computercentral wrote:ST Auto wrote:10am update. No new tests done
Today is a holiday bai
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Yeah but ent that second wave already supposed to happen?
paid_influencer wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Yeah but ent that second wave already supposed to happen?
the first wave not even over yet
it definitely possible we can avoid the second wave, but that means we not going to be coming out any time soon. if you have plans in 2020, now is a good time to re-examine them.
Cockroach on your foot and you just take it as normal? That's either highly developed reflex control or plain old acclimatization.MaxPower wrote:
Im sure these people have relatives bringing clothes and food etc for them.
No wonder the roaches.
Allyuh Trinis good yes.
‘It’s a dump’
Cockroaches infesting ‘step down’ facility
Anna Ramdass
The Sangre Grande “step down” facility where recovering COVID-19 patients are required to stay is a cockroach-infested dump.
This is according to patients who reached out to the Express yesterday, hours after being transported there from Couva Hospital on Saturday night.
“We were forced to line up at 3 a.m. like donkeys in the stifling heat to meet with the one doctor here, to recreate an entirely new patient record because they can’t transfer the patient files from Couva. I’m dumbfounded,” said a patient.
“Given the absolutely deplorable and uninhabitable situation here, I absolutely cannot stay in an environment like this. I don’t even want to eat or drink anything so as to preclude using the toilet (which doesn’t close or even have a door). The entire house is unhygienic, dilapidated, cockroach-infested and filthy. It is stifling and has no AC or fans. It’s not even an option to sit or sleep here. I’ve been standing as much as I can to avoid touching the dirty furniture. The infrastructure is absolutely derelict and revolting for patients.
“We are not convicted criminals or caged animals, we are in fact patients that require a decent safe and healthy environment that we can, at the very least, rest,” said the patient.
“I’m so sorry...cannot be forced to stay in a nasty, dilapidated roach-infested place. It is the most disgusting and filthy place I’ve seen. I am with someone else who is in literal tears. This dump is uninhabitable and I refuse to stay here.”
The patients requested anonymity, noting that they do not want to be victimised and reprimanded for speaking out and sharing photographs of the conditions they are forced to stay in.
The Express was told that 30 patients were taken from Couva Hospital to Sangre Grande to a facility that was a geriatric home.
The move took place late at night and patients arrived just before midnight.
The process of admission took hours.
On arrival at the facility, the patients spent hours into the morning waiting to see a doctor before being “admitted”.
“Everyone went to bed in the early hours of the morning....we are standing in line to give the same information again,” said the patient.
After filling out the necessary paper work, patients were sent to small rooms where several of them are forced to share.
“I was just standing there because I didn’t even want to sit, I was just scorning to even touch anything, the chairs, the beds, there are cockroaches flying all over the place.
“The bathroom is so disgusting I didn’t even want to walk in it...the entire thing is shattering and horrifying, some people were in tears,” said the patient.
No symptoms
The patient told the Express that they now have no symptoms whatsoever. The patient tested positive after having travelled abroad.
“I kept asking why am I here, I am not symptomatic, I do not require any medical support. I have not received any medical treatment since I’ve been either in Couva or here, zero, literally zero,” the patient said.
The patient said they were told by the doctor that the virus can spread even if there are no symptoms and quarantine was mandatory.
“I told the doctor that self-quarantining can be strictly adhered to at home. We don’t need to be dragged out of our house where we can eat balanced meals, sleep comfortably and exercise and actually recuperate.
“In these settings you are drifting into depression, after a while the entrapment gets to you so there is a lot of mental gloom and despair around and it was just almost tangible the sadness and mental turmoil people are facing, just the jail-like factor really gets to you...you are pent up with these emotions and you can’t move” the patient said.
“I shudder to even walk in here with shoes. How are we even supposed to shower in this filthy place? I feel so shattered to tears being subjected to this,” said the patient, adding that hygiene should be of utmost importance.
The patient also raised concerns about being kept with symptomatic COVID-positive patients at Couva.
“It was a bit traumatic at first. They stuck us together with people who are asymptomatic. We were sharing rooms with people who were on ventilator and could not speak,” the patient said.
The patient said nurses said “you can’t be more positive if you are already positive”.
“That’s not the point if I’m asymptomatic. I don’t have a cough, I don’t want to be sitting next to someone coughing in my face, I don’t want to be exposed to such symptoms. I had to share bathrooms with pee on the floor because there are very sick people who cannot clean up themselves properly,” the patient added.
Panicking
An issue was also raised with the dumping of food and other essentials delivered for patients by relatives.
“I begged for like ten hours and asked eight different nurses to please send someone for it since I’m vegetarian and have a restrictive diet. They dump it on the ground. Some other people left food too for their families and they didn’t even take it for them,” said the patient.
“I’m a healthy, active person, I could not move at all, I would wake up in the middle of the night panicking and claustrophobic, not physically claustrophobic because we are in a big room but just the imprisoning feeling that you are stuck in here, not feeling fresh air on your body for two weeks,” the patient added.
The patient recalled when they were first told quarantine was mandatory and they should consider it a vacation.
“I acquiesced and decided to come, much to my chagrin, now just being in the whole entrapment people drift into a depressed mental state,” said the patient, adding that they are also unable to work.
“I cannot work from such an environment. I have bills to pay and I cannot work, I cannot join conference calls. I’m imploring the authorities to please urgently visit this dump and see for themselves what unacceptable conditions we are subjected to,” said the patient.
adnj wrote:Cockroach on your foot and you just take it as normal? That's either highly developed reflex control or plain old acclimatization.MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG
No wonder the roaches.
Allyuh Trinis good yes.
That cockroach jumped out of a suitcase from home.
The foot is stewart young one.pugboy wrote:I like the headline with the roach and word fly
very catchy
that foot dont look like no pensioner 70+ tho
rspann wrote:adnj wrote:Cockroach on your foot and you just take it as normal? That's either highly developed reflex control or plain old acclimatization.MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG
No wonder the roaches.
Allyuh Trinis good yes.
Allyuh not easy boy!
So you saying how he accustom to it ? is ah pet then ?
ST Auto wrote:Until they start testing everyone with symptoms an not just ppl with travel history the numbers won't show. Look how long the balandra ppl quarantined an they now test positive
Redress10 wrote:ST Auto wrote:Until they start testing everyone with symptoms an not just ppl with travel history the numbers won't show. Look how long the balandra ppl quarantined an they now test positive
This is misinformation. You are asymptomatic for a small period of time. Maybe up to day 2 after being infected. By day 5 you would have all symptoms and would test positive. Covid deadlier than the flu. Most ppl resct poorly to a regular cold and have never experienced a full blown flu so let that guide you on the severity of of Covid.
Mild symptoms just mean that you don't need a respirator or ICU. It means you could suffer it out without intense medical intervention but you WOULD need medical guidance at some point that is where people are flocking to Doctors and hospitals. Covid in mild when compared to things such as Ebola. Remember you are describing a global pandemic.
The balandra people now testing positive are recently infected within the past couple of days. There's no such thing as a long incubation period. It's 2-14 days. They probably still interacting with each other and slowly infecting each other.
Dohplaydat wrote:Redress10 wrote:ST Auto wrote:Until they start testing everyone with symptoms an not just ppl with travel history the numbers won't show. Look how long the balandra ppl quarantined an they now test positive
This is misinformation. You are asymptomatic for a small period of time. Maybe up to day 2 after being infected. By day 5 you would have all symptoms and would test positive. Covid deadlier than the flu. Most ppl resct poorly to a regular cold and have never experienced a full blown flu so let that guide you on the severity of of Covid.
Mild symptoms just mean that you don't need a respirator or ICU. It means you could suffer it out without intense medical intervention but you WOULD need medical guidance at some point that is where people are flocking to Doctors and hospitals. Covid in mild when compared to things such as Ebola. Remember you are describing a global pandemic.
The balandra people now testing positive are recently infected within the past couple of days. There's no such thing as a long incubation period. It's 2-14 days. They probably still interacting with each other and slowly infecting each other.
Not always, a friend in FL said she tested positive over a month ago and never experienced symptoms other than some fatigue and slight fever and sore throat for one day (which she thought was allergies). If not for the test (she's a nurse and had been tested 3 times to verify) she would not have known she was ever even sick.
So mild, so aysmpymtomatic....sometimes
sMASH wrote:^^80% of cases. but even with mild, the death rate and severe respiratory counts should still be higher, even if not tested for covid.
i really dont think the govt is right, but it seems so. lets wait and see what the surveilence testing show s up.
No social distancing ah tell yuh.MaxPower wrote:Cockroaches are nocturnal and for them to be on someone’s foot in broad daylight are signs of over crowding...
So this picture of ONE cockroach is bollocks.
STOP the lying Trinis, its always a scene with allyuh.
rspann wrote:adnj wrote:Cockroach on your foot and you just take it as normal? That's either highly developed reflex control or plain old acclimatization.MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG
No wonder the roaches.
Allyuh Trinis good yes.
Allyuh not easy boy!
So you saying how he accustom to it ? is ah pet then ?
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:redmanjp wrote:the spanish flu came in waves- i think the second or third wave might have been worse. and a vaccine is AT LEAST a year away if not more. we in this for the long haul
And what evidence you have that Covid will be the same?
Allyuh do realize that Trinidad going and reopen in about a month time right?
at most 2 months and that is it, no year or anything like that nonsense
Phone Surgeon wrote:I feel tomorrow akash gonna ask the cmo point blank if he tender his resignation
Blaze d Chalice wrote:They coulda well be getting KFC, Subway, fry rice, barbeque, doubles and roti etc if trinis had a different attitude than "all ah we is one so if I must suffer, we must all suffer"