again!

Kish

Postby Kish » February 13th, 2012, 8:49 pm

200sx wrote:Use my hot spot in work at Malgretoute, works real good! Just drops signal from time to time! A simple re boot and all is well again!

you would think that a feature named "auto connect" on the hotspot should work aye. never does. I had to power cycle it as well to get reconnected, or go into the web interface and do a sequence of manual connects, waits, then click connect again.

mojosodope

TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby mojosodope » February 13th, 2012, 8:52 pm

so If I was looking to buy this primarily for use in car while driving I shouldnt? Any alternatives?

Kish

Postby Kish » February 13th, 2012, 8:56 pm

mojosodope wrote:so If I was looking to buy this primarily for use in car while driving I shouldnt? Any alternatives?

i've tested this and the handovers don't work that good. the vehicle needs to be stationary or not moving that fast to keep a stable connection. best bet would be the only other option.....edge

brickman

Postby brickman » April 6th, 2012, 11:33 am

Bmobile/TSTT Trinidad 4G HSPA+ Network
Posted by Hassan Voyeau on Thursday, April 05, 2012
Came across an interesting bit of information on the TTCS mailing list this morning. It's a quote from outgoing TSTT CEO, Roberto Peon, as published in a Guardian (Trinidad) article.

"He says TSTT is intent on maintaining its competitive edge against Digicel as it is about to launch a new, 4G mobile network—HSPA Plus, which will give customers much faster data speeds on their smart phones."

There has been some amount of hearsay about this over the last few months, so getting a public official statement like this from that level of the company is good stuff. This blog normally keeps tabs on these types of developments and this is a good point to start this blog post. This blog post will be updated as more concrete information comes to hand until launch.

Interesting.....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 6th, 2012, 9:34 pm

^ WOW sweet!!!!!

Future is here. So DIGI vs TSTT on HSPA+

Competition so this means prices will be really good. No monopoly here.

TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 7th, 2012, 2:50 am

Competition my foot. Two of them gonna match at one price I sure. It will cost an arm and a leg. Hopefully it won't but I have meh doubts

Postby redmanjp » April 7th, 2012, 5:00 pm

isn't there a prepaid option too for wimax?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 8th, 2012, 10:01 am

^ yeah. $100 for 400 MB

I won't be thinking of using youtube on it if I were you.

Better you wait for Digicel to bring 4G. Will have some competition I eh know how cheap it go be but will defenitely be better than the options we have now.

I mean no competition and we pay $345 a month for 2mbps 4G WIMAX unlimited

So I assume when Digicel ready it will be anywhere between $200 to $300 a month.

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2012, 10:26 pm

well it might be good as a backup if my Flow net goes down but that is only with the Green Packet modem? Does it have both 4g & 3g capability like the usb modem? Bcuz where I am (East of Aranguez) i done already does get fluctuating signal on my phone so if I can't get a 4g signal I cud only hope for a 3g signal.

And what if i buy the prepaid modem and then i doh get a good signal? does TSTT allow u to get a modem just to test this?

Postby Registered User » April 9th, 2012, 10:52 pm

If Digicel introduces a similar service then maybe I can finally get 'mobile internet'. Been getting the "don't have any hotspots"/"only selling with iPhones" stories since late last year.

burns01

Postby burns01 » April 29th, 2012, 12:13 pm

brickman

Postby brickman » April 29th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Nice speed but wrong thread....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 4th, 2012, 10:59 pm

guys...dont bash me...I have a question....

Next week I gonna get my own internet......options i have is either..

TSTT wimax.......or.....Flow Turbo 5....

Which one is better in terms of speed and reliability?......

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2012, 10:41 am

cable>>microwave (speed and reliability and cost)

microwave>cable (mobility)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2012, 12:01 pm

so guys......flow turbo 5 or wimax.....?....which one would u go with?

brickman

Postby brickman » May 5th, 2012, 12:20 pm

Depends on your area,i know many who catch a$$ with flow or blink & many who have good service from either.Best thing to do is to check around with the people in your area & see which one people are happy with.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2012, 12:27 pm

brickman what yur experience with the wimax.....?....download speeds?.....

can u download movies....stream ...

watch you tube vids comfortably?.....

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 5th, 2012, 12:33 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:brickman what yur experience with the wimax.....?....download speeds?.....

can u download movies....stream ...

watch you tube vids comfortably?.....

wimax does work bess by me, full 250kb/s on torrents, sometimes it dips to about 50-70kb/s and then sometimes its like 110kb/s

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2012, 12:37 pm

i used flow for a while and got DL speed at 450kb/s at nights...

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2012, 12:51 pm

Wait a bit, just 2 weeks or so and see if Digicel comes out with a mifi device like TSTT Blink did on their 4G plans. TSTT mifi wimax is $349/month for 2 years contract.

Digicel Jamaica has it 6Mbps/1Mbps, at better prices when you convert to TTD (about $260TTD/month), but that's a different market. http://www.digicel4gbroadband.com/en/di ... cing-plans

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2012, 1:00 pm

that 349 mthly is too much for internet....Max i would pay is $200.....

hadda get this this week.....

Think Ill go with the flow...used it for a while and was impressed......but just wanted to know if the TSTT wimax was better since mobility woould be great abd $150 a mth aint that bad....

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 5th, 2012, 1:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:cable>>microwave (speed and reliability and cost)

5mbps @ $200/month should give you about ~640KBps so that 450KBps is not too bad.

compare that to the wimax which cost $475/month/with 1year contract, or $350/month/with 2year contract, and is 'up to' 2mbps. If you very lucky and getting the full speed of 2mbps, that would be ~256KBps.

but
brickman wrote:Depends on your area,i know many who catch a$$ with flow or blink & many who have good service from either.Best thing to do is to check around with the people in your area & see which one people are happy with.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2012, 1:16 pm

foul juice what bout the wimax service with the box....@ $149 mthly.....what kinda speeds u gonna get with that?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 5th, 2012, 4:05 pm

what bout the wimax service with the box....@ $149 mthly

Not sure which package is that as I not seeing it on the site. The only $150 I seeing is the normal blink 1mbps, and then there is EDGE :?
http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/index.cfm/1,106,0,0,html/BLINK-for-Home#/ajax/home_all_packages.cfm?previewid=0
But I seeing someone mentioned on page 2, it was 1mbps. If that is the case, the max. speed is 'supposed' to be ~128 KBps. (If I wrong, just divide the advertised speed by 8 to get it in KBps nah)
I don't know how reliable tstt service is in your area, but if it is real bad, you probably won't be getting near that advertised speed.
With regards to mobility, I not too sure if the box you mention is the small cell-phone sized one, or the bigger one which someone described as a '1litre orchard pack' and a 'coffee grinder.' If it IS the bigger one, I don't think you'll have much mobility with that.

If your main concern is speed, I would say stick to Flow because my 5mbps streams youtube 720p with no buffering and 1080 might sometimes buffer once during a 5 minute video, and when downloading files with a download manager, I always get more than 5 mbps. (Downloading 1 GB in about 25-30 minutes or less)
Not sure if that free installation promo is still running, but you could give them a call today because the sooner you sign up, the faster they come to install (unlike tstt)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2012, 4:14 pm

thanks foul juice....I appreciate your advice and I think I gonna go with flow....I dont like the buffering and crap with flow the dl speeds were great and well the wimax I talking about is the one with the "coffee grinder" box so yeah nothin too mobile about that

paying $150 for that 1mbps in relation to $200 for 5mbps

I dont think they have free install running but that woulda be great dread....

Ill give them a call....