EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Can someone here tell me if books involving things like software development, books on Algorithm etc will be subjected to the new Vat system? I am of the impression that there will be no vat on these types of books for learning.
But I am hearing on the other side that all these books will be subjected to Vat. If anyone here knows specifically it will be much appreciated. There is also the issue of customs, some of them will look at a book that is titled "Java" and think its a science fiction book based on Star Wars.
"Additionally, certain books will also be subject to VAT, namely literary works, reference books, directories, collections of letters or documents permanently bound in covers, loose-leaf books, manuals or instructions whether complete with their binder or not, school work books and other educational texts in question-and-answer format with spaces for insertion of answers, children’s picture and painting books, exercise books, other paper and paperboard of a kind used for writing, printing or other graphic purposes.
However “workbooks, activity books, exercise books and similar books for educational purposes for use in schools, colleges and other educational institutions” will still be zero-rated."
S_2NR wrote:Customs are clueless people. It will be just like it is now with cellphones. They will tax when and how much they feel like it. Other times you might get away. U mad, stay mad, they don't care. Sad that is all that for books. Switch to ebooks
drchaos wrote:Can someone please explain why we are just giving out money to ex cane farmers? Wasn't the money given by the EU to help the country diversify away from an old system of mono cropping?
With the mentality that we have ... they would just a buy a BMW with that money and then they back to square one...
Would it not be much better to use that money to set up research for local agriculture so all local farmers can benefit or provide extremely low interest agricultural loans to the ex Caroni workers and farmers. The money can also be used to put in infrastructure in the vast amounts of state lands that are not being used then lease large plots for farming.
drchaos wrote:Can someone please explain why we are just giving out money to ex cane farmers? Wasn't the money given by the EU to help the country diversify away from an old system of mono cropping?
With the mentality that we have ... they would just a buy a BMW with that money and then they back to square one...
Would it not be much better to use that money to set up research for local agriculture so all local farmers can benefit or provide extremely low interest agricultural loans to the ex Caroni workers and farmers. The money can also be used to put in infrastructure in the vast amounts of state lands that are not being used then lease large plots for farming.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:S_2NR wrote:Customs are clueless people. It will be just like it is now with cellphones. They will tax when and how much they feel like it. Other times you might get away. U mad, stay mad, they don't care. Sad that is all that for books. Switch to ebooks
Yeah E-Books it is for real yes, what a stupid set of people putting taxes on books. Its nice having a physical copy of a book but at this rate nah to hell with that that sheit yes.
Good thing I anticipated this and got this gloss monitor yes, makes reading a pleasure on the eyes.
drchaos wrote:Urm .. I personally know a co worker who says she is waiting on that money to renovate her house ...
hence my comment ....
and who say you cant get a used BMW for 37K???
sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We lucky the white folk still so nice after what Eric did. They didn't have to pay off their suppliers after cancelling a contract, but they did.
Fleckin black man running this country now and told fellow blackmen that they not getting their money that they DID work for, and to write it off as savings.
We vote for dat.
Habit7 wrote:sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We lucky the white folk still so nice after what Eric did. They didn't have to pay off their suppliers after cancelling a contract, but they did.
Fleckin black man running this country now and told fellow blackmen that they not getting their money that they DID work for, and to write it off as savings.
We vote for dat.
Those cane farms belonged to the "white man" Tate & Lyle. When they originally went bust, the white man was going to fire everybody, pack up bags and head back to England, no VSEP, no land leases. It was the very Eric that saved the livelihoods of those workers by buying up those farms and forming Caroni (1975) Ltd. and gave them work while he developed Pt. Lisas, a true sustainable and profitable industry unlike cane farming.
Seukeran Tambie, the president of the Cane Farmers Association of T&T, (I don't know if you call him a blackman) is saying that the EU money is not for payout and that Dr. Rowley should not pay anyone like what the PP did.
So stop spreading your foolishness.
sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We vote for dat.
EmilioA wrote:drchaos wrote:Can someone please explain why we are just giving out money to ex cane farmers? Wasn't the money given by the EU to help the country diversify away from an old system of mono cropping?
What does get me vex is people with internet access apparently not knowing how to use Google.
Can you buy a BMW for $37,000 ?
The total payment to the cane farmers is 130 million TTD divided by 3,481 cane farmers. Thats works out to $37,345.59 per person. The cane farmers didnt win the lottery.
Now separate from that issue the total EU grant is 75 million Euros. Which is about 523 million TTD. Where the rest of the money going (or went already) I dont know.
K74T wrote:The cools as well.
zoom rader wrote:K74T wrote:The cools as well.
Nah dem does save money and invest
jhonnieblue wrote:zoom rader wrote:K74T wrote:The cools as well.
U mean spend the thief money on alco
Ironically..got new neighbors last two weeks and they haven't stopped liming and playing loud music every single day without fail.
Took the police to them sat and the had the audacity to say they are high in the UNC and those laws dint apply to them
Police made them mellow down tho.
Clearly they spending some well earned cash there on being drunk all the time right.
And to add the house was brought cash 2mil plus
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jhonnieblue wrote:zoom rader wrote:K74T wrote:The cools as well.
Ironically..got new neighbors last two weeks and they haven't stopped liming and playing loud music every single day without fail.
Took the police to them sat and the had the audacity to say they are high in the UNC and those laws dint apply to them
Clearly they spending some well earned cash there on being drunk all the time right.
zoom rader wrote:Habit7 wrote:sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We vote for dat.
Those cane farms belonged to the "white man" Tate & Lyle. When they originally went bust, the white man was going to fire everybody, pack up bags and head back to England, no VSEP, no land leases. It was the very Eric that saved the livelihoods of those workers by buying up those farms and forming Caroni (1975) Ltd. and gave them work while he developed Pt. Lisas, a true sustainable and profitable industry unlike cane farming.
Seukeran Tambie, the president of the Cane Farmers Association of T&T, (I don't know if you call him a blackman) is saying that the EU money is not for payout and that Dr. Rowley should not pay anyone like what the PP did.
Really?
S_2NR wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:zoom rader wrote:K74T wrote:The cools as well.
Gulf view?
Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Habit7 wrote:sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We vote for dat.
Really?
Yes really!
And posting an article from 5 years ago is not relevant when I posted the most recent quote from Seukeran Tambie one week ago on the previous page.
drchaos wrote:I glad the pm not giving them none! Pp tried to buy votes with money for agricultural development and it fail.