Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Reefplanet » February 9th, 2013, 9:59 pm

And dem selling dry rock like rel expensive.. 50$ for 1lb

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 9th, 2013, 10:00 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:We seriously need a reef site for trinies where we could chat and ting

There is still this stigma that saltwater aquariums, equipment and fishes are VERY expensive. Due to certain petshops in the country that has made this high cost a reality, in true reality, one can set up a small tank that will not break the piggy bank. I've seen the petshop that used to be by twin walls in gulf city come by raj and buy clowns for $200 each, sell it for $600 each, blue/green chromis - $100 and sell it for $500, cleaner shrimp - $350 and sell it for $900. When the customer asks, they say thats because of the shipping & quarantine......... :shock: :shock:
Allot of people can have a decent tank for a couple thousand dollars. Many people also say that monthly maintainance is also high but its actually a myth. I pay under $250 mth to run my tank and if i really want i could still save. I'm sure there are allot of freshwater people that pay the same amount mthly

+[/quote
No wonder the petshop in gulf city move. They prolly see 2customers every 4 hours and they dont buy anything. Sometimes they dont even know what they sellin. I ask for a coral dosing thing and they say the didnt have it but it was right on the shelf ..i show them it and they were like orrrr right this is for corals. :|

How this post not quoting!!!

Yeah they move to a big place (right hand side) after brians gate leading to Debe. Just after the garden supply place.
Whats a coral dosing thing? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I bought one of these on thursday to feed my acans and blastos
http://www.amazon.com/Two-Little-Fishie ... ians+thing

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 9th, 2013, 10:27 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:We seriously need a reef site for trinies where we could chat and ting

There is still this stigma that saltwater aquariums, equipment and fishes are VERY expensive. Due to certain petshops in the country that has made this high cost a reality, in true reality, one can set up a small tank that will not break the piggy bank. I've seen the petshop that used to be by twin walls in gulf city come by raj and buy clowns for $200 each, sell it for $600 each, blue/green chromis - $100 and sell it for $500, cleaner shrimp - $350 and sell it for $900. When the customer asks, they say thats because of the shipping & quarantine......... :shock: :shock:
Allot of people can have a decent tank for a couple thousand dollars. Many people also say that monthly maintainance is also high but its actually a myth. I pay under $250 mth to run my tank and if i really want i could still save. I'm sure there are allot of freshwater people that pay the same amount mthly

+[/quote
No wonder the petshop in gulf city move. They prolly see 2customers every 4 hours and they dont buy anything. Sometimes they dont even know what they sellin. I ask for a coral dosing thing and they say the didnt have it but it was right on the shelf ..i show them it and they were like orrrr right this is for corals. :|

How this post not quoting!!!

Yeah they move to a big place (right hand side) after brians gate leading to Debe. Just after the garden supply place.
Whats a coral dosing thing? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I bought one of these on thursday to feed my acans and blastos
http://www.amazon.com/Two-Little-Fishie ... ians+thing

lol idk
Wayyy you going all high-tech and thing

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 9th, 2013, 10:41 pm

saw raj have some nice 1 1/2" algae blennies thats good for your tank

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 10th, 2013, 1:24 pm

I want :( but I still hv to save up for the Rodi unit and buy the skimmer

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 10th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Just out of curiosity.... how much you guys pay for the rodi units ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 10th, 2013, 6:28 pm

Raj sells a 5 stage RODI unit (inclusive of pump) for $2500. The replacement filters (10 & 5 micron) and charcoal are less than 200 and the DI resin is $200. These filters and DI resin prices are only for people who bought a unit by him. If you didnt buy the unit buy him, his price is higher. Also if you bought a unit by him and for some reason it stop working or need parts or servicing, he well lend you a unit until its fixed. Depending on who it is, he'll do that with skimmers, pumps and chillers. Some people may say his stuff expensive and they prefer buy it online, well for me, thats my comfort of buying my stuff by him.............. i get my warranty and i'm sure i can get a part within the time it takes to drive up the highway. He already lend me a chiller (once when the inlet tubing got clogged and unit shut down) and magdrive pump (twice when the impeller broke) when my tank went down early one morning. Thats my security of buying by raj. You cant beat that now

Postby meccalli » February 10th, 2013, 6:46 pm

Wow that's a darn good price. How often do you guys go through filters?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 10th, 2013, 8:15 pm

meccalli wrote:Wow that's a darn good price. How often do you guys go through filters?

It all depends............ if your water coming in from WASA is clean (Which is never ever :mrgreen: ) your filters could last from 1mth to a couple mths well. I change my filters every 4 mths or so. It could last longer if i put back one of those regular home filters coming from the main tank. The DI resin fits in a cartridge similar to those home filters and the resin makes about 150-200gal of water before your TDS starts to move from '0' to about '1'. In a FOWLR system, you can run your TDS higher. I know people who run theirs to '5'.
In a reef, you try to have the cleanest water you can, so you will keep it at '0'.
I know a few guys who running blue waters in their reef tanks and they bawling with algae right now. When they checked, their TDS was 30+. Most people fail to realize that all drinking water sold in supermarkets is not RO/DI water but just RO water.
Last edited by HondaB20B on February 10th, 2013, 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby meccalli » February 10th, 2013, 9:57 pm

Awesome, i'll start saving my pennies for the day that I finish school, get a job, and begin reefing lol :)

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 10th, 2013, 10:37 pm

Lol I paid 1200 for my RO unit from Desal Tech..., for the DI I bought a canister and DI online and added it in for about 200. Thing with desal tech is they buss price with their refills.... I bought my refills online also... before I knew about Raj lol his prices came up to the same thing as bringing it in... so ill get my refills by him now. I use 5 micron then carbon then 1 micron before the RO
Raj price decent tho...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 10th, 2013, 11:21 pm

^^^^......... yeah when you check it out you, get service and parts a phone call away. dont have to wait a week or more then you realize they ship the wrong item

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 10th, 2013, 11:24 pm

Think about it... if Raj wasnt there... Reef aquariums might be some kind a dream lol...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 10th, 2013, 11:47 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Think about it... if Raj wasnt there... Reef aquariums might be some kind a dream lol...

to a point.................. the first reef tank i ever saw was by a friend of mine by the name of Patrick Choo-Foon. He lived St Anns those days. He was one of trinidad's top artist. He had a nice 4 ft reef tank with a 4ft wet/dry system, along with some other tanks. I met him while i was diving down the islands (scotland bay) and he had now collected a 1 1/2" french angel, a 2" queen angel and a sea horse. And that was about 24yrs ago. He and 2 of his other friends also had larger tanks with angels. They even had a 4ft nurse shark from down the islands.
Those days pantins in POS used to bring in salt water products like fish, skimmers, salt, hang on filters (skitler - had a built in skimmer) and lights

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 10th, 2013, 11:59 pm

:o :o ouuu didnt know saltwater aquariums had all that history in Trinidad. I know for the wildlife convention they use to have in Center of Excellence, they use to go catch angels and eels and stuff DDI an in Tobago... didnt know men adopt it lol
Some nice facts there.... Nu Image started a decent thing with all the billboards and the store in the mall with getting people interested in Salt aquariums but he should have had some more experience and some better prices to encourage people into the hobby... Them making it only about the $$ :(
As Raj said "By the time people come by me... they money done" :mrgreen: lol True talk

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 11th, 2013, 12:14 am

greenlime100 wrote::o :o ouuu didnt know saltwater aquariums had all that history in Trinidad. I know for the wildlife convention they use to have in Center of Excellence, they use to go catch angels and eels and stuff DDI an in Tobago... didnt know men adopt it lol
Some nice facts there.... Nu Image started a decent thing with all the billboards and the store in the mall with getting people interested in Salt aquariums but he should have had some more experience and some better prices to encourage people into the hobby... Them making it only about the $$ :(
As Raj said "By the time people come by me... they money done" :mrgreen: lol True talk

sure right........... he still needs some experience. Saw some tanks he did and it was really poor. He set up a friend of the family's tank (didnt know about it till long after), the man set up a 4ft tank for them and did all this in one day.
2" sand, put about 60-70lbs of bleached white rock (dead- not live), mixed the salt with tap water in the tank and hooked up filters. Next day he added about 5 chromis, some starfish, about 5 clowns, 2 yellow tangs, When they call him he said its something they did for them to die.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 11th, 2013, 12:21 am

larddd ae.... He and he padna from Deigo need to do their homework and start growing a passion for this if they want to become successful.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 11th, 2013, 12:49 am

greenlime100 wrote::shock:
larddd ae.... He and he padna from Deigo need to do their homework and start growing a passion for this if they want to become successful.

I supposed to go by another cousin of mine that has one set up. Its a 6ft and he said that according to santoo, its the best looking reef tank in TNT that he has set up and maintains. I'm not doubting him, but i'm Hoping to go by him soon and see it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 11th, 2013, 9:34 am

when you ready to set up the pellets, thats how it supposed to be tumbling
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WM7VHOV ... _embedded#!

Phosban also

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 11th, 2013, 10:13 am

I coulda dead with the music in that video lol yea hopefully looking to check raj this week, get some corals an start the rowaphos. The bioplellets I a little shaky because im not sure if my skimmer could handle it. I have a marineland 100 btw.
As it is, its working great but if I started the biopellets and my skimmer couldnt keep up I would then see a raise in Nitrate of PO4 rite ?

Santoo showed my a tank in Diego very near to him, the tank was reallll nice and well maintained, He also mentioned he saw a couple other better tanks as well

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 11th, 2013, 11:22 am

greenlime100 wrote::lol: :lol:
I coulda dead with the music in that video lol yea hopefully looking to check raj this week, get some corals an start the rowaphos. The bioplellets I a little shaky because im not sure if my skimmer could handle it. I have a marineland 100 btw.
As it is, its working great but if I started the biopellets and my skimmer couldnt keep up I would then see a raise in Nitrate of PO4 rite ?

Santoo showed my a tank in Diego very near to him, the tank was reallll nice and well maintained, He also mentioned he saw a couple other better tanks as well

dont think you should start to run rowaphos and get new corals same time. When you start rowa for the first time, some corals recede for a few days possibly due to shock. You will want to run it for a wk or so and then add your corals. Every time i replace mine (every 4 mths), my corals react for a couple days and then open up even more. Actually i'm due to change out mine today

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 11th, 2013, 11:42 am

Yea I was thinking to just get the rowaphos but introduce it to the tank prob by the next week, I'll wait till the new corals get stable and look healthy for a good few days before I start the rowaphos.

You think the marineland 100 skimmer could handle biopellets ?

I looking to get proactive here lol Fighting brown algae wasnt fun

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 11th, 2013, 12:00 pm

Anyhow you want to do it

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 11th, 2013, 12:42 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Yea I was thinking to just get the rowaphos but introduce it to the tank prob by the next week, I'll wait till the new corals get stable and look healthy for a good few days before I start the rowaphos.

You think the marineland 100 skimmer could handle biopellets ?

I looking to get proactive here lol Fighting brown algae wasnt fun

I running the Two little fishies NPX bioplastics and as stated on the package, a good skimmer is required. Trust me, my skimmer pulls real black skimmate. I dont know much about your type of skimmer so i really dont want to say you can or cant use it.

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » February 11th, 2013, 2:31 pm

fresh water people i got two red tails and one shovel nose that needs a new home-
red tails are 4 inches asking 200 each
shovel nose a little bigger about 4.5 inches asking 400
take all for 600
pm me for details

Kevin_45

Postby Kevin_45 » February 11th, 2013, 8:18 pm

where selling good exotic fish like discus etc for good price?!?! i new in the fish business

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 11th, 2013, 10:03 pm

How allyuh use carbon in a reactor or just floating in the tank..i use it in my powerfilter

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » February 12th, 2013, 12:49 am

i think 2nr should split this thread now...Fresh water and salt water

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » February 12th, 2013, 7:23 am

Ronnie203 wrote:i think 2nr should split this thread now...Fresh water and salt water

A fool takes no pleasure in understanding,
but only in expressing his opinion

:? :?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 12th, 2013, 8:42 am

^^^^ LOL

Reefplanet wrote:How allyuh use carbon in a reactor or just floating in the tank..i use it in my powerfilter

I dont uses carbon in my system, but i do use Chemipure Elite.
You get better use when you have water flowing through it rather than around it. So using a powerfilter is good. I have mine in a hangon filter