tyres

Chemical

Re: tyres

Postby Chemical » February 4th, 2011, 9:26 am

Where can I get this to buy (Tire) in P225/55/R16

Now the reason for changing from Triange - it gives a very rough ride.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 4th, 2011, 9:47 am

^Try Mileage Mack or Tool Store (Laughlin). They normally stock Kumhos, and SPT's at that.

If you're looking for a smoother ride though, try something from the Kumho solus lineup. SPT's are sporty tyres - they ride great, but touring tyres will give better comfort all in all.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 4th, 2011, 10:03 am

Thanks Man !

Called MM Sando but they only have P225/50/R16.

Will check L&D shortly.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 4th, 2011, 10:06 am

ruff neck chicken wrote:Sooo of the debate topic a bit...

I changed tires on my vehicle twice since I had it. Had a set of Hankook Radial and changed to Dunlop Direzza after some time. When i rotated my tires front to back I started to get a lot of tire noise that makes the ride the least bit silent. Note I got this problem when i used the Hankook and even the Dunlop. Got the car's camber and alignment checked very often without any problems.

What could be causing this and how can it be stopped? The noise is annoying :/

Something similar had happened to me on the P11 with the DZ101's. Apparently (according to the tyre shop I checked them by), the tread was "defective" (had very slight undulations/was uneven if you rubbed your hands on it)....so while it didn't create a "wobble" while driving, it added to tyre noise.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 4th, 2011, 10:29 am

I understand that explanation however this problem only occurs when i rotate the tires. When first mounted they ride smooth and silent but as soon as i get of the ramp from switching them around bye bye silent ride.

Postby bushwakka » February 4th, 2011, 11:01 am

^wtf that is truly perplexing!

u didnt remove the tires from the rims and re-mount them to do the rotation did u?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 4th, 2011, 11:09 am

Chemical wrote:Thanks Man !

Called MM Sando but they only have P225/50/R16.

Will check L&D shortly.

Well the 50 isn't a bad compromise yunno.... :lol:

BTW....that fits on your tiida???

I understand that explanation however this problem only occurs when i rotate the tires. When first mounted they ride smooth and silent but as soon as i get of the ramp from switching them around bye bye silent ride.

Yep, that can happen if your alignment is off, and your tyres aren't "wearing"/cutting properly (according to an MM tech). When you switch around the tyres, they have to "wear" into their new "position" (e.g. if switched from left to right sides)

Of course I'm assuming that you have the DZ101's rotating in the proper rotational direction?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 4th, 2011, 11:35 am

Yes it does Alpha.

:idea: Advice needed now, here goes;

Just got off the phone with a lady @ Tire Centre 657-9064 Sando branch.

They have the size 225/55/R16 Hankook Ventus V12 Evo part # H405 for $765.00+Vat =$879.75 :shock:

X 4 Tires = $3519.00 :shocked!:

Q. Iz this a good tire :?:

OR

L&D has the 225/55/R16 Kumho Ecsta HM touring for $735 V.I.

X 4 = $2940.00 :shock:

MADE IN CHINA
Last edited by Chemical on February 4th, 2011, 12:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 4th, 2011, 11:38 am

:? :?

^^Don't know if I want to spend that amt of money (Especially after Xmas) as the Triangles are practically brand new & I only do 150KM / week :|

Postby bushwakka » February 4th, 2011, 12:37 pm

thats odd....the 225/55/16 cost more than what i paid for my 215/45/17

i paid $800 flat for each of the ventus @ 17"...an thats VAT inclusive and even including mountin an balancing!

Alpha.....yuh better check tire center an see if they restock the 17s yea

btw chemical....stop talkin abt the triangles

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » February 4th, 2011, 2:58 pm

ruff neck chicken wrote:Sooo of the debate topic a bit...

I changed tires on my vehicle twice since I had it. Had a set of Hankook Radial and changed to Dunlop Direzza after some time. When i rotated my tires front to back I started to get a lot of tire noise that makes the ride the least bit silent. Note I got this problem when i used the Hankook and even the Dunlop. Got the car's camber and alignment checked very often without any problems.

What could be causing this and how can it be stopped? The noise is annoying :/

the direzzas tend to be noisy after they've worn a bit.... to be sure, jack up the front, put the gear in neutral with handbrake on of course and sin the tyre, do it for left and right...if there's no noise its the tyre..do it both sides.

if you still getting noise, not the tyre and then it would most likely be the bearing....

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 4th, 2011, 3:08 pm

i had the bearings checked already and they're good. note this noise only occurs when the tires are rotated and happened with two set of different brands.

the tires are rotating in the proper direction made sure of that.

the tires were not removed from the rims when rotated. they were simply unbolted and bolted back on. rear to front did not cross them.

Postby bushwakka » February 4th, 2011, 3:17 pm

^check the camber on the rear wheels then (if adjustable)....as Alpha suggested, difference in camber can expose different regions of the tyre which may be causing this

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 4th, 2011, 3:46 pm

^^ the vehicle is a Toyota Altis and i always have them check my alignment front and rear, even get all four tires speed balanced every time to make sure. the shop told me that everything is fine on the car.
its been about 100 kilos on the car since rotated and i thought they would have cut back in by now if it was a threading problem.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 4th, 2011, 6:10 pm

ruff neck chicken give it time...turn up the radio. That identical problem happened to me with Toyo's PXVM series. Lincoln @ MM told me the same thing Alpha said. It takes awhile . You only get this prob with directional tires.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 4th, 2011, 6:38 pm

dam you directional tires.

thanks for the info.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 4th, 2011, 8:53 pm

Yes...YES!!! Those Evo V12'sare AWESOME!

Dare I say, OVERKILL almost. Those are the kinda tyres I'd put on an 400+ hp M3 if I had one :oops:

Those are an MPS tyre with great grip and excellent handling.

The Ecsta HM is a touring tyre....IIRC, or an HPS tyre...not sure. Either way, it's gonna give a softer ride than the V12 Evo's, since the latter are more "performance car" oriented.

bushwakka, believe me, I want to buy the V12 Evo's.....but I can't afford the expense right now :x :cry: :cry:

As such, I ended up sticking with the stock wheels in the short term.

Postby bushwakka » February 5th, 2011, 10:54 am

^^bai..when u see good ting....buy it.....money will always come back.....good tyres don't :D.....not in this country anyway :lol:

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 5th, 2011, 11:35 am

is it me or tires just sexy :/

Postby bushwakka » February 5th, 2011, 8:30 pm

^^aye aye......where u get dem pics of my girls from?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 6th, 2011, 10:26 am

^^Under the weather this w/e. Will leave for next Saturday. :|

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2011, 9:30 am

I will almost agree with the ventus being all that but when i compare them to my predecessors(star specs) I can't fully agree cause i see where they fall short. Normal tossing around and they will growl whereas I have never heard the star specs make a peep other than highway noise.
Mind you if you have absolutly no intention of ever taking this tyre to some lengths, then don't waste your money as you won't be using it to its full potential

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 8th, 2011, 6:30 pm

^^^x2
overkill on tyres doesn't make financial sense, especially with our prices locally...

most people won't need anything more than the SPT's or equivalent tyres on a N/A daily driver

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 8th, 2011, 7:28 pm

^^On ANY daily driver....even F/I IMHO. (besides, what if someones daily drive were a 330i BMW???)

Postby cinco » February 9th, 2011, 7:01 am

i disagree
use what your pocket could afford
hi po tyres are awesome on even the slowest shite box once you go with good tyres there is no turning back
the transition from sport tyres to economy tyres is very noticable for anyone who does any kind of spirited driving period

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 9th, 2011, 7:49 am

^Actually, I beg to differ.

Like I've said before, I've driven on quite a few different compounds ( Potenza galore, Ecsta 711's, Ecsta KH11's, DZ101's, SPort Maxx's, HTR ZII's, H4's, HTR200's etc - I've owned 7 different cars acorss the period of 5 years or so...hence the frequency )...and my current cars run on Potenza RE040's and Solus KH17's respectively (the latter being my daily car).

And yes, the KH17 is NOT a performance tyre, and doesn't have the immesne grip of the S-02 Potenzas I used to use on another car....but for everyday driving purposes, I've never even REACHed that limit. Honestly, I had to REALLY push the coupe to get any movement from those KH17's....or at least feel them start to give way. And in that scenario, the road had to be perfecty clear for me to get the kind of cornering speed/entry I wanted.

I never looked at touring tyres seriously....but after these KH17's...I'm wondering if this isn't the kind of tyre I should be running from my everyday runner! I mean, ZERO noise (period....NONE whatsoever), softest riding tyre thus far that I've EVER driven on, and it has the traction I need for everyday driving.

And of course, the w/e warrior gets performance tyres.

Postby bushwakka » February 9th, 2011, 12:54 pm

^coming from you...those solus really must be an awesome daily

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 9th, 2011, 7:42 pm

0.83 lateral G on a mazda 3 on kumho kh17

Postby bushwakka » February 9th, 2011, 8:33 pm

where u get that from? u measure it o wa?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 9th, 2011, 8:35 pm

yeah, i used dynolicious.