*** The official car accident thread***

Advent

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby Advent » June 26th, 2015, 2:16 pm

those KIA's (killed in action? ) dont have side airbags ?
RIP :(

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 26th, 2015, 2:35 pm

Advent wrote:those KIA's (killed in action? ) dont have side airbags ?

bluetooth and steering radio controls more important

Advent

Postby Advent » June 26th, 2015, 2:44 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:

boi now i worried, cause my old car only have 2 airbags :|

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » June 26th, 2015, 3:02 pm

She was my wife's colleague and one of her best friends. Her son was my daughter's friend. He was only 1.

May they all rest in peace.

FB_IMG_1435340142014.jpg
FB_IMG_1435340142014.jpg (22.72 KiB) Viewed 2828 times

FB_IMG_1435340191615.jpg

NicholasM.

Postby NicholasM. » June 26th, 2015, 3:06 pm

So Sad.. RIP.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 26th, 2015, 3:10 pm

Really sad. Rip

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby Morpheus » June 26th, 2015, 3:41 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:

From the pics of the car I dunno how side airbags helping allyuh nah...:???:

Postby SMc » June 26th, 2015, 5:44 pm

why rely solely on airbags? its not that difficult to wear seat belts, put children in suitable seats and not drive beyond you and your cars capability and there would not be threads like this

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 26th, 2015, 5:52 pm

SMc wrote:why rely solely on airbags? its not that difficult to wear seat belts, put children in suitable seats and not drive beyond you and your cars capability and there would not be threads like this

I don't think anyone is saying rely solely on airbags. Airbags would be of similar importance as seatbelts in your advice.

Also advent: cerato in that model don't come with more than two airbags. Don't know what other safety features it has or doesn't have.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 26th, 2015, 6:52 pm

The passenger compartment looks like it was crushed to half the original width.
Check the shape of the roof in the first pic.
Not much chance for the occupants even with side airbags.
Maybe a stronger passenger tub would have saved them.

Postby cinco » June 26th, 2015, 7:02 pm

Shrugs all these structural motor vehicle engineers in here. Maybe if the driver drove within her skillset/the cars limits this wouldna happen

Postby black start » June 26th, 2015, 7:15 pm

cinco wrote:Shrugs all these structural motor vehicle engineers in here. Maybe if the driver drove within her skillset/the cars limits this wouldna happen

Advent

Postby Advent » June 26th, 2015, 7:22 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
SMc wrote:why rely solely on airbags? its not that difficult to wear seat belts, put children in suitable seats and not drive beyond you and your cars capability and there would not be threads like this

I don't think anyone is saying rely solely on airbags. Airbags would be of similar importance as seatbelts in your advice.

Also advent: cerato in that model don't come with more than two airbags. Don't know what other safety features it has or doesn't have.

:( that was really a sad accident

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 26th, 2015, 7:28 pm

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/ratings-info/side-test

Excerpt:
Side crashes account for about a quarter of passenger vehicle occupant deaths in the United States. Protecting people in side crashes is challenging because the sides of vehicles have relatively little space to absorb energy and shield occupants, unlike the fronts and rears, which have substantial crumple zones. Automakers have made big strides in side protection in recent years by installing side airbags and strengthening the structures of vehicles. The Institute's testing program has played a key role in bringing about these improvements.

Side airbags, which today are standard on most new passenger vehicles, are designed to keep people from colliding with the inside of the vehicle and with objects outside the vehicle in a side crash. They also help by spreading impact forces over a larger area of an occupant's body. However, side airbags by themselves are not enough. Strong structures that work well with the airbags also are crucial.

Structure/safety cage: Engineers assess the vehicle's structural performance by measuring the amount of intrusion into the occupant compartment around the B-pillar (between the doors). Some intrusion into the occupant compartment is inevitable in serious side impacts, but it shouldn't seriously compromise the driver and passenger space. As with head protection, this is another assessment that helps evaluate the injury risk of occupants who aren't exactly the same size or sitting in exactly the same positions as the dummies.

Postby Team Loco » June 26th, 2015, 7:36 pm

Really realy sad man. Sad

Postby Slartibartfast » June 26th, 2015, 8:54 pm

Serious question.... what car, if any, do you think could have saved one or more of the occupants lives.

I want to say scooby cuz of their strong B pillar but idk. I know some people will have some euro cars in mind.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 26th, 2015, 9:02 pm

As soon as the rain drizzle that road dose get real slippery... So much money spending on nonsense but they wont re-pave that piece of road from Chiney Wreaking Service to Picton Junction...

R.I.P :'(

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2015, 9:09 pm

*OUTSIDER* wrote:As soon as the rain drizzle that road dose get real slippery... So much money spending on nonsense but they wont re-pave that piece of road from Chiney Wreaking Service to Picton Junction...

Not sure where in the m2 this happen based on the background but as you mention wrecker:

Some time back I driving in my way to barrackpore and noticed a few flat bed wreckers chilling on the side of the road. Didn't take it on, road was wet though.
Just like that I take a corner very slow and did a 180 in that narrow road. Almost hit a post and almost went into the drain. Now I have heard rumors of wrecker men throwing diesel on the road to get work but dismissed it as rumors.
I know what the skate is like because some of that fuel spilled near a speed bump and I skated just like that when the road was damp.

Just saying....

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 26th, 2015, 9:11 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Serious question.... what car, if any, do you think could have saved one or more of the occupants lives.

I want to say scooby cuz of their strong B pillar but idk. I know some people will have some euro cars in mind.

Summer tyres.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 26th, 2015, 9:20 pm

*OUTSIDER* wrote:As soon as the rain drizzle that road dose get real slippery... So much money spending on nonsense but they wont re-pave that piece of road from Chiney Wreaking Service to Picton Junction...

Not sure where in the m2 this happen based on the background but as you mention wrecker:

Some time back I driving in my way to barrackpore and noticed a few flat bed wreckers chilling on the side of the road. Didn't take it on, road was wet though.
Just like that I take a corner very slow and did a 180 in that narrow road. Almost hit a post and almost went into the drain. Now I have heard rumors of wrecker men throwing diesel on the road to get work but dismissed it as rumors.
I know what the skate is like because some of that fuel spilled near a speed bump and I skated just like that when the road was damp.

Just saying....

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

As soon as that road wet is problems... that use to happen from Oropouche to Mon Desir a few years ago... I pass on that road everyday so i could tell you... Just a couple months ago a truck killed a little boy on that same road ... They milled the road but it still skids

Postby Slartibartfast » June 26th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Currently have roadstone N1000 on my car. Never had problems with them but I looking to change Dunlop DZ102 (at least in front) when I get chance.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 26th, 2015, 9:29 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 26th, 2015, 10:43 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Currently have roadstone N1000 on my car. Never had problems with them but I looking to change Dunlop DZ102 (at least in front) when I get chance.

Check reviews and what not. I don't know which is better between the dz102 and the n1000. I have the dz102 and it's as good as the sumitomo z3.

Tyres won't be the only thing to save you from losing control but I firmly believe tyre types are a bigger influence in safety than certain other aspects. Particularly on wet roads. Significantly reduced chance of aquaplaning at speeds well above legal highway speed limits in heavy rain so when used at legal speed limits one has very good control when using higher performance Summer tyres.

abbow

Postby abbow » June 26th, 2015, 11:02 pm

that diesel on road is real trouble...

just this week, merging unto the highway from OAS there, PTSC bus in front, on the corner spilling diesel, i got the scent of it and knew what to do....road was wet as well....

many drivers wont notice or smell if their glass is up....is years now i have been noticing this. trucks are the main culprits...coming out of Well Services, no cap on the tank, diesel spills

could have been the same situation on the M2.

and yes the sm jaleel corner, on average it used to be 5 accidents there per day...they used the milled material to repave the road....relll skiddzzz

be careful folks...if you following large diesel vehicles, be extra careful.

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2015, 11:44 pm

I didnt even know that used to happen by SM Jaleel there.

Never skate like that before on a wet road so the first time it happen I had to find out what was the problem. Second time around I knew what it was and was doing less than 20km/h. Anyone moving faster would have needed a wrecker.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 26th, 2015, 11:49 pm

I'm so angry than sad, o fcuk man !!!

Postby Slartibartfast » June 26th, 2015, 11:51 pm

Had an old backhoe drive around the roundabout ny Movie Towne Chaguanas spilling something from it for the entire turn. I hit that on my bike at about 40-50. Had no traction until I completely slid over it and the dry road rubbed the residue left over from off my tires. To this day idk how I didn't buss my a$$

Postby Chimera » June 27th, 2015, 12:00 am

Ent rollingstock had post about he and his fellow officers catching a wrecker man throwing diesel on the road and they real beat him

Postby Team Loco » June 27th, 2015, 1:06 am

Yrs now i listing roads that have a weird slippery surface. Its kinda blue in colour and gets exceptionally slipery with a light drizzle:

Battoo blvd in marabella
A portion of gopaul lands rds
A portion of the m2 ring rd

The diesel on rd thing is a myth. Its simply some sorta wrong paving done, poor mixture that has allowed constant usage to wear the road surface. U only need to be doing 30kms anx mash a sudden brake and go sliding on those wet surfaces.

Postby cinco » June 27th, 2015, 3:20 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Serious question.... what car, if any, do you think could have saved one or more of the occupants lives.

B14