Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

bignog

Re: REMEMBER JULY 27th 1990.

Postby bignog » July 27th, 2014, 12:20 pm

Cjruckus wrote:It was about taking a stand to save a country from poor governance. Imagine if he did succeed, and we partnered with the rich muslim states of the middle east.

which planet you from ? them rich muslim state yuh ever see guntas having say in them land?......rite in Trinidad it have big muslim organization south side doh acknowledge blacks as being muslims........hence the reason abu bakr mosque are pink an all sorts of colors except ......green an white .........notice abu soldiers are predominantly of black caste..............ask around an doh take chain up

clone101

Postby clone101 » July 27th, 2014, 12:20 pm

i was sweating in Orange Grove that evening and the guy who lived next to the filed had the Shell Cup Final running on the radio or tv when i 1st hear about the Coup, we continued sweating as normal cause was 5 ah side and 20 men out side still waiting for a sweat .We i go home my mother wanted to kill me lol........

Val

Postby Val » July 27th, 2014, 12:23 pm

I was vex studying if I had to eat crix and cheese whole week.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 27th, 2014, 12:34 pm

It was a few years later when the amnesty was declared invalid by the Privy Council, yet the Jamaat members were never rearrested. Reasons for this are unclear.
PNM ? NAR ?

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2014, 2:07 pm

Rainman wrote:Wasn't there a book published....would like to get my hands on a copy.

Two books actually:

Days of Wrath - The 1990 Coup in Trinidad & Tobago by Raoul Pantin

1990 - The Personal Account Of A Journalist Under Siege by Dennis McComie

McComie's interview about the coup and his book:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby Team Loco » July 27th, 2014, 2:09 pm

bignog wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:It was about taking a stand to save a country from poor governance. Imagine if he did succeed, and we partnered with the rich muslim states of the middle east.

which planet you from ? them rich muslim state yuh ever see guntas having say in them land?......rite in Trinidad it have big muslim organization south side doh acknowledge blacks as being muslims........hence the reason abu bakr mosque are pink an all sorts of colors except ......green an white .........notice abu soldiers are predominantly of black caste..............ask around an doh take chain up

Please direct me to a mosque in south that doesnt accept black muslims

Postby eliteauto » July 27th, 2014, 3:01 pm

matthewmazda wrote:It was a few years later when the amnesty was declared invalid by the Privy Council, yet the Jamaat members were never rearrested. Reasons for this are unclear.
PNM ? NAR ?

did you read the articles posted in the thread? The following is posted on the same page as your question

*$kїđž!™ wrote:When the local courts upheld the amnesty Bakr’s men had wrested from the government under the gun in the Red House in 1990, the government had appealed to the Privy Council, which ruled the amnesty “invalid” because, it said, the insurgents had continued to make new demands after agreeing to the amnesty.
But the Privy Council also ruled since four years had passed it would not be in keeping with “due process” to have the insurgents all rounded up and tried for their crimes. So they would remain free, as they have to this day.

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2014, 3:29 pm

I was 5 at the time. Only thing i remembered was my father picking up a set of chains and tying them around all the gates in the house. My father was sleeping sound and my mom wake him up and say "Abu bakr take over d country". As the saying goes, meh father "get up schupid" lol.

I remember seeing abu bakr on d old 20 inch sharp tv but not sure if it was the exact moment when he "took ova" or it was a recording some time after.

What was always suspect growing up in the 90s was the lack of footage of the coup. I remember TV6 running a special on the anniversary somewhere in the mid-late 90s and it had some good footage there. The tv6 special showed one where Major General Ralph Brown was issuing statements to the public but the footage had a lot of static because TTT started to operate at camp ogden temporarily during the coup on the Channel 13 frequency, since the army knocked out the transmitter on cumberland hill to take abu bakr off air. It's only when YouTube came into existence then i started to see more footage of the coup.

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2014, 3:39 pm

Here is a good documentary that was shown in the UK after the coup. It gives you an idea of the thoughts and feelings back then.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby Team Loco » July 27th, 2014, 6:11 pm

I was 16 at the time .we were one hr drive from home. My father had a brand new rental march. He made that thing move to reach home.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » July 27th, 2014, 6:55 pm

I remembered looking to the west on Saturday morning and saw massive clouds of black smoke arising from
Port of Spain.

I recalled feeling very sad for my country. I did not care who was in Government at that point. I just
wanted to take up arms to fight against those terrorists/countrymen.

We entered POS sometime on Monday and ordered to avoid the Red House area and Woodford Square. I remembered the fires and debris everywhere that some parts resembled a real battle ground aftermath. The only thing missing was dead bodies.

From time to time, I would hear sporadic gunfire echoing from the city's centre. It sounded louder in the late evening and night. Even though I was accustomed to firearms, I was very jumpy at that time.

I sincerely hope that this country never experience this event ever again :(

Postby Redman » July 27th, 2014, 6:59 pm

Watching the video,people blame economic policies of the NAR govt in general.

These draconian policies that the NAR put in place pushed the country to the edge..

if they were that bad-why havent the succeeding govts- PNM/UNC repealed these laws???

How much of what the NAR did was actually reversed???

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 27th, 2014, 7:13 pm

Redman wrote:. . .These draconian policies that the NAR put in place pushed the country to the edge. . .

Those policies were dictated by the IMF from whom T&T was borrowing money to keep afloat during the recession.

What pushed the country over the edge was when the NAR had proposed to erect a statue of Gene Miles, Johnny O'Halloran's former mistress.

civicman

Postby civicman » July 27th, 2014, 7:43 pm

bignog wrote:

which planet you from ? them rich muslim state yuh ever see guntas having say in them land?......rite in Trinidad it have big muslim organization south side doh acknowledge blacks as being muslims........hence the reason abu bakr mosque are pink an all sorts of colors except ......green an white .........notice abu soldiers are predominantly of black caste..............

1406504564623.jpg

Looks green and white to me with regular red ventilation blocks

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2014, 8:14 pm

We should also remember the local judge who lacked the balls to rule in favour of govt
Only for privy council to revese his decisin but say they could not be held again.

One wonders how things would have been if they did not win the legal battle.

Postby rfari » July 27th, 2014, 9:04 pm

IMO bakr is a necessary evil because of the deep hole we dug ourselves in over the decades

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 27th, 2014, 9:57 pm

No comments...

Hdmivision

Postby Hdmivision » July 27th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Yeah but I wasn't in the country. Smh and the leader of coup still living and making threats!! Only in trinidad!!

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2014, 3:21 am

Here are some pictures:
Corbis-0000257850-012.jpg
Corbis-0000257850-015.jpg
0951493D59.jpg
Corbis-0000257850-009.jpg
238e61cfe11c2a11330f6a706700657b.jpg
238e61cfe11c2a11330f6a706700657b.jpg (17.25 KiB) Viewed 4872 times
arrested.jpg
arrested.jpg (13.77 KiB) Viewed 4872 times
5369d49ee1172a11330f6a706700e2ce.jpg
Corbis-0000257850-010.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2014, 3:28 am

More pics
Corbis-0000257850-017.jpg
Corbis-0000257719-004.jpg
Corbis-0000257719-005.jpg
Corbis-0000257719-005.jpg (76.7 KiB) Viewed 4866 times
Corbis-0000257719-006.jpg
Corbis-0000257850-016.jpg
Corbis-0000257719-016.jpg
Corbis-0000257719-016.jpg (55.87 KiB) Viewed 4866 times
Corbis-0000257747-001.jpg
Corbis-0000257747-001.jpg (75.35 KiB) Viewed 4866 times
Corbis-0000257747-015.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2014, 3:34 am

Even more
inside parliment.png
inside parliment.png (99.7 KiB) Viewed 4863 times
983748Accounts_Office.jpg
584356_4_Alcazar_St_Accounts_Sales.jpg
963781Accounts_2.jpg
2013-02-01-4-2_A_Coup-Pix_(1).jpg
2013-02-01-4-2_A_Coup-Pix_(1).jpg (31.35 KiB) Viewed 4863 times
350064_4_Alcazar_St__Accounts__Sales.jpg
coup9.png
coup9.png (87.93 KiB) Viewed 4863 times
LYINGPOSITION.JPG

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2014, 3:44 am

Destruction
Paper.jpg
Fire.jpg
fire 2.jpg
Jennifer Johnson.png
Jennifer Johnson.png (486.42 KiB) Viewed 4857 times
maxi.jpg
street.jpg
queen street.png
Destruction.jpg

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2014, 9:18 am

wow at pics honourable.....thanks for the share

Postby maj. tom » July 28th, 2014, 9:32 am

wow. TT Regiment wasn't making joke nah. :shock:

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2014, 10:48 am

That would have been about the worst thing possible to happen to Tinidad and Tobago. Can you imagine the mulsim influence that would be felt by T&T? Remember we are extremely multi-cultural and diverse. There is no place for religious bias (or bias of any kind) here. What if that led to sharia law being implemented? What would happen if people of different religious backgrounds stared being discriminated against. What about the Hindus, Christians, Rastas and Atheists?

Religion and state are kept separate for a reason (well many reasons)

Unless you are talking about the rich muslim states that are tolerant of all religions, sexualities and walks of life. Then that would have been pretty good. Are there any such rich muslim states in the middle east?

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2014, 10:57 am

Nice pics there.

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Thanks *$kїđž!™ and DFC. Will upload if I come across any more.

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » July 29th, 2014, 10:07 am

Wow, Some good Photos! Who took those?

nightrider

Postby nightrider » July 29th, 2014, 10:19 am

Pictures truly speaks more than a million words@ The Honourable

Postby DVSTT » July 29th, 2014, 12:13 pm

Wow @ the pics. Didn't realize how serious it was...