PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » March 24th, 2012, 8:58 pm

mickey17 wrote:wasnt that always the price??? why u need 16gb a ram??

Ask everyone who buy the 16gb corsair vengeance kit that :lol:

4GB is still plenty nuff for gaming.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 24th, 2012, 10:18 pm

i does have a 8gb all de time... i actually buying the vengence 8gb...lol

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 25th, 2012, 1:16 am

well i am running battlefield 3 with all settings on ultra and AA right up..

in game with a map that has 32-64 players the game uses 3.5gb of physical memory.. plus i have team speaker programs and other sheit that i have to keep running in the background. more and more ram is becoming a think to have in high numbers. then i deal with clod computing as well. that alone would require over 16gb of ram.

that is why when i buy this board next month it gonna have 16x2 banks of mem.
http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-SABERTOOTH-X ... 519&sr=8-1

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » March 25th, 2012, 1:29 am

@Chiney, nice mobo,don't like the colour though...

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 25th, 2012, 1:29 am

Chiney wrote:well i am running battlefield 3 with all settings on ultra and AA right up..

in game with a map that has 32-64 players the game uses 3.5gb of physical memory.. plus i have team speaker programs and other sheit that i have to keep running in the background. more and more ram is becoming a think to have in high numbers. then i deal with clod computing as well. that alone would require over 16gb of ram.

that is why when i buy this board next month it gonna have 16x2 banks of mem.
http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-SABERTOOTH-X ... 519&sr=8-1

u crazy!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 25th, 2012, 1:32 am

not about colour, that board WIN in so many ways. but yeah it fugly LOL

mikey dread

remember this too

when using an SSD.. physical ram is important. with that amount of physical ram, one can turn of indexing and paging to free up ALOTTTT of space on said SSD.. preventing you from buying a bigger ssd.

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » March 25th, 2012, 1:41 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 25th, 2012, 1:55 am

that is my 2nd choice

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 25th, 2012, 7:08 am

chiney chose well the sabertooth boards are nice i have an x58 sabertooth,
i would have gotten the x79 one if i made the move to lga 2011,
chiney i like your style :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 25th, 2012, 10:20 am

Thanks B. Good thing no cheap.

Did some reading on the 2 different SBE 6 cores. The extreme is a TOTAL waste of cash because in MANY benches it is only less than 2 FPS behind the regular 2011 6 core.

xaira

Postby xaira » March 25th, 2012, 3:29 pm

sabertooths are made for max stability under all conditions, when last you see a fan on a vrm?

for z77 they just slap a heatspreader on the entire board
http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/ ... z77-13.jpg

and most even let the fans run after the board power is lost to cool down the components before shutting down

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 25th, 2012, 5:35 pm

z77 is a waste of freaking time. Only quads...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 26th, 2012, 7:29 pm

HCCA how did you configure your 3D monitor to run games in 3D?
Did you just use the 2D-->3D conversion feature or is there more to it?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 26th, 2012, 9:05 pm

fouljuice wrote:HCCA how did you configure your 3D monitor to run games in 3D?
Did you just use the 2D-->3D conversion feature or is there more to it?

All i did is download the latest version of the tri def software, installed it.

Went to the forums and got additional profiles for newer games.

Launched the tri def ignition software, scanned for installed games and launched the game through there. Assigned the new profiles manually to some of the games as well.

Playing through batman arkham city right now, breathtaking effects. :shock:

Watched FInal Destination 5 in 3d and a Scorpions 3d concert as well, love it! (well except FD5, that movie was poop :lol: ). Used the tri def media player for those though.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 27th, 2012, 9:41 pm

I saw my lg fpr tv on the list of supported tvs on the nvidia site so I was trying to use the nvidia 3dvision setup wizard. The setup worked (even though this is passive 3d - when they said to turn on the glasses I just clicked "next") and the nvidia demo worked fine, but after the setup there was no options or anything for 3d games. (I wasn't sure if to get Nvidia 3Dtv play or Tridef3D or iZ3D)

Anyway, I tried the tridef 3D and it looked MUCH MUCH better than just using the tv's 2D->3D feature. Arkham City was running at either 1024*768 or 1280*1024 (I think - because I wasn't getting to change the resolution through the tridef setup) and it still looked great.
Same with Mirror's Edge, I actually had to grab my chair because I thought I was moving :shock: :shock: Now I feel like playing back some older games.

but when I changed it to 1920*1080 the framerate took a big drop though. Not too sure if this was the fault of the GPU, or HDMI 1.4 only being able to support 1080p/24Hz. Will check this out some more, later.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 28th, 2012, 12:27 am

^^I playing Arkham City at 1080p right now in 3d mode.

I just adjust the settings in the BMLauncher before running the tridef software.

Playing pretty smooth but i have a 5970 ATi card and i'm using the DVI output instead of the HDMI.

But the 3d mode DOES drop FPS a bit eh, is probably because it has to to produce and additional image to overlap onto the main one to create the 3d effect or something so.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 28th, 2012, 11:50 am

dual 60hz gotta be displayed.

so basically you need to produce double the frame rates for smooth gameplay.

deliah

alterIWNet....K.I.A- SHUT DOWN!-fARE WELL POST

Postby deliah » March 28th, 2012, 6:20 pm

For all that didn't know this was a server for MW2,

web site

Hello community,

As you've definitely heard, alterIWNet received a Cease and Desist notification from Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP on behalf of Activision Publishing Inc, demanding that we stop our operations due to infringing US and International laws.

It is for this reason that we're shutting down our operation indefinitely. Please refrain from taking any actions on our behalf, such as harassing letters, posts, "denial of service" attacks, telling your grandmother or anything else that you may deem wise. There is nothing more we can do here, unless Activision recognise us as a legitimate modding community.

Thank you all for your continued dedication and contributions to alterIWNet and to PC gaming as a whole.

There are two new communities to continue what alterIWNet started:

FourDeltaOne - NTAuthority's new project which will create IW4M1 for legitimate Steam users (such who own the game) and continue development of GBH2.
alterGaming - Direct continuation of the alterIWNet Community forums, directed at discussion of gaming and other topics, along with development of our own FPS game.

Sincerely,
Max

Over and out

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 28th, 2012, 8:07 pm

april 29th for meh ivy bridge... seems so so far.

xaira

Postby xaira » March 28th, 2012, 11:01 pm

just keep thinkin 22nm...22nm...22nm

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » March 28th, 2012, 11:07 pm

xaira

Postby xaira » March 29th, 2012, 12:32 am

^saw that on some site the other day and was researching it, as much as i stand by down blowing coolers, firetruck NO

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » March 29th, 2012, 1:03 am

how about another layer of fans on top the fans...

xaira

Postby xaira » March 29th, 2012, 3:29 am

nah, the air not gettin chu d heatsink properly, it need to be push pull

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 29th, 2012, 10:31 am

how the new bf3 patch??

todd61

Postby todd61 » March 29th, 2012, 12:40 pm

mickey17 wrote:how the new bf3 patch??

Epic win, played about 15 min with chiney this morning

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 29th, 2012, 2:12 pm

todd61 wrote:
mickey17 wrote:how the new bf3 patch??

Epic win, played about 15 min with chiney this morning

cant wait for mine to finish download.. formatted..:(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 29th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Ran for 15mins and it was frigging sweet. Like a whole new game with that new patch.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 29th, 2012, 6:29 pm

game feels good but my ump45 and p90 got weakened alot

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 29th, 2012, 7:54 pm

xaira wrote:just keep thinkin 22nm...22nm...22nm

No 6-core, ivy will never see me...lga 2011 however.....