Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » April 20th, 2012, 7:04 pm

New Z77 tech, very interesting

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 20th, 2012, 7:19 pm

^^Nuh THAT new. I remember using a RamDisk software back in dial up days :lol:

Dey just improve on the GUI and the capacity of ram utilized.

xaira

Postby xaira » April 20th, 2012, 10:37 pm

+1, ram disks only recently become practical because of 8gig dimms and they will continue to play a bigger role as density increases, but they out long time

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 21st, 2012, 4:15 pm

OUR BF3 Server :)

todd61

Postby todd61 » April 21st, 2012, 5:00 pm

Chiney wrote:Image

OUR BF3 Server :)

Our sweet server

altec

what options are there for a laptop that handles games?

Postby altec » April 22nd, 2012, 8:17 am

I need a laptop to move between work and home. What suggestions do you have for a laptop that can comfortably handle first person shooter type games? BTW budget is 10 grand.

R-H-D

Re: what options are there for a laptop that handles games?

Postby R-H-D » April 22nd, 2012, 9:11 am

check this site they have many options for gaming laptops
http://www.xoticpc.com/

Postby ismithx » April 22nd, 2012, 11:41 am

dell xps

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 22nd, 2012, 11:50 am

Toshiba Qosmio, Asus ROG have very good configurations as well.

what options are there for a laptop that handles games?

Postby rfari » April 22nd, 2012, 4:04 pm

HCCA wrote:Toshiba Qosmio

THIS. 18.4" is just the tip of the iceberg

altec

Postby altec » April 22nd, 2012, 5:03 pm

I am looking at these two and wondering if the extra price is worth it for the first?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... _-34214492

http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-Qosmio-X7 ... roduct_top

Postby bushwakka » April 22nd, 2012, 8:06 pm

falcon northwest?

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 22nd, 2012, 8:31 pm

asus zenbook

scratch that no mention of a gpu in its specs so it has the igpu only

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 23rd, 2012, 8:16 am

HCCA wrote:^^Nuh THAT new. I remember using a RamDisk software back in dial up days :lol:

Dey just improve on the GUI and the capacity of ram utilized.

xaira wrote: ram disks only recently become practical because of 8gig dimms and they will continue to play a bigger role as density increases, but they out long time

Ahh I see, need to dust off the ole A+ book & start back reading den :lol:

altec

Postby altec » April 24th, 2012, 7:30 am

Oh gyad oh!! I might as well wait for sandy bridge prices to fall and then buy a laptop.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 24th, 2012, 7:48 am

altec wrote:Oh gyad oh!! I might as well wait for sandy bridge prices to fall and then buy a laptop.

Actually it woulda be best to wait for Ivy Bridge type laptops to come out.

You could check amazon and newegg to see the new releases.

Postby ismithx » April 24th, 2012, 11:01 am

not sure if belongs in here or wtf vids....

Elyon

Postby Elyon » April 24th, 2012, 11:45 am

^^rofl

i didn't notice until the end that they were fighting a green guy, are they hinting at something?

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » April 24th, 2012, 11:47 am

ismithx wrote:not sure if belongs in here or wtf vids....

am....................................... dunno where that really belongs at all.

xaira

Postby xaira » April 24th, 2012, 11:56 am

intelector: blue

nvicious: green

and you couldnt tell they were hinting at something?

Elyon

Postby Elyon » April 24th, 2012, 12:12 pm

yeah well i know they used to make green cards a while ago also, still pretty funny stuff.

btw was that kevin spacey in the vid?

xaira

Postby xaira » April 24th, 2012, 1:54 pm

http://articles.cnn.com/2010-03-31/tech ... _s=PM:TECH

good read on internet development in south korea, dated though it may be

Elyon

Postby Elyon » April 24th, 2012, 2:45 pm

read that a while ago, and honestly i'm not surprised south korea treats e-sport like how europe treats football, but that article was in 2010. Ever wonder how much things has changed?

in unrelated news amazon has a radeon 7970 for $460 usd

http://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-Radeon-P ... 95&sr=8-10

what this likely means? gtx 680's going to be stocked either this week or next week.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 24th, 2012, 3:10 pm

Elyon wrote:^^
read that a while ago, and honestly i'm not surprised south korea treats e-sport like how europe treats football, but that article was in 2010. Ever wonder how much things has changed?

in unrelated news amazon has a radeon 7970 for $460 usd

http://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-Radeon-P ... 95&sr=8-10

what this likely means? gtx 680's going to be stocked either this week or next week.

Amazon done listing availability dates as the 25th and 26th april.

The prices atrocious doh, more than $600us.

D only cheap one i find today is this:

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Disp ... 504&sr=8-1

Elyon

Postby Elyon » April 24th, 2012, 3:22 pm

510 not bad, they should all be around that price, but yeah seeing alot of reselling putting it around 600 so, and amazon pricing scheme is crap anyway, I remember when i was looking for ram, amazon had it @ $60 after there 'savings' but even there resellers had it for $45 after shipping, eventually it drops.

Newegg more likely to have the accurate msrp when they get though.

It's all supply and demand in the end though.