Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Re: ***2024 murder toll thread***

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 10:27 am

strange that the family ain’t have no pics of all them vehicles of the liming group that killed him

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 10:28 am

everywhere
incl at the top

Habit7 wrote:Days after a 34-year-old father of two was brutally beaten by a group of people at Caura River in El Dorado, he died at his family’s home in Carapichaima on April 9.
https://newsday.co.tt/2024/04/09/man-di ... ura-river/

While laws need to be strengthened and the police need to enforce the law and solve crime more, it all starts with the lawlessness of each citizen.

Such lawlessness is in clear display when I see men complain about be prosecuted for violating traffic laws. In same way the traffic violator sees larceny as more important. The larceny violators sees kidnapping as more important, the kidnappers sees murder as more important and the murders say they don’t steal like corrupt politicians.

Everybody justifies their crimes and it starts off small.

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 11:15 am

Well effective laws and effective enforcement influences that, people wont be lawless if they know that more than likely they'll be held accountable and have a big price to pay, full circle..

Habit7 wrote:
While laws need to be strengthened and the police need to enforce the law and solve crime more, it all starts with the lawlessness of each citizen.

Such lawlessness is in clear display when I see men complain about be prosecuted for violating traffic laws. In same way the traffic violator sees larceny as more important. The larceny violators sees kidnapping as more important, the kidnappers sees murder as more important and the murders say they don’t steal like corrupt politicians.

Everybody justifies their crimes and it starts off small.
Last edited by VII on April 10th, 2024, 11:28 am, edited 4 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 11:16 am

And that basically boils down to my post above this one..

pugboy wrote:allyuh wasting time with a wishlist of crime fighting wants

all that is required is a govt with the political will to fight crime......

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 11:17 am

Despite the critics El Salvador approach seems to be working wonders so far..

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
VII wrote:NO BAIL AND LIFE FOR ILLEGAL GUNS, CAN'T GET THEM FOR MURDER, GET THEM FOR THE FAVORITE TOOL .

It's too much , the whole crime dynamic has changed .

500 murders in the mid 2000s and 500 murders now are not the same. Anyone is fair game now, before it was only a certain type of people were getting killed and that was a positive factor in our psyche, but now women children and decent people are being mowed down like never before.

Lawlessness is the new order in T&T and more and more people are becoming outlaws .

We need people who are willing to take the fight to them and have them on the run with new laws and enforcement . It's very bleek..

If only we had people like

Rodrigo.....machine anything that not conforming!

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 11:19 am

i buy a gyro on ave the other day, the worker from el salvador
man say he family there real happy with the gang crackdown and he looking to go back soon

Postby alfa » April 10th, 2024, 11:27 am

pugboy wrote:i buy a gyro on ave the other day, the worker from el salvador
man say he family there real happy with the gang crackdown and he looking to go back soon

Like is from all over the world we have people here, was even seeing a girl from Kazakhstan giving her story about how she ended up in Tobago. I guess even with everything wrong with this country we must be doing something right or at least better than a lot of other countries to attract the myriad of other nationalities to Trinidad and Tobago

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 11:38 am

Of course in tandem there needs to be a soft approach social outreach component to fill the gaps that produces many offenders also .

And prison programs where offenders must work to convince a board that they're ready to be reintegrated as productive members of society . Offend and you're basically giving us the right to forcefully educate you, and you'll go along if you want to be released, if not we'll hold and treat you ,simple stuff really and would cost a small fraction of the billions allocated to Nat Sec every year with no results year after year for the last 20 years.

I believe this along with other programs and initiatives could create the psyche change we so desperately need..

Postby Habit7 » April 10th, 2024, 12:24 pm

VII wrote:Well effective laws and effective enforcement influences that, people wont be lawless if they know that more than likely they'll be held accountable and have a big price to pay, full circle..

I used to live Jamaica. They have strong traffic enforcement, strong anticrime laws, police & army patrols and power of arrest and SOEs. And ppl are still lawless. Ppl shouldn’t need a big stick to behave.

VII wrote:Despite the critics El Salvador approach seems to be working wonders so far..

El Salvador used to be a dictatorship, they don’t have the constitutional protections we have. A lil 3 mth SOE caused us to be paying out damages even now. Far less for their indefinite SOE and imprisonment of 2% of the ppl.

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2024, 12:41 pm

tell them also about the leahy law hinds, i mean habit, not hinds, habit. tell them about the leahy law

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 12:44 pm

so we should continue with our lax enforcing of many laws(bar speed guns and inspection during daytime work hours) ?
enforcement is the first line of crime fighting anywhere

when you have a police force accustomed to tell you they dont have time to do certain things eg domestics, illegal dumping
the place start wrong already

Habit7 wrote:
VII wrote:Well effective laws and effective enforcement influences that, people wont be lawless if they know that more than likely they'll be held accountable and have a big price to pay, full circle..

I used to live Jamaica. They have strong traffic enforcement, strong anticrime laws, police & army patrols and power of arrest and SOEs. And ppl are still lawless. Ppl shouldn’t need a big stick to behave.

VII wrote:Despite the critics El Salvador approach seems to be working wonders so far..

El Salvador used to be a dictatorship, they don’t have the constitutional protections we have. A lil 3 mth SOE caused us to be paying out damages even now. Far less for their indefinite SOE and imprisonment of 2% of the ppl.

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2024, 12:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:

You have any suggestions for solutions at all?

Postby Habit7 » April 10th, 2024, 12:49 pm

How enforcing laws could have stopped the recent stabbings, beheading and beating to death?

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2024, 12:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:How enforcing laws could have stopped the recent stabbings, beheading and beating to death?

lawlessness is the norm in a lawless society

VII

Re: Are We Serious About Fixing Crime In T&T?

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 1:09 pm

Start by seriously enforcing the smaller offences such as littering, it all about psyche, anything that makes people more responsible will go a long way in fostering a lawful orderly society .

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 1:16 pm

when ppl accustomed to enforcement the population behaves better on a whole
we may not be able to understand that
but ask yuhself why trinis generally obey the law and drive properly when they rent a car in usa

i went switzerland once and made the mistake of standing on the wrong side of an escalator and blocked persons who wanted to walk up
i got good cuss from a few behind me and all the persons were in agreement, here a person trying to point out a wrong is the one who getting cuss

Postby maj. tom » April 10th, 2024, 1:17 pm

Yes the Broken Windows theory was well tested many times especially in NYC in the late 1980s to 1990s and it works. It definitely works.

But the local police and security tops eh get that education memo yet. But when they do some enforcement things, is always "police too wicked it have so much worse going on" from the typical law breakers as it's embedded in their attitude.

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 1:20 pm

Those are the murders we would still have even in a much lower murder rate situation, and the beheading is not a normal thing.. those sorta of mad things happen even in the best societies from time to time.

The biggest problem is the wholesale gun-downs of man woman and child that are taking place, take those away and our murder rate would be on the lower end..

People have to be afraid to be near an illegal gun, having one around must cause bachanal and cause people to disassociate themselves from others for fear of NO BAIL AND LIFE !! (with the possibility of parole, but *life !) .

It's too easy for weak cowards to gun down people, address that..there have always been and will always be stabbings.

Habit7 wrote:How enforcing laws could have stopped the recent stabbings, beheading and beating to death?

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 1:26 pm

yes, that is what made giuliani a hero in ny
before he started losing his mind in politics

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2024, 1:29 pm

VII wrote:Those are the murders we would still have even in a much lower murder rate situation, and the beheading is not a normal thing.. those sorta of mad things happen even in the best societies from time to time.

The biggest problem is the wholesale gun-downs of man woman and child that are taking place, take those away and our murder rate would be on the lower end..

People have to be afraid to be near an illegal gun, having one around must cause bachanal and cause people to disassociate themselves from others for fear of NO BAIL AND LIFE !! (with the possibility of parole, but *life !) .

It's too easy for weak cowards to gun down people, address that..there have always been and will always be stabbings.

As it is now you glad If a few of your bredrin moving with their illegal piece for protection.

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 1:35 pm

Jamaican employees have often told us that driving without permits, insurance, defective overloaded vehicles etc and littering etc is the norm and not an issue nobody really makes it a problem and police openly demand money .

I think Jamaica is a really bad example.. and from observing their reaction relating to flagging and securing protruding items on work vehicles etc and their comments on blown bulbs etc confirmed it for me and is what actually made them tell us about 'inna Jamaica' .

It all seemed so foreign and unnecessary to them . Jamaica and Venezuela etc are lawless on a different level.

Habit7 wrote:

Last edited by VII on April 10th, 2024, 1:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.

VII

Re: Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Postby VII » April 10th, 2024, 1:41 pm

Legal or nothing for me, as it stands even now, I don't want to be around anyone with an ilegal gun, the law must apply to any offender, the only plus for a level headed offender who got caught up is he may be able to convince the board that he's already a productive member of society a bit sooner than a numb brian hot man and thus be released sooner..but it must be no bail and 'life' !

After a long media campaign with the intensity of a political campaign and buy back programs with periods of immunity etc before being enforced..

No one would have an excuse..

Chimera wrote:
VII wrote:Those are the murders we would still have even in a much lower murder rate situation, and the beheading is not a normal thing.. those sorta of mad things happen even in the best societies from time to time.

As it is now you glad If a few of your bredrin moving with their illegal piece for protection.

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2024, 2:33 pm

I would agree with you if the ful process was efficient and without corruption..as it is thousands of people have to turn to illegal firearms to protect themselves and their families

Postby matr1x » April 10th, 2024, 2:35 pm

There is no crime in T&T

-every diplomat from Trinidad

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 10th, 2024, 3:38 pm

The answer to the question, 17 pages later is

NO

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2024, 3:48 pm

What can the citizens do?

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2024, 4:15 pm

vote.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2024, 5:01 pm

if the ful process which supposed to be a highly vetted and tight system is corrupted and even admitted by heinz and rowlee asking about their padnas applications, what does that say for regular things that more easily corrupted or blind eyed?

even mr squeaky clean gg seemed to have no issue with admitting to fast tracking certain applications
yet he was vex when fenwick didn’t pick his son for national football, what does that say about him likewise?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 10th, 2024, 5:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The answer to the question, 17 pages later is

NO

Correct We can mobilize police officers/vehicles to block the highway and about 20 other points in the country simultaneously but we cannot have a officer spend time and investigate or solve a case.

Police service have now become the finance minister revenue collecting agency, because he have no clue how to generate income for the country, except by taking it from citizens.

The police service has become a menace. There must be a better way that the traffic they cause during the Easter weekend.
Families just want to get away and enjoy the beach but instead spent hours in road traffic exercises in multiple locations

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 10th, 2024, 6:15 pm

MaxPower wrote:What can the citizens do?

Make our voices heard.
Imagine these stupid laws getting demerit points because of a blown brake light. A brake light can fail at any time. give them a citation to get it fixed and report to the police station in a specified time.