Official marijuana/marijuana legalization in TNT thread

nick639v2

Re: Official marijuana/marijuana legalization in TNT thread

Postby nick639v2 » December 18th, 2019, 10:05 am

pugboy wrote:so any tuners start movements towards this business or usually kyak kyak sideline criticizers?
Have to wait and see what law and final agreements are first. So far not much is said about import(if at all, or maybe under pharmaceutical measures) or what products can be readily be advertised too.

If it isn't a total sheit show then theres people up in Canada willing to supply and start-up sum

Postby Slartibartfast » December 19th, 2019, 10:21 am

vaiostation wrote:I think people making the business and profitablity part of this weed thing sound easier than it is.

Doing business in Trinidad, especially agriculture, can be difficult at times. If it isn't government, predial larceny, 1% people, flood, it go be diseases, or some other sheit. Not only that, when government see ya making too much money or ya competing against certain people, the laws are gonna be adjusted to deal with you.

Plus most of your profits are gonna be in the short term, because the demand is gonna be high, but in a few years after, when producers a thousand times the size of Trinidad come on stream and flood de market and the price drops significantly, what ya gonna do? Then with all of that, countries like Europe and America like to raise their standards and policies that push smaller countries like us of the map. Some people will survive regardless, but after the initial gold rush, we gonna end up back in square one.

Plus the legalization of weed is really meant to benefit certain people, not the wider population, that's why DOMA and Rawi family was in a gear long before this talk was in the public domain.

Dizzy28 wrote:They probably already have their strains on order. Douglas Gordon's Canex 2019 in POS earlier this year was attended by Balram Vaswani from Kaya and Chris Moses from WI Cannabis.

Johnny Soong, Dominic Hadeed and a slew of other Middle Eastern derived Trinis were there as well and well poor old me.
Slartibartfast wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Kaya, the first company that got a dispensary licence in Jamaica has a programme with U Tech and they whittled down an initial 35 or so strains under cultivation to the 6 they growing now.

Commercialization of Cannabis not going to be an easy road as some Trinis feel it will be.
Does "some people" include the directors of West Indian Cannabis Company Ltd.?

Between what the two of you guys saying I honestly think West Indian Cannabis Company (WICC) was set up to be a major importer and maybe derivative manufacturer in the future. They not going to get involved in local cultivation. All the need is a headstart with some laws and policies on their side to give them exclusive import rights kinda like how they had exclusive rights to include the name of a currently illegal substance in their company name. The will rely on political favours to circumvent the standards and policies that are impossible for others to follow and then promote themselves as successful business men that were able to succeed where others failed because of their amazing business capability and not the fact that they had their friends stack all the cards in their favour.

Also... WICC not going to sell a single article of clothing.

Postby mero » December 19th, 2019, 3:51 pm

Decriminalization announced for Dec 23rd!

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 19th, 2019, 11:40 pm

so once you selling less than 30 grams is not a problem?
where we getting the plants

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2019, 6:28 am

Paula gonna sign off on it Monday....trees be lighting from Tuesday

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » December 20th, 2019, 6:48 am

for my own edification.. what does 30 grams of weed look like???

ok..found a pic... :shock: 8-)
30_grams_pot_legal_airplane1.jpg

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 20th, 2019, 8:14 am

Just googled it also
30 g is plenty. dize more than a week of smoking
What about paper

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 20th, 2019, 8:15 am

does government have any legal limit for smoking and driving ?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 20th, 2019, 8:54 am

hong kong phooey wrote:does government have any legal limit for smoking and driving ?

No mention is made of it the draft that was debated in the lower House

http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/b2019h23g.pdf

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 20th, 2019, 9:06 am

You all know decriminalization means it's not a criminal offence,it is still illegal but just a ticketable offence right? As in any amount under 30g is still illegal and seized but you get a ticket

Postby Dizzy28 » December 20th, 2019, 9:12 am

ru$$ell wrote:You all know decriminalization means it's not a criminal offence,it is still illegal but just a ticketable offence right? As in any amount under 30g is still illegal and seized but you get a ticket

You mean over 30g

Postby adnj » December 20th, 2019, 9:58 am

hong kong phooey wrote:does government have any legal limit for smoking and driving ?
It is completely subjective and decided by the arresting constable:

MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC ACT
CHAPTER 48:50

“drug” includes any intoxicant other than alcohol;

70. (1) Any person who, when driving or attempting to drive
or when in charge of a motor vehicle on a road, is under the
influence of drink or a drug to such an extent as to be incapable of
having proper control of the vehicle, is liable on first conviction to
a fine of twelve thousand dollars and to imprisonment for three
years and on any subsequent conviction to a fine of twenty-two
thousand, five hundred dollars and to imprisonment for five years.
(2) A person convicted of—
(a) two consecutive offences under this section shall,
unless the Court for special reasons thinks fit to
order otherwise and without prejudice to the
power of the Court to order a longer period of
disqualification, be disqualified for a period of
three years from the date of the conviction from
holding or obtaining a driving permit; and
(b) a third conviction for a like offence, shall be
permanently disqualified from holding or
obtaining a driving permit;
(3) Any constable may arrest without a warrant any
person committing an offence under this section.
(4) The Minister may, by Order, approve the device to
be used for the detection of drugs pursuant to subsection (1).

Postby redmanjp » December 20th, 2019, 10:06 am

hong kong phooey wrote:so once you selling less than 30 grams is not a problem?

u might need a license to sell i would imagine?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 20th, 2019, 10:18 am

Kristiana Sankar didn't seem to have an issue getting a load of weed. Ask Stewie for the link up

Postby mero » December 20th, 2019, 10:24 am

Waiting to hear about the weedalyzer.

And I know trinis love to overdo but the average ganja smoking trini don't roll around with 30gs unless they're into the business

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 20th, 2019, 10:25 am

adnj wrote:
It is completely subjective and decided by the arresting constable:

MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC ACT
CHAPTER 48:50

“drug” includes any intoxicant other than alcohol;

70. (1) Any person who, when driving or attempting to drive
or when in charge of a motor vehicle on a road, is under the
influence of drink or a drug to such an extent as to be incapable of
having proper control of the vehicle, is liable on first conviction to
a fine of twelve thousand dollars and to imprisonment for three
years and on any subsequent conviction to a fine of twenty-two
thousand, five hundred dollars and to imprisonment for five years.
(2) A person convicted of—
(a) two consecutive offences under this section shall,
unless the Court for special reasons thinks fit to
order otherwise and without prejudice to the
power of the Court to order a longer period of
disqualification, be disqualified for a period of
three years from the date of the conviction from
holding or obtaining a driving permit; and
(b) a third conviction for a like offence, shall be
permanently disqualified from holding or
obtaining a driving permit;
(3) Any constable may arrest without a warrant any
person committing an offence under this section.
(4) The Minister may, by Order, approve the device to
be used for the detection of drugs pursuant to subsection (1).

Yeah adnj.
i know of law :lol:
i just wanted to bring it out . But again the government rushing to implement stuff with no thought . We still dont have a good functional transport system to encourage people to leave their cars at home if they want to go out and have a good time either with drinks or smoking .
guess Arrive AXXXXXX will start pushing it to make money once they bring in their saliva kits same as when they bring in the alcohol testing kits
surprising they very quiet on this matter

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 20th, 2019, 10:28 am

Kristiana Sankar didn't seem to have an issue getting a load of weed. Ask Stewie for the link up

not even a year pass and the amount reduce drastically
by next year would be a joint they got held with and tax payers will have to pay them

Postby Dizzy28 » December 20th, 2019, 10:30 am

mero wrote:Waiting to hear about the weedalyzer.

And I know trinis love to overdo but the average ganja smoking trini don't roll around with 30gs unless they're into the business

In re-reading the legislations being debated its only an amendment to the currently existing Dangerous Drugs Act that is happening now. This amendment requires a simple majority so with or without the Opposition it would be passed. No wonder the decriminalization is happening with speed with next week as an implementation date because I know the President doesn't assent new laws in two days.

The Government has given in to the Opposition's request for the actual weed bill (Cannabis Control Act) to go before a JSC next year for consultation before it is voted on. That one would require the whole shebang with regards to law making.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 20th, 2019, 10:33 am

ru$$ell wrote:You all know decriminalization means it's not a criminal offence,it is still illegal but just a ticketable offence right? As in any amount under 30g is still illegal and seized but you get a ticket

You mean over 30g

yes under 30 grams is ok.
between 30 and 60 grams. U get a ticket watch how many people going to take them to court for calibration of scales

still asking the question where people going to buy it ?

arrest under 30 grams if u a mile away from a school
so most areas which have a preschool in the village it illegal --- need to clarify might be speaking rubbish if so call me imbert

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2019, 10:44 am

so, nat sec agencies and other companies changing certain requirements regarding marijuana use now??

Postby mero » December 20th, 2019, 11:02 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

You mean over 30g

yes under 30 grams is ok.
between 30 and 60 grams. U get a ticket watch how many people going to take them to court for calibration of scales

still asking the question where people going to buy it ?

arrest under 30 grams if u a mile away from a school
so most areas which have a preschool in the village it illegal --- need to clarify might be speaking rubbish if so call me imbert
I believe they said 30g to make sure ppl can't cry the calibration of scales. An oz is 28 grams. 30 grams should be enough buffer for that.

Besides ppl get ticketed for driving 81kmph no? 30g is fair enough bligh.

Wrt to attaining seeds.. Who knows. Not gonna wait to find out. Lots of ways to get proper bred, brand name seeds here.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 20th, 2019, 11:31 am

Syberfraggle wrote:for my own edification.. what does 30 grams of weed look like???

ok..found a pic... :shock: 8-)
30g can differ in volume and density depending on the quality.

Regular local, laden with seeds and stems will probably fit in one hand. Whilst 30g in high grade strains will be 4-5x the volume.

Local u could easily put 1.5-2g in an avg size rolling paper. High grade does be around 0.5 to full

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 20th, 2019, 11:34 am

Wonder if La Vega and ting will have for planting season next year tho

Postby rspann » December 20th, 2019, 12:46 pm

if I had to rationalize this, I would say it was started in anticipation of the elections. If provisions are made for buyers, what provision was made for purchasing? Where is the supply side? Who they going to buy from? Is it still illegal to have a large amount to sell to the 30 g buyers?

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2019, 1:04 pm

you asking hard questions boi
just keep selling yuh ting on the down low

rspann wrote:if I had to rationalize this, I would say it was started in anticipation of the elections. If provisions are made for buyers, what provision was made for purchasing? Where is the supply side? Who they going to buy from? Is it still illegal to have a large amount to sell to the 30 g buyers?

Postby rspann » December 20th, 2019, 1:44 pm

pugboy wrote:you asking hard questions boi
just keep selling yuh ting on the down low

rspann wrote:if I had to rationalize this, I would say it was started in anticipation of the elections. If provisions are made for buyers, what provision was made for purchasing? Where is the supply side? Who they going to buy from? Is it still illegal to have a large amount to sell to the 30 g buyers?

Thing selling but we only taking polymer ,so sales a lil slow. But think about this. They give with one hand but lock up and charge the pusher ,yuh still not getting weed unless you plant it. Where you getting seeds and plants for now? Is a big gimmick.

Postby adnj » December 20th, 2019, 4:19 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
Yeah adnj.
i know of law
i just wanted to bring it out . But again the government rushing to implement stuff with no thought . We still dont have a good functional transport system to encourage people to leave their cars at home if they want to go out and have a good time either with drinks or smoking .
guess Arrive AXXXXXX will start pushing it to make money once they bring in their saliva kits same as when they bring in the alcohol testing kits
surprising they very quiet on this matter

No matter what you do, if you regularly smoke marijuana, you risk being charged and convicted for driving under the influence with no genuine defense possible.

Canada and the US has had recent cases where the accused was mouth-swabbed or urine-tested as positives to back up the claims of the arresting officer. Both tests can indicate days-ago use as positive but they are still admissible. Breath testing is often used to disprove a claim of alcohol intoxication but I don't know of anything similar available for other intoxicants.

Your only defense will be either using a taxi or having a designated driver.

Postby redmanjp » December 20th, 2019, 6:07 pm

mero wrote:Waiting to hear about the weedalyzer.

In re-reading the legislations being debated its only an amendment to the currently existing Dangerous Drugs Act that is happening now. This amendment requires a simple majority so with or without the Opposition it would be passed. No wonder the decriminalization is happening with speed with next week as an implementation date because I know the President doesn't assent new laws in two days.

The Government has given in to the Opposition's request for the actual weed bill (Cannabis Control Act) to go before a JSC next year for consultation before it is voted on. That one would require the whole shebang with regards to law making.

so wait- if they decriminalize by amending the existing Act and proclaiming it next week but have not yet passed and proclaimed the new Cannabis Control Act- does that mean it's a free for all until then?

Postby RedVEVO » December 20th, 2019, 6:12 pm

Anybody know if you can smoke weed tonight ?

I mean legally ..

Asking for people in a party tonight ..

Postby hydroep » December 20th, 2019, 6:50 pm

Thing proclaiming on Monday? Look how fast dem morda forkers could move when they ready eh.

Like some big boy(s) business(es) getting hold back...:|