Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Re: Are We Serious About Fixing Crime In T&T?

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2024, 6:43 pm

I'll ask one more time, what criteria do I need to get an FUL, simple? I realize you only place you can feel you win besides on tuner is with church and porn. Answer the question straight, let's say you and me meet all of the above, you get though and I didn't. What criteria did the COP use?

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2024, 6:45 pm

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh go ahead and give a set of Trinis FUL.

Watch bacchanal

u are assuming we giving out FUL like hops bread with zero criteria?

Postby Habit7 » May 27th, 2024, 7:21 pm

alfa wrote:Answer the question straight, let's say you and me meet all of the above,

Meet what, the criteria?

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2024, 7:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:
alfa wrote:Answer the question straight, let's say you and me meet all of the above,

Meet what, the criteria?

Yeah we both over 25, no criminal record etc. You get your ful and I don't. What was used to decide that? And it has happened many times already

Re: Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2024, 7:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Allyuh go ahead and give a set of Trinis FUL.

Watch bacchanal

u are assuming we giving out FUL like hops bread with zero criteria?

That “criteria” is easy to fulfill.

Just remember, there is no irresponsibility test.

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2024, 7:35 pm

it’s pure cloak and dagger black box scenes
nobody supposed to know or ask questions
the kicker is you don’t get a rejection
you just get a “your application pending” to keep you hanging

alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Meet what, the criteria?

Yeah we both over 25, no criminal record etc. You get your ful and I don't. What was used to decide that? And it has happened many times already

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2024, 7:36 pm

but there is a psychometric test where the evaluator asks you about your tendencies and ting
plus they interview your other half

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2024, 7:41 pm

pugboy wrote:it’s pure cloak and dagger black box scenes
nobody supposed to know or ask questions
the kicker is you don’t get a rejection
you just get a “your application pending” to keep you hanging

alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Meet what, the criteria?

Correct and the only way to get a decision from them is via judicial review cuz they not even responding to pap letters

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2024, 7:59 pm

eventually a judge will issue an order for them to have a proper process when it get absurd repeatedly
but by that time they may change the method
ie move the goal posts

Postby Habit7 » May 27th, 2024, 8:02 pm

alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Meet what, the criteria?

But you said there was no criteria
alfa wrote:1. The COP has final say on granting of FULs i.e there is no fixed criteria which she has to abide by like say granting of a building permit by T&C once you satisfy defined criteria.

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2024, 8:09 pm

Take win habit. Hopefully the readers have sense if you don't

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2024, 10:01 pm

pugboy wrote:but there is a psychometric test where the evaluator asks you about your tendencies and ting
plus they interview your other half

Easy to bypass.

Bear in mind pug, this is a corruptive culture.

Money will pass and people will get their test results via pdf whatsapp and print it without even seeing a doctor.

Postby 16 cycles » May 28th, 2024, 11:37 am

folks making the point that after meeting the pass / fail criteria, there seems to be some subjectivity in the process.

Persons meet the pass criteria, there is then a discretion exercised by the CoP but no guidance on what guides the discretion.

This opens up the process to perceived influence where one of the discretionary principles post passing of criteria is a quota mandated by the government on how many licenses may be granted per year.

Then it becomes, for a limited number of grants - if 1000 ppl pass but only 100 are allowed - how then is this determined?

Postby Habit7 » May 28th, 2024, 1:37 pm

Well if we are discussing the issue there is no need to embellish it because it only proves that you have an agenda and not trying to address the actual issue.

There is no doubt there will have be discretion as the law admits. In the same way an Immigration Officer uses his discretion to let ppl into the country or a Visa Officer in the embassy. They will be guided by govt policy and then use their discretion after ppl meet basic criteria. Likewise, though the MoNS cannot give the TTPS operational commands, it can guide their policy. So the previous policy was let’s say 5000 FULs a year. GG as COP not answerable to the MoNS increased it to 60,000 FULs (not sure of the exact no.). Rowley lamented this as, despite what GG says, legal firearms and ammo have been linked to crimes. Plus there were rampant corruption in the FUL process which exacerbated with the ramp up in FULs.

So the MoNS and by extension the PM head of the National Security Council expressed that the policy is to return to the past policy especially with ongoing investigations. So it is not the PM having the final word on FULs, or the PM dictating to the CoP how many FULs, or the PM saying no FULs. All these are claims being made here. The CoP is issuing FULs by her discretion according to the law because FULs are a privilege not a right.

Postby alfa » May 28th, 2024, 5:25 pm

So you fully understood the question I was asking for several days just just playing dotish and just now decided to give a answer. Habit have yourself a merry Christmas eh

Postby redmanjp » May 28th, 2024, 5:43 pm

16 cycles wrote:folks making the point that after meeting the pass / fail criteria, there seems to be some subjectivity in the process.

Persons meet the pass criteria, there is then a discretion exercised by the CoP but no guidance on what guides the discretion.

This opens up the process to perceived influence where one of the discretionary principles post passing of criteria is a quota mandated by the government on how many licenses may be granted per year.

Then it becomes, for a limited number of grants - if 1000 ppl pass but only 100 are allowed - how then is this determined?

perhaps by who needs it most? business ppl, ppl who already victims of crime or getting threats/extortion ?

Postby alfa » May 28th, 2024, 6:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:
16 cycles wrote:folks making the point that after meeting the pass / fail criteria, there seems to be some subjectivity in the process.

perhaps by who needs it most? business ppl, ppl who already victims of crime or getting threats/extortion ?

That's the thing no one says or even provides general guidelines. Also the numbers issued by different COPs vary greatly with no explanation. Gary was tainted with corruption so we can discount his numbers but under Erla last year less than 30 persons got provisional firearm permits out of 25000 waiting and they still want to insist there is no political interference. If there isn't then the alternative is massive incompetence as indeed indicated by frank seepersad when he wood she for six.
My figures of 30 last year is accurate as I mentioned I last year I was one of those and based on my number at the time of issuance in the later part of the year, a basic extrapolating puts it at 30 tops. That's why they getting blaze in court for failure to process applications in time. Initially they were blaming COVID but when that got shot down as an acceptable reason they have none so that's why they're rushing to change the act to include a committee to decide on applications

Postby Habit7 » May 28th, 2024, 7:21 pm

alfa wrote:So you fully understood the question I was asking for several days just just playing dotish and just now decided to give a answer. Habit have yourself a merry Christmas eh

You were saying and was adamant that there is no criteria and that it only based on COP discretion. That is not true.

redmanjp wrote:perhaps by who needs it most? business ppl, ppl who already victims of crime or getting threats/extortion ?

One problem under GG was that many of the FULs were multiple for one person, while ppl with no guns were getting blanked. Damian Laing had 27 firearms and Sharaz Mohammed had 5, president of the Pharmaceutical Board shot himself with one of the 2 guns and 69 rounds on his person.

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2024, 7:35 pm

the entire application system is by design lending itself to ambiguity and so much so right here in this forum nobody can give a straight answer if it really is officially or unofficially up to the Cop

as was said before by rowlee “we can’t give everybody a gun”
it easy to say that in the past but now every bandit have a gun and to keep using that excuse makes no sense if the purpose of a gun remains a form of legal protection

bottom line is the govt wants it that way to have underhand control for a variety of reasons
eg “would have one race being killed by another”

bringing gg into this discussion is pointless too because the process became quickly corrupted under his watch

Postby MaxPower » May 29th, 2024, 5:35 am

Habit7 wrote:president of the Pharmaceutical Board shot himself with one of the 2 guns and 69 rounds on his person.

And many more to come with mass FUL approvals.

This is not the country for a gun toting public.

We need another solution.

Postby maj. tom » May 29th, 2024, 5:42 am

National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds has labelled Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s call for police officers to “return fire with full force” against criminals as dangerous and reckless.

“She has now gone on to call on the police in particular to stand your ground, empty the clip, lock it, Rooster it. Now I speak as a former police instructor, I speak as an attorney-at-law and, of course, as a legislator and Minister of National security, as far as I and the police are aware, the law and the ethos is and has always been no more than is absolutely necessary is to be used.”

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/hinds--kamlas-call-to-cops-to-return-fire-with-full-force-dangerous-advice-6.2.2013265.d391a59fd5

Postby 16 cycles » May 29th, 2024, 6:48 am

redmanjp wrote:

the hope is the award will help prevent persons from becoming victims of violent crime / extortion which might happen to anybody these days as the same organization awarding has essentially failed us over many years leading to present problems.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 29th, 2024, 6:48 am

Since when people does listen to Kamla

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2024, 9:30 am

Habit7 wrote:According to the Firearms Act the CoP has the final say on FUL, hence Rowley’s criticism of liberal distribution of FULs. The PM didn’t approve.

The COP is appointed by majority vote in the Lower House from the PolSC Merit List. It is not by the final say of the PM.

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2024, 9:32 am

Mmoney607 wrote:Since when people does listen to Kamla
Well they listen to Rowlee, and get kill, raped, robbed, home invasions , extortion and taxed.

No need to listen to Kamala,

Postby aaron17 » May 29th, 2024, 12:57 pm

listen from .. 1:11:13
they take about the extortion of the doubles lady and how one of the suspects was involved in the pennywise shootout. The man get bail from the pennywise outcome and he went to do back his normal crime after like normal. They discuss the failure or 'current laws' of tnt.

Postby zoom rader » June 22nd, 2024, 7:42 am

I thought Habit7 said crime down?

Postby alfa » June 22nd, 2024, 8:55 am

zoom rader wrote:I thought Habit7 said crime down?

Down south probably

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2024, 10:06 am

You lie again

Quote me.

Postby zoom rader » June 23rd, 2024, 8:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:

You lie again

Quote me.
U were Quoting fake stats from PNM reports.