tyres

Re: tyres

Postby bushwakka » January 4th, 2011, 9:18 pm

de price change from a $1000+ a pop for the 17s?

Postby cinco » January 5th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Firewall wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:
Dunlop Sportmax sp9000 (that's the model that they said)

No such tyre exists.

totally my fault. he said Dunlop Sportmax ST9000

don't know if that makes a difference.

*edit*guess it doesn't

also in the beginning of the thread men were raving about the Kumho SPT, is it that all the tires on that list fit my preferences better?

Forgot to add the prices:

Kumho SPT - $450
Sumitomo HTR 4 - $600
Toyo TPT - $725 + Vat
Hankook K415 - $530 + Vat
Dunlop Sportmax sp9000 (that's the model that they said) $550
Dunlop EC201 - $600

can you tell us where u getting these also?

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » January 5th, 2011, 2:29 pm

sport maxx 9000 ftw....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 5th, 2011, 10:42 pm

NXTREME wrote:sport maxx 9000 FTL....

fixed, nexens better than those dunlops IMO.

Postby bushwakka » January 6th, 2011, 10:45 am

^dem ting ha2 be rel bad bai

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 6th, 2011, 1:04 pm

^^Most tyres (even Nexens) when it comes to ride and handling, probably aren't really all that bad for the average car and driver!

My gripe with Nexens stems from ballooning and other defects (cracked sidewalls etc) on multiple sets, plus they rip off other "REAL tyre brand" tread patterns (well, at first anyway).

That, and when folks slap on a set of N2000's and are like "Bai dah tyre dem handlin BESS on mih Evo bai"

etc.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 6th, 2011, 1:51 pm

lol^^^, i used n3000 with the AA traction rating when I had the 1.6 in my 323. They were sufficient for that application and the traction was good, the sidewalls cracked though, not willing to risk that again, and with the 2.0 i wouldnt chance running them.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 8th, 2011, 8:32 pm

I went tyre shopping today, one of the most frustrating things ever in trinidad. L&G and mileage mack have no kumhos in 17". Tyre centre told me they had hankook ventus v12 evo for $971 but when i go there they did not have it, they had another ventus, and since I didn't have info on it, I didn't bother.

Most tyre shops only have nexen in 17's.

i called a small tyre shop tyre planet in cunupia out of desperation and got a pair of kumho ecsta spt's at 650 a piece so I was pleased with that.

I think next time i'll just import a set, this stress not worth it.

Postby bushwakka » January 9th, 2011, 12:24 am

^^damn....price for the v12 went up...i lucky to get mine when i did

yea bai....de importing....sheesh....pay thru ur nose to hav it landed

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 9th, 2011, 12:33 am

650 for 17" SPT's is a pretty nice deal actually..
I agree that the runaround is a serious headache but importing a set not worth the trouble unless you going for something rare or high performance

Postby bushwakka » January 9th, 2011, 11:41 am

^^full agreement wit everything said there

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 9th, 2011, 12:18 pm

yeah, I agree with what you guys saying, but i trying to find a way to ship it and not pay out my nose. Ocean freight is a start, but I not sure it will cut the cost sufficiently to make it worthwhile

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 9th, 2011, 8:46 pm

650 for 17" SPT's is a pretty nice deal actually..
I agree that the runaround is a serious headache but importing a set not worth the trouble unless you going for something rare or high performance

Question:

Do you have other suggestions besides SPT's?

I didn't bother to read through the last 15 pages again....and yes, I'm picky about what I drive on.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 11th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Give me a price and i'll give you a suggestion

If you rich : Michelin Pilot Sport P/S 2, Goodyear Eagle F1 or Continental ExtremeContact DW
If you have some extra cash to spend: Toyo Proxes T1R or Bridgestone Potenza RE050 or 960AS
If you want a moderate priced tyre with good performance: Kumho SPT or Hankook Ventus V12 Evo
If you want to buy rubber that will last, the Kumho Solus KH17
I don't ever recommend Nexen, or Dunlop DZ101's..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 12th, 2011, 6:39 am

^^Price limit? Price is really no object for good rubber performance :lol: ....but of course the tyre can't be ridiculously expensive either!

E.g. I'm pretty sure my replacements for the RE040's on the w/e car will be the RE760's.

I was going to get a set of V12 Evos for the wheels I wanna mount on my daily...but I missed that. Sooooo........I'm just rolling around on the stockers for now....which ain't too bad actually.

Postby bushwakka » January 12th, 2011, 1:18 pm

^^lol....u shudda run by them when i tell yuh

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 12th, 2011, 8:30 pm

^^Bah.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 12th, 2011, 9:17 pm

BTW guys whats all the fuss bout performance tires. There is soooo much traffic every day to me its impossible to drive faster than 120km for more than a minuite (execpt late @ night ).

And I agree stay away from the Nexen brand. That side wall blew out (Pot hole) one night on my other car (playing cheap nah) . It was like taking a knife & cutting a square on the side wall. I swear to god, no joke.

Postby cinco » January 12th, 2011, 10:31 pm

performance tyres make so much of a difference in braking more than anything else that they are worth the cost

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 13th, 2011, 3:33 am

Performance tyres are so much more than top speed.. In my case where I really want the grip is in treacherous wet weather driving or serious corner carving whenever I get the roads to myself..
Any tyre can do 180kmph, but at what level of safety?

In the end, buy what you can afford but use your heads and spend the extra $200-$400 total to get a brand with an international reputation for quality (whichever you would choose)

Postby bushwakka » January 13th, 2011, 5:20 pm

cinco wrote:performance tyres make so much of a difference in braking more than anything else that they are worth the cost

i remind myself of this everytime, even if i hav a slobaru

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 20th, 2011, 7:43 am

CD4Accord wrote:Bridgestone Potenza RE050 or 960AS
Kumho SPT
Hankook Ventus V12 Evo

where to buy??? average pricing? 215/45/17
i hadda buy tyres next month...

i used to run the Dunlop 101... what's wrong with it?

Postby bushwakka » January 20th, 2011, 10:44 am

^^read all 16 pages of the thread nah man....educate thyself

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 20th, 2011, 1:24 pm

^^ too much reading dan

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 20th, 2011, 1:29 pm

^Sucks to be you then, ent?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 20th, 2011, 3:55 pm

even if you doh want to read all 16 pages at least read the last 3 or 4.. that would help you out..

Alpha, if pricing is not a scene to you talk to them fellas at quikservice and see what price they will quote you on a set of Michelin Pilot Sport P/S 2, I shudder to think...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 20th, 2011, 5:31 pm

^^2300 a piece...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 20th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Alpha, if pricing is not a scene to you talk to them fellas at quikservice and see what price they will quote you on a set of Michelin Pilot Sport P/S 2, I shudder to think...

Pricing...within reason eh!

2300 per tyre to me is just ridiculous man :shock: That said, if I decide to swap wheels (both are 17"), I mayjust transfer over the OE KH7's - I love them that much...from a DD/comfort standpoint :D

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 21st, 2011, 7:34 am

CD4Accord wrote:even if you doh want to read all 16 pages at least read the last 3 or 4.. that would help you out..

thanks

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » January 22nd, 2011, 12:49 am

CD4Accord wrote:even if you doh want to read all 16 pages at least read the last 3 or 4.. that would help you out..

Passed in there last week
Michelin Pilot 215/45/17 is $1700 each