Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2012, 5:15 pm

yeah, no takers
I just dump about 30lbs of scrap iron this week too

Postby X_Factor » July 12th, 2012, 12:15 am

saw pricemart has a decent 4 piece porter cable Lithium ion cordless set for 1500.00
impact driver
drill
flashlight
sawzall

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2012, 10:48 pm

LF: Router jig and Glue gun.

recommend me some places guys.

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2012, 10:51 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Wagner are the paint people. Their paint sprayers are made for the thick house paints. Latex and other water based house paints don't work well with compressors and guns unless its a huge tip.

You also have to consider overspray if your house is furnished and you doing interior painting.

What is the price like on this btw?

We have come to the conclusion that this will be used outside the house only :lol:

I have some woodwork to get busy on and will like to do some painting as well.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2012, 8:53 am

Locally? An arm and a leg unfortunately.

Bhags and Peakes has 3-4 year old models at eye blistering prices.

Depending on your needs, they range from $40 up to $140 on Amazon.

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 22nd, 2012, 9:23 am

Not sure if asked before, but anyone know where I can get a ratchet spanner set? Nothing too fancy or expensive, looking for the more popular size for auto work, 10, 12, 14 etc.

Postby X_Factor » July 22nd, 2012, 9:55 am

^ur better off ordering off amazon
the local prices are madness

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 22nd, 2012, 10:07 am

^^ Yeah but what about custom/vat? Plus weight. Might work out to be the same thing.

Postby X_Factor » July 22nd, 2012, 12:03 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Crescent-FRP7-16- ... ion+wrench

should cost u 350 for the most...
check locally and see the crap u getting for the same price or more

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2012, 12:16 pm

nervewrecker wrote:LF: Router jig and Glue gun.

whats the local prices like?

will it make sense to bring them in (and the spray gun too) instead of buying here?

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 22nd, 2012, 12:51 pm

shady23 wrote:Not sure if asked before, but anyone know where I can get a ratchet spanner set? Nothing too fancy or expensive, looking for the more popular size for auto work, 10, 12, 14 etc.

Pricesmart has a set with the popular sizes for around $150..cant remember the brand. It's not the pivot head type like what X_Factor posted though.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2012, 2:00 pm

While you should not be using it for any application that requires a large force on the wrench, consider that one time you'll be between a rock and a hard place and need to exert some force.

The cheaper ones are notorious for stripping or falling apart even on light duty jobs and chances are that it'll be the one that you always use.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 22nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

nervewrecker wrote:LF: Router jig and Glue gun.

whats the local prices like?

will it make sense to bring them in (and the spray gun too) instead of buying here?

Fb me what you From amazon Ill order it for you.

I use a arrow glue gun, cost me $20usd iirc

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2012, 2:38 pm

Not one to endorse cheap tools eh, but been using a 10 dollar store glue gun for years and its still going strong :)

What type of router jig you're looking for? Amazon is still your best bet. Never saw jigs on sale here.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 22nd, 2012, 3:17 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Not one to endorse cheap tools eh, but been using a 10 dollar store glue gun for years and its still going strong :)

What type of router jig you're looking for? Amazon is still your best bet. Never saw jigs on sale here.

x2, my previous one was an old black and Decker I got for the cheaps.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » July 22nd, 2012, 5:31 pm

shady23 wrote:^^ Yeah but what about custom/vat? Plus weight. Might work out to be the same thing.

like x factor said just find a good set on amazon and skybox it in.still cheaper than here.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2012, 5:58 pm

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWP611-Tor ... alt+router

im checking out this but from what I understand you get the tool alone, no accessories.

what bit is a good bit to get if is just some mdf work I doing (small circles to cut, maybe counter sink a speaker in a pair of rings and the thingy to cut the circles). It make sense to buy here or ship the mofos in one time?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2012, 7:09 pm

Those compact routers are nice. The only issue is that most accessories made for full size routers don't work like edge guides, template adaptors etc. That said, if i had to do it again, i'd probably get a compact instead of the full size.

If you go that route, there's more accessories available for the Bosch Colt. The DeWalt is relatively new to the market.

Check a few pages back, Indeforest posted how to make a circle jig.

You want bits like these depending on how you use it and what you use it for (template, jig or freehand)

Flush Trim

Spiral

Last edited by Strugglerzinc on July 22nd, 2012, 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2012, 7:14 pm

nervewrecker wrote:http://www.<a class="inlineAdmedialink" href="#">amazon</a>.com/DEWALT-DWP611-Torque-Variable-Compact/dp/B0048EFUV8/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1342977399&sr=8-3&keywords=dewalt+router

im checking out this but from what I understand you get the tool alone, no accessories.

what bit is a good bit to get if is just some mdf <a class="inlineAdmedialink" href="#">work</a> I doing (small circles to cut, maybe counter sink a speaker in a pair of rings and the thingy to cut the circles). It make sense to buy here or ship the mofos in one time?

Freud up-spiral bit 1/4"

http://www.amazon.com/Freud-75-102-4-In ... router+bit

You would need up-spiral so that the dust doesn't collect in your cutting path

Get the Jasper 200J also

http://www.amazon.com/Jasper-200J-Circl ... _hi_text_b

People who bawl "dai too much work" and "ah normal jigsaw is wukk" jus plain lazy, dotish, ignorant n all out ricers.

You might want a rabbeting set also if you into flush mounting

I use this

http://www.amazon.com/Amana-Tool-49340- ... ng+bit+set

Ship everything.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2012, 8:18 pm

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWP611-Tor ... rds=router

this one I posted above there, the height / depths of the cuts can be adjusted? Or I need something else for that?
I kinda busy here so dont have time to research.

pios, I think I might make a new base and a slider with a ruler attached to do my cuts instead of that jasper. Use bolts and nuts to lock it in place, loosen and slide up or down to get the radii I have in mind.

Postby X_Factor » July 22nd, 2012, 9:43 pm

there are some good deals on tools locallly eh,
u just have to be in the right place at the right time
but my philosophy on tools is dont wait till u need it to buy it

anywhere i go and i see something reasonable, i buy it, even if i have no use for it at the time

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2012, 10:11 pm

nervewrecker wrote:http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWP611-Torque-Variable-Compact/dp/B0048EFUV8/ref=sr_1_6?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1343001928&sr=1-6&keywords=router

this one I posted above there, the height / depths of the cuts can be adjusted? Or I need something else for that?
I kinda busy here so dont have time to research.

DWP611 1.25 HP Variable Speed Compact Router with LEDs
At a Glance:

Dual LEDs and clear sub-base ensure maximum visibility in operation

Variable speed control, soft starting motor

Up to 1.5-inch of depth travel with standard base

Extended 8-slot, 1/4-inch collet maximizes surface contact

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2012, 10:31 pm

so it can adjust then? :oops:

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2012, 10:43 pm

Go for a fixed-based & plunger combo

Plunger makes life VERY easy for cutting circles

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2012, 10:45 pm

I confused, that one is fixed base?

What does the plunger do?

I might wanna countersink a pair of 6.5" next week, the plunger is for that?

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2012, 10:53 pm

This is the one i got...cuz of the weight i ordered it via Raptor

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW618PK-Pl ... alt+router

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2012, 10:56 pm

I was watching that earlier, what the plunger thingy for?

I would have let him bring it but I need it for next week.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2012, 11:33 pm

Ok skoolin time, it's good to cut 3/4" MDF in 3 passes...to save your bit from burning/dulling out.

With a plunge router you can "plunge" in depths of 1/4" increments...so in 3 passes you cut 3/4"...watch the vid to understand...watch all the other parts too. If you tried 3 depths with a fixed based it gonna take very long and it may not be very accurate...

For rabbeting you'd want the fixed based...where you can adjust the cut depth in very small increments.

Postby nervewrecker » July 25th, 2012, 11:47 am

thanks pios, leme know when is your wedding ok, I will dance for it.

I been making soem calls.

bhag have black and decker for $900.00, variable speed, plunger thingy, variable speed, 1200 watt.

SSL have milwaukee for $1500.00, trying to get more info. will update just now.

How long will one of these take to get here via skybox if I buy from amazon btw? then I still need to get a bit to cut with too *grrrrr*

Postby nervewrecker » July 25th, 2012, 11:58 am

Ok, just got off the phone with SSL (must patronise or entertain patronising a powerseller) and the Milwaukee 5615-21 router with plunger is $1500.00. Sounds pretty good to me seeing though the Dewalt with the plunger is US$174.00, donno how much it will cost landed here total in TT$.

Milwaukee is still good stuff? Its not any heavy duty work I have to do, just cut a few circles once every blue moon.