Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 11:32 am

MG Man wrote:lol
what is allyuh obsession with BBM?

Do you use any sort of messaging on your iphone? iMessage? Whatsapp?

If yes then note that BBM is worlds better to use than both. Dat and wha tr1ad jus say too!

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 11:33 am

I send text messages
occasionally I use viber on mih iFone
I send words to people, they send me back words............what better is there?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 11:40 am

Text messages have no read receipts and are not useful for stalking...seriously though you don't know if your text was delivered.

Whatsapp and Viber both allow anyone with you phone number to add you vs a more discrete experience with BBM. You have more options in one package with it. Words to people? Done. Pic and Vids? Done. Privacy? Done. Useful info like delivery recepipts? Done...oh and better emoticons! It's just a great package of software punching above its weight compared to many other things on blackberry phones.

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 12:02 pm

dunno about adding, but the same way anyone with your cell number can send you a text, same with viber. Same difference............pics and vids? Hardly ever have need for that....privacy? we that would depend on what you have to hide, right?
Guess at the end of the day, when I think BBM, I think idle, mindless fcuks who have nothing productive to do all day
Kinda like me and chuna :-p

Postby S_2NR » October 15th, 2013, 12:04 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Text messages have no read receipts and are not useful for stalking...seriously though you don't know if your text was delivered.

Whatsapp and Viber both allow anyone with you phone number to add you vs a more discrete experience with BBM. You have more options in one package with it. Words to people? Done. Pic and Vids? Done. Privacy? Done. Useful info like delivery recepipts? Done...oh and better emoticons! It's just a great package of software punching above its weight compared to many other things on blackberry phones.

people with your number can see a picture and a last seen.. and u can take off the last seen on iphone.
once u not putting up dick pics i dont see the problem with privacy. i sure u on facebook and all that sheit

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 12:08 pm

exactly
at the end of the day, if you value your privacy you won't have much stuff public anyway

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 12:22 pm

Privacy does not simply extend to dick pics. There are times where unsolicited persons have added contacts simply because they obtained your phone number. Insurance agents for example add your number on their phone and you are now a contact in whatsapp.

Bbm is more private and can be used how anyone sees fit. Persons should not have to turn off last online receipts a la whatsapp or viber.

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 12:27 pm

again, an insurance agent can text me as well....what's the difference?
again, I have viber and maybe 5 people use it to communicate with me..........but I liked it more when it wasn't so popular outside of iFone users.....you BBM ppl seem to be flocking to it :-/

Postby S_2NR » October 15th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Privacy does not simply extend to dick pics. There are times where unsolicited persons have added contacts simply because they obtained your phone number. Insurance agents for example add your number on their phone and you are now a contact in whatsapp.

Bbm is more private and can be used how anyone sees fit. Persons should not have to turn off last online receipts a la whatsapp or viber.

And?
If someone has your number they can call or text u. What difference does having u in as a contact in whatsapp make

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 12:32 pm

Mg your issue with viber proves one of my points exactly. With bbm you don't add anyone you don't want and others can't easily add you either. You won't be bothered with any of those annoying so and so has joined viber msgs either.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 12:37 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Privacy does not simply extend to dick pics. There are times where unsolicited persons have added contacts simply because they obtained your phone number. Insurance agents for example add your number on their phone and you are now a contact in whatsapp.

And?
If someone has your number they can call or text u. What difference does having u in as a contact in whatsapp make

When persons have more direct access to you they do tend to try to contact you more. An agent can be more inclined to contact you via whatsapp vs texting as they can see activity on the account. No I am not going to change how I use whatsapp but would just use a program that is inherently designed differently.

So far I haven't seen an argument for using whatsapp over bbm but rather attempts to not use bbm with no reasons given. Yes or am I misinterpreting?

Postby S_2NR » October 15th, 2013, 12:40 pm

Assuming you are correct..U do know u can block people on whatsapp right?

My issue is u seem to believe whatsapp is different to texting someone. Its almost the same just one is over the internet.

That said, why is bbm necessary?

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Mg your issue with viber proves one of my points exactly. With bbm you don't add anyone you don't want and others can't easily add you either. You won't be bothered with any of those annoying so and so has joined viber msgs either.

lol none of them send me any messages (I not very friendly)
Just funny how so many of the 'ay why yuh eh join whatsapp / bbm' crowd who used to ask why I have this viber thing are now on the viber bandwagon.............still doh see what's the big hurrah over BBM when there are other ways to send messages
Bunny, what secrets yuh have to hid so?
*stalker mode engaged*

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Lol lol
I have viber as well. My issue with the messaging programs was that they were very fragmented. Bbm was the first one that came on all blackberries. Android and iPhone users have had to basically ask people to install specific programs as opposed to just saying hey u have x? Add me.

Having used a few I prefer bbm over them all but I was never saying the others shouldn't be used. To me bbm is all what the others are plus more so why settle for second best.

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 12:55 pm

never had a blackberry :-p

Postby S_2NR » October 15th, 2013, 1:26 pm

Everyone is on whatsapp now. Bbm is a little late. And couple that with blackberry just being blackberry, I'll pass.

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 3:00 pm

I not on whatsapp :-p

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 17th, 2013, 10:15 am

Not sure if this was asked before on this thread.
Can a normal bmobile blackberry 4G plan work on a blackberry 10 device?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » October 17th, 2013, 10:20 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:Not sure if this was asked before on this thread.
Can a normal bmobile blackberry 4G plan work on a blackberry 10 device?

Once it's a full data plan and not just a social plan, should work fine.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2013, 12:33 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 21st, 2013, 12:53 pm

About time!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 21st, 2013, 2:43 pm

It works great! Love it already.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2013, 2:50 pm

it's available now for both iOS and Android

use your phone's browser and go to bbm.com to access the download

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 21st, 2013, 2:59 pm

Nah. Image

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 21st, 2013, 2:59 pm

Was very easy to start up and switch devices.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2013, 3:03 pm

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 21st, 2013, 3:08 pm

Yeah, getting thru now...

wheelbarrow