.:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

PapaC

Re: .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Postby PapaC » September 9th, 2013, 1:22 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
PapaC wrote:Got a Lumia 520 free from digicel.

Somebody give me a lil website with how-to's for these Windows Mobile please. Lost trying my way around the phone. Thanks.
Oh and how to check which version of the OS I have?

your welcome

http://www.windowsphonebook.com/

Thanks man

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 12th, 2013, 10:28 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Came from IOS and android (s4 and iPhone 5). Just wanted to give the windows phone is a try.....................

Thanks for this review... I was about to ask opinions .. Im coming from iOS.
My only conflict now is
920 vs 1020

silver

Postby silver » November 12th, 2013, 10:35 am

Rod...go for the 925 or 928..it doesn't do the wireless charging but its slimmer, lighter and faster.
the 1020/1025 camera is ridic...41MP is overkill and adds a bit of bulk on the back...but if you need to take pictures in 3D go ahead :lol:

Postby desifemlove » November 12th, 2013, 10:37 am

won't get far in trini until the two networks sell good quality Win OS phones.

They don't even sell HTC or Moto high end, Samsung ent the only Android maker! lol.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 12th, 2013, 10:50 am

silver wrote:Rod...go for the 925 or 928..it doesn't do the wireless charging but its slimmer, lighter and faster.
the 1020/1025 camera is ridic...41MP is overkill and adds a bit of bulk on the back...but if you need to take pictures in 3D go ahead :lol:

haha yeah I wasnt completely sold on the 1020 .. I would have bought it hands down if the camera unit didnt stick out of the back so badly ...but that now throws off the balance and handling of the phone

925/28 hard to comeby no?
I'm getting a 920 right now for $2900 brand new...which is a big selling point to me

desifemlove wrote:won't get far in trini until the two networks sell good quality Win OS phones.
They don't even sell HTC or Moto high end, Samsung ent the only Android maker! lol.

probably true but doesnt digicel sell midrange windows phones (and from what I read, midrange windows phones are pretty damn good)?
personally I prefer to buy my phone outside of a carrier though.
Last edited by rodfarva on November 12th, 2013, 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 12th, 2013, 10:50 am

^
the 520 and 620 are consistently selling out on digi...

trini's like cheap sheit too much

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 12th, 2013, 10:53 am

520s and 620s are not good?

silver

Postby silver » November 12th, 2013, 11:19 am

got my 925 from amazon unlocked..price was decent.
bmobile refuses to sell a proper Win8 phone so unless u goin Digicel u hadda bring it in yourself..

personally i find the difference between the 920 and 925/8 is big interms of the form factor. the 920 feels heavier and bulkier, even though the edges are more rounded on the 920 and the 925 edges are a bit sharper and maybe less ergonomic to hold.

Postby mero » November 12th, 2013, 12:54 pm

The 925 is gorgeous. 16gb was the deal breaker for me though.

How much better is the 925's camera than the 920?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 12th, 2013, 1:05 pm

5 and 620's are great lil devices...

i see from my corporate listing that digi isnt carrying the 520 620 or 820 anymore

just 720 now and 920

the 925's camera is a 6 lens as opposed to a 5 lens set up in the 920

as for actual performance.. im not sure.. i think theyre pretty much on par

boxy

Postby boxy » November 13th, 2013, 9:19 am

I have an HTC 8X bnib for $2300 if anyone is interested

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 13th, 2013, 10:55 am

silver,
I bought the 920. Liking it so far. Nokia's build quality is bar none!
Love that all buttons are on one side of the phone, especially because of the sheer size of the handset.
Coming from iOS, I expected a big drop in the app marketplace. So I didnt go in blind, but wow. MS Store is really bare.
I primarily use my phone for Web Browsing, Email, Kindle, Games, IM - In that order

Web Browsing seems pretty good, but I have one complaint. When I pinch to zoom before a page is fully loaded, the browser is not accurate. I end up zoomed into a different part of the page than I wanted. Coming from iOS, I hadnt even anticipated or thought about this, which is a small annoyance. Not a deal breaker.

Email is great. All of my inboxes merged well, no complaints at all. I prefer the Email client on WP8 over iOS

Kindle is Kindle.

Games are limited. Not Great, but there are enough to hold my casual gaming interests at bay. We'll see how it goes.

IM - Whatsapp works fine, and WP8's Keyboard beats iOS hands down.

On my first night with the phone, I went from 100% Battery straight down to 77% in 2 Hours on standby. After a little research, I learned that WP Live tiles tend to crash and cause a big battery drain. Soft rebooted, and seems to be fixed.

Camera is pure win. especially With Nokia Camera Apps. As are the Maps.

Thats my initial impression of the phone

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 13th, 2013, 11:21 am

Kindle is Kindle.

its not... books u didnt buy dont sync on WP

ensure that u d/l GDR2 and Amber if you dont have them already
then GDR3

if u have to force GDR2 - http://www.wpxbox.com/how-to-force-upda ... er-update/

to get GDR3 - http://www.wpcentral.com/download-previ ... -right-now

u have an awesome phone now man :D

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 13th, 2013, 2:10 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^
the 520 and 620 are consistently selling out on digi...

trini's like cheap sheit too much

New me 2???

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » November 13th, 2013, 2:14 pm

Quick question here ppl mom bought a lumia 920 an when plugged into the PC all it's doing is charging. What do I have to do to get it to connect to load her pics. Thanks in advance

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 13th, 2013, 2:40 pm

silver

Postby silver » November 13th, 2013, 3:00 pm

These are the apps on my phone right now:

Whatsapp, Facebook, Skype, One Note, LinkedIn, Netflix, Skydrive, Bing News, Kindle, Cam Scan, compass, flashlight, TnT movie Guide (this is a great Trini App. Props), Bing Translate, YouTubeHD, Lumia Clock, Hidden Camera,

games: Angry birds, Jetpack Joyride, Tetris Blitz, Wordament, AE Fruit Slash, Galaxium, Temple Run , Turbo Racing League,

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 13th, 2013, 3:07 pm

u should get

6tag and 6sec (3rd party instagram and vine apps that are miles better than the official ones)
baconit if ure a reddit fan
bing weather - best weather app IMO
connectivity shortcuts - who has time to go in settings to turn on/off wifi and bluetooth?
flux - best news reader (pulls from feedly so yay!)
tapatalk
teamviewer
wikipedia

various sports apps
camera apps
and all nokia apps

tnt movie guide really is a superb app

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 20th, 2013, 3:37 pm

Waze

and

Instagram

now available in the store

silver

Postby silver » November 20th, 2013, 3:54 pm

$28TT for WAZE?
looking at the screenshot it just seems to be a blog?

Postby mero » November 20th, 2013, 6:22 pm

I just downloaded it for free

silver

Postby silver » November 20th, 2013, 7:13 pm

yeh I couldn't find it in the store. Had to browse to the US store and send the link to my phone.
There is a rouge app pretending to be Waze in the store called Waze social app or something...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 20th, 2013, 7:37 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Quick question here ppl mom bought a lumia 920 an when plugged into the PC all it's doing is charging. What do I have to do to get it to connect to load her pics. Thanks in advance

I think you might need this
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/how-to/wp8/windows-phone-app-for-desktop

I really wanted the 925 (instead of 920) because of the sleeker look/lighter weight, but the 16GB + higher price made me go with the 920. But I find the battery drains real fast too when in use.

mero wrote:How much better is the 925's camera than the 920?
lollybob is right about the 6 vs 5 lens elements, but see some actual pics for better comparison.

http://www.wpcentral.com/nokia-camera-showdown-lumia%20920-925-1020

Nobody eh pumpin with a 2520, 1520 or 1320 yet :?:

Postby mero » November 20th, 2013, 7:37 pm

Download wpcentral app, best app for news and direct download

Postby mero » November 20th, 2013, 7:52 pm

The 1320 is a lower level phone although its got a huge screen.

Saw the 1520 is getting some really nice reviews. Studying if to sell my 920 to try n get one.

6 inch screen still huge as hell though..

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 20th, 2013, 9:23 pm

The Lumia 929 looks like the real windows phone to get. No 41mp camera like the 1020, but it still has a 20mp shooter (so no added bulk at the back) and a 5" screen.

And the best part is it comes with the Snapdragon 800 quad-core vs the older dual-core of the 1020 and 925.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 21st, 2013, 12:22 am

Waze and Instagram (beta) were released for WP today folks. We're getting there :)

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » December 26th, 2013, 8:40 pm

Yea people alya know if digicel lumia 920 are unlocked and where can I find a lumia 920 brand new for a great price

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 31st, 2013, 2:12 pm

Theyre not unlocked...

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 1st, 2014, 10:49 am

I am and will continue to be an avid Android user, however I acquired a used Lumia 820 because I am a phone ho and was very curious to try this platform now after watching it grow from its inception. Here are my impressions so far...

I rely on google services for cloud document and note taking. The WP options for those are understandably, significantly crappier (Google Keep and Drive). I will explore the native services and see how they compare. Other than that (so far) its ok. Youtube HD is so far almost as good as the real big boy youtube on android. Its only been a few hours so I havent gotten chance to check out all the apps.

Ok I explored Skydrive. While its OK, the Google Drive/Keep combo is so much better. Still, it is workable. I've found third party drive and keep apps for the WP so I can try both MS and Google offerings over time and see which I prefer based on prolonged use.

I still stand by my Android > all opinion. The level of customization, functionality and flexibility just cannot be beat. I will never give up meh Android entirely. BUT i'll say this. MS has a decent platform here which has a solid chance to be the number 2 player if they continue the way they are. After using Android exclusively for the last three years, WP is a nice new experience that I am liking so far.

It could be that the novelty is still there and it will wear off in a few days but so far, not too bad.

PS: I'm developer unlocked and some new updates are downloading as we speak. Lets see what GDR3 has to offer. Also, I am using the WP as my primary device for at least a week or so in various usage scenarios (work and personal life) to see how it compares to Android.