NISSCORT

Bezman

Re: turbo escort

Postby Bezman » December 9th, 2010, 2:25 pm

coming together nice speed, dont study them i have ran many CA's without intercooler or blow off's for months with no effects, just a lil higher intake temps, kee p hte boost at 7-9lbs and you on like boil corn.

once you get the intercooler, turn it up to about 11-13 and you should hit boost cut by then, and you next mods will need to be SR20 turbo, some 440cc injectors, a emanage blue, 300zx air flow meter and a clutch (brakes, suspension, seat and harness :lol: )

that should be enough for about 240-275whp and would scare the crap out of you in that mk2 :lol:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 9th, 2010, 3:40 pm

^The CA jedi has spoken.

I agree with the blow off valve. I used to remove my BOV when using my car as a daily driver. I believe he is running a larger turbo though, so i won't chance running without an intercooler. Once you put the intercooler in place, get a walbro and a good fuel pressure regulator and dump some fuel and some more boost and you will be more than satisfied.

speed

Postby speed » December 9th, 2010, 8:28 pm

it hav big injectors already so i will do the others mods an tanks fuh de advice

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 9th, 2010, 11:35 pm

well speed if you have the injectors and a bigger turbo, make sure you have a high pressure 255lph fuel pump and a fuel pressure regulator, get some dyno time and get your AFR on point and the car tuned well and running clean, otherwise it will run like sheit. Also hook up the butterfly flaps in the intake manifold to a boost/vacuum source. it really helps with low end torque.

CA's are very strong, but really run like crap when not tuned well

Postby MG Man » December 10th, 2010, 12:10 am

so speed, what u put on the car for cornering and stopping?

speed

Postby speed » December 10th, 2010, 8:10 am

dese dayz i workin on de suspension

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » December 10th, 2010, 8:45 am

^ what u doing to it? ah hear it have ah man with ah black bluebird with a single cam rb that want to run yuh! rofl :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 10th, 2010, 9:20 am

speed wrote:dese dayz i workin on de suspension

details?

speed

Postby speed » December 11th, 2010, 8:04 am

rite nw de man kina eatin up he self

i mite use s13 suspension

Postby MG Man » December 11th, 2010, 6:44 pm

speed wrote:rite nw de man kina eatin up he self

sounds good!
u graftin the whole rear IRS setup onto the escort chassis?

speed

Postby speed » December 11th, 2010, 9:26 pm

nah de s13 diff to wide i usin a box lancer diff it workin nice jus need to build sum traction bars gettin sum wheel hop

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 11th, 2010, 10:46 pm

A box lancer diff able to take all that torque? Did a project with one a few years ago but the engine wasn't as torquey as a CA18DET

Postby MG Man » December 12th, 2010, 1:29 am

speed wrote:rite nw de man kina eatin up he self

speed wrote:nah de s13 diff to wide i usin a box lancer diff it workin nice jus need to build sum traction bars gettin sum wheel hop

??????????????????????????????

speed

Postby speed » December 12th, 2010, 11:17 am

i using s13 front suspension

Postby MG Man » December 12th, 2010, 8:48 pm

u should use the S13 rear end too.........use the IRS as a template and fabricate shorter links to suit the width of the escort, and heim-joint the whole thing

speed

Postby speed » December 13th, 2010, 12:03 pm

dat soundin lik ah gud plan mite try it

speed

Postby speed » December 13th, 2010, 2:26 pm

car wit box lancer diff

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2010, 3:45 pm

if u gonna stick with that axle you need a multilink setup: upper and lower trailing links, and a panhard rod

nigie

Postby nigie » December 14th, 2010, 10:41 am

MG Man wrote:if u gonna stick with that axle you need a multilink setup: upper and lower trailing links, and a panhard rod

Mr speed .....looks like u r on a budget.....a multilink setup is expensive and is very hard to tune....

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 3:22 pm

nigie wrote:
MG Man wrote:if u gonna stick with that axle you need a multilink setup: upper and lower trailing links, and a panhard rod

Mr speed .....looks like u r on a budget.....a multilink setup is expensive and is very hard to tune....

ORLY??????
the most expensive thing there would be the hiem joints, which would allow for fine tuning the geometry

And a GSR lancer would provide the basic parameters

If Speed can afford the 7k engine and fancy rims, he should damn well be able to upgrade the suspension and brakes to match

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 14th, 2010, 5:45 pm

MG Man wrote:u should use the S13 rear end too.........use the IRS as a template and fabricate shorter links to suit the width of the escort, and heim-joint the whole thing
Not as simple as that. He will also have to shorten and re-spline the S13 half-shafts for the narrower rear track.

gracen wrote:A box lancer diff able to take all that torque? Did a project with one a few years ago but the engine wasn't as torquey as a CA18DET
A box lancer diff able to take all that torque?... Only if it's from a rwd 1800 GSR.
AFAIK that's the diff that was homologated for the 280 bhp "works" Group 4 Lancer 2000 Turbo.

The smaller Lancer 1400 rear axle will handle a 1600 GSR or a N/A G63B easily. Not sure about higher torque output.

My $0.02¢

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 7:31 pm

resplining the half shafts is not impossible..........it's fairly commonplace with engine swaps
I just have an issue with all these fast-engined clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking, not to mention chassis rigidity to handle the power...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 14th, 2010, 8:07 pm

MG Man wrote:resplining the half shafts is not impossible..........it's fairly commonplace with engine swaps
I just have an issue with all these fast-engined clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking, not to mention[b] chassis rigidity to handle the power...[/b]

I agree with you there

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 8:15 pm

Speed's escort reminds me of one I had..PAD plate...bough tit as a donor car for a Super7 project.......looked strong until we lifted it with a forklift and it bent like a banana, windshield popped out, and it broke in half

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 14th, 2010, 8:43 pm

lol i had one about 15-20 ago

I installed a 1.8 engine from the foreign bluebird with a 280c auto tranny and i added a booster from the ke70 corolla (i think, it was so long ago lol) the body of the car was in tip top shape no rust spots no dents. It was a really nice car :D

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 14th, 2010, 9:31 pm

MG Man wrote:I just have an issue with all these fast-engined clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking, not to mention chassis rigidity to handle the power...
^ ^ ^ I have even more reservations about using locally fabricated suspension arms.

I had the same issues with a future Lancer 1800 GSR project with I.R.S...
Available alternatives are the I.R.S. from '96 4wd 1800 GSR... or from '85 Galant Turbo (identical to the Image Starion.)

Comparative dimensions made my decision easier...
Sanctifier wrote: ...................... Lancer Turbo ..... Galant Turbo ..... 4wd 1800 GSR

Wheelbase ....... 2,440 / 96.1 ....... 2,530 / 99.6 ....... 2,500 / 98.4

Track - Front .... 1,365 / 53.8 ....... 1,375 / 54.1 ....... 1,450 / 57.1

Track - Rear ..... 1,355 / 53.4 ....... 1,385 / 54.5 ....... 1,460 / 57.5

'96 GSR's 4" wider rear track will need fabricated suspension arms... cut 1/2-shafts... etc.
No brainer! I'll use the Galant Turbo's I.R.S. No suspension mods... less fabrication (mainly drive-shaft)... little body mods.

IMHO if going I.R.S. try for almost identical dimensions to reduce machining & fabrication and improve safety & reliability.

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 10:01 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ I have even more reservations about using locally fabricated suspension arms. .

next time u at dex, have a look at the ones on the Locost7 built by Kennicon

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 14th, 2010, 10:38 pm

^ ^ ^ To use your words, how many "clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking" do you think will hire Kennicon?

moti

Postby moti » December 15th, 2010, 9:27 am

thats why i call these kinda cars, bamboo speed.

simply put a fast engine in an old car and thats it.
no amount of attention paid to the front of the car where the engine sits, that chassis in front there (the little that there is) will need re-working as i'm pretty sure there is rust build up or even holes that you wont see until you scrap out the entire front and strip out all the paint. (giving the age of the car)

this is just another case of "me want a fast car that go sneeze"

when i saw this picture alone i knew this was not really a project, but a death trap.
i'll stand by my choice of words as from the time a CA18 was installed without any kind of work being done to the body, i knew it was down hill from there.

speed escort engine bay - ca18det.jpg

engine bay is screaming for some attention.
what i would suggest speed is that you remove the engine now that everything was done to have it working and start restoring the front of that escort.
this will give you enough time to work on proper suspension and brakes.

heck, with that CA18DET you have there, you will need some huge brakes in front (slivia or something) and a bigger master cylinder/booster combo to push the bigger pistons on the calipers you need to install.
and with that said,
with bigger brakes in front, you will need to rework the cradles, shock/spring control arms/stabilizer bars ETC as there are NO direct bolt on available in Trinidad for your car to upgrade the front braking system to keep your current suspension like original.

happy tuning and merry Christmas.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 15th, 2010, 9:27 am

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ To use your words, how many "clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking" do you think will hire Kennicon?

Like i said.... that type of suspension is mucho expensive and very very did i say VERY hard to tune..so unless u have $$$ like mr mg u can start considering such..in the mean time sad to say its mostly "clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking" or as i would suggest save a smaller pile...and consider a cheaper alternative that type of exotic suspension setup..most likely speed just want a car to mark up d road with sneezing anyway.