Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Re: Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 1st, 2013, 10:27 am

Sky wrote:^^ I'm actually being neutral. Why didn't you say that when I was defending apple's sales on the last page?

That capability will be used with eu apps if one oc's, that was my point. That's the android customization they keep boasting about. Not my cup of tea, just my point. Don't want anything overheating in my pocket near my jiblets.

I'm not so sure this was done to show benefits to end users. The benchmark overclocking wasn't let out the bag by Samsung at all. If Ars didn't investigate and write this article noone would know much less end users. If it really was about customization I'm sure Samsung would have brought it up for reviewers.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2013, 10:34 am

^ yes it would have been a selling point seeing that it was somewhat unique to Samsung

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2013, 10:38 am

Dual Sim is a killer feature for me...carrying two phones is insanely annoying-plus often times impractical. There's reportedly a Dual Sim Note3...will have to investigate. The last Dual Sim S4 for a Chinese only variant.

Postby pete » October 1st, 2013, 10:50 am

The size of a Note 3 you could easily fit 2 iphone 5s in your pocket though.

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2013, 11:01 am

pete wrote:The size of a Note 3 you could easily fit 2 iphone 5s in your pocket though.

...and the likelihood of me forgetting one home or worse yet-elsewhere, has also increased :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2013, 11:40 am

RASC wrote:Dual Sim is a killer feature for me...
horner man business :lol:

Postby pete » October 1st, 2013, 11:56 am

I used to fit my Note 1 and my mifi hotspot in my pocket. That's about the size of a small cell phone. But to be honest I sometimes forget where I've put it/forget it at home so I see what you mean.

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2013, 1:26 pm

pete wrote:I used to fit my Note 1 and my mifi hotspot in my pocket. That's about the size of a small cell phone. But to be honest I sometimes forget where I've put it/forget it at home so I see what you mean.

Happened nuff times with two phones...It's NEVER happened to me with one dual sim phone.

8-)

Postby RASC » October 1st, 2013, 1:28 pm

RASC wrote:Dual Sim is a killer feature for me...
horner man business :lol:

:angel:

...but seriously, this and NFC I will NEVER see apple bringing online.

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » October 1st, 2013, 3:11 pm

http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/apple- ... 52923.html

Apple named top global brand in new ranking
Coca-Cola has been ousted - with Google claiming second spot
Sky NewsBy (c) Sky News 2013 | Sky News – 13 hours ago

Email
Share180
Print

Yahoo Finance UK/AP Photo/Eugene Hoshiko -

Related Content

Article: How to make your small business brand 'cool'

Yahoo Finance UK - Mon, Sep 23, 2013 17:50 BST
Article: How the government is killing the high street

Yahoo Finance UK - Thu, Sep 26, 2013 17:57 BST

Apple has ousted Coca-Cola as the world's leading global brand - with Google claiming second spot.

After 13 years as the undisputed number one, the fizzy drinks firm has been relegated to third place in this year's Interbrand list.

Jez Frampton, Interbrand's global chief executive officer, said: "Every so often, a company changes our lives - not just with its products, but with its ethos.

"This is why, following Coca-Cola's 13-year run at the top of Best Global Brands, Apple now ranks number one.

"(CEO) Tim Cook has assembled a solid leadership team and has kept Steve Jobs' vision intact - a vision that has allowed Apple to deliver on its promise of innovation time and time again."
[ How the government is killing the high street ]

[ Are these the worst estate agent photos EVER? ]

Apple has appeared on Interbrand's 100 Best Global Brands list since it was first published in 2000.

That year Apple ranked 36 and had a brand value of $6.6bn (£4.07bn). It now has a brand value of $98.3bn (£60.7bn) - almost 15 times the 2000 figure.

Interband said Apple's meteoric rise in brand value can be attributed to "the way it has created a seamless omnichannel experience for customers".

It added: "By keeping consumers at the centre of everything it does, Apple is able to anticipate what they want next and break new ground in terms of both design and performance.

"With 72 million Macs in use and record-breaking sales of both the iPhone and iPad, Apple has made history by unseating Coca-Cola and becoming Interbrand's most valuable global brand of 2013."

This year, the total value of all 100 Best Global Brands has been put at $1.5trn (£0.92trn) - an 8.4% increase on 2012.

When determining the top 100 brands, Interbrand says it examined three key aspects:

The financial performance of the branded products or service

The role the brand plays in influencing consumer choice

The strength the brand has to command a premium price, or secure earnings for the company

As well as Apple and Google, this year's big climbers are Facebook (52, +43%), Prada (72, +30%) and Amazon (19, +27%).

The top 10 brands are:

1. Apple
2. Google
3. Coca-Cola
4. IBM
5. Microsoft
6. GE
7. McDonald's
8. Samsung
9. Intel
10 Toyota

Postby Trini Hookah » October 1st, 2013, 4:42 pm

All that talk rfari gave Duane, im pretty sure he convinced him to buy that iPhone.

PS that Note 3, so sexy.
Last edited by Trini Hookah on October 1st, 2013, 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » October 1st, 2013, 5:16 pm

Eh? Wha that?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 1st, 2013, 5:32 pm

Interesting.....testing btw

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2013, 7:58 pm

Lol@ fone stat boosting

Postby Morpheus » October 1st, 2013, 8:57 pm

That's real crap if they really doing that.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 1st, 2013, 9:58 pm

if?

Postby Morpheus » October 1st, 2013, 10:13 pm

Sorry. For real

Rephrase: That's real BS they doing :x

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 1st, 2013, 10:21 pm

ENT! :x

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2013, 1:01 am

The Note 3 really is fast though. Samsung maxed out the CPU. Don't know how to embed this video though.

http://bcove.me/e41lnia4

Postby Sky » October 2nd, 2013, 10:05 am

My S3 did that same crap a while back. Turned out to be a bummy sd card.
Supertech special immc.
Win7 and snow lep wasn't having it either. Only ubuntu.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 2nd, 2013, 10:21 am

Sky wrote:My S3 did that same crap a while back. Turned out to be a bummy sd card.
Supertech special immc.
Win7 and snow lep wasn't having it either. Only ubuntu.

Did what exactly?

Constant reboot etc? I had an i777 ( S2) that wouldnt charge, once you plugged in usb it woild reboot.

Ended up changing the flex and still no go, in the end was the same sd card problem. Only prob that phone ever gave.

Postby pete » October 2nd, 2013, 11:10 am

Think he was talking about the video. It showed that when you open the gallery on the note3 it took over 2 minutes to open.

Postby Sky » October 2nd, 2013, 12:13 pm

^^ Yup.
I tend to ignore videos like that of any device. It's could be done purposely by fanboys to prove some point. My ipad froze for 2 days straight and because I couldn't take out the battery I had to let it be and wait. But I still won't take on some vague video of an ipad freezing up, because who knows what caused it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2013, 12:17 pm

Sky wrote:^^ Yup.
I tend to ignore videos like that of any device. It's could be done purposely by fanboys to prove some point. My ipad froze for 2 days straight and because I couldn't take out the battery I had to let it be and wait. But I still won't take on some vague video of an ipad freezing up, because who knows what caused it.
why not hard restart it or plug it into iTunes to restore?

Postby Sky » October 2nd, 2013, 12:36 pm

It responded to nothing at all jed. And I still dunno what caused it. It froze on gmail, and when I let the batt run down, I put it to charge and only then it took charge, then worked fine like nothing happened. Chalked it up an an isolated incident. Never happened again.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 2nd, 2013, 4:21 pm

pete wrote:Think he was talking about the video. It showed that when you open the gallery on the note3 it took over 2 minutes to open.
isnt that a prob of too much items in the gallery?

Ive had that prob myself wit certain custom roms. Namely, Live note.

Postby ismithx » October 2nd, 2013, 4:36 pm

Sky wrote:^^ Yup.

Postby pioneer » October 4th, 2013, 10:50 pm

http://bgr.com/2013/10/04/apple-iphone-5s-sales/

iPhone 5s reigns as top-selling smartphone at all 4 major U.S. carriers

Postby ismithx » October 5th, 2013, 3:10 pm

not sure how the previously said statement affects my life