Rovin's Audio wrote:i jes now see on cnc3 stewy blaming unc for something to do with d CCTV cams , something about they over paid .... 3 yrs in he suddenly now find out dat
Dookoo: Unfair to be denied work
Anna Ramdass
LOVE for SHAMFA: PNM activist Darrel Dookoo poses with Minister Shamfa Cudjoe in June 2017 at a party event.
People’s National Movement (PNM) activist Darrel Dookoo says he is in discussions with the Public Utilities Ministry for a public relations job and it would be unfair to him to be denied work because of his allegiance to the party.
Dookoo said he submitted a video which speaks about saving water — at no cost to the ministry — over the weekend which was then shared on the ministry’s Facebook page.
He said he was paid by the ministry before for work he did on a road-show campaign last year but to say he was receiving lucrative contracts was untrue.
Water job for PNM activist Dookoo
Controversial Facebook character gets ministry stint...
Ria Taitt
The Ministry of Public Utilities’ decision to hire People’s National Movement (PNM) supporter and provocative Facebook personality Darrel Dookoo to promote its conservation campaign led to allegations yesterday that it was supporting “racial hate, discrimination, hate speech, bigotry”.
Making the allegations was Princes Town MP Barry Padarath, who was so outraged over the issue that he eventually stormed out of the meeting of the Standing Finance Committee of the House of Representatives in Port of Spain.
Speaking to the media, Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte defended the decision of the ministry to hire Dookoo, saying he was satisfied with Dookoo’s work and that, to the best of his knowledge, he (Dookoo) had always operated within the law.
Padarath, Le Hunte spar over social media operator
Gail Alexander
Alleged bigot or simply creative person?
That was the stormy “debate” yesterday between UNC MP Barry Padarath and Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte on the ministry’s use in a conservation campaign of a social media operator whom Padarath alleged was a “bigot and racist”, and whom Le Hunte defended as a “creative person with a following.”
Their “debate” on the man in question occurred in separate statements to reporters outside the Parliament chamber yesterday after Padarath raised the issue inside the Chamber during yesterday’s meeting of Parliament’s Finance Committee meeting. Padarath stormed out concerning the matter
In the meeting, after Le Hunte spoke about a $62million decrease for 2018 in ministry funding, Padarath said he’d noted WASA’s new social media campaign and asked if as part of the ministry’s savings, whether a contract to an alleged “bigot and racist” person “associated with the PNM” was being done.
Padarath was immediately shut down by committee chairman Bridgid Anisette-George who did not allow the question and,” certain words,” she added.
When cross-talk erupted between Government front benchers and Padarath she told the fuming Padarath: “If you find difficulty in maintaining yourself, I always advise a little walk—please restrain yourself,”
Annisette-George also cautioned UNC MP Rudy Indarsingh who had complained in support of Padarath.
Right after, Padarath stalked out of the Chamber in a huff, declaring the situation a “complete charade”
Annisette-George rebuked him saying: “When you leave, you’re leaving with certain decorum or you’ll be assisted in leaving!”
Indarsingh also left with Padarath.
Speaking to reporters after, Padarath said the Public Utility Ministry’s social media platform had a video featuring the man he’d alleged was a racist (name called) who he claimed was known as a PNM operative.
Padarath alleged: “He’s expressed sentiments of bigotry, race, hate speech and many other things that many in the public domain are quite familiar with. He’s a known sympathiser/supporter of the PNM who’s made several disparaging, racist, hateful, discriminatory remarks about people and public officials.”
“To see a contract featuring this person being displayed on the Ministry’s website—not the first time he’s gotten work being paid by taxpayers’ dollars—I have a serious problem with that. It tells me this Goverment supports racial hate. discrimination, hate speech, bigotry among many things,”
Le Hunte, however, defended the man’s work for the ministry, saying the ministry needed to use all messaging available in its conservation outreach and he felt the man had the ability to perform and reach certain groups. He said the man had done “some work” in assisting outreach promotion, it’s well known he’s being used by the Ministry in this and his efforts had been tremendously successful.
He said he’ d seen some of the man’s social media pages, but couldn’t say he’d gone through all pages to know everything the man said. Le Hunte added, “Based on the work done for me, promoting my outreach programme and getting people from both sides to come to my programe in various areas, the work done by him has been fantastic.”
He said the man had achieved what was needed and he was separating the man’s social media work from his work for the ministry.
Le Hunte added, “I’m not aware of the claims being made or any proof regarding those claims. The person has a certain following in certain groups. He’s demonstrated a certain type of creativity in being able to meet certain target groups. I’m not going to get into who’s a bigot or not. I won’t be intimidated by wild statements and accusations to prevent Wasa message from reaching all groups.”
He said the man wouldn’t be the only provider used by the ministry to carry its conservation message. Le Hunte addedL “If we have to eliminate contractors or people based on controversial background, we’ ll have a problem with a lot of contractors.”
Noting the following he said the man has on his website, Le Hunte added this would be considered if he wanted to get a message across and personal creativity and ability to help him achieve his objectives would also be considered
Asked if he wasn’t concerned negative perception about the person extending to the ministry, Le Hunte said he won’t be intimidated by “rash statements” about anyone to prevent them getting a livelihood, “If we continue running a country because someone has a problem, you’re going to deprive individuals from a livelihood—that’s not fair.”
The man involved in the ministry’s campaign didn’t answer calls.
He's the best man for PNM, he would do good on tuner. I sure Dwane and eleitauto will approvehydroep wrote:Water job for PNM activist Dookoo
Ria Taitt
The Ministry of Public Utilities’ decision to hire People’s National Movement (PNM) supporter and provocative Facebook personality Darrel Dookoo to promote its conservation campaign led to allegations yesterday that it was supporting “racial hate, discrimination, hate speech, bigotry”.
Making the allegations was Princes Town MP Barry Padarath, who was so outraged over the issue that he eventually stormed out of the meeting of the Standing Finance Committee of the House of Representatives in Port of Spain.
Speaking to the media, Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte defended the decision of the ministry to hire Dookoo, saying he was satisfied with Dookoo’s work and that, to the best of his knowledge, he (Dookoo) had always operated within the law.
https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/water-job-for-pnm-activist-dookoo/article_90c6de5a-1862-11e9-af31-4764c2274016.html
The_Honourable wrote:Ent Dookoo went blackface on fb live and proceeded to attack a black woman just because she is pro-unc activist?
Le-Hunte didn't get the memo about this guy.
Rovin's Audio wrote:******i posted this in d WTF thread but like nobody doh go in dey
anyway since allyuh pm name & other pnm ministers name call up it fits in this thread too****
beware of d language eh
hydroep wrote:Water job for PNM activist Dookoo
Ria Taitt
https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/water-job-for-pnm-activist-dookoo/article_90c6de5a-1862-11e9-af31-4764c2274016.html
The_Honourable wrote:Rovin's Audio wrote:******i posted this in d WTF thread but like nobody doh go in dey
anyway since allyuh pm name & other pnm ministers name call up it fits in this thread too****
beware of d language eh
Police lock him up Monday, don't know if he got charged yet.
D Diesel Report wrote:
All dat suck up work boy, man scrunting to get money and food for dey chirren and this man prolly collect a little 100k for this massapiece.![]()
FACT !!!shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Shitkickers say development is taking place all over Trinidad...still looking to see where
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Shitkickers say development is taking place all over Trinidad...still looking to see where
Rowley reveals 60-year pet peeve: ‘They are children, not kids’
Shane Superville
The Prime Minister is calling on parents, teachers and students of the Four Roads Government Primary School to stop referring to children as "kids."
At a sod-turning ceremony for the Diego Martin pedestrian walkover, at the school this morning, Dr Rowley said this was one of his pet peeves.
Recalling his own expericences as a child, listening to his visiting aunt from the United States, who used the term, he said he wondered why she would refer to children as kids.
He also called on the children at the school to stop referring to themselves and their peers as kids.
"This problem has been with me now for about 60 years, I distinctly recall one of my aunts who lived in the United States for a long time. She kept talking about the "kids" and I was confused, it was only later I realised she was talking about boys and girls and ever since then it really irks me to hear people refer to children as kids.
"Goats have kids, people have children and they are called boys and girls. Can you help me to get rid of them referring to you as kids? Your parents are not goats. That's American slang that we picked up 60 years ago but its time to give it up."
hydroep wrote:The man have more important things to study...Rowley reveals 60-year pet peeve: ‘They are children, not kids’
Shane Superville
The Prime Minister is calling on parents, teachers and students of the Four Roads Government Primary School to stop referring to children as "kids."
At a sod-turning ceremony for the Diego Martin pedestrian walkover, at the school this morning, Dr Rowley said this was one of his pet peeves.
Recalling his own expericences as a child, listening to his visiting aunt from the United States, who used the term, he said he wondered why she would refer to children as kids.
He also called on the children at the school to stop referring to themselves and their peers as kids.
"This problem has been with me now for about 60 years, I distinctly recall one of my aunts who lived in the United States for a long time. She kept talking about the "kids" and I was confused, it was only later I realised she was talking about boys and girls and ever since then it really irks me to hear people refer to children as kids.
"Goats have kids, people have children and they are called boys and girls. Can you help me to get rid of them referring to you as kids? Your parents are not goats. That's American slang that we picked up 60 years ago but its time to give it up."
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/16/rowley-urges-parents-they-are-children-not-kids/
La Brea dry dock construction later this year
Julien Neaves
ENERGY Minister Franklin Khan says construction on the La Brea dry dock facility should begin in the latter part of this year as part of plans to create 3,500 direct and 5,700 indirect jobs in the southwestern peninsula.
He said the project was moving forward to direct negotiations and reiterated this was the first time Chinese direct equity investment was being made available outside of China with China Harbour Engineering having 30 per cent equity in the facility.
He was responding to a question in the Senate on Tuesday from Independent Senator Amrita Deonarine who asked about projects for fence line communities to cushion the impact of the termination of 5,000 jobs at state oil company Petrotrin.
Khan said a number of projects benefiting fence line communities are already in train and others were about to be embarked on. He said the projects for the West, South and Southwestern peninsula communities include: San Fernando/Point Fortin Highway which is already in train and construction is being accelerated in 2019;
La Brea dry docking facility and the National Infrastructure Development Company and China Harbour Engineering Company have executed a cooperation agreement for the development over a three year period at a cost of US $500 million and construction activity will include deep water channel excavation, offshore reclamation and terminal land construction;
Construction of the jacket by Trinidad Offshore Fabricators Company Limited of bpTT Cassia field development platform “and we are pleased to announce we have brought back fabrication to La Brea.
He said other projects were Phoenix Park Industrial Estate, San Fernando Waterfront Redevelopment and Regeneration project, development of an administrative complex at Chancery Lane, San Fernando. new fishing port in Moruga and rehabilitation of the Moruga Road.
He said if required counselling services will be provided to members of fence line communities. “However more appropriately there will be community engagement to ensure that members avail themselves to the opportunities.”