***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2014, 8:03 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Found quite a lot of these lil suckers on my passion fruit vine today...there goes my no pest run

da fcuk is dat

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 20th, 2014, 8:05 pm

gonna send some for rearing and identification

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2014, 4:18 pm

Saw a 5lb pawpaw in xtra foods for $ 45 yes. Pawpaw is $4 a pound wholesle right now

Postby Ted_v2 » September 21st, 2014, 4:27 pm

Tomatoes are 10$ per pound

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2014, 5:30 pm

anyone knows where i can get about 3-4yrds of decent top soil to buy?
i live around uwi area, so it will have to be delivered there

Postby eliteauto » September 23rd, 2014, 6:26 pm

last good set I got was from Moses transport Piarco Old Road, that's the corner before the maloney lights when heading east on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway, 642-7880 or 646-3029

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2014, 7:32 pm

thanx, will give them a call tmr

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 25th, 2014, 11:26 pm

Guys I need some clarification here. Someone was telling me that all citrus trees take a year after it bears to bear fruit again, whereas grafted citrus trees bear more often. Is this true? And if yes, does this apply to all types of citrus (lime, lemon, orange, etc)?

Edit: I read somewhere online that said it depends on the type of citrus but the smaller the fruit the more often it bears. Can anyone explain? Wanted to plant some oranges and other citrus but it doesn't make sense to wait a whole year to get limes and lemons especially.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2014, 7:35 am

citrus men:

what is the best stuff for :insects,blight and well nutrients?

same applies for the west indian cherry

snatman

Postby snatman » October 21st, 2014, 8:37 am

So I have a couple hot pepper plants in the back yard, planted a couple months ago. There are dozens of flowers and buds on them. But it seems that after a few days the buds drop off. THe plants have produced no peppers after a few weeks of flowering. Also the new leaf sprouts are smaller and more wrinkly than before.

What is causing this? I figure its some kind of pest but the only thing I'm' seeing on the plants are some small black ants.

What can i do to rescue my poor suffering plants?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 21st, 2014, 6:45 pm

You seeing any small whiteflies on the underside of the leaves. Mix soap water and spray the plants to clean off the ants.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2014, 8:25 pm

rogor blue helps...smells nasty as hell doh.plants prolly get ah blight too...hada check for that

Postby X_Factor » October 22nd, 2014, 3:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:citrus men:

what is the best stuff for :insects,blight and well nutrients?

we had about 10 trees where we previously lived
same applies for the west indian cherry

we had about 10 trees where we previously lived, mainly parson brown, navel and a couple lime

any decent insecticide (diazinon) worked well in controlling the aphids, leaf miner and other insects
calcium nitrate was used ever so often since

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 23rd, 2014, 5:32 am

thanks man^

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » November 2nd, 2014, 11:58 am

snatman wrote:So I have a couple hot pepper plants in the back yard, planted a couple months ago. There are dozens of flowers and buds on them. But it seems that after a few days the buds drop off. THe plants have produced no peppers after a few weeks of flowering. Also the new leaf sprouts are smaller and more wrinkly than before.

What is causing this? I figure its some kind of pest but the only thing I'm' seeing on the plants are some small black ants.

post pics

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2014, 7:31 pm

bearing after a few months..west indian cherry
IMG_20141101_112950.jpg

snatman

Postby snatman » November 15th, 2014, 4:32 pm

20141115_095317bs.jpg

so on further inspection I'm seeing these black splotches on the stems, could this be the issue?

lipstick war wrote:
snatman wrote:So I have a couple hot pepper plants in the back yard, planted a couple months ago. There are dozens of flowers and buds on them. But it seems that after a few days the buds drop off. THe plants have produced no peppers after a few weeks of flowering. Also the new leaf sprouts are smaller and more wrinkly than before.

post pics

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » November 15th, 2014, 5:09 pm

how much tomatoes sell for? small and medium size..

GRIM

Postby GRIM » November 15th, 2014, 5:57 pm

RhymePaladin wrote:how much tomatoes sell for? small and medium size..

Don't know bout yesterday but on thursday men call between $11-$13 per lb at macoya market

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 15th, 2014, 7:23 pm

that go reach about $20lb by next week

farmers go say flood

Postby 1UZFE » November 15th, 2014, 7:49 pm

I take in front. Bout all market stuff thursday. Christmas prices wud be ridiculous.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » November 18th, 2014, 11:59 am

snatman wrote:
20141115_095317bs.jpg

so on further inspection I'm seeing these black splotches on the stems, could this be the issue?

lipstick war wrote:

post pics
[/quote

blight & leaf damage have already been done.

your leaves should be flat,green and happy.

start over

snatman

Postby snatman » November 18th, 2014, 1:21 pm

:evil:
what to use to prevent/ treat the blight next time

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2014, 1:32 pm

Put some blue bottle and blue cloth in the field lol

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » November 18th, 2014, 9:17 pm

snatman wrote::evil:
what to use to prevent/ treat the blight next time

work on your drainage & seedling health

Problem solved.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 19th, 2014, 6:04 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Put some blue bottle and blue cloth in the field lol

this does actually work yes

Postby nervewrecker » November 21st, 2014, 6:09 pm

I read Trini has good cocoa and somewhere offers chocolate making courses free. I have not one f**k doing so I wanna enroll.

Anyone have any info? Not sure if this is the correct thread too.

Heard our coffee is great too and I found a tree or two in the bush....so, allyuh know nah. ^_^

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 22nd, 2014, 10:42 am

You just found a tree or two? lol. I wa one

You can check the Cocoa Department on UWI's website. I think I saw them offering courses when I was checking out the page a lil while ago. If not they'd be able to advise you accordingly at least.

Postby nervewrecker » November 22nd, 2014, 11:58 am

Those trees kind of big.
Have one right outside my house here, my grandma used to make her own coffee donkey years ago I was told.

You know I going to butter she up for the process later. And the cocoa powder process :lol:

If I see any small ones I'll let you know though buy I doubt.

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 22nd, 2014, 12:30 pm

How long do they take to grow to mature bearing size? You know?