Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: oil prices falling

Postby zoom rader » January 11th, 2015, 6:59 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Ok so some here bashing Kamla and her speech... no problem.

Has Rowley and the PNM stated in detail what they would have done instead except "cutting back expenditure"? All i'm seeing on their end is to create panic with "doom and gloom" scenarios. Links would be helpful in case i missed it.

They would not dare state what actions they would have taken as they don't have a clue.
They are not much of a shadow government much less for government in power. They bring nothing new and worthwhile. Their main idea is housing tax which is racist and a failed 20/20 vision which is now 20/30.
Their notion is to create fear, panic and propaganda. The population is a lot more educated and smarter to fall for PNM rantings.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 11th, 2015, 7:17 pm

Lol tighten your belt is what was said in the past

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2015, 8:53 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Ok so some here bashing Kamla and her speech... no problem.

Has Rowley and the PNM stated in detail what they would have done instead except "cutting back expenditure"? All i'm seeing on their end is to create panic with doom and gloom scenarios. Links would be helpful in case i missed it.

Firstly, it is not about what Dr. Rowley would do. The PM is being judged on her merit. It doesnt surprise anyone that PNM is critiquing her speech, but the chambers and leading economists are also, not just the PNM. If the PM's speech had been national accepted as phenomenal as you may believe, would it have mattered what Rowley would have done?

Suruj asks Rowley: What will you do?
Saturday, January 10 2015

OPPOSITION Leader Dr Keith Rowley was yesterday challenged by Works and Infrastructure Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan, to tell the country which projects the People’s National Movement (PNM) would cut if it were faced with falling oil and gas prices.

“Tell us what you’re going to do because it seems to me you (Rowley) are talking about cut-backs, you’re talking about being stern with the people in the country. It seems to me that you want to bring pressure to bear on the people of Trinidad and Tobago,” Rambachan said. Rambachan was at the time speaking in the House of Representatives, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain yesterday afternoon when he ‘turned the tables’ on the PNM and asked which of several major projects and social programmes they would cut under the current circumstances.

“Are you going to tell me that, if in a situation like this, you’re going to close down the Oncology Centre that’s being built that you (PNM) couldn’t build for so many years?...Were you going to cut the Children’s Hospital project?”

“They talked about the highway to Point Fortin,” Rambachan added. “Tell us, if you are in this situation, are you going to stop the highway to Point Fortin? Tell us whether you’re going to stop it. Tell us whether you’re going to stop it!”

Speaking in an impassioned manner, the Works and Infrastructure Minister told Rowley, “Don’t just stand up there and make all kinds of statements. You tell us what plan you would have had!

We (Government) have a plan and we know that our plan is going to work because we have been there and we have done well in the past and we’re going to do well with the situation that confronts us.”

A rebuttal came from Diego Martin North/East MP and long-serving PNM member, Colm Imbert, who said, “The Minister of Works screaming at us, ‘What the PNM go do?’” before reminding Rambachan that the PNM “not in government.”

“They in government, they cutting the expenditure by $4.5 billion. What are they doing Mr Speaker? Where will these cuts take place?” Imbert asked.

“It’s for them to tell us what they’re going to cut, not for us. We are not running the country. They are Mr Speaker. That was what was so disappointing about the PM’s presentation last night; you say you’re going to cut expenditure by $4.5 billion, where are you going to cut it? We want to know. We want to know. We want to know.”

Imbert also criticised the People’s Partnership administration for not adjusting the fuel subsidy to reflect the drop in oil prices.

“The price of gas in Kingston, Jamaica is less than in TT...because they have pegged the price of gasoline, like any responsible democracy would do, they have pegged it to the ex-refinery price based on the oil price and the refined product, so that the population receives the benefit of lower oil prices.”

“Why are motorists in Trinidad and Tobago paying $5.75 a litre for premium gasoline when the true price is $4.39? That is not a subsidy. That is a tax...It gives you an idea of the ‘vaps’ approach of this Government to governing this country. There is no subsidy on premium gas anymore but did we hear the PM talk about that? No. PM tell us they go save a $1 billion. They’re not going to save, they’re going to tax the citizens of this country in terms of the price of gasoline,” Imbert claimed.

http://newsday.co.tt/politics/0,205336.html

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 11th, 2015, 9:24 pm

^^ Good point Habit ..
The Gov't controls the budget , control parliament etc.
Expect increase in Taxes .. direct and indirect.

Postby zoom rader » January 11th, 2015, 10:17 pm

orangefox wrote:
UML wrote:What the PNM wants to fool the blind with and those with short memories is that this government saved this country from depression after the PNM abandoned the ship after mismanagement, overspending and bad investments with numerous oil booms. This government saved this country by making decisive economic decisions that kept the country afloat. Added to the fact that the UNC did more with a lower oil price last time that they were in government than what the PNM did with 50 yrs in government high oil prices and many oil boomssss!!! From negative to no economic growth to positive economic growth under the PPG!!

Dream, dream .. yawn.

All the major TT projects were initiated by the PNM. The PNM built the Oil/Gas Industry.
PNM are the Republicans, the Capitalists . PP are too much into social programs and fluff.

If the PNM are Republicans then it's true that PNM dont like black people

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 11th, 2015, 10:50 pm

PNM republicans?

Republicans are against welfare and all that stuff. Republicans prefer people to work for what they want, Democrats want to give people sheit for free while forcing the educated people to work and pay for the lazy bums.

The PNM are the ones who started all this social program BS the whole gimme gimme attitude of Trinis is largely due to the PNM. Kamla now has no choice but to compete because if she don't nobody will vote her. Had the PNM not started this dotish trend in the first place we would not be in this mess. It is absolute fact that people vote for the PNM because they don't have to work hard or work at all. Majority of PNM supporters will also tell you this, and you can see it with your own eyes.

Just look at public sector workers, when PNM in power nothing gets done. When UNC in power all of ah sudden man fraid they loss wuk and start to perform. There is absolute fact that the mentality of Trinis is that when PNM in power you doh hadda work and you have plenty freedom cause nobody eh business.

Liberals are the biggest idiots on this planet. Just look at Tony Blair.

if anything the PNM are the liberal democrat morons. How could we possibly brand the PNM as Republican?

Explain what part of PNM is Republican?

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 11th, 2015, 11:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:PNM republicans?

Republicans are against welfare and all that stuff. Republicans prefer people to work for what they want, Democrats want to give people sheit for free while forcing the educated people to work and pay for the lazy bums.

The PNM are the ones who started all this social program BS the whole gimme gimme attitude of Trinis is largely due to the PNM. Kamla now has no choice but to compete because if she don't nobody will vote her. Had the PNM not started this dotish trend in the first place we would not be in this mess. It is absolute fact that people vote for the PNM because they don't have to work hard or work at all. Majority of PNM supporters will also tell you this, and you can see it with your own eyes.

Just look at public sector workers, when PNM in power nothing gets done. When UNC in power all of ah sudden man fraid they loss wuk and start to perform. There is absolute fact that the mentality of Trinis is that when PNM in power you doh hadda work and you have plenty freedom cause nobody eh business.

Liberals are the biggest idiots on this planet. Just look at Tony Blair.

if anything the PNM are the liberal democrat morons. How could we possibly brand the PNM as Republican?

Explain what part of PNM is Republican?

There is a old PNM and new PNM.
Do some reading and educate yourself Effect.

Postby j.o.e » January 11th, 2015, 11:13 pm

The kinda dotishness passes for intelligent conversation in these threads...A man say public sector workers start to be productive under unc governments lol... anyway lemme stay out of these uneducated threads.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 12th, 2015, 7:01 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2015 ... re-details

Referring to specific statistics the Prime Minister gave in her address, Ramkissoon said: “What the figures she presented do is forecast a larger deficit which is to be funded partly by the fall in the price of fuel and by the amount of money the Government allocates for subsidy.

I do not agree with the cut in the Public Sector Investment Programme. This is important for generating growth in the long run, as distinct from public expenditure on subsidies and transfers and wages and salaries which are recurrent expenditure.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2015, 7:35 am

thank you. the demand is generated for government and private sector(contractors, tax cuts) to play with and simulate growth for the book report. that is why the people on the ground dont see the prosperity being reported in the statistics and accounting.

Again...your point about the deficit as inflationary is wrong....

Running a deficit does not equate to printing money-it can but again you generalizing.

The deficit can be financed in several different ways-and again...inflation comes from demand outstripping supply-pushing prices higher.

The dmd can be increased without a deficit.....and a deficit can exist and yet create insufficient demand to push prices higher.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2015, 7:43 am

j.o.e wrote:The kinda dotishness passes for intelligent conversation in these threads...A man say public sector workers start to be productive under unc governments lol... anyway lemme stay out of these uneducated threads.

There had been some level of improved service from ps under non PNM governments.
The P.S has always been a dumping ground for PNM supporters over the years. Which have proved they were never the right ppl for the job.
As the population got more educated alot of indo educated ppl got into the upper level PS jobs. This did not go down to well with the PNM. Their solution was to lower the entry requirements for PS jobs by making CXC grade 3 a pass. As a result the PS went down a step further again. To add to this Costaatt was formed to transition under achieving PNM ppl for PS jobs.
When the PNM realise that they made a mess of jobs for the boys. They went on a campaign of contract work force to get rid of useless workers. The upper level work force was mostly filled with indos, PNM solution was to get rid of them by forming authorities and have them reapply for their jobs. BWIA went this route. All of which was racist they were aiming at Inland revue and customs .
When ever PNM in power nothing works in the PS, their supporter work force has a general lazy attitude when dealing with the public. They are simply non productive
Pios wrote a hold chead on his working experience dealing with the PNM PS work force.

Advent

Postby Advent » January 12th, 2015, 7:58 am

j.o.e wrote:The kinda dotishness passes for intelligent conversation in these threads...A man say public sector workers start to be productive under unc governments lol... anyway lemme stay out of these uneducated threads.

qft

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2015, 8:12 am

Redman wrote:
thank you. the demand is generated for government and private sector(contractors, tax cuts) to play with and simulate growth for the book report. that is why the people on the ground dont see the prosperity being reported in the statistics and accounting.

Again...your point about the deficit as inflationary is wrong....

Running a deficit does not equate to printing money-it can but again you generalizing.

The deficit can be financed in several different ways-and again...inflation comes from demand outstripping supply-pushing prices higher.

The dmd can be increased without a deficit.....and a deficit can exist and yet create insufficient demand to push prices higher.

english language is a hell of a drug. isnt that what i said? if working class wages are high meaning wealth redistribution is more efficient when there is a deficit then inflation wont occur.:shock:

but if wages are behind then there is higher demand so prices get pushed higher :shock:

u telling me the same thing acknowledging the outcome but trying to sell it as though is the opposite outcome. deficit spending on private sector with trickle down economics and hoarding creates inflation. im not generalizing. there is a butterfly effect to be observed.

can i ask what is your career/degree?

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2015, 8:25 am

You can ask anything you like.

But before this goes down a well trodden path I will withdraw.

What you or I claim we do, did ,want to do or will do is irrelevant on an anonymous thread.

unless of course you need online cred to feel good....

Postby mero » January 12th, 2015, 9:20 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:PNM republicans?

For a fella who boasts about not paying health surcharge, NIS & PAYE you sure have a lot to say about PNM mentality

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2015, 10:08 am

Redman wrote:You can ask anything you like.

What you or I claim we do, did ,want to do or will do is irrelevant on an anonymous thread.

well pal i just want to know what kind of background in socio-economic structure youve studied. but i can tell u flat out, the philosophy ur peddling is keynes based with corporate influenced public perception. im not at all unfamiliar with both austrian and keynesian economic models. its not so much about cred as much as it is knowing how much blanks i have to fill in for you to get the picture.

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2015, 10:11 am

bluesclues have a masters in common sense.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2015, 10:18 am

nervewrecker wrote:bluesclues have a masters in common sense.

that is backed up by many years of very deep study.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 12th, 2015, 10:42 am

There had been some level of improved service from ps under non PNM governments.
The P.S has always been a dumping ground for PNM supporters over the years. Which have proved they were never the right ppl for the job.
As the population got more educated alot of indo educated ppl got into the upper level PS jobs. This did not go down to well with the PNM. Their solution was to lower the entry requirements for PS jobs by making CXC grade 3 a pass. As a result the PS went down a step further again. To add to this Costaatt was formed to transition under achieving PNM ppl for PS jobs.
When the PNM realise that they made a mess of jobs for the boys. They went on a campaign of contract work force to get rid of useless workers. The upper level work force was mostly filled with indos, PNM solution was to get rid of them by forming authorities and have them reapply for their jobs. BWIA went this route. All of which was racist they were aiming at Inland revue and customs .
When ever PNM in power nothing works in the PS, their supporter work force has a general lazy attitude when dealing with the public. They are simply non productive
Pios wrote a hold chead on his working experience dealing with the PNM PS work force.

You racist piece of Sh!t, Costaatt was formed under the UNC :evil:

Stop minsinforming on public forums with your UNC Youth Arm/Rum-shop ole-talk that you feel ppl will swallow. You are the epitome of why this gov't will be removed as you are a true representation of them

http://www.costaatt.edu.tt/about-costaa ... al-profile

The College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago (COSTAATT) is the largest, national public provider of tertiary education in Trinidad and Tobago. The institution was established by Act of Parliament in 2000, and at the time, comprised six existing tertiary education institutions. The new institution broke with established traditional models by offering associate degrees and a credit-based system of instruction – practices which would eventually have system-wide impact nationally.

Key aspects of the new College’s mandate were to broaden access and support national development through the preparation of graduates for the work force. However, mid-way through this first decade, efforts at the rationalisation of the tertiary education sector would lead to the restructuring of the institution. This resulted in a sudden narrowing in the span of programme offerings and consequently, a reduction in enrolment. This change in fortune notwithstanding, the College was able to re-orient itself and in late 2008, under the leadership of its new president, Emmanuel E. Gonsalves, the institution renewed its strategic vision and entered a new phase of rapid development and consolidation.

As a result, in the intervening three years between September 2008 and the September 2011, the College can lay claim to a number of major accomplishments, including:
•The substantial increase of its enrolment from 5,014 in 2008 to over 11,600 students by September 2011.
•In alignment with the its new strategic direction, the College developed and introduced a core curriculum aimed at producing graduates equipped with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to make them valuable contributors to our emerging knowledge economy.
•The continued implementation of strategies to expand access through an enhanced college prep programme – Compensatory Programmes and Academic Support Services (COMPASS); the introduction of several bachelor’s degrees, as well as the opening of two new sites in San Fernando and Tobago respectively.
•Immediate plans for an interim campus in Chaguanas and a campus in Sangre Grande
•The granting of lands by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago for the construction of the main campus in Chaguanas
•The award of institutional accreditation by the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) for the maximum period of seven (7) years.
•Key improvements leading to organisational efficiencies included implementation of the state-of-the-art enterprise resource planning (ERP) system, Banner. The College is now the only tertiary education institution in Trinidad and Tobago and the region, to utilise this higher education software to manage almost all aspects of its operations from finance and HR, to student processes and procurement.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2015, 10:45 am

bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:You can ask anything you like.

well pal i just want to know what kind of background in socio-economic structure youve studied. but i can tell u flat out, the philosophy ur peddling is keynes based with corporate influenced public perception. im not at all unfamiliar with both austrian and keynesian economic models. its not so much about cred as much as it is knowing how much blanks i have to fill in for you to get the picture.

The pic is clear..really lucid.

Please feel free not to fill in any more blanks....

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2015, 10:49 am

Costaatt was formed under UNC and UTT under PNM IIRC.

Costaatt suffered under the PNM administration as UTT got most of the funding for expansion etc. UTT had multiple campuses while costaatt was still in MT Hope hospital. Eventually Costaatt got a building in POS and its still not big enough, Bishops lends them some spaces. Costaatt city campus still does not have a cafe and I have only heard rumors of lab facilities.

Zoom talking sh!t

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2015, 10:54 am

Crackpot wrote:

Stop minsinforming on public forums with your UNC Youth Arm/Rum-shop ole-talk that you feel ppl will swallow. You are the epitome of why this gov't will be removed as you are a true representation of them

The College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago (COSTAATT) is the largest, national public provider of tertiary education in Trinidad and Tobago. The institution was established by Act of Parliament in 2000, and at the time, comprised six existing tertiary education institutions. The new institution broke with established traditional models by offering associate degrees and a credit-based system of instruction – practices which would eventually have system-wide impact nationally.

Key aspects of the new College’s mandate were to broaden access and support national development through the preparation of graduates for the work force. However, mid-way through this first decade, efforts at the rationalisation of the tertiary education sector would lead to the restructuring of the institution. This resulted in a sudden narrowing in the span of programme offerings and consequently, a reduction in enrolment. This change in fortune notwithstanding, the College was able to re-orient itself and in late 2008, under the leadership of its new president, Emmanuel E. Gonsalves, the institution renewed its strategic vision and entered a new phase of rapid development and consolidation.

As a result, in the intervening three years between September 2008 and the September 2011, the College can lay claim to a number of major accomplishments, including:
•The substantial increase of its enrolment from 5,014 in 2008 to over 11,600 students by September 2011.
•In alignment with the its new strategic direction, the College developed and introduced a core curriculum aimed at producing graduates equipped with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to make them valuable contributors to our emerging knowledge economy.
•The continued implementation of strategies to expand access through an enhanced college prep programme – Compensatory Programmes and Academic Support Services (COMPASS); the introduction of several bachelor’s degrees, as well as the opening of two new sites in San Fernando and Tobago respectively.
•Immediate plans for an interim campus in Chaguanas and a campus in Sangre Grande
•The granting of lands by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago for the construction of the main campus in Chaguanas
•The award of institutional accreditation by the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) for the maximum period of seven (7) years.
•Key improvements leading to organisational efficiencies included implementation of the state-of-the-art enterprise resource planning (ERP) system, Banner. The College is now the only tertiary education institution in Trinidad and Tobago and the region, to utilise this higher education software to manage almost all aspects of its operations from finance and HR, to student processes and procurement.

UNC did not get enough time to establish Costaatt on the right path. It was placed in PNM hands to do as they please by allowing underachieving PNM Ppl to attend .
Nice of you to defend the school you attended

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 12th, 2015, 10:56 am

nervewrecker wrote:Costaatt was formed under UNC and UTT under PNM IIRC.

Costaatt suffered under the PNM administration as UTT got most of the funding for expansion etc. UTT had multiple campuses while costaatt was still in MT Hope hospital. Eventually Costaatt got a building in POS and its still not big enough, Bishops lends them some spaces. Costaatt city campus still does not have a cafe and I have only heard rumors of lab facilities.

Zoom talking sh!t

Yep, as usual with his hateful rhetoric and nonsense.

He don't even know what was done where, just assuming like most UNC pseudo-racists and Hindutra renegades whose agenda it is to peddle rubbish here on facebook and anywhere they can be anonymous cowards :?

Ppl just biding they time to get rid of the lot of em :|

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2015, 11:01 am

Zoom talking sh!t

Both Costaatt and UTT did not get enough time to be fully developed under the UNC. UNC was cheated out office at time.

UTT was not formed under PNM, it was formed under the UNC and called Trinidad and Tobago institute of Technology. PNM just gave it a name change to claim fame.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2015, 11:04 am

Crackpot wrote:

Zoom talking sh!t

He don't even know what was done where, just assuming like most UNC pseudo-racists and Hindutra renegades whose agenda it is to peddle rubbish here on facebook and anywhere they can be anonymous cowards :?

Do continue lots of ppl may believe you thinking that PNM formed UTT.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 12th, 2015, 11:05 am

Crackpot wrote:

UNC did not get enough time to establish Costaatt on the right path. It was placed in PNM hands to do as they please by allowing underachieving PNM Ppl to attend .

Oh cry me a river with that did not get enough time nonsense, you will be crying that later on in the year though. Yuh get make-out soldier :lol:

Educational Institutions in this country are not formed to be "put on the right path" by any political party or government, get that through your thick skull :roll: We the citizens regardless of affiliation are the ones who are to make these things succeed.

You delusional PP ppl feel that you have to guide everything in your own image and likeness for it to be good, that is sick and psychotic and T&T need to distance itself from the likes of you :shock:

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2015, 11:07 am

Crackpot wrote:

Oh cry me a river with that did not get enough time nonsense, you will be crying that later on in the year though.

Educational Institutions in this country are not formed to be "put on the right path" by any political party or government, get that through your thick skull :roll: We the citizens regardless of affiliation are the ones who are to make these things succeed.

You delusional PP ppl feel that you have to guide everything in your own image and likeness for it to be good, that is sick and psychotic and T&T need to distance itself from the likes of you :shock:

Sorry you attended Costaatt bro.
Under PP it will be uplifted

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2015, 11:09 am

Costaatt have hommuh campuses? Campuses that they actually own. If im not mistaken they renting that building in POS, renting from SSL in sando and sharing space with Bishops POS and Trincity.

UTT have actual campuses built for them not so?

Only now if im again not mistaken a space is airmarked in Chagunas for construction of a campus for costaatt.

Does not matter what UTT was before, as far as we concerned the actual "UTT" was born under the PNM administration and Costaatt neglected. Donno what you mean about UTT not getting time to develop, sure as hell looks developed to me.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2015, 11:14 am

nervewrecker wrote:Costaatt have hommuh campuses? Campuses that they actually own. If im not mistaken they renting that building in POS, renting from SSL in sando and sharing space with Bishops POS and Trincity.

UTT have actual campuses built for them not so?

Only now if im again not mistaken a space is airmarked in Chagunas for construction of a campus for costaatt.

Does not matter what UTT was before, as far as we concerned the actual "UTT" was born under the PNM administration and Costaatt neglected. Donno what you mean about UTT not getting time to develop, sure as hell looks developed to me.

You too young or Ignorant to know that a name change took place under PNM from Trinidad and Tobago institute of Technology to UTT.
TTIT was a unc project with the first campus built in Couva in late 1990s where the old caroni bagasse plant used to be.
When things not in favor with PNM they just give it a name change like the heritage and stabilisation fund
UTT was never a PNM idea .
Last edited by zoom rader on January 12th, 2015, 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 12th, 2015, 11:14 am

Crackpot wrote:

Zoom talking sh!t

Do continue lots of ppl may believe you thinking that PNM formed UTT.

You see how you delusional, up to now I never mention anything about UTT but you saying I did :shock: I am arguing with a mad-man and I am ashamed :oops:

Typical UNC strategy to distract, they cyah concentrate for long but always talkin about how smarter they are than everybody else :lol: