L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
speedaholic

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby speedaholic » September 30th, 2010, 7:15 am

mines never came on and i ran my tank pretty low a gud few times.. takes like $85 to full back up..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 30th, 2010, 7:22 am

my dad's L200 fuel gauge not working, so now we just use the Odometer to tell how much gas.
Estimates that 400km = one tank, so every 400km we just refill and reset the trip-meter :).

Hasn't failed yet, except for the rare time we forget to reset the tripmeter.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 30th, 2010, 8:11 pm

^^ sigh... my fuel guage works but it lies somtimes... it constantly changes its readings while driving but stay like a notch lower than what i really have in my tank... i dunno why it does that tho.. :S

venum

Postby venum » September 30th, 2010, 11:03 pm

lighthammer, your dad L200 has gas :?:

:out:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 30th, 2010, 11:21 pm

^^^ HAHAHA! i didnt even notice that... LOL! :shocked!: :2gunfire:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 1st, 2010, 12:59 am

^^ I have gas right now :(

Image Image

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 1st, 2010, 7:12 am

ookaayy... you didnt need to share that...

venum

Postby venum » October 1st, 2010, 10:38 pm

LH, I hope you have a good blow off system - no sense keeping it in

my tank of diesel-kero mix finished tonight - lasted 7 days (unusual as I usually get like 5 days with mu increased runs these days) and I got a full 520km

needle was flat out on E when I filled up ($92)

and as usual, teh fuel light did not come on

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 2nd, 2010, 12:50 am

nice.. i saw you driving on the highway this evening going up the grand bazar overpass..

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » October 7th, 2010, 6:23 am

Hey guys I have been experiencing a new problem in d l200. It hard starts every morning, and in order to start I must prime the fuel filter. After monitoring it for some days I realised that once parked on a flat surface it starts normal (drive way is inclined) my tank is also full. Has anyone ever experienced this????? Btw its a k34 turbo 4*4

ryanm

Postby ryanm » October 7th, 2010, 11:07 am

did you bleed the fuel filter? it may have air. also check all the hose clamps as the system may be pulling in air from somewhere.
Did you change the fuel filter recently?

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » October 7th, 2010, 2:49 pm

No I did not change the fuel filter recently and I did bleed. But I will chk all the clamps as u said for safety. Thanks

l200

Postby l200 » November 29th, 2010, 11:08 am

^^^^^muddgutts Did you solve ur problem???.....

As for me I was having some probs wit hard starting, Changed out Glow plugs (ngk) and still got the prob....... also had a major power loss, so tried different things, till I eventually adjusted my fuel pump, an WOW what a CHANGE, power has returned......

I can now start de engine on mornings before the glow plug light goes off. de engine idels smooth and still not smoking. The normal adjustment that i saw online was a 1/4 turn, I did a full turn, to get the results i have now, anything more an de black smoke starts..... Will post pics soon

Also doing a DIY project, to coat the tray, and under the fenders with a protective coating......I've already de-greased the tray, sanded, and primed, jus waiting for the time to paint on the coating..... but too much rain!!!

venum

Postby venum » November 29th, 2010, 7:20 pm

if it is a tar based coating, the cold weather won't matter

l200

Postby l200 » November 30th, 2010, 8:55 pm

Hi V, its water based, but hoping to do it by sunday....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 2nd, 2010, 9:19 pm

how did u adjust the fuel pump? i may need to do this as well.. and i need to a new coating in my tray to... do post pics....

l200

Postby l200 » December 5th, 2010, 6:54 pm

Well I finally completed my van tray........Take a look>>>>>

As for adjusting the fuel pump, follow these instructions......

Please note I am a no way a mechanic an tried this out on my van by following the instruction given on a Pajero forum......

The pump....

1. first remove the cap that cover the adjusting screw, which is located jus beneath the return line on the pump.....

then slacken the locknut and turn the screw in abt a 1/4 turn, ( this was the amt specified by the web site i got my info from).......

When completed start ur engine, an allow to run for a while, then slowly rev the engine up an hold the rev for a couple of seconds, then slowly release.... repeat two or three times.

after give a quick rev an release.....this is to reset the governor spring in the pump....(so said the web site)

take the van for a spin, checking for smoke comming from ur tail pipe.... on slow take off there should be very little to non, on very hard acceleration there should be more somke that gradually disappears between the 3rd an 4th gears..

i personally don't like to see smoke coming from my van so i governed mines back to no smoke on normal take off and very little on hard acceleration.

But in my case my pump was in great need of adjustment. I took a complete turn before my van began to black smoke,

.... but make sure not to open too much fuel as too much fuel will increase your carbon build up in ur engine,an you will see it in you pocket, if you kno what i mean..$$$$$.

and if you are already smoking heavy, you might need to govern down the pump......

this was the site...http://4x4pajero.spaces.live.com/?_c11_ ... c=BlogPart

Hope the link works!!!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 5th, 2010, 8:05 pm

dexter , im havin that prob wit the foreign used 4d56 in the van now.....

but i wanted to clean injectors first before i play wit the fuel pump.
now when i start the engine, if i dont tap on the ex pedal, the battery light and the fuel filter light doesnt come off...

now as soon as i tap pedal, the light comes off but the engine starts to vibrate heavily.

i used a multimeter, the alternator is not charging unless the battery light goes off.. and its chargin wit good voltage... so alternator working. battery light workin as it should.

now why is it that i hav to tap the gas for the alternator to start charging? and its not like the belt slack or slipping.
also, do u tink the idle is too low?
this happens when the engine is cold... when its hot, it usually doesnt vibrate as much and the light goes off as soon as starting. no tappin of ex required.

now i hav the engine idle set where it is as i noticed if i raise it.. i loosing power a bit a take off... well that was wot i noticed when i now installed the engine.

my engine mounts lookin good.but bought a pair to change out.. jus havnt gotten chance to change it yet.

only ting i feel bad in the drive train is pilot bearing for the high gear shaft in the fly wheel..
im getting heavish vibration on the gear stick while driving..

now wrt black smoke, and bearing in mind my vibration problems in the instances i described above.
oh, and yeh.. i find i buring real diesel... like much more than before...i kno this is turbo engine now. but not supposed to be like this... 40$ finishing in 2 days run from gasparillo to point lisas back and forth... that used to give me atleast 3-4 days to work and back wit the N/A engine.

what u all hav to say?

ps: lookin for speedometer cable. mines wring out. loosing track of my mileage.
anybody repairs this? or kno if any other make or model will work on the k14?

l200

Postby l200 » December 5th, 2010, 10:23 pm

^^That sounding like the alternator needs to service,

Check the bearings,

also if oil is falling on it, or even too much dust, it would cause the alternator will malfunction over time.......

make sure that the belt tight, cause that happened to me, an after tightening the belt it worked normal........

Also sounding like ur idle too low, @ start-up,

did you ever get the automatic choke to work with ur engine????
If I remember right the turbo engine comes wit a solenoid to control the idle.....(automatic choke)

If not, check the solenoid ..... once that is working it will deal wit your rough idle on cold starts......

Abt your fuel economy, Do you have a lot of black smoke????
If so, when too much fuel goes into ur engine, it will give you a temporary 'boost', but in the long run it will cause EXTRA carbon build up, an cause ur injector to get dirty and, restrict you performance.........thereby increasing you fuel bill......

Also remember that driving habits play a big role on ur fuel economy.... De harder you mash de deeper you will feel it in ur pocket.

Try the diesel kerosene mix, an see if it helps.....Nothing more than $20 kerro, to a full tank of diesel

I also find that the Diesel Kleen works well....I Used it, and was totally impressed, Teach in couva has it for around $45 i think

but on a side note I am looking into another way to adjust the pump that will increase the power output of the engine...... Can't wait to try it on my engine!!!!

Will post the info when it is confirmed!!!!!

P.S. I talked to a guy that has a couple of k14 foreign used left hand drive for scrap, his number is 680 4141, didn't get his name though..... I think he is from penal.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 6th, 2010, 5:44 am

l200 wrote:^^That sounding like the alternator needs to service,

Check the bearings,

also if oil is falling on it, or even too much dust, it would cause the alternator will malfunction over time.......

make sure that the belt tight, cause that happened to me, an after tightening the belt it worked normal........

Also sounding like ur idle too low, @ start-up,

did you ever get the automatic choke to work with ur engine????
If I remember right the turbo engine comes wit a solenoid to control the idle.....(automatic choke)

If not, check the solenoid ..... once that is working it will deal wit your rough idle on cold starts......

Abt your fuel economy, Do you have a lot of black smoke????
If so, when too much fuel goes into ur engine, it will give you a temporary 'boost', but in the long run it will cause EXTRA carbon build up, an cause ur injector to get dirty and, restrict you performance.........thereby increasing you fuel bill......

Also remember that driving habits play a big role on ur fuel economy.... De harder you mash de deeper you will feel it in ur pocket.

Try the diesel kerosene mix, an see if it helps.....Nothing more than $20 kerro, to a full tank of diesel

I also find that the Diesel Kleen works well....I Used it, and was totally impressed, Teach in couva has it for around $45 i think

but on a side note I am looking into another way to adjust the pump that will increase the power output of the engine...... Can't wait to try it on my engine!!!!

Will post the info when it is confirmed!!!!!

P.S. I talked to a guy that has a couple of k14 foreign used left hand drive for scrap, his number is 680 4141, didn't get his name though..... I think he is from penal.

yeh this is the foreign used engine.. came auto.. it has two jacks up ontop by the fuel pump. im not around to take pics rite now.. but only one of the jacks is in use. there is no place in the original harness to jack the second one into.. the other one the elec said had someting to do wit the transmission.. and yeh i guess its like an auto choke to raise rpm.
i have to put back the AC step up . that is a separate vacuum diaphram ting that bolts unto the engine idle screw. i need a AC soleniod switch to get that to work.

which elec you can send me to?

oh u got tru wit ur front end work?

i havnt changed my timing belts yet.. and frontend muy bad rite now.... time boy time!

i use the amsoil cetane booster when i remember to buy it... and i get a big difference in performance. smokes less and engien feels much more poweful. that much that a padna wit a 1jz cressida had something to say bout it after a highway run

2.5 inch exhaust rite back. and have to increase the size of the piping to the cone filter still.

now wit very hard runs like all out... it smokes alot.. and will burn a lil bit oil. but i guess that is expected from a 12 yr old diesel engine????

oh my driving habits are not radical nor ridiculous. i dont shift excessively, jus work my wa up to 5th and cruise most of the time.... but its nice to feel no drop in torque up those hills on the highway, esp between couva and indian trail fly over... compared to my old engine... and turbo spooling is so erotic!

oh one other prb, last time i checked which was bout 3 mths ago, i was getting 1.5 cm (15mm) backlash, free play on the drive shaft at the rear diff end.
according to the manual i got of this forum, it supposed to be 5 mm max freeplay.
i do hear clanging in the back if i miss a gear, or release clutch to fast ..
so that has to be repaired also... can u direct me to someone to do that job?

boy i jus cant afford to sell the van rite now nah. jus a few stuff to do and hopefully i can give another navara a run :wink:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 6th, 2010, 6:22 am

hopefully i can give another navara a run :wink:

What's that now?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 6th, 2010, 9:38 am

lovin the liner in the tray man... i wud like some more info as to how i can go about doing this myself also.. i also need a speedocable none of the parts places n tdad seem to have any! and also a right side door mirror... nowhere has this aswell.. been lookin for about a month now for 1.. sigh... i am goin to try the adjustment on the fuel pump later will post results soon.. thanks in advance man...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 6th, 2010, 6:32 pm

lighthammer wrote:
hopefully i can give another navara a run :wink:

What's that now?

nun! :oops: typo!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 6th, 2010, 7:37 pm

^^ hahaha!!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 6th, 2010, 7:44 pm

^^^ allyuh jus give me a bligh nah... meh ole van have me feelin good lol.....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 6th, 2010, 8:32 pm

we got the same van bro...! my speedo cxablke buss too! :\ nowhere seems to be sellin it.. and diamond out of stock! AS USSUAL! dey say they gettin in march nex year.. $200 for it

l200

Postby l200 » December 6th, 2010, 10:13 pm

Abt the speedo cable, I'll call my bro in Barbados, Simpson motors, (I think that the correct name), sells hard to get mitsu parts I'll let him check it out.....

speedaholic....... Call de number posted above to see if he has the mirror, he has a couple left hand drive k14 F/Used

To do the van tray......i first degreased the tray wit some purple blaster, sanded (rough up) the surface with some 100 grit sand paper, and ensure to remove all rust spots, sand rust spots till shining...

washed off all the dust wit some more pur blas, wash off wit water then allowed to dry in the sun

when totally dry painted on some zinc-chromate (red oxide) .....wen dry painted on two coats of the stone chip coating

Also a coat of chassis black to seal it off

All the work was done over a couple of days, an i always used a cleaner before painting to remove all dust that built up between paint intervals, cause the van was in use......Oh yeah,, I used a 2" paint brush......the finish looks good enough, an it is going to be covered wit the duraliner, so the finish was not too important, once it protecting the tray......under body next.....

Total cost $250.00 (automotive arts for the stone chip)

l200

Postby l200 » December 6th, 2010, 10:58 pm

cutthroatInt.....De diff need to get adjusted, according to my research, as the gears get worn they will need to come out and put some shim behind to carry it forward and tighten up the space between them...... with that said I also have to do the same, de bearings an seal too....When i get time!!!
As for a electrician...... for small jobs i go to Babs in Mc bean, an for more technical stuff i go to smalls in Esperanza. I'll try to get their numbers....They are OK

I haven't done the front yet... jus all shocks, an brake seals changed at the wheels.... Hmmm so many things to do yet so little time!!!! prob in de new year

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 7th, 2010, 9:54 pm

i got the speedo cable @ faiz in marabella today!! i was so extatic when i heard they had it! and the best part! its was only $50! yess! i kno! i shuda buy about 3 an put dem down... oh well.. i just finished changin the cable it works like a charm.. perfect match and the new one is slighty longerso there is extra room to plug it in to the IP in the dash... took me about a hour and a half to change it.. pretty simple.. i will call the guy about the mirror tmr.. thanks... is almost 3 months now i drivin without an right side door mirror... sigh....

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 8th, 2010, 7:40 am

^^^ good news bout the speedo speedaholic... sent my bro to buy it as soon as i hear bout this.

L200, will check those peeps wen i get back.. will call u.. have some stuff to discuss.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”