Official Gaming Console Thread (XBOX, PS4, Switch etc)

pimptacular

Re: Official 360, PS3, PC Gaming Thread v4.something

Postby pimptacular » May 3rd, 2011, 8:23 pm

only reason i didnt make the switch yet is cuz it have more ppl on psn than xbox.. but if a few more of the regulars make the switch i will

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 3rd, 2011, 8:56 pm

<rant="hyper vex mode">
from the looks of it Sony eh even know how de ahhhhsss da happen to dem up to now...rogue employee(s)? The real story on de hacking forums is dat for months Sony knew they were under attack.....The CEO's and top level people personal information :address etc, children's schooling address etc got leaked on dem hacking websites and they (Sony) knew about it...delayed and inadequate response much!?!... I always had a feeling that a set of incompetent arrogant pricks was running Sony and it seems i was right. You could remember when dey launch ps3? fauxpas after fauxpas, saying it would be a privilege to own their then US $700 system. Just youtube that sheit for real comedy. boy i think i can now say i used to be a Sony fan yes....but i doh hold shares so dey could HDMC; whatever...microsoft too </rant>
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 3rd, 2011, 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 3rd, 2011, 9:31 pm

lostallos101 wrote:ok for all who dont like reading alot....read the red

Soundwave wrote:
Mark! wrote:
lostallos101 wrote:SOME PLAYSTATION®NETWORK AND QRIOCITY™ SERVICES TO BE AVAILABLE THIS WEEK
Tokyo, May 1, 2011 – Sony Computer Entertainment and Sony Network Entertainment International announced they will shortly begin a phased restoration by region of PlayStation®Network and Qriocity™ services, beginning with gaming, music and video services to be turned on. The company also announced both a series of immediate steps to enhance security across the network and a new customer appreciation program to thank its customers for their patience and loyalty.

SCE and SNEI plan to start a phased rollout by region[/color] of the services shortly.

The initial phase of the rollout will include, but is not limited to, the following:

Restoration of Online game-play across the PlayStation®3 (PS3) and PSP® (PlayStation®Portable) systems
-This includes titles requiring online verification and downloaded games
Access to Music Unlimited powered by Qriocity for PS3/PSP for existing subscribers
Access to account management and password reset
Access to download un-expired Movie Rentals on PS3, PSP and MediaGo
PlayStation®Home
Friends List
Chat Functionality

[/color]
Working closely with several outside security firms, the company has implemented significant security measures to further detect unauthorized activity and provide consumers with greater protection of their personal information. The new security measures implemented include, but are not limited to, the following:

Added automated software monitoring and configuration management to help defend against new attacks
Enhanced levels of data protection and encryption
Enhanced ability to detect software intrusions within the network, unauthorized access and unusual activity patterns
Implementation of additional firewalls

Complimentary Offering and “Welcome Back” Appreciation Program
While there is no evidence at this time that credit card data was taken, the company is committed to helping its customers protect their personal data and will provide a complimentary offering to assist users in enrolling in identity theft protection services and/or similar programs. The implementation will be at a local level and further details will be made available shortly in each region.

The company will also rollout the PlayStation Network and Qriocity “Welcome Back” program, to be offered worldwide, which will be tailored to specific markets to provide our consumers with a selection of service options and premium content as an expression of the company’s appreciation for their patience, support and continued loyalty.

Central components of the “Welcome Back” program will include:

Each territory will be offering selected PlayStation entertainment content for free download. Specific details of this content will be announced in each region soon.
All existing PlayStation Network customers will be provided with 30 days free membership in the PlayStation Plus premium service. Current members of PlayStation Plus will receive 30 days free service.
Music Unlimited powered by Qriocity subscribers (in countries where the service is available) will receive 30 days free service

short version please

lostallos101 wrote:SOME

if that is still too much....can someone break it down for them?? I was never good a summary writing

too much red

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 3rd, 2011, 9:33 pm

short version for gamers
free content
30 days extra for psn +

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 3rd, 2011, 10:39 pm

pioneer wrote:Well while you sourpusses keep pussing...WE at XBL enjoy this

Suck on dat.

coming from the BOY who dont even have money to even get the first map pack

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 3rd, 2011, 11:52 pm

pioneer wrote:http://www.agamingsite.com/2011/05/why-call-of-duty-is-dying-out/

Why ‘Call of Duty’ is dying out!

got rid of mine already. goin try crysis next week.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 12:27 am

I just reeeeeally hate the fact that a COD killar hasnt come along already...excellent physics engine minus the BS, dedicated servers with live administrators...all on an open source platform...Computer gaming should have been the future of gaming....WTF happened ? :headbang:

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 4th, 2011, 6:44 am

speedfreak99 wrote:I just reeeeeally hate the fact that a COD killar hasnt come along already...excellent physics engine minus the BS, dedicated servers with live administrators...all on an open source platform...Computer gaming should have been the future of gaming....WTF happened ? :headbang:

hdtv

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 8:30 am

SUPAstarr wrote:awww pios still lil lonely over at XBL, dont worry dude if you say enough prayers maybe PSN will be down long enough for us to get fed up join u over there..............probably not tho, but i will say if PSN goes down for an extended period again that may do it.

personally i wouldn't switch to xbox this late into the console cycle

it has old tech, and less features than ps3

will wait to see what they coming with for xbox 720 in 2014

Postby cinco » May 4th, 2011, 8:58 am

so anyone vex with sony and want to pipe out their ps3 :lol: i have $1500 now

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 4th, 2011, 9:03 am

I wouldnt part with the Media Center goodness that is my PS3

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 9:08 am

noshownogo wrote:trophies > achievements

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 4th, 2011, 9:09 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
speedfreak99 wrote:I just reeeeeally hate the fact that a COD killar hasnt come along already...excellent physics engine minus the BS, dedicated servers with live administrators...all on an open source platform...Computer gaming should have been the future of gaming....WTF happened ? :headbang:

hdtv

and

The Casual Gamer
Consoles just breed them

scientist

Postby scientist » May 4th, 2011, 9:25 am

honda hoe wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:awww pios still lil lonely over at XBL, dont worry dude if you say enough prayers maybe PSN will be down long enough for us to get fed up join u over there..............probably not tho, but i will say if PSN goes down for an extended period again that may do it.

I've yet to see how the PS3 is more current tech vs the Xbox. they both use hardware of the same generation, with the 360 utilizing the better video card. Then considering that besides sony, no one else continued to invest in the cell architecture (The other partners bailed on it). Its funny how its been proven over and over through the years that the PS3 and 360 barely hold any advantages over the other.

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 9:29 am

^^^ps3 has blueray...360 doesnt

ps3 supports 3D gaming...360 doesnt...

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 9:35 am

scientist wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

I've yet to see how the PS3 is more current tech vs the Xbox. they both use hardware of the same generation, with the 360 utilizing the better video card. Then considering that besides sony, no one else continued to invest in the cell architecture (The other partners bailed on it). Its funny how its been proven over and over through the years that the PS3 and 360 barely hold any advantages over the other.

:roll: :roll:

from day one ps3 had built in bluray, wifi and hdmi

it has a web browser, a streaming media centre and it recently implemented 3D capability with a simple firmware update

to date the 360 cannot do ANY of those things.. with the exception of the most recent models having hdmi input and wifi integrated.

u also seem to forget sony won the hi def format war

bluray > hd-dvd

360 could not even play hd-dvd

u had to buy a separate attachemnt

can YOU explain why u can't see past ur nose?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 4th, 2011, 9:44 am

scientist wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

Untrue
the Ps3 has much more potential than the 360, and this can be seen in any one of the major Exclusive titles for the PS3
Uncharted 2 & God Of War 3
Its graphical capability surpasses the 360.

What gives the 360 its advantage is that Its hardware is easier to develop for. So publishers make games first for the 360 and then port them over to the ps3, bypassing many of the hardware advantages that the ps3 has to offer
I wonder how well the 360 would do if the tables would turn
the ps3 has the raw power to run games that are NOT optimized for its hardware configuration
the same is not true vice versa

Postby tr1ad » May 4th, 2011, 9:56 am

casper wrote:ps3 supports 3D gaming...360 doesnt...

yuh have a 3D teevee or wuh dan

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2011, 10:27 am

group buy on xbox 360 slim

4gb - $1700

4gb kinect bundle - $2500

250gb kinect bundle - $3300

xbox 360 controllers - $280

12mt live cards - $300

1600pt cards - $150

http://www.trinituner.com/raptor

if its a large order i can go lower on the prices

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 1:26 pm

i'm on my second ps3

first one lasted me 3 years.. of constant every day use

i certainly can't complain

nice attempt at trying to bypass the topic of 360's outdated tech tho

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » May 4th, 2011, 1:51 pm

on my 2nd as well and never watch 1 bluray

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 2:06 pm

:rofl: @ epic fanboyism

lemme requote farva for yuh

the Ps3 has much more potential than the 360, and this can be seen in any one of the major Exclusive titles for the PS3
Uncharted 2 & God Of War 3
Its graphical capability surpasses the 360.

What gives the 360 its advantage is that Its hardware is easier to develop for. So publishers make games first for the 360 and then port them over to the ps3, bypassing many of the hardware advantages that the ps3 has to offer
I wonder how well the 360 would do if the tables would turn
the ps3 has the raw power to run games that are NOT optimized for its hardware configuration
the same is not true vice versa

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 2:19 pm

ps3 exclusives ARE in fact better than 360 exclusives

cross platform games are usually better on 360 cuz developers make them for 360 then port them over

however, the few studios dat don't do ports and developed for each platform individually..eg infinity ward (cod4, mw2) and valve (portal2).. where was the 360 advantage?

as for GT5... take win :?

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 2:27 pm

Sony was at fault for milking the ps2 for too damn long... caught with their pants down by the development of 360....microsoft being greedy as usual drop their hard ware too early for market shares gain.. with cheap assed prices...$250 us for a console really? (welcome rrod). Sony tried again milking their fans with in retrospect the ineffective "it only does everything" slogan... with three times the price of xbox's cheapest line up.. with no franchise games to boot, and a whole long string of blunders, i swear only japanese culture would tolerate. So for me from now on who ever come best win...If it weren't for the blue ray format... the sony ps3 would make no sense.

No wonder psn free :cry: I want my psn baaaaaaaack!!!!!!!!!!

pioneer wrote:well you get away cuz ur negro...do ya'll pay for anything? :|

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 2:55 pm

ya'll do know that blueray disc hold a capacity of 25gb whereas a dvd is just 4gb and a dual layer is 8gb right????

what that means??? it prepared itself for the future of gaming...

only real thing 360 has over ps3 is the more ergonomic controller...HALO get rel boring after the 2nd one IMHO

multi platformers such as back ops i do admit looks better on 360 but it doesnt move as fast though...feels slower somehow...some racing games on 360 back ground loads up later than it does on the ps3...the ps3 version u can see further down the street...same game on ps3 u see up to a certain distance..beyond that distance hasnt been loaded yet.. :lol:

console itself feels flimsy i fine...it squeeks alot...and is louder too... :?

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 3:20 pm

In this world great business planning and marketing wins...microsoft catered for everyone..from a price point, casual, genres etc. They got madcats, astro and other gaming industry consultants, developers and publishers (Activision) in their pockets or by the balls (Bungie). It is not by accident that Live is better than PSN, or their controllers is better suited for fat geeks/gamers. Luckily sony patented plenty sheit from cd's to Blu ray to the D pad on their controller. Cell didnt live up to its hype...not really.... Santa Monica claimed they maxed it and what the PS3 can do Naughty Dog said they didnt...arguably these games are visually stunning but no multiplatform would ever look that good on a ps3...So overall XBOX sad to say it even with RROD...may prove to be a better value...If you could afford to buy blue ray discs then chances are that you have a dedicated hometheatre system already..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 3:54 pm

ok so I bought a PS3 from Raptor

Now the first game I wanna get is Super Street Fighter 2 HD remix and then Dead nation.
How will I go about buying these games now?

Do you have to put your credit on PSN? cause I her that not so secure.

Ah just need to get one of them 25" Monitors from fizz now with HDMI.

Anyone knows if PS3 does upscale all 720p games straight to 1080p? cause LCD tends to look best at its native resolution and crappy on anything lower. Even if its a little bit lower.

I hoping PSN comes back up soon and this problem does not occur again. Spending $50 US a year for xbox live to me don't make sense jed. I accustom to it being free on PC all these years that I doh really wanna pay for that. So I took the PS3.

I also read the PSN uses dedicated servers so it lags much less while xbl uses peer to peer which causes it to lag more with players who are to far.

These are the 2 biggest reason i took the PS3. And well dead nation.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 3:55 pm

The nex gen gaming platform should have
standard:
built in 5.1 surround sound decoder...
SSD 1 TB with expansion ports
Expandable memory
I/O Thunderbolt, USB 3.0
Cross networking compatibility

optional:
wireless card (need i say why?)

No:
Hard drive
optical drive b/s

what yall looking for in the nex console?

Postby honda hoe » May 4th, 2011, 4:00 pm

Effective Designs, add me when psn back up

looking for a coop partner to play dead nation

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 4:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok so I bought a PS3 from Raptor

Now the first game I wanna get is Super Street Fighter 2 HD remix and then Dead nation.
How will I go about buying these games now?

Do you have to put your credit on PSN? cause I her that not so secure.

Ah just need to get one of them 25" Monitors from fizz now with HDMI.

Anyone knows if PS3 does upscale all 720p games straight to 1080p? cause LCD tends to look best at its native resolution and crappy on anything lower. Even if its a little bit lower.

I hoping PSN comes back up soon and this problem does not occur again. Spending $50 US a year for xbox live to me don't make sense jed. I accustom to it being free on PC all these years that I doh really wanna pay for that. So I took the PS3.

I also read the PSN uses dedicated servers so it lags much less while xbl uses peer to peer which causes it to lag more with players who are to far.

These are the 2 biggest reason i took the PS3. And well dead nation.

Okay you got some wrong info....
every console game relies on the servers of its publishers... and they are the biggest factor in determining if it's dedicated or not...eg Gears of war 3 (XBOX)has dedicated servers. Activision loathes the idea of dedicated servers so then it uses P2P connection and one man does host; everyone playing off his connection while the sever tries its best to synch...which doesn't happen hence lag. Remember so in COD 4 if the host quit, game done (xbox and ps3). The network connecting gamers (LIVE,PSN) and the hosting of games (P2P, Dedicated Servers) are distinct.

Make sure the monitor is 16:9, and you can go into the ps3 video output setting and set it to output at different resolutions, it will handle the necessary upscaling pretty well. Although i let the ps3 automatically choose so there is less work for the monitor to do.

In future purchases on the reincarnated psn use prepaid psn cards...i think Raptor could hook u up... anyways you eh go be able to use dat anytime soon

welcome to our current nightmare :evilbat: