T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

aidan

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby aidan » June 19th, 2013, 12:43 pm

drchaos wrote:u forgot the best car out of that line up ... Ford fiesta ST

yumm.love that car soo much. wonder if we getting them here?

acesinghit, nice job on the pics there bro, love those euro hot hatches

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 19th, 2013, 6:55 pm

them europeans know how to make fun cars man...and damn good looking too...and they no longer more expensive than their japanese counterparts...so...but still questions about the reliability in some circles...hence the desire for a 800 k lexus over a 600 k merc or beemer or audi with same or more features and performance...

Postby Gladiator » June 19th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Did anyone go to the Mazda 6 Launch? Would like to see some pics...

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 19th, 2013, 8:23 pm

mazda 6 had a launch today? surprised Stephon wasnt all over this thread the last couple days ranting about it :lol:

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 19th, 2013, 8:31 pm

What's to get excited about a Mazda....tell me a European vehicle, then lets talk

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 19th, 2013, 8:34 pm

yes it was advertised in both yesterdays and todays newspapers. It was a small colour add, seems like Southern Sales wasn't even proud to advertise it hence the public holiday revealing and an early closure at 2pm. Let's see if the CX5 is like 429k I'm guessing another ridiculous price keeping in mind the Camry 2.5 is 399K.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 19th, 2013, 8:51 pm

dogichi wrote:What's to get excited about a Mazda....tell me a European vehicle, then lets talk

With that attitude you gonna miss out on good vehicles.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 19th, 2013, 10:00 pm

acesinghit wrote:yes it was advertised in both yesterdays and todays newspapers. It was a small colour add, seems like Southern Sales wasn't even proud to advertise it hence the public holiday revealing and an early closure at 2pm. Let's see if the CX5 is like 429k I'm guessing another ridiculous price keeping in mind the Camry 2.5 is 399K.

that new mazda 6 is beautiful tho....it will sell but it all depends on the pricing...this is one japanese vehicle i would spend money on....and im not stephon lol....but if the price is 399 k u could forget any large number selling...

Mad Cone

Postby Mad Cone » June 19th, 2013, 10:13 pm

For those hankering for the new Octavia and seriously considering one.

I own a 2006 Octy, the car is great and if priced properly by the dealers the 2013 model can be THE BEST CAR VALUE IN T&T, bar none. All you fellas talking bout cerato, elantra, focus, etc. need to appreciate the roominess of the old Octavia and THEN realise that 2013 model has grown in size. Nothing beats european comfort and quality. When I was shopping in 2006 I went to all dealers and was about to buy the Jetta, value for money and a massive trunk. I was afraid that the Octavia dealer would have priced their vehicles high, after all they're primarily Benz dealers! But when I saw the car, found out that it was basically the jetta in different sheet metal but with a BIGGER hatchback trunk, I was hooked. Yeah the creature comforts weren't as many as the Jetta (no lighted vanity mirrors or ipod connection) but EVERYTHING else was identical, instrument cluster, seats, glove, radio, etc. And it costs $30K less than the jetta... a no brainer.

This is not my love story about the Octavia, It's a warning about the dealer. The support for non-Benz vehicles is atrocious. I ain't talking bout servicing your vehicle, anybody can teach a monkey to change filters, fluids and rotate tires but if something goes wrong with your vehicle that has to be diagnosed, don't expect a practical solution. Here are a few examples:

- ALL 2004-09 VAG vehicles (vw, skoda, audi, bently, etc.) got a faulty a/c compressor that will at some point disintegrate and destroy the system (that's why so many padnas rollin with they windows down). In most countries it was covered out of warranty, but not in T&T. To add insult to injury the dealer selling the parts to you for over $10K. So i buy them myself on-line for $3K and ask them to install, which they did and promptly tell me that I buy faulty parts and if I willing to pay to remove them! I declined, literally went next door to an independent a/c shop, where, at no charge, they make the correct electrical connection and viola... a/c working.

-most 2004-09 VAG vehicles have a faulty driver seat belt warning sensor. The dealer tell me that there is NO other fix but a $2K replacement. On-line you are told that all you have to do is disconnect the sensor with the clip under the seat with no adverse effects. Everybody buckles up before driving, right... no need for a reminder!

- the friggers couldn't identify a BLOWN FUSE, when my wife (who drives the vehicle) dropped a paper clip in the cigarette lighter. They tell her she have to change the whole assembly for $2K

- when she buy bad gas from a station or Wrightson Road, they tell her she need to buy a new throttle body for $9K and that they can't give her the part # to buy it on-line herself, since the policy is that if they sell it, they can't tell you the part #. After the bad gas burn out, no problems.
If anybody reading this need a 2006 VAG throttle body... PM me nah!

- the motor for the air recirculation got stuck open, after a day at the dealer they say nothing wrong although I choking on smoke every time a pass a fire in the closed car. The a/c people next door figure a dotish now, an quote me $6K, since they have to pull down the whole dash. I took it home, removed the glove box, pulled out the motor, disconnected and reconnected it and now it's working like a charm.
The internet is a wonderful place.

They lazy and assume everybody have Benz wallet to replace rather than properly diagnose and repair. I know that my experience may differ from others but I assure you it is so polarising that although I love the vehicle (it has been relatively problem free, only the a/c compressor) I will NEVER buy one from them. Yes, I may be jumping from frying pan into fire with the new car and dealer, but the satisfaction of knowing that I can afford a new vehicle and not giving them my money is priceless!!!

IMAGINE THEY WON'T TELL YOU THE PART #!!!!!!! Yeah I know many other dealers are the same.

So if you don't mind getting lacklustre after sale service... Octavia is it!

My soliloquy is complete.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 19th, 2013, 10:41 pm

^^^ we need more dealer related posts and honest reviews like that online. On another note I don't think other dealers will treat you much better. So far BA has treated me well but I haven't had any major issues with the car that needed fixing. Classic Motors has a similar "policy" of not wanting to give you part numbers. I think it's hit and miss with dealers basically.

By the way if you had a VCDS cable you could have disabled the alarm for the seat belts.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 19th, 2013, 10:58 pm

Mad Cone wrote:For those hankering for the new Octavia and seriously considering one.

I own a 2006 Octy, the car is great and if priced properly by the dealers the 2013 model can be THE BEST CAR VALUE IN T&T, bar none. All you fellas talking bout cerato, elantra, focus, etc. need to appreciate the roominess of the old Octavia and THEN realise that 2013 model has grown in size. Nothing beats european comfort and quality. When I was shopping in 2006 I went to all dealers and was about to buy the Jetta, value for money and a massive trunk. I was afraid that the Octavia dealer would have priced their vehicles high, after all they're primarily Benz dealers! But when I saw the car, found out that it was basically the jetta in different sheet metal but with a BIGGER hatchback trunk, I was hooked. Yeah the creature comforts weren't as many as the Jetta (no lighted vanity mirrors or ipod connection) but EVERYTHING else was identical, instrument cluster, seats, glove, radio, etc. And it costs $30K less than the jetta... a no brainer.

This is not my love story about the Octavia, It's a warning about the dealer. The support for non-Benz vehicles is atrocious. I ain't talking bout servicing your vehicle, anybody can teach a monkey to change filters, fluids and rotate tires but if something goes wrong with your vehicle that has to be diagnosed, don't expect a practical solution. Here are a few examples:

- ALL 2004-09 VAG vehicles (vw, skoda, audi, bently, etc.) got a faulty a/c compressor that will at some point disintegrate and destroy the system (that's why so many padnas rollin with they windows down). In most countries it was covered out of warranty, but not in T&T. To add insult to injury the dealer selling the parts to you for over $10K. So i buy them myself on-line for $3K and ask them to install, which they did and promptly tell me that I buy faulty parts and if I willing to pay to remove them! I declined, literally went next door to an independent a/c shop, where, at no charge, they make the correct electrical connection and viola... a/c working.

-most 2004-09 VAG vehicles have a faulty driver seat belt warning sensor. The dealer tell me that there is NO other fix but a $2K replacement. On-line you are told that all you have to do is disconnect the sensor with the clip under the seat with no adverse effects. Everybody buckles up before driving, right... no need for a reminder!

- the friggers couldn't identify a BLOWN FUSE, when my wife (who drives the vehicle) dropped a paper clip in the cigarette lighter. They tell her she have to change the whole assembly for $2K

- when she buy bad gas from a station or Wrightson Road, they tell her she need to buy a new throttle body for $9K and that they can't give her the part # to buy it on-line herself, since the policy is that if they sell it, they can't tell you the part #. After the bad gas burn out, no problems.
If anybody reading this need a 2006 VAG throttle body... PM me nah!

- the motor for the air recirculation got stuck open, after a day at the dealer they say nothing wrong although I choking on smoke every time a pass a fire in the closed car. The a/c people next door figure a dotish now, an quote me $6K, since they have to pull down the whole dash. I took it home, removed the glove box, pulled out the motor, disconnected and reconnected it and now it's working like a charm.
The internet is a wonderful place.

They lazy and assume everybody have Benz wallet to replace rather than properly diagnose and repair. I know that my experience may differ from others but I assure you it is so polarising that although I love the vehicle (it has been relatively problem free, only the a/c compressor) I will NEVER buy one from them. Yes, I may be jumping from frying pan into fire with the new car and dealer, but the satisfaction of knowing that I can afford a new vehicle and not giving them my money is priceless!!!

IMAGINE THEY WON'T TELL YOU THE PART #!!!!!!! Yeah I know many other dealers are the same.

So if you don't mind getting lacklustre after sale service... Octavia is it!

My soliloquy is complete.

havent had many issues w my 2010 corolla thank goodness (knock on wood) and what maintenance i need to perform i have my mechanic...from what ive seen and heard from new car buyers is that you go by the dealer for your free services and what not but otherwise you avoid them like the plague...once you buy a new car they all seem to think you can pay a pound and a crown for every damn thing...so my 2 cents is you buy the car new ...most vehicles nowadays should give you at least 3 years worry free service barring something nasty happening...and you find a good mechanic for the needfuls, oil, filters etc, and there are always external ppl you can go by for a/c, wheel rotation, turbo maintenance and what not....but these dealers is just that...buy the car from them then run my friend....run... 8-)

aidan

Postby aidan » June 20th, 2013, 1:33 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:^^^ we need more dealer related posts and honest reviews like that online. On another note I don't think other dealers will treat you much better. So far BA has treated me well but I haven't had any major issues with the car that needed fixing. Classic Motors has a similar "policy" of not wanting to give you part numbers. I think it's hit and miss with dealers basically.

By the way if you had a VCDS cable you could have disabled the alarm for the seat belts.

My mom had a New VW polo classic from BA in 2002, their service was terrible for the period the car was on warranty. I really hope it's changed now, cus i have my sights on a new Polo when they bring them later this yr.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 20th, 2013, 1:34 am

aidan wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:^^^ we need more dealer related posts and honest reviews like that online. On another note I don't think other dealers will treat you much better. So far BA has treated me well but I haven't had any major issues with the car that needed fixing. Classic Motors has a similar "policy" of not wanting to give you part numbers. I think it's hit and miss with dealers basically.

My mom had a New VW polo classic from BA in 2002, their service was terrible for the period the car was on warranty. I really hope it's changed now, cus i have my sights on a new Polo when they bring them later this yr.

You sure they bringing in Polos this year?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 20th, 2013, 5:31 am

If the Mazda 6 is $399K, might as well spend your money on a euro. I won't spend that money on a Mazda.....sorry!!!

neexis

Postby neexis » June 20th, 2013, 7:22 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
dogichi wrote:What's to get excited about a Mazda....tell me a European vehicle, then lets talk

Like what? (Considering your experience so far with your Euro)

neexis

Postby neexis » June 20th, 2013, 7:26 am

dogichi wrote:If the Mazda 6 is $399K, might as well spend your money on a euro. I won't spend that money on a Mazda.....sorry!!!

Exactly the reason I didn't go with a Camry... too expensive considering what you getting for your money. And the insurance for that.... jeez

wlk

Postby wlk » June 20th, 2013, 7:28 am

Fellas, ever look at those american car commercials. For brand spanking new vehicles, fully loaded, they paying a third of the price we pay,. Why ours have to be so expensive. We need to start getting our vehicles from the States, and let them open dealerships here. With the payments I am making here, If I were living in the USA, I could of being driving a Bmw SUV, instead of a watered down KIA sorento

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 20th, 2013, 7:51 am

^^your rant got milk out in here already. Your point like those before continues to be duly noted however before we engage in yet another similar discussion please search on the previous findings/conclusion to this. The summary is, there are many things to consider before we simply convert USD prices into TTD. Besides local taxes/fees, we have to consider the importing logistics and which factory the vehicle came from etc. Our showroom prices are a bit higher than the equivalent American prices but it goes down hill from there when we start to include Duty, MVT, VAT, dealer markup etc etc.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 20th, 2013, 7:58 am

neexis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Like what? (Considering your experience so far with your Euro)

I don't know for sure but that's the same type of thinking people were spewing to me about euros. I wasn't contemplating a jetta as I was just looking for Japanese vehicles cuz the general "consensus" is euros not reliable and super expensive.

The Mazda 6 not even out yet. Man eh check out what features in it before opening his mouth and skyactive is not something to just ignore if fuel economy is on your list.

Kia right now is Korean and has more features than some euros in the respective price bracket.

Basically I saying don't discard any vehicle simply cuz of the region it from.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 20th, 2013, 8:03 am

Previous Mazda 6 was around what, $300k? Y'all seriously really predicting a $100k increase? To me that like saying you won't buy a jetta at $400k. Duh but it won't be at that price just so. Yeah?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 20th, 2013, 8:04 am

2013 Mazda 6 2.0 SKYACTIV

6AT; 6 airbags; fabric interior; fog lights; fully powered; parking sensors; touch screen deck; steering controls; all-wheel discs with typical electronic aids
$315,000. Vat Inclusive

<Let the laughter begin>

I'll start first: :lol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 20th, 2013, 8:31 am

acesinghit wrote:2013 Mazda 6 2.0 SKYACTIV

6AT; 6 airbags; fabric interior; fog lights; fully powered; parking sensors; touch screen deck; steering controls; all-wheel discs with typical electronic aids
$315,000. Vat Inclusive

<Let the laughter begin>

I'll start first: :lol:

I don't get the joke :(

Postby turbosingh » June 20th, 2013, 8:35 am

What price the 2009 Teanna going for new an FU?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 20th, 2013, 8:52 am

and here we thought SS would price it close to the cx5 but in my defence, I thought we were getting the 2.5l It's another over-priced mazda anyhow.

When compared to a Passat 1.8TSI Comfortline and Kia Optima 2.0 you can't say this Mazda gives you more bang for the buck. Case in point, as per findings from Mazda's UK website:

2.0 SKYACTIV 107kW @ 6000rpm; 210Nm @ 4000rpm
when we convert the power we get 143hp

On the New Zealand website, it says 114kW which equates to 153hp.

I must admit though, for an economy oriented motor, I have not seen such torque in a NA 2.0 4-cylinder motor in a while. The only 4 that actually produced more torque was:

BMW N43B20
Honda K20A
Honda F20C
Toyota 3S-GE

For a modern day 2.0 featuring dual over head cams pushing 16 valves, intake and exhaust valve timing plus direct injection, I expected more HP.

Postby cinco » June 20th, 2013, 9:30 am

you dont understand skyactiv do you?
its not a horsepower engine its an economical unit the hp wars are getting out of hand anyway most of the reviewers say the 2.0 is adequate anyway
315 really isnt a horrid price especially from that dealer

alan1991

Postby alan1991 » June 20th, 2013, 10:07 am

anybody checked out the new jeep grand cherokee? what is it like

Postby Dizzy28 » June 20th, 2013, 10:46 am

cinco wrote:you dont understand skyactiv do you?
its not a horsepower engine its an economical unit the hp wars are getting out of hand anyway most of the reviewers say the 2.0 is adequate anyway

Quite surprised its only 315k tbh

Postby noshownogo » June 20th, 2013, 10:57 am

$315k for now, price will creep up most certainly. It's a good starting price I suppose. I too expected near $400k starting price more in line with the 2013 Honda Accord.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 20th, 2013, 11:08 am

cinco wrote:you dont understand skyactiv do you?

Your POV is noted. However, you missed some critical info I included in my post above.

The engine is a typical 2000cc motor with a DOHC 16V head now featuring SVT on the intake and exhaust. With a higher compression ratio and a more efficient air/fuel mixture in the combustion chamber, I expect as in some other auto-makers an increase in HP.

The inclusion of DI alone increased HP on many other current production engines why not the Mazda? Of course I know this is an economy oriented motor but in typical Mazda style, the HP rating is not enough! Kia and Hyundai's equivalent non GDI motor ie. the MPI motor in the Optima produces at least 162hp.

But maybe you're right after all, I don't understand Skyactiv at all. Maybe with Mazda when you include more efficient technologies into an engine it reduces HP and bumps up torque.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 20th, 2013, 11:16 am