Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, Finally Seeing the Light!!!

Postby TriniGT » June 23rd, 2010, 7:19 am

Well hopefully today I will get it sorted. I wanna get the window sorted as soon as as it being down has me uneasy. I am gonna get a guy to work on the welding that needs doing to seal the hole that is allowing the cowl panel water to come inside. Once that is complete and rust proofed and done I can then safely reinstall the driver side carpet and fixtures and driver seat then I will install the rubber hoses for the front and rear windscreen washers and same time relocate the washer bottle to the trunk if needed and then reinstall my rear seats and rear parcel shelf. Brakes will hopefully go on this weekend.

As it is I installed 300Z rear brakes and ebrake setup but I am now realising that the ER34GTT has a bigger rear rotor so I will need to remove the 300Z dust shield and brake shoe setup and install the ER34 setup to use the bigger rotors. Front spindles have already been reemed out to accept the bigger bolts for the ER34 Calipers. For now I have fitted a pair of R34 Brembos and they go up no problem whatsoever. Once all brakes have been swapped I will bench bleed the brake master cylinder and then quickly reconnect the brake hard lines and bleed the brakes from furthest from the cylinder to the nearest. Will be running motul 5.1 brake fluid one time. Will also be getting new pads same time and I already have Earl's Braided lines all around. Once the brakes are done then I can readjust the ride height, adjust the down pipe and then hopefully fit the exhaust and the underneath of the car should more or less be done. Once completed underneath I will then focus on the body again, I am gonna be taking the guy by a straightener to have the front realigned with the Carbon bonnet and the metal fenders. Reason I decided to go back with the metal fenders is that I can use my fender shields and it makes everything cleaner and stock which is what I am after and the fitment of the fibreglass vented fenders was not what I wanted. Once the front is adjusted proper I can then have the car repainted by a friend for a good price and I should be pretty much done from there. Only things to be done after would be to base tune and then retune when upgrades are done. Will install gauges in time but really want the defi din gauge setup and I am going to be using a custom setup for for the other gauges. I know I said pics soon but the state the car is in right now and how busy I am pictures are hard to come by but will see what I can do.

Postby Razkal » June 23rd, 2010, 1:38 pm

ripping good stuff killa...hope your progress is hiccup free til yuh bounce starter

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 23rd, 2010, 2:13 pm

Boy read last page, starter bounce two days ago, only problem was a wrong size of fuse but other than that one tumble and it roared into life :D.

wraith

Postby wraith » June 23rd, 2010, 4:30 pm

Hope you checked your pipes and made sure no frogs were stuck in the turbo :D

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 24th, 2010, 7:42 am

Haha, I always remembered your episode. I may remove all the pipes again as I want to take them to have them chromed and some brackets powder coated and the valvcover powder coated in crinkle black. I got the dash working, apparently when I tried starting the car the first time with the 40A fuse it may have blown some other fuses. I found this one and immediately the interior lighting works along with the tailights, what a relief.

Now last problem is the passenger side window. Once that is solved as I am sure it will it just brakes, bleeding them, align and camber, exhaust, I will need to trim the downpipe as the downpipe is not lining up with the bracket to the rear of the gearbox since the installation of the collector pipe to the back of the turbo. I am meeting with a straightener to have him fix the leak and the same time align the front of the car with the carbon bonnet, after that it will be to paint the car again and gas back the A/C and install my stereo and then small things like gauges and tuning. The best part of the whole project was when my mother told me, you feel you is some kinda mechanic eh, years yuh have this piece of metal in the yard and yuh can't even start it up. I took the battery out of the bluebird and threw it in and one bounce and it start, the silence was bliss!!!!! Lady just steups and walk off, first time I shut the ole lady mouth yes, haha.

wraith

Postby wraith » June 24th, 2010, 9:12 am

I took the battery out of the bluebird and threw it in and one bounce and it start, the silence was bliss!!!!! Lady just steups and walk off, first time I shut the ole lady mouth yes, haha.

lol, lol, lol, you killing me lol.

p.s. don't forget the item for me please.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 24th, 2010, 9:38 am

Yeah the only thing I need to check is that I was gonna use an S14 condenser but remembered that the condenser line flanges are different so will need to find the S15 one. Will compare as I have the S15 setup to compare against.

wraith

Postby wraith » June 24th, 2010, 1:41 pm

ok thanks.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 25th, 2010, 9:17 am

Well got some good results. I reconnected the passenger side window switch and got my mutlimeter out and checked to see if when I press or pull the switch if the 12V would switch from side to side and it did which meant that the window motor was indeed getting the voltage. At that point I removed the battery from the trunk and hooked a direct wire to the motor connector and tried powering the motor, sure enough the motor worked and I am able to send the window up. I left it at that point. It seems that the ground from the main switch I am thinking may be the problem but right now I am still going through the FSM looking at schematics. As far as I can remember the ground is a 'floating ground' so one of the ground signals may not be being sent to the passenger side motor connector. Can someone confirm and is the only way to fix this to get a replacement main switch?

Shio

Postby Shio » June 26th, 2010, 8:28 am

try opening the switch
the contacts just probably need a little sandpaper

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 28th, 2010, 6:49 am

Well tried the switch on a friend's car and it is fine so I am narrowing the problem down to another unit that seems factory but on further review was spliced into the factory harness. I have removed the bulk of it but all that needs to be done now is to repin one of the jacks and I will try again. My weekend was really busy and not much could have been accomplished with the passing of a close friend's dad. Was really a sad time :(.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 6th, 2010, 8:59 pm

Okay got some progress, with some testing I have concluded that my wiring is flawless, well seems okay so far :fingerscrossed: and my main switch on the driver door is fine. The culprit is the passenger side, I scrapped it and it seems there is a couple of metal balls in their that caused the switch to short and melt slightly, gonna see if I can repair it as it appears to be minor. So there are some other issues that have surfaced. The main thing right now is an oil leak, seems to be coming from the oil filter relocator setup but on the block side and is leaking on the side of the engine onto the crossmember. Will look at that later on.

Main thing right now is getting the guy to help with the water coming into the driverside area. Work will be done on that this week and same time I am removing all my intercooler pipework and having it chromed. Thinking one time to get an aluminum radiator but we will see. There are no dash lights coming on, ABS, indicators, Air Bags, RPM, mileage, clock, oil, water temp, hazard, check engine light all works fine. Still need to wire up the brake reservoir level setup as I have an R32 setup that needs the harness spliced on. Much thanks to Dry for loaning me items for testing, it has been quite a help out.

Gonna begin mouting back the driver and passenger side upholstery as I know they all work as they should and hunt around for a replacement passenger side switch. May just bring it in new if needed. I have also run fresh silicone hose from the rear wiper setup and through the driver side to the front where I managed to fit the Washer bottle snuggly next to the intercooler cold side piping. I just need to check fender shields and ensure there is proper clearance. Once the leak has been rectified I can finish refitting the driver side stuff and then fit the stereo and some gauges and that should be it for the interior. Brakes still to be mounted and bled and then wheel fitment checked and once the leak fixed I can refit the fenders and get that aligned with the carbon bonnet and fit the front bumper after some shaving to accommodate the intercooler and then it's off to repaint. Wondering if to try and go with the Midnight Purple II, not the one with the flip just the deep purple, or if to keep it black. Even if I go purple the interior and the engine bay and trunk area can stay black just need to respray the outside and door jams. Anyway some pics of the filled engine bay.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 6th, 2010, 9:37 pm

Okay here is my modlist so far, yeah doh laugh,

Engine Bay:
S15 SR20DET
Greddy Intake Manifold
HKS Intake with Filter and eventually a Z32 MAF
Custom FMIC Piping
Blitz FMIC
Silicone Vacuum Lines
Omori Oil Filter Relocator
Greddy Oil Sump
GTR R32 Brake Booster and BMC
Custom 3" Exhaust
3" Downpipe
3" Megan Racing Turbo Collector

Suspension and Brakes:
Driftworks HSD CS2 Coilovers
Driftworks Front Tension Rods
SPL Front Lower Control Arms
Driftworks Rear Upper Control Arms
Driftworks Rear Lower Control Arms
Driftworks Traction Control Arms
Driftworks Toe Arms
Megan Racing Rear Subframe Aluminum Collars
Custom plated and reinforced rear subframe - no cracking here whatsoever
R33 Series II Differential from auto RB25DET setup (Ratio is 4.368 :D) with ABS sensor for S15 speedo
GTR R32 five bolt axles
300ZX rear hubs with brake shoe setup
R33 Handbrake cable setup
300ZX Rear Two Pot Calipers with Vented and Crossdrilled Rotors
ER34 GTT Front brake Calipers with 310mm Rotors
Cusco Carbon Fibre Front Strut Bar
Cusco Rear Adjustable Strut Bar

Wheels:
R34 GTR Wheels - 18X9.0 +30mm

Interior:
Full S15 interior - S15 door interior, dashboard fully functional, carpet, handbrake setup, center console, seats, six forward gearbox, air bags, steering wheel, rear dash, roofing, door sills and floor mats etc.
Nismo Instrument Panel
Defi Compliment of Gauges - Boost and EGT (A Pillar), Oil Pressure, Oil Temp and Water Temp (not sure where yet as I don't wanna mount them on the dashboard, may buy a Defi DIN Panel setup and just keep the Boost and EGT on the A-Pillar)
Apexi Power FC L-Jetro (Dry Tuned)
AEM Wideband Gauge
HKS Turbo Timer
Pioneer 7800MP Stereo
Pioneer door and rear dash speakers

Exterior:
Full S15 conversion - modded sills, S15 rear and roofing, S15 entire front half
Nismo Quad Vented Carbon Fibre Bonnet
S15 OEM Xenon Headlights
DRFT Smoked Tailights
Origin Stylish Bodykit
Ganador Mirrors (Also have a Pair of Craftsquare to swap with)
New S15 Quarter glasses
New S15 Front windscreen

Future Plans:
30mm Wide Front fenders
30mm Wide rear over fenders
Wider wheels
850CC Sard Injectors
GT3076R Twin Scroll V-Band
Top Mount Twin Scroll Manifold
Tial 44mm External Wastegate
Tomei Headgasket
Mazworx Headstuds
Tomei Cams and Maybe some Solid Lifters with tomei custom shims
Tomei Springs and Retainers
Splitfire Coilpacks
ARC Coilpack Cover
Koyo Radiator
Samco Silicone Radiator Hoses

I could do a VE head but I not thinking of that right now.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 6th, 2010, 9:54 pm

Future plans my arse I'm sure you got half those stuff or all just sitting down lol...

Good job buddy. I'm sure your previously owned spec R S15 jealous!!

wraith

Postby wraith » July 7th, 2010, 8:34 am

very nice, cannot wait to see a photo shoot done of this car.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 7th, 2010, 8:38 am

Haha, nah all the extras I had home sold yes, only had the oil sump and some small bits. Looking for a passenger side S15 power window switch. Only extras right now are all RB26 stuff but right now that on a back burner waiting on my head to come back. Plan is once any issues are sorted and the car is road worthy I will buy upgrades and install one time not keep them parked up.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 7th, 2010, 8:47 am

wraith wrote:very nice, cannot wait to see a photo shoot done of this car.

ah ready ! :lol: :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 7th, 2010, 8:52 am

Well when it come back from some paint I go holla.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 7th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Picked up a spare set of wheels today, tell me your thoughts. Yes they are Works VS-XX 18"X8.5/9.5 +31mm/+45mm
Undershot with the 265 tyres,
Backshot
Tried fitting the front wheels but seems like Brembos just a hair to wide so if I were to use them I will need spacers. I am hoping that the GTT calipers will just fit,

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 7th, 2010, 10:27 pm

looking sick!
time to get her on the rd!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 7th, 2010, 11:02 pm

SWEET set of wheels, especially for spare.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 8th, 2010, 12:15 am

Fixed the passenger side switch problem, I actually scrapped the switch and rebuilt it and it actually works. Just need to glue it shut. So only thing on the agenda is the oil leak, exhaust, brakes and water leaking into car then I can reinstall the interior and align the front of the car and get it repainted. Calipers are going to be painted in Duplicolor ground coat silver with black stencil writing and then cleared. FMIC piping going to be chromed Friday so should have soem new pics to follow. Sorry for the bad pics BTW it is off my Blackberry camera. Things are progressing so I am content, my other half also said tonight that the ca ris actually looking good. Coming from her that was a compliment as she hates that I spend that amount of time on a piece of metal.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 8th, 2010, 12:22 am

This thread slipped me...lots of work going on here man....love the rims....not really a fan of BBS style rims... but it looks the business there....and as in all things...when completed it will draw ooohs and ahhhs......lil note on the VR4.....but check ur PM in a bit (bout 10 mins) and you'll be suprised at what we found.....

godo stuff man!!...

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 8th, 2010, 12:36 am

nice. ill be waiting. i have mixed feelings towards the wheels. i like the pattern alot but not looking right on the car, maybe with the correct drop and colour it will fit in. may look better on the 34.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 8th, 2010, 12:51 am

Yeah well I bought it as a spare set and I think with the right colour combo I can pull it off. I am also thinking of using it on the GTT and swapping the GTR wheels on the silvia as that was the original plan. I know for sure it will look better once the car is on the ground and the fenders rolled and the rims tucked properly. The wheel profile as well is throwing it off. I just threw it up so that they don't take up space, this will be coming off and getting some love and we'll see how it goes from there. Have yet to find an S15 with VS-XX's, give it a chance we go see how it goes.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 8th, 2010, 6:51 am

Powder coat the center in gold and give the lip some tlc. ;)

...or you could just give me a price and I'll buy them from you after I've finished sorting out some bugs.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 8th, 2010, 7:15 am

It already have my friend with the gold mesh wheels. Once the wheels are all cleaned up and the car is back on the ground then I will decide what I will do. In the mean time I will be looking for some pics online of the wheels in question on an S15.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 8th, 2010, 8:36 am

ARS Custom Widebody S15

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 8th, 2010, 8:39 am

Some dude from cardomain.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 8th, 2010, 9:13 am

Now someone photoshop it black for me :D.