3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby RBphoto » December 14th, 2011, 10:17 am

What makes that Leica digital so special?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 14th, 2011, 10:20 am

From the many reviews I've read, it matched up and beat alot of those DSLR's. In functionality and build. Not saying it will defeat the purpose of a DSLR to all, but in some instances where a PS would be handy this cam simply is amazing, to me anyway.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 14th, 2011, 11:12 am

crossdrilled wrote:What makes that Leica digital so special?
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/LeicaX1/page27.asp

Postby RBphoto » December 14th, 2011, 12:05 pm

I doubt anyone here would be able to use it properly, and from the cons, it is not useful as an artistic tool either.

Autofocus distinctly slower than most
Unimpressive battery life
Accurate manual focus impossible (lens stops down uncontrollably)
Low light operation relatively poor (very slow AF and screen refresh rate)
Live histogram unreliable, disappears when setting exposure compensation
ISO only visible in detailed display mode; Auto ISO doesn't show selected value at all
Click stops for control dial 'A' positions not positive enough (particularly on the shutter speed dial)
No DNG only option (must record a JPEG as well)
Camera locks up completely when buffer is full shooting raw
Electronic image stabilization of limited usefulness (only works in JPEG mode)
Unrefined JPEG image quality
Playback mode slow and unresponsive
Very expensive

The Fuji X100, however, seems like a great alternative to this. I say if you want this style body, just shoot film and call it a day. Would make much better expousres with print film IMO.

Postby 16 cycles » December 14th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Postby RBphoto » December 14th, 2011, 12:32 pm

If leica put a red dot on shite men will eat that dan :|

I would buy the Panasonic clone, if these things were my cup of tea.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 14th, 2011, 1:38 pm

crossdrilled wrote:What makes that Leica digital so special?
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/LeicaX1/page27.asp

This was a pretty extensive review: http://www.stevehuffphoto.com/2010/01/0 ... ra-review/

Postby DVSTT » December 14th, 2011, 7:42 pm

So my friends made a video, its pretty good IMO, what do you guys think?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmDGLVVU ... e=youtu.be

napster16

Postby napster16 » December 14th, 2011, 7:44 pm

SHOT OF A SPIDER ABOVE MY POND ...

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2011, 7:46 pm

I had a Panasonic FZ20, lens is made by Leica
was extremely sharp from 18 to 432mm across the board and f2.8 across as well

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » December 14th, 2011, 8:25 pm

IMG_0409 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_0580 by A.M Production, on Flickr

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 14th, 2011, 9:01 pm

pugboy wrote:foreshore lookout ?

eurogirl wrote:[img]<a href="http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/391080_10150391823167592_513932591_8938924_1932713201_n.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/391080_10150391823167592_513932591_8938924_1932713201_n.jpg[/img</a>]

took this out with my ph ... was trying to catch the dolphins @sunsent but you kno how they are ..

no , its where ppl go fishing and kayaking ..

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2011, 1:45 pm

pugboy wrote:I had a Panasonic FZ20, lens is made by Leica
was extremely sharp from 18 to 432mm across the board and f2.8 across as well

^^^^ good stuff.

Postby 16 cycles » December 15th, 2011, 8:38 pm

nice time of the year to practice the night photography skills...

napster16

Postby napster16 » December 15th, 2011, 10:00 pm

16 cycles wrote:Image

Nice bokehs... I really need to learn how to do this

Postby 16 cycles » December 16th, 2011, 10:02 am

there was an article on flickr yesterday on it...can;t seem to find it now...saw it and went ahead an tried some...

Postby DVSTT » December 16th, 2011, 11:55 am

16 cycles wrote:there was an article on flickr yesterday on it...can;t seem to find it now...saw it and went ahead an tried some...

Wat lens did u use for those pics??

Postby DVSTT » December 16th, 2011, 11:57 am

napster16 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:Image

Nice bokehs... I really need to learn how to do this

http://www.robertsdonovan.com/?p=702 try that!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 19th, 2011, 10:49 am

Postby Trini Hookah » December 19th, 2011, 11:14 am

Guys what would you all recommend as a good beginner DSLR? I've thrown the idea of the bridge camera out the window, as I realised I'd want more out of the cam very quickly.

Would be for the odd events, mostly portraits and landscape.

So far i've been leaning to the T2i, but the Nikon D3100 also caught my eye. Just would like a couple opinions, would be purchasing early in the new year.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2011, 12:02 pm

T2i ftw

I use the canon 1000d which is the lower line and so far had no issues nor complaints.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 19th, 2011, 12:56 pm

^ Agreed on the T2i.

It is the best little camera I have seen. May consider upgrading to this or a 60D.

^^ If price is your concern, and you now getting into the SLR world, you can start with the relatively low cost T3 DSLR...

Postby DVSTT » December 19th, 2011, 2:28 pm

T2I!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Trini Hookah » December 19th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Postby RBphoto » December 20th, 2011, 12:10 am

vrampersad14 wrote:Would be for the odd events, mostly portraits and landscape.

Two different applications there bro. For landscapes, I prefer canon. If choice of lenses is your concern, go for canon, they have nikon beat in that department.

For events, I like my nikon and the nikon ITTL system which gives dead on exposure for every shot with flash, so I invested more heavily in Nikon.

Even the most dinky SLR, the D40, I came to love, as well as the ancient canon 10D. When I got my D90, my pictures did not look any different (I only bought it so I could trigger off camera flashes with the built in flash). Either system will serve you well. Start with the lowest model, and by the time you beat it out, you will know what you need to upgrade to or even change brands. I only buy used lenses now, because Nikon and canon are guarantees of quality. I think used digital camera bodies are junk and should be bought new.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 12:19 am

Well my two lenses gone. Probably will try the Tamron 70-300 SP USD lens... failing that, sell that with the camera and invest in a 60D

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 12:48 am

MISHI wrote:Well my two lenses gone. Probably will try the Tamron 70-300 SP USD lens... failing that, sell that with the camera and invest in a 60D

The tamron shouldnt dissapoint :mrgreen:

I got myself a Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD a few weeks after I got the body from you and since then the tamron's paid back for itself atleast twice (it costs $150usd I think). That was the lens that I used as a backup when the 18-55mm failed on me.

Too bad I made the mistake and left the tamron in my suitcase for a short flight and it broke the zoom ring. I now have to zoom like if Im using a push/pull config but its bearable and I lost auto focus but I never used that much since I found that slow to start with.

Some samples of mine off that "broken lens" :lol: :

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 1:03 am

Don't feel bad... Tamron and zoom rings tend to fail quite often it seems: Happened to me on my 18-270 which extremely disappointed me as I loved that lens (other than the barrel distrtion) but the sad thing is the stopper for their ring is fastened by two small screws that tend to either come loose with the many movements of the ring or they just completely break from their screw points...

I tried opening mine to fix it when I realied it may have damaged the AF system for some reason and unfortunately wrecked it :sad:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 1:04 am

That second pic is brilliant though...

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 1:08 am

Well on tamron's part they did offer to fix it under warranty even doh I wasnt in Europe anymore just I had to pay shipping to their facility.

It just would have ended up costing me less to buy a new lens (similar with the 18-55mm from canon).