COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 113 cases, 8 deaths, 16 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2020, 12:26 am

i think after April they can relax some measures: i.e. let restaurants (no dine in) & other businesses reopen but continue to enforce remote work- which is what we had a couple weeks ago- no mass gatherings for a long time so churches, cinemas, bars, clubs, etc. would remain closed for months.

but we shall see the local situation wrt community spread when testing begins tomorrow- after a week or 2 as we get the results if enough ppl go and test.

Postby paid_influencer » April 14th, 2020, 12:31 am

this is a special hell. Late night talk shows now is just people telephoning each other.

why is everything so quiet. the quiet is scary

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2020, 12:43 am

Minister of Health says Surveillance Testing to start soon

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2020, 12:44 am

redmanjp wrote:i think after April they can relax some measures: i.e. let restaurants (no dine in) & other businesses reopen but continue to enforce remote work- which is what we had a couple weeks ago- no mass gatherings for a long time so churches, cinemas, bars, clubs, etc. would remain closed for months.

but we shall see the local situation wrt community spread when testing begins tomorrow- after a week or 2 as we get the results if enough ppl go and test.

Economist Indira Sagewan-Ali gave some insight into how she believes Trinidad and Tobago will return to normalcy after Covid-19.

Postby paid_influencer » April 14th, 2020, 12:56 am

^ wrong bideo linked.

The unpredictable factor in re-opening is our government. We've passed the point of evidence-based decision making and are fully into the realm of personal dictates by elected leaders.

Postby Gladiator » April 14th, 2020, 1:38 am

My My My...the lies will catch up eventually.

Makes you wonder how many more lies he telling!!!

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/brooklyn ... 3738b656b3

Brooklyn COVID patients challenge Deyalsingh :

Almost half of the recovering COVID-19 patients housed at the step-down facility at Brooklyn Settlement, Sangre Grande, are challenging Minister of Health Terrence Deyalsingh’s claims that he spoke to the majority of them via telephone on Easter Monday and that they refused to be transferred because they were happy with the remedial work done there, after their complaints about the unsanitary conditions were highlighted in the media.

The group of close to 13 patients told Guardian Media last evening that up to the time of Monday’s daily media briefing at 2 pm, Deyalsingh was also aware that four patients had already been sent back to the Couva Hospital after they began displaying viral symptoms.

One person said, “Between Saturday night when we got here and yesterday, they (other patients) began coughing and had fever so those four were taken back.”

During the briefing, Deyalsingh claimed only one patient had returned to Couva and that 30 people remained at the former Aging At Home facility at Bridge Road. He added too that he had spoken to some 26 of them on his way to the briefing and they had agreed to stay at the facility after remedial work was done by the Eastern Regional Health Authority. The minister also said he had agreed to let the patients tell their side of the story to the media, as many of them expressed a desire to do so.

But speaking soon after Deyalsingh, the traumatised Sangre Grande patients, who requested anonymity for fear of victimisation, claimed his about them wanting to remain at the facility was untrue.

One said, “A number of us were watching it (press briefing) and were quite enraged frankly, about the blatant lies.

“I was never contacted by anyone, nobody knew who came to contact who, nobody saw anyone coming to contact anyone, so at least amongst half of us, none of us knew what he (Deyalsingh) was talking about.”

In fact, the patients said the general consensus among them was quite different to what Deyalsingh suggested.

“We absolutely abhor it (staying at the facility) and are only putting up with it because we’re told it is the home stretch for us,” another patient said.

Postby shogun » April 14th, 2020, 2:03 am

Might explain a lot about the disparity in incubation periods and pathology of the virus.

Postby aaron17 » April 14th, 2020, 5:01 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Where is Redress? I wanted to find out from him when this shut down will end in Trinidad

The reason I want to know from him is because he is a staunch dead PNM, if he says this going on for a year then yeah we dead.

I can't take allyuh word for it fellas sorry, allyuh too anti PNM, I need to hear from Redress how long we looking at for this shut down. There is nobody who is a more dead and staunch PNM on this site than he, if he says a year then we know we in trouble, the reason being is anything he says will be in defense of the government so if he say it bad then it bad.
Maybe likely when USA is free from lockdown.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2020, 6:25 am

any vid starting with ”hit subscribe”.....

shogun wrote:Might explain a lot about the disparity in incubation periods and pathology of the virus.

Postby adnj » April 14th, 2020, 6:47 am

PM: I disagree with ‘race claim’

Ria Taitt

Apr 13, 2020

17 min ago

PRIME MINISTER Dr Keith Rowley yesterday expressed disagreement and disapproval with the Express story and editorial relating to the issue of race being advanced by spokesman Phillip Ramdial for the 33 Trinidadians stranded in Barbados as a factor in Government’s initial refusal to allow them to return home.

In a Facebook post shortly after 1 p.m he drew attention to a video of caretaker Prime Minister of Guyana Moses Veerasammy Nagamootoo telling Guyanese nationals stranded overseas to stay in place and await the reopening of Guyana’s airspace, which has been closed to commercial flights since mid-March. Days after that country recorded its first imported case of COVID-19 on March 11, the Guyana government closed its borders, including the two major airports, to all incoming commercial flights until May 1, 2020 as part of its effort to curb the spread of the deadly coronavirus.

In a virtual press briefly Nagamootoo revealed that thousands of Guyanese who were currently overseas had made requests to return home. “We are on lockdown of our airspace and no flights would come in until such a time as the order expires, is varied or amended.....So Guyanese overseas, we empathise with you and we know you wanna come back home....But for the moment, we’d like to see you sit it out for a while longer until we are able to give ourselves some space to be able to deal with the number of cases here and see if we can do proper contact tracing and are able to reduce the number of imported cases in the country,” Nagamootoo stated. Among the Guyanese waiting to return home are an estimated 200 cruise workers, 80 persons in Miami, Florida and over 10,000 in New York. Guyana has 45 confirmed cases and six deaths.

[URL]https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/pm-i-disagree-with-race-claim/article_80bda0a0-7dee-11ea-a9c6-9feb59b979cb.html
[/URL]

Postby sMASH » April 14th, 2020, 7:04 am

redmanjp wrote:i think after April they can relax some measures: i.e. let restaurants (no dine in) & other businesses reopen but continue to enforce remote work- which is what we had a couple weeks ago- no mass gatherings for a long time so churches, cinemas, bars, clubs, etc. would remain closed for months.

april, relax the measures, let the frontliners get some rest and recuperation. restock supplies, get some foods in the place. cause as u allow the people to mix up, boom! second wave. then is back to all hands on deck.

my assumption is, we are stalling this thing with all this contact prevention. and even if we starve it out from here, it just takes one flight to import it again, and we back to square two. (not square one cause some people would have some immunity as they had recovered, and we kinda know what to do already).

the slow transmission rate helping as it reducing the load on the system at any point in time, but this thing will hadda work through the population. as its highly contagious, and there is no vaccine, its just the rate were fiddling with.

Postby Redman » April 14th, 2020, 7:11 am

We can open up small parts of the economic to resupply in a phased way.

As smash said....one person on one flight boat or pirogue and we back to square one

The end of this is a vaccine.
Until then we manage hospitalization and keep numbers down.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2020, 7:16 am

12+ months away

our systems havent been tested as yet.
and until a vaccine what do old folks do ?

Redman wrote:We can open up small parts of the economic to resupply in a phased way.

As smash said....one person on one flight boat or pirogue and we back to square one

The end of this is a vaccine.
Until then we manage hospitalization and keep numbers down.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 14th, 2020, 7:32 am

Redress10 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Where is Redress? I wanted to find out from him when this shut down will end in Trinidad

The reason I want to know from him is because he is a staunch dead PNM, if he says this going on for a year then yeah we dead.

I can't take allyuh word for it fellas sorry, allyuh too anti PNM, I need to hear from Redress how long we looking at for this shut down. There is nobody who is a more dead and staunch PNM on this site than he, if he says a year then we know we in trouble, the reason being is anything he says will be in defense of the government so if he say it bad then it bad.

What does PNM have to do with this disease? This is a global disease. The disease sets the timeline. Best thing we could do is wait it out. Look at it like this. The world is on pause and first world nations hurting badly. Even when this is done most likely those countries going to be in recession and the global economy will slow down. There will also be economic and political backlash against China so the world is facing long term turmoil. Imagine all this going around whilst corona still lurking.

This country not "opening" back anytime soon. Ignore whatever you think the number is. The country simply can't afford a virus outbreak at the level of NY and Italy etc. So although some restrictions may be lifted there will still be restrictions such as no public gatherings such as fetes and parties. Corona is not disappearing anytime soon so normal for us may be 6-8 months away. I think carnival 2021 is out of the question and global travel might pick up somewhere in 2022.

I'm anti Kamla. I'll vote for Bas or Moonilal anytime but Kamla...No facking way. That woman clueless, knows she's clueless and happy to be clueless and still willing to lead us off a cliff.

Thank you Redress I very much appreciate your response, it appears from what you wrote here I must now prepare myself for the long isolation.

I think we would perhaps be looking at maybe next year around this time companies in Trinidad will start catching back themselves? there will be job openings etc? and the economy will be growing and unemployment will be low?

But perhaps the remainder of this year would be a bad idea to go back out to work yes?

Postby Redman » April 14th, 2020, 7:56 am

Well thinking more about it- we have been muddling along- the test will be over the next month to see if at this activity level we have a handle on the virus.

Postby hydroep » April 14th, 2020, 7:57 am

Glut on the market yet prices going up. Profiteering seems to be on the retailing end...:|

Farmer asks Govt: Help us sell our produce
Elizabeth Gonzales

One Warrenville farmer is asking Government to help farmers get goods off their hands to prevent wastage.

Richard Singh, a rice and vegetable farmer, said he anticipated thousands in losses in the coming weeks, and millions in months to come, as there has been a dent in the agriculture sector due to covid19.

He told Newsday on Monday, he would be reaping crops next Wednesday, valued at $60,000 and he was hopeful retailers would buy them.

Singh said he was producing a larger-than-usual proportion of cassava, eddoes, corn, sweet potatoes and pumpkin.

He said, because of reports of farmers having to dump large amounts of stock, provision crops were more feasible because they have a longer shelf life.

“It’s not that we have too much food, we don’t have anyone to sell.

"Normally retailers would buy produce from us farmers and sell it back to consumers, but these guys can’t be on the roadsides so we have no one to re-sell for us.

“Some of them are happy that we're facing this problem so they can get the goods very cheap. It’s cheaper for us to leave it in the field. We’ll lose anyhow.”

He said as dumping continued, it would discourage farmers from producing more food. He added that, while he was prepared to count his losses, more must be done to help farmers so TT would be able to feed itself.

“Now is the time to boost food production and, outside of covid19, we should have been boosting it. The crisis kind of did well because people will eat local and this is the first time in years I heard people talking about producing our food.”

Singh said farmers were desperate to get the good off their hands where some were losing.

“The government has to step in and see how they can assist us because we need to keep producing food. We don’t know how bad things would get. We don’t know how long this would last.”

He said the government should turn its focus to ramping up food production.

“We are already importing 90 per cent of our food. I think the government should encourage people to eat local. They should use the food card and get them to eat local instead of buying a set of imported food. This will boost local production and keep the production of food going and lessen the wastage we are experiencing now.”

He said such a boost could also create employment and keep the agriculture sector alive.

"We are going to have a shortage of food because farmers are cutting back on production because people aren’t buying as much. The groceries are the ones benefiting.”

Singh was concerned that, in the next two months, farmers would have difficulty getting fertilisers or seeds.

“We have farmers willing and ready to produce the food once we have the support and the resources. Once we have our local food, we’ll be good. We need to feed our families and it makes no sense we have the money and nothing to buy. Countries will soon keep their food for their people.

“The smaller farmers will face real trouble. All of us will face loses but we need to keep the farmers producing food. I know in this time we need to help each other that’s why I mechanise operations to bring the goods cheaper.”

Zameer Akaloo, another farmer in Warrenville, said he had 50,000 pounds of watermelon on the field and some in storage waiting to be sold. He said if they were not sold soon he would lose $100,000 in goods. “I just want to be able to make back what I put into these crops. When I do this I can move onto other crops that won’t spoil as quickly.”

He too called on Government to reach out to farmers and offer support to encourage a ramp-up of food production in the country.

“Let’s not wait until things get worse. Let’s assume it will get to a point where we would have to feed ourselves and our livelihood will depend solely on what our farmers produce."

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/14/farmer-asks-govt-help-us-sell-our-produce/

Postby Redman » April 14th, 2020, 8:02 am

So any thoughts or validation on the claim that the NIH under Fauci was funding the gain of function research of this virus at the Wuhan lab?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 14th, 2020, 11:19 am

shogun wrote:Might explain a lot about the disparity in incubation periods and pathology of the virus.

I been following her a long time she does really good reporting very fair and unbiased journalism, unlike CNN the Clown News Network and rest of the MSM

Postby adnj » April 14th, 2020, 11:25 am

Pastor who vowed to preach ‘unless I’m in jail or the hospital’ dies of COVID-19 in VA

An evangelical pastor and founder of The New Deliverance Evangelistic Church in Virginia died of the coronavirus after he held a church service in defiance of safety protocols in late March, the church announced Sunday.

Bishop Gerald O. Glenn told his congregation he would hold service “unless I’m in jail or the hospital,” the New York Post reported. His last in-person service was held on March 22, in defiance of official warnings to practice social distancing as schools were closing, the New York Daily News reported.

“I firmly believe that God is larger than this dreaded virus. You can quote me on that,” the Bishop said, according to the New York Post. “I am essential. I’m a preacher, I talk to God!”

[URL]https://news.google.com/articles/CAIiEJtn7RNZORjDNz2HP-8a0DgqGQgEKhAIACoHCAowytmECzDpyIEDMMr2gwY?hl=en-US&gl=US&ceid=US%3Aen
[/URL]

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2020, 11:30 am

praise the lord

Postby Redman » April 14th, 2020, 11:30 am

Well I guess he got his wish.
RIP

Postby K74T » April 14th, 2020, 11:52 am

COVIDeliverance-19

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 14th, 2020, 11:57 am

But ent the bible say God stronger than any virus?

How come these pastors could heal the sick, make the blind see again, heal you from a wheelchair, but they does die from a virus like a flu?

Postby hydroep » April 14th, 2020, 12:02 pm

For those "undercover" lockdown activities...:|

Deyalsingh: 1.8 million condoms in stock
Clint Chan Tack

HEALTH Minister Terrence Deyalsingh on Monday disclosed there are 1.8 million condoms for men in TT.

He made the disclosure during the virtual news conference hosted by the ministry to provide updates on efforts to combat the spread of the covid19 pandemic.

Deyalsingh also said there are 67,000 condoms for women in TT.

He made these comments in response to a question Newsday had asked at Monday's press conference about whether there were sufficient contraceptives in the country.

To date, the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) has has tested 1152 samples, 113 samples were positive. Eight people have died and 17 people have been discharged. Deyalsingh also said the regular health system continues to function well.

Referring to St Ann's Hospital, Deyalsingh said the number of inpatients there has been reduced from 1,000 to 750, which meant 250 patients are being treated at health centres in their communities.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/14/deyalsingh-1-8-million-condoms-in-stock/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2020, 12:03 pm

adnj wrote:Pastor who vowed to preach ‘unless I’m in jail or the hospital’ dies of COVID-19 in VA

An evangelical pastor and founder of The New Deliverance Evangelistic Church in Virginia died of the coronavirus after he held a church service in defiance of safety protocols in late March, the church announced Sunday.

Bishop Gerald O. Glenn told his congregation he would hold service “unless I’m in jail or the hospital,” the New York Post reported. His last in-person service was held on March 22, in defiance of official warnings to practice social distancing as schools were closing, the New York Daily News reported.

“I firmly believe that God is larger than this dreaded virus. You can quote me on that,” the Bishop said, according to the New York Post. “I am essential. I’m a preacher, I talk to God!”

[URL]https://news.google.com/articles/CAIiEJtn7RNZORjDNz2HP-8a0DgqGQgEKhAIACoHCAowytmECzDpyIEDMMr2gwY?hl=en-US&gl=US&ceid=US%3Aen
[/URL]

Great news!

sMASH wrote:

april, relax the measures, let the frontliners get some rest and recuperation. restock supplies, get some foods in the place. cause as u allow the people to mix up, boom! second wave. then is back to all hands on deck.

my assumption is, we are stalling this thing with all this contact prevention. and even if we starve it out from here, it just takes one flight to import it again, and we back to square two. (not square one cause some people would have some immunity as they had recovered, and we kinda know what to do already).

the slow transmission rate helping as it reducing the load on the system at any point in time, but this thing will hadda work through the population. as its highly contagious, and there is no vaccine, its just the rate were fiddling with.

sMASH, you get it. I'm not sure what is wrong with people thinking we're safe, or the government is doing a great job. They are doing what I would say is the bare minimum during this time. In my opinion, Square 1 never really started so come May 1st or whenever, we're in the same position as we were March 13th.

1. Government is simply following literally what every country is doing and doing it by shooting in the dark (without much data).
2. Government has enforced near draconian measures onto us, that worked almost too good (well according to their data, but realistically these things do work as we're seeing in many other countries). We squashed Covid-19 for now, leaving us open to another wave. This inevitably leads to us being in the same position we started. If at most 1% of our populace got it within the last month or 2. Then we haven't seen anything close to peak yet. What's happening in Italy/Spain/NY an easily be happening to us in 2-3 months time.
3. Our hospitals are underutilized right now, we should have taken this time to allow some cases to grow, leaving some businesses (especially restaurants for pickup/delivery) open.

We would have saved lives in the long run by doing this, as well as not killed the economy.

To handle Covid-19, you need to constantly monitor (by testing) and adjusting SIQ measures.......over the next year or 2. For that reason, while I was an adamant support in hosting Carnival 2020, I honestly can't see Carnival 2021 happening as scheduled.

The good news though is that if we keep up mask wearing, washing hands, social distencing and avoiding dense crowds, we will be ok mostly.

However, I can't see the majority of Trinis do that, especially as we're been caged up for so long.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 14th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Pastors meh

They learnt from the following:

1. Jim Jones - Good intentions in a seperated USA, Evil incarnate soon after.

2. Jimmy Swaggart - The first real televangelist beamed to our televisions in the late 80's early 90"s Hoes and more hoes still preaches today

3.Jim Bakker- A very popular televangelist , convicted of fraud and imprisoned. Still preaches today.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2020, 12:51 pm

KEY POINTS FROM THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH'S VIRTUAL MEDIA CONFERENCE - TUESDAY APRIL 14TH 2020

- Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said the world is closely approaching its 2 millionth COVID-19 case.

- There has been no change in T&T in the update from overnight.
Samples Submitted For Testing: 1152
Positive Samples: 113
Number of Deaths: 8
Number of Persons Discharged: 17

Sixty patients remain hospitalised at Couva and Caura for COVID-19:
CAURA: 14 patients (All Stable)
COUVA: 46 patients (3 in High Dependency Unit and 43 Ambulatory and Stable)

SANGRE GRANDE STEP DOWN FACILITY: 28 patients (All Stable)

- Number of Ventilators currently in T&T dedicated to COVID-19 Treatment: 69.
- There are 17 ventilators at Point Fortin Area Hospital and 15 at Arima Hospital.
- Ten ventilators are expected to come in this week (Six will go to the Augustus Long Hospital and four to Tobago)

- Health Minister: “Test, Test, Test all suspected case and that is what we have been doing from Day One.”

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... __tn__=K-R

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 14th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Very good work not just Trinidad but entire Caribbean this sh!t is completely under control so far.

I have always regarded the Caribbean public health care as one of the best and the data shows this, even if most people still die from lifestyle diseases which IMO is mainly their fault and not that of the public health sector.

I don't think we realize how nice we have it when it comes to free health care.

Damn I guess we holiday is ending soon :( although this is a good thing

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 14th, 2020, 1:16 pm

Free health care, then why am I paying tax ?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 14th, 2020, 1:17 pm

You definitely don't understand what is going on
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Very good work not just Trinidad but entire Caribbean this sh!t is completely under control so far.

I have always regarded the Caribbean public health care as one of the best and the data shows this, even if most people still die from lifestyle diseases which IMO is mainly their fault and not that of the public health sector.

I don't think we realize how nice we have it when it comes to free health care.

Damn I guess we holiday is ending soon :( although this is a good thing