COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 104 cases, 7 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 7:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
between corona and parvo...which worse :|

boi, daz a hard one. but I go hadda say corona oui

can vax against parvo, & parvo not widespread like this corona thing, & parvo don't readily jump from one species to another species, and most important parvo don't have you sick for weeks before killing you by drowning you in yuh own bodily fluids & having yuh lugs rupture inside yuh chest cavity

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 7 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2020, 7:31 am

TTUTA Exec: Expect schools to remain closed longer

by

14 hours ago

SHASTRI BOODAN

The Trinidad and To­ba­go Uni­fied Teach­ers As­so­ci­a­tion (TTUTA) is alert­ing the pop­u­la­tion that the na­tion’s pri­ma­ry and sec­ondary schools could re­main closed for much longer than orig­i­nal­ly thought.

Schools were sched­uled to re-open on Tues­day 21 April 2020.

Speak­ing with Guardian Me­dia, TTUTA’s Sec­ond Vice-Pres­i­dent, Kyr­la Robert­son-Thomas, notes that most schools al­ready are over­crowd­ed, which makes so­cial dis­tanc­ing im­pos­si­ble.

“Schools are not able to prac­tice so­cial dis­tanc­ing, es­pe­cial­ly as many of our class­es are al­ready over­crowd­ed,” she points out. “Def­i­nite­ly that would be not one of the ar­eas that would be opened, and the union would not sit down and al­low for that to hap­pen.”

Kyr­la Robert­son-Thomas al­so ob­serves that in the fu­ture, school prin­ci­pals and su­per­vi­sors would have to re-think the prac­tice of over-crowd­ing of class­rooms. She says the COVID-19 cri­sis has clear­ly high­light­ed that phe­nom­e­non as some­thing that will have to change.

“The world as we know it has now changed and go­ing for­ward, all of these things will need to be tak­en more se­ri­ous­ly than be­fore. Where peo­ple were le­nient and would al­low for an ex­tra two or three stu­dents in a class­room, that can no longer be al­lowed to hap­pen,” the TTUTA 2nd VP stat­ed.

She added: “Look­ing at some of the dates, they are say­ing that for the next year, we may have to be prac­tis­ing so­cial dis­tanc­ing. Clear­ly, we have to re-eval­u­ate our ed­u­ca­tion sys­tem, not on­ly here but in the is­lands and over­seas. It’s a new way of life that we are go­ing to get in­to.”

[URL]http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttuta-exec-expect-schools-to-remain-closed-longer-6.2.1093116.4e65259b66
[/URL]

Postby K74T » April 6th, 2020, 7:54 am

PM media conference @ 10AM

death365

Postby death365 » April 6th, 2020, 8:01 am

At exactly 7 days... Friday all trinis forget what was /is the plan to scave off the spike.

An every body was just out liming cussing carrying about like normal... San Juan area..

It's the 7 day memory thing come back to bite we in d a$$

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2020, 8:02 am

guardian say a woman was in mt hope and hide travel history with staff attending to her normal without precautions

death365

Postby death365 » April 6th, 2020, 8:10 am

Just incase u thinking is "getto" San Juan... Its not is aranguez
death365 wrote:At exactly 7 days... Friday all trinis forget what was /is the plan to scave off the spike.

An every body was just out liming cussing carrying about like normal... San Juan area..

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 8:39 am

2 cases in 24 hours, not great, not terrible

Postby nemisis » April 6th, 2020, 9:01 am

No difference
death365 wrote:Just incase u thinking is "getto" San Juan... Its not is aranguez
death365 wrote:At exactly 7 days... Friday all trinis forget what was /is the plan to scave off the spike.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 6th, 2020, 9:25 am

Conference @ 10am

death365

Postby death365 » April 6th, 2020, 9:40 am

OK I feel like ah ranting today but...

Why the hell u coming out as a couple to do grocery... Holding hands an loving up...

Wtf wrong with we as trinis... We loss we mind

Postby K74T » April 6th, 2020, 10:14 am

8th death

FB_IMG_1586182462619.jpeg

Postby K74T » April 6th, 2020, 10:24 am

Stay at home extended to Apr 30th

carluva

Postby carluva » April 6th, 2020, 10:29 am

Lol at "being too smart"... PM jokey when he ready yes...

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 10:31 am

Rowley vex at people and their "rights"

dictatorship SoE coming before this all done :drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 10:33 am

K74T wrote:Stay at home extended to Apr 30th

yup. limited opening hours for essential services too

ST Auto

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby ST Auto » April 6th, 2020, 10:36 am

The gov't has extended the stay at home order until April 30th and will "intensify the compliance."

Govt will distribute masks to members of the public

Retail services/markets/supermarts etc will be required to close by 6pm daily.

Wholesale stores will be requred to close by 4PM

Pharmacies will be required to close by 8PM daily.

Religious gatherings reduced from 10 to 5 people.

This takes effect from tomorrow (Tuesday)

Postby K74T » April 6th, 2020, 10:36 am

Effective immediately: All persons in public MUST wear masks.

Government to distribute masks to members of the public.

Supermarkets and Produce markets to be closed by 6PM daily. Pharmacies and restaurants by 8PM.

These new restrictions will come into effect from tomorrow, Tuesday April 7.

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 10:42 am

CMO: "significant improvement in patients at Couva"

22 persons from Balandra on track for discharge by end of the week.

14 days from closing borders, almost no more imported cases expected. only a "hint" of local transmission.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 6th, 2020, 10:46 am

adnj wrote:TTUTA Exec: Expect schools to remain closed longer

by

14 hours ago

SHASTRI BOODAN

The Trinidad and To­ba­go Uni­fied Teach­ers As­so­ci­a­tion (TTUTA) is alert­ing the pop­u­la­tion that the na­tion’s pri­ma­ry and sec­ondary schools could re­main closed for much longer than orig­i­nal­ly thought.

Schools were sched­uled to re-open on Tues­day 21 April 2020.

Speak­ing with Guardian Me­dia, TTUTA’s Sec­ond Vice-Pres­i­dent, Kyr­la Robert­son-Thomas, notes that most schools al­ready are over­crowd­ed, which makes so­cial dis­tanc­ing im­pos­si­ble.

“Schools are not able to prac­tice so­cial dis­tanc­ing, es­pe­cial­ly as many of our class­es are al­ready over­crowd­ed,” she points out. “Def­i­nite­ly that would be not one of the ar­eas that would be opened, and the union would not sit down and al­low for that to hap­pen.”

Kyr­la Robert­son-Thomas al­so ob­serves that in the fu­ture, school prin­ci­pals and su­per­vi­sors would have to re-think the prac­tice of over-crowd­ing of class­rooms. She says the COVID-19 cri­sis has clear­ly high­light­ed that phe­nom­e­non as some­thing that will have to change.

“The world as we know it has now changed and go­ing for­ward, all of these things will need to be tak­en more se­ri­ous­ly than be­fore. Where peo­ple were le­nient and would al­low for an ex­tra two or three stu­dents in a class­room, that can no longer be al­lowed to hap­pen,” the TTUTA 2nd VP stat­ed.

She added: “Look­ing at some of the dates, they are say­ing that for the next year, we may have to be prac­tis­ing so­cial dis­tanc­ing. Clear­ly, we have to re-eval­u­ate our ed­u­ca­tion sys­tem, not on­ly here but in the is­lands and over­seas. It’s a new way of life that we are go­ing to get in­to.”

[URL]http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttuta-exec-expect-schools-to-remain-closed-longer-6.2.1093116.4e65259b66
[/URL]

Well if the stay-at-home order is extended to April 30th schools can’t open on the 21st.

Hopefully TTUTA and the MoE are working on online classes. Some schools were already doing online classes last term, but not all.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 6th, 2020, 10:48 am

kfc close dong run an panik buy ...

Postby K74T » April 6th, 2020, 10:49 am

Update: All take away food services and take away restaurants closed/suspended till April 30th

Postby nemisis » April 6th, 2020, 10:51 am

The man call our ED for hording malaria drugs and he doesn't have malaria. ED you get shout out boi

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2020, 10:51 am

Trinis...your PM asked:

What did YOU do in this pandemic?

Lol allyuh eh shame to answer that?

Get responsible.

Postby aaron17 » April 6th, 2020, 10:53 am

screwbash wrote:kfc close dong run an panik buy ...
Lucky I have allergic reaction of eating kfc.

Postby aaron17 » April 6th, 2020, 10:54 am

Govt distributing free masks?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 6th, 2020, 10:56 am

aaron17 wrote:Govt distributing free masks?

Kinda like how they distributing light bulbs

Postby aaron17 » April 6th, 2020, 10:57 am

Hardware closing 12pm?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 6th, 2020, 10:57 am

85311e7b-df9d-43ec-93bd-7fd485c0bf1d.jpg

03d431cb-75c2-4ebb-9314-0980faba06a7.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2020, 10:58 am

blame sauce and gg

sauce make a stink so all lorse now

K74T wrote:Update: All take away food services and take away restaurants closed/suspended till April 30th

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 6th, 2020, 10:59 am

aaron17 wrote:Hardware closing 12pm?

Change in times of essential services

Prime Minister: We expect that by the 15th of April, we may be in a worst situation than we were, when we first started.

#StayAtHome Order is extended until April 30th and we will take additional action to intensify the compliance of that instruction!

Effective immediately - members of Public are to wear masks once you are outside.

Please take note of these coming info effect:

* Hardwares (electrical and plumbing stores) - to be opened 8am-12noon (Mon to Sat)
* Retail services (discount stores, supermarkets, fruit/vege stalls, bakeries, corner shops that provide food) - to be closed to public by 6pm daily
* Wholesale stores for provision of food/medicine - to be closed by 4pm daily
* Pharmacies - to be closed to public by 8pm daily
* Take away/Food Services - to be CLOSED from tomorrow to April 30th

To start from Tuesday 7th April 2020