Re: 2011 Christmas thread

Postby Oleander » October 28th, 2011, 10:44 am

Christmas Gifts

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2011, 10:46 am

turbosingh wrote:Last year my neighbour found a snake wrapped around his Christmas tree,if yuh see cutlass pass like if is a Anaconda :lol: :lol:

I woda do the same thing yes :lol: :lol:

Postby Stephon. » October 28th, 2011, 11:18 am

Sent out my amazon wish list to friends/family today. Anything given outside of said list, the gift-giver would be disowned for 2012.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2011, 11:57 am

http://www.woofersetc.com/default.aspx? have to send out this list to my parents,rich aunties and uncles,lol,it have rel thing in here I want...

Postby Trini Hookah » October 28th, 2011, 5:48 pm

Dem Colour Shifters expensive dan :S

But they stop shifting after a while :|

Postby BrotherHood » October 29th, 2011, 12:47 am

Stephon. wrote:Sent out my amazon wish list to friends/family today. Anything given outside of said list, the gift-giver would be disowned for 2012.

:rofl: how you movin like ah badess so

Postby De Dragon » October 29th, 2011, 12:56 am

Oleander wrote:
DFC wrote:gonna be working from christmas straight to 2nd january.
:(

gonna be drinking a shandy in work on christmas night.

You work offshore?
I guess no matter how "Christmassy" they make it, it's just not the same.
Last year was was the first in 6 years that I spent Christmas with my father... and I guess I won't see him on Christmas day this year... :(

I know that scene, this year I'll be off from Christmas Eve to the 27th, first time I'll be home for the entire Christmas day in ages.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 29th, 2011, 1:02 am

DFC wrote:gonna be working from christmas straight to 2nd january.
:(

gonna be drinking a shandy in work on christmas night.

Working same over the holidays and off on 2nd Jan.....we only get 2ea 1 liter heineken for the new year.... :( :(

Postby shogun » October 29th, 2011, 1:32 am

Soundwave wrote:

:shock: a tuner knows who the raveonettes are...impressed wave!

Postby De Dragon » October 29th, 2011, 2:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:start organising the following soon, the white oak,brandy and the cherries and other fruits for the rum cake :D :D

Gwaan wid dat White Oak, is Puncheon in de MC! :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2011, 8:38 am

ah feel this i might just try the puncheon for both rum cake and the punch a creme...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 29th, 2011, 10:59 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:start organising the following soon, the white oak,brandy and the cherries and other fruits for the rum cake :D :D

Gwaan wid dat White Oak, is Puncheon in de MC! :lol:

lolz .. hardwine :D

my gf teaching me how to make puncha creme b4 she leaves for vacation so i'm really excited !!!

santa knos i need shoes .. sum sexy boots .. and meh carnival costume needs to b paid up so organise santa !!! :twisted: :twisted:

Antiviru$

Postby Antiviru$ » October 29th, 2011, 11:45 am

to me christmas dont feel like it until i see these vids....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2011, 11:49 am

I prefer home alone 1,2, and maybe 3, definitely not 4...that was real rubbish..

TriP

Postby TriP » October 29th, 2011, 12:36 pm

gimme rum ..gimme whiskey...gimmee babash...gimmee..gimmee..

TriP

Postby TriP » October 29th, 2011, 12:48 pm

TriP

Postby TriP » October 29th, 2011, 12:53 pm

starting to snow in New Jersey..1252pm sat 29.10.11

TriP

Postby TriP » October 29th, 2011, 1:00 pm

trini christmas with local rice wine an pear wine

an Pastelles

TriP

Postby TriP » October 29th, 2011, 1:03 pm

last year 2010 Xmas prices..White Oak an Black Label bottle $89.99..Forres Park Puncheon bottle $119..Royal Oak bottle $109.99..El Dorado rum $65-$70 bottle..Guinness $14 to $15 a bottle

Postby Stephon. » October 29th, 2011, 1:07 pm

I'd screw those models in a heartbeat.

TriP

Postby TriP » October 29th, 2011, 1:49 pm

neighbour neighbour..bring drinks nah marn..bring drinks..

:drinking: :drinking:

:lol:_______ :lol:

Postby shogun » October 29th, 2011, 1:58 pm

TriP wrote:Image

an Pastelles

8-)

Postby Mark! » October 29th, 2011, 2:17 pm

thank goodness for Oleander for taking this ched in the right direction :|

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 31st, 2011, 11:43 am

CHRISTMAS IN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
According to historical records Christmas was first observed in Trinidad in 1569. The festival was celebrated by six priests of the order of Observantines headed by Fr. Miguel Diosdados (Reyes). They visited several villages and were treated to local cuisine.

Christmas in Trinidad and Tobago is a very joyous occasion. Families commemorate the birth of Jesus Christ by going to church. For many this means an annual pilgrimage to church on Christmas Eve to celebrate Midnight Mass. Christmas is also a memorable event that is celebrated by large gatherings of families and friends. Sumptuous meals are prepared, and visitors are invited to partake of the feast. These visitors include not only friends and family, but also those groups of people who go from house to house serenading the members of the home with indigenous Spanish carols, known as Parang.

These groups, similar to European and American carolers, are called Paranderos, and they sing traditional Parang songs. They trek through neighbourhoods, evoking the spirit of the season with joyful melodies and infectious rhythms. The cuatro, bass box, mandolin, ‘chac-chac’ (maracas), flutes, tambourines, guitar and other instruments are all used to accompany the Paranderos. The vibrant rhythms of Parang music encourage one and all to sing along. The Paranderos are rewarded for their performances with Christmas food & drink offered by the host of the house.

Traditional food served at Christmas time consists of generous helpings of ham, turkey, pastelles, fruit cake, sweet breads, and other selected delicacies, along with traditional drinks such as sorrel, ginger beer, and ponche de crème.

Christmas is a very important time in Trinidad &Tobago. It is the fusion of the end of year excitement while ushering the imminent Carnival season. It is a time when loved ones gather to reminisce on the past year while celebrating the presence of each other. It is a time of food and drink, music and celebration, and peace and love, as the birth of Christ is honoured and celebrated.
Last edited by Oleander on October 31st, 2011, 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2011, 11:46 am

imo,christmas in Trinidad not like long time,you used to start "paranging" from xmas eve till boxing day,no sleep,checking everybody yuh know.etc etc,now it real change...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 31st, 2011, 12:10 pm

Start preparing your Image

Call up a tanty to teach you how to Image

Keep soaking it till Christmas Image

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 31st, 2011, 12:35 pm

PONCHE DE CRÈME

There are two ways to prepare ponche de crème but only one way to enjoy it—when it’s served on ice. “The colder the creme, the better the flavour is,” explained caterer Arlene Johnson. Johnson said some people are worried about the uncooked version because of concerns over eggs and salmonella but the high alcohol content and preparation process makes the tasty Christmas beverage safe to drink.

“Make sure all of your utensils and preparation materials are clean because you are dealing with eggs and milk and you want to keep everything as clean as possible,” Johnson noted. “You will need
1 dozen eggs,
6 tins condensed milk,
2 tins evaporated milk
and a bottle of rum—I prefer puncheon rum because it’s strong and gives the drink a real kick.
In addition to these basic ingredients, you should have
the rind of a green lime,
a pinch of grated nutmeg and keep your Angostura aromatic bitters on hand to give the drink some extra flavouring at the end,” she shared.

The first step is to beat the eggs with the lime peel in a large mixing bowl until the eggs are light and frothy. “You can use a blender but don’t put the lime peel in because the rind blended like that would spoil the tatste.
Instead you can use a few drops of lime juice to ‘cut the freshness’ of the eggs.
If you used the beating by hand method, remove the lime peel when the eggs are light.

Add half of the rum to the eggs, stirring constantly. This is when I like to use the blender so the eggs blend well with the rum. Alternate adding rum and then milk, both the condensed and the evaporated at the same time, until all the liquids are well-blended. Finish with the grated nutmeg and your Angostura bitters to taste. Make sure to refrigerate the bottle so it would last you throughout the season. “

But what about the other way to make ponche de creme? Johnson said the cooked method takes more time but the product is essentially the same.
“You will need a medium stainless steel bowl and with a hand beater, beat the 12 eggs with 1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar.
Put the mixture into a double boiler and while the water is simmering, let the eggs cook until you see the sugar has completely dissolved. It looks a little like a custard at this texture.
Remove the mixture from the heat and add 2 tins of condensed milk and 6 tins of evaporated milk.
Blend that well.
You don’t really need to use the lime zest in this recipe but if you like that taste, add a few drops of lime juice, the Angostura bitters and of course, the pinch of nutmeg.
When the mixture is completely cool, pour it into sanitized glass bottles and keep it refrigerated, just like the uncooked version,” Johnson shared.

Not a fan of puncheon rum? Johnson said it’s fine to substitute golden rum if you prefer the taste. “You can experiment with the type of rum you use, it doesn’t matter. Again that comes down to personal preference. Some people prefer to leave the lime zest out completely. Some people don’t like nutmeg. I have a cousin who swears by adding fresh mint to her ponche de creme and it tastes lovely. One of the best parts of being in the kitchen for Christmas is experimenting so you can create a recipe that your family loves and appreciates,” she said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured ... 91794.html

Postby Stephon. » October 31st, 2011, 1:01 pm

Came home last night to see christmas tree already up yes. Lol

Postby turbosingh » October 31st, 2011, 1:05 pm

Stephon. wrote:Came home last night to see christmas tree already up yes. Lol

Noticed all them banks done dress up already..