The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 31st, 2007, 10:34 pm

corolladude what shocks/springs u running on your 80 u'r rims real big

Postby Hook » June 1st, 2007, 10:15 am

dood, u could pick up a set of foreign used Levin shocks and springs in the bamboo for small money and just swap the shock mounts with urs if urs still good

Poyea has them for abt $200-$250 per side and Dollar Savers in El Socorro has the AE80 shock mounts for around $120-$150 for one

ur ride height may drop by about 1"-1.5" if so much but it WILL ride stiffer and feel more solid on the road...just throwing the idea if ur pocket tight and d situation urgent

Postby eliteauto » June 1st, 2007, 10:37 am

^^yup this is the easiest solution and the results are good much tighter handling with a stiffer but not uncomfortable ride, toss on a top mount strut bar if u have

droppa

Postby droppa » June 1st, 2007, 11:25 am

if its a 20V u intend on runnin i sure a set of ae1** front spindles will work there, with caliper and vented discs...so u can buy a complete front strut and spindle so when yuh put in yuh engine the axles will work one time.... :mrgreen:

Postby gt4tified » June 1st, 2007, 12:32 pm

FYI I can get a full set of used TRD coilovers from a levin for anyone....come with cash! These are the camber adjustable type.

Anton

Postby Anton » June 1st, 2007, 4:29 pm

price pallos?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 1st, 2007, 6:34 pm

well the plan is and will be everything that need to and should be done b4 i actually drop in the engine has to be done. engine would be last unless i get some nice comissions yeah. the ae100 front spindles the bolt patter is 4x100 right?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 1st, 2007, 6:37 pm

TRD coilovers

yeahhhh but wait ent going over rough road the ride is be bad?

Postby gt4tified » June 12th, 2007, 1:21 pm

Anton

Postby Anton » June 12th, 2007, 3:49 pm

^^Excellent read bro

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » June 13th, 2007, 8:06 pm

I agree with everyone on the silver top. {parts are easier to get} However a 20 valve with a tranny will not fit in an ae80, trust me I have tried, the back of the tranny is too big.Go with a gearbox you'll have more fun with the car since obviously you do alot of driving as a salesman. The conversion should take no more than two weeks. there are alot of things to consider, you have to get the correct axles{length and matching tripod bearings},convert the power steering lines,get the correct mount brackets,install brake and clutch pedals and clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder and line,shifter with the correct length on each cable,change the connections to your a\c compressor,install bigger shocks and springs in front,lower the back,upgrade to ae90 or ae100 ventilated brakes in front, ae80 rear discs in the back,convert your gas tank to hold a high pressure pump,install larger exhaust pipes{original ae80 pipes are way too small},ensure that the rest of your suspension is in extremely good condition because the kind of torque the 20 valve mekes if your car is not in good shape you WILL become a road statistic and of course there is the length of time your car will remain at the electrician's untill he can begin to work on it because "not any and everybody could wire ah brainbox properly". Yeah about two weeks should do it. MAYBE !!!!!!

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » June 16th, 2007, 2:15 am

AE80 is ah real nice project car .Did a 4agze swap on mine (total install cost around 11000 and i still dont have any gauges....sigh).....good luck with ur swap!

Car performs like a beyotch though :twisted:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 16th, 2007, 9:52 am

ae100 ventilated brakes in front

where i could find that and what cost and ae92 rear discs

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » June 16th, 2007, 2:10 pm

bamboo

:D

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » June 19th, 2007, 6:37 pm

really pays the dividends to know considering the prices of engine parts these days :wink:

toyotatilidye

Postby toyotatilidye » June 20th, 2007, 12:49 pm

Well it sounds like the toyota fast era coming to the end, what now is left if everything fast is getting old?
The altezza with their 3s & 1J & 2j are getting old realy fast, was thinking to buy one but i can get a foriegn used corolla for 95k same as an IS :(
My qestion to you guys i know it makes better sense to buy a newer rolla than either fix up my old one with a bt 4age or buy the IS(2.0 6fwd), but my right foot says go with the IS
so wha alluh think new rolla, IS or continue the BT 4age project

If i am giving up the BT project i have a local AE101 to sell
Pay (series), music, reardisc 32K no bt
45K with bt (NA) and all the mods (suspension brakes, clutch, etc)

wat u think ???????

Postby gt4tified » June 20th, 2007, 2:11 pm

Stick with ur project.....parts readily available and much cheaper than the nze or altezza.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » June 28th, 2007, 9:06 pm

if you're getting the the altezza with the 3SGE beams vvti and the 6 spd manual tranny...read carefully.... AS LONG AS IT IS IN GREAT CONDITION and the MILAGE IS LOW... i say take it over the 20 valve black top project and even more so before the NZE corolla. the NZE is for your wife/gf to get to work safely on a daily basis and for you to use while your project is undergoing mods at the garage or to take you to tuner limes so no one really knows what your project car is until you pull up with it on drags weekend and whop some a$$. Image
all joking aside however the 6 spd altezza used is going to be a MUCHHHHHHHHHH better car than the NZE because the altezza is designed to be a sporty car with a suspension designed built and tuned to handle more agressive driving, while the NZE is designed to be a best seller at the best price and it wont tolerate spirited driving very well which would land you up at the parts dealer pretty often. FORGET the nze. if you're worried about getting the ae101 sold if you buy the altezza gimme a holla i'll take it off your hands.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » June 28th, 2007, 9:28 pm

by the way Rally Mac motors had a new model GT four toyota caldina on their website for sale. i passed through the yard a couple months ago and they said it wasnt here yet but it was still in japan. if it here by now NOBODY who doesnt know what the car is would wanna pay more than 100 grand for it. i suggest if you want a new model toyota that is unstoppable right out of the box you should check it out. its expensive but if you're die hard toyota it is your only option in the Roll on Roll off catagory. expect only about 260 Horse power at the flywheel in stock configuration. and if it isnt a GT four N edtion it doesnt come LSD but its still all wheel drive so who cares. If you can afford it drop in a boost controller / fuel correction device and dial in about 18 psi of boost and retune the fuel enrichment and enjoy walking away from stock skylines and supras all day long :twisted: :twisted:

toyoman

Postby toyoman » June 29th, 2007, 9:37 am

by the way Rally Mac motors had a new model GT four toyota caldina on their website for sale

they had that on their site a good few months now....

Postby gt4tified » June 29th, 2007, 10:56 am

Unfortunately nasscott, the caldina gt4 while powerful on paper, that design of vehicle can do no justice to the handling and stability of the 3sgte's predecessors, the turbo 4wd celica and turbo mr2.

That said, a skyline or supra in even stock form would still whup its arse on any kinda bend. Even in a straight line, the caldina's aerodynamics are wanting.

I'll stick with my gen2 3sgte, spend the extra 50grand on it and then iz me and dem 6cylinder boyz. :mrgreen:

Postby AllTrac » June 29th, 2007, 11:44 pm

no need to spend 50g's, half of that and the 3s would be a force to rekon with among them

toyotatilidye

FOR SALE AE101

Postby toyotatilidye » July 2nd, 2007, 9:01 am

Ok wel i decided to sel my Ae 101, any one wanting info give a call
722-5654 will try to post some pics later on

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 2nd, 2007, 7:44 pm

de 4age u have is 6 spd or 5spd manual? or is it even manual at all? and 45K with the engine installed or without the engine?

toyotatilidye

Postby toyotatilidye » July 3rd, 2007, 11:31 am

nasscott,
Wel i can give u two options 30k with out black top-1.6 carb 4ag :roll: or
47k with black top 6spd (i think will double check if it aint 6spd it wil be 5spd) can also try to get an automatic if you like but not promising that and it may be a litle more

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 5th, 2008, 5:29 pm

seems like malaysia is doing alot with the 20V blacktop recently

Terran

Postby Terran » April 5th, 2008, 6:37 pm

Well... enlighten us.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 6th, 2008, 8:06 am

saw on a malaysia blog that the BT Ecu does get hot an the an burn the ic that controls the VVT

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 8th, 2008, 9:15 am

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 8th, 2008, 10:54 am

20v Enthusiast good site

Return to “TOYOTA”