iM@st@1

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » January 26th, 2012, 11:35 am

jm3 wrote:
HCCA wrote:
jm3 wrote:don't for get ambient air temperature in trinidad is higher than when they test the cards in the states so it is harder to get low temps in trinidad unless you have ac and even in ac its actually warm in comparison 16 degrees is a nice day elsewhere lol

True eh. Usually they test around 22-25 degrees C ambient temps.

That's why i went full gpu/cpu liquid cooling on my desktops, caribbean weather ftw :lol:

No a/c either.

boy get some a/c liquid cooling is just more efficient at getting down to ambient you can't cool past ambient without some kind of sorcery like a phase change unit or a peltier the best oc's i ever got were at home in the winter and having to wear a coat in my bedroom all the time lol

I think once you have a case with excellent cooling (maybe a lil A/c too) WC isn't entirely necessary these days, & cases are becoming more & more efficient at this. I just want to get a H100 & thas it. Always been getting excellent temps with them ATI cards. Jus got another 6870 for crossfire so will monitoring the diff. in temps if any. I find these days the weather nice & cool tho. Makes having a fan not so bad :lol:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 26th, 2012, 12:58 pm

jm3 wrote:
HCCA wrote:
jm3 wrote:don't for get ambient air temperature in trinidad is higher than when they test the cards in the states so it is harder to get low temps in trinidad unless you have ac and even in ac its actually warm in comparison 16 degrees is a nice day elsewhere lol

True eh. Usually they test around 22-25 degrees C ambient temps.

That's why i went full gpu/cpu liquid cooling on my desktops, caribbean weather ftw :lol:

No a/c either.

boy get some a/c
Probably if i was ah eskimo immigrant i woulda need a/c :lol:

liquid cooling is just more efficient at getting down to ambient you can't cool past ambient without some kind of sorcery like a phase change unit or a peltier the best oc's i ever got were at home in the winter and having to wear a coat in my bedroom all the time lol

I doh actually need the liquid cooling eh, only when i wanna overclock/benchmark it comes in handy. And that isn't very often.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 26th, 2012, 7:42 pm

I luv this fackin game

check this out

http://www.battlefield.com/battlefield3 ... ttlefield3

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » January 27th, 2012, 2:20 pm

^^^ i love it too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 28th, 2012, 12:07 pm

Hmmmmmm

xaira

Postby xaira » January 28th, 2012, 2:33 pm

jumpkick like you give the man ah idea there, i just worried the mem might get hot bacause no incidental airflow

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 28th, 2012, 11:55 pm

well i am completely water cooled. but nothing like a good mod!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 29th, 2012, 12:43 am

those mods are sick...! men use tiestraps to fasten the heatsink... seems legit..

Postby M_2NR » January 29th, 2012, 1:11 am

great so newegg canceling orders again.. where duane...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 29th, 2012, 1:28 am

Closed loop systems suck compared to opened loop systems....I say if you're gonna liquid cool a GPU go opened loop

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 29th, 2012, 8:17 am

gracen wrote:Closed loop systems suck compared to opened loop systems....I say if you're gonna liquid cool a GPU go opened loop

Care to elaborate?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 29th, 2012, 10:37 am

^^ was wonder the same thing HCCA... gracen? explain please..

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 29th, 2012, 11:33 am

Most Open loop systems i've seen dwarfed the Closed loop systems. Take for example Corsair's systems. Shake the radiator and you'll get an idea of how much Coolant is in it actually. The reservoirs in opened loop systems contain a greater vol. of coolant. It's obvious that it's gonna work better. You'll be having more liquid taking away heat from whatever you're cooling. What about the opened reservoir systems as well? They allow the heat to escape....better cooling

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 29th, 2012, 5:16 pm

i been researching building a pc inside a mini fridge that would be baws.

xaira

Postby xaira » January 29th, 2012, 5:36 pm

i had thought about it, but aparently condensation becomes a real issue, also putting a water cooling rad in a fridge...its all condensation

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 29th, 2012, 7:14 pm

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 29th, 2012, 9:54 pm

Yeh thats a phase change system i had looked into that 2 years ago the OCZ CRYO-Z,
but its a lot of work, especially protecting it from condensation,
in Trinidads environment it would get very wet with the high humidity and well as you know water doesn't mix well with electronics you have to insulate the back of the mobo and cover all exposed conductive parts with silicone but you can get around -10 with them there like the next step down from c02 and LN2 pots.
i wanted to fully house the pc inside a refrigerator,
the guys on overclock.net that had tried doing it had run into problems with the total TDP of the pc system and finding a fridge that could counter it, basically the pc was heating the fridge instead of the fridge cooling the pc lol.

Postby ismithx » January 31st, 2012, 9:21 pm

So whais allyuh gaming achievements???

Lets see:
NFS Most wanted: reversed into the finish line in front of my opponents
Halo 1 online: Rolling Riot
Unreal Tournament: shot down a Redeemer shell coming at me.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 31st, 2012, 9:52 pm

In case your interested, Amazon has a huge sale on downloadable pc games today:

Alice: Madness Returns ($7.49)
ANNO 2070 ($34.99)
Battlefield Bad Company 2 ($7.99)
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Vietnam - Expansion [Online Game Code] ($7.99)
Bulletstorm ($7.99)
Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box ($5.00)
Civilization IV and V - Pack ($17.98)
Crysis Maximum Edition ($8.99)
Crysis 2 ($9.99)
Dead Space ($5.00)
Dead Space 2 ($7.99)
Darkspore ($7.99)
Dragon Age Pack ($11.99)
Dragon Age Pack [Mac] ($11.99)
Duke Nukem Forever [Mac] ($5.00)
Medal of Honor ($7.99)
Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit ($7.99)
Sid Meiers Civilization IV: The Complete Edition ($8.99)
Sid Meier's Civilization V ($8.99)
Spore ($7.99)
Spore [Mac] ($7.99)

Postby bushwakka » January 31st, 2012, 10:36 pm

jm3 wrote:Yeh thats a phase change system i had looked into that 2 years ago the OCZ CRYO-Z,
but its a lot of work, especially protecting it from condensation,
in Trinidads environment it would get very wet with the high humidity and well as you know water doesn't mix well with electronics you have to insulate the back of the mobo and cover all exposed conductive parts with silicone but you can get around -10 with them there like the next step down from c02 and LN2 pots.
i wanted to fully house the pc inside a refrigerator,
the guys on overclock.net that had tried doing it had run into problems with the total TDP of the pc system and finding a fridge that could counter it, basically the pc was heating the fridge instead of the fridge cooling the pc lol.

orrrrr....get rid of the moisture inside the case, by:
1. Either use some sort of drying system to let only dry air in
2. Vacuum seal the case (would require special manfr)
3. Use a gas (like nitrogen) which would displace the air and keep the case sealed against leaks

jinx1218

Postby jinx1218 » February 1st, 2012, 10:58 am

Tryna build up a PC...buying the parts piece by piece...here's what I have so far:

GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004RF ... 01_details

Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB DDR3:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004RF ... 01_details

NZXT Lexa Black/ Silver Aluminum TX Mid Tower Computer Case:

...need suggestions for processor, graphics card power supply etc..

casper

Postby casper » February 1st, 2012, 11:05 am

^^^corsair 750w, amd x6 phenom II :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 1st, 2012, 11:15 am

jinx1218 wrote:...need suggestions for processor, graphics card power supply etc..

CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1055T or 1090T
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6950 2Gb or NVidia GTX 560Ti
PSU: Corsair TX750w

If u wanna buy the new AMD FX cpus, don't.

Cuz you'll get fedup and want to go sandy bridge instead. :lol:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 1st, 2012, 12:41 pm

HCCA wrote:
jinx1218 wrote:...need suggestions for processor, graphics card power supply etc..

CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1055T or 1090T
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7950 3Gb :evilbat:
PSU: Corsair TX750w

If u wanna buy the new AMD FX cpus, don't.

Cuz you'll get fedup and want to go sandy bridge instead. :lol:

Driven

Postby Driven » February 1st, 2012, 2:04 pm

Purpose of PC? (workstation, gaming, photo editing?)
Budget?
Any Brand Preferences? (Intel or AMD? Nvidia or ATI? Aftermarket components?)
What resolution of monitor will you be using the PC for?

jinx1218

Postby jinx1218 » February 1st, 2012, 2:17 pm

Driven wrote:Purpose of PC? (workstation, gaming, photo editing?)
Budget?
Any Brand Preferences? (Intel or AMD? Nvidia or ATI? Aftermarket components?)
What resolution of monitor will you be using the PC for?

Well I am really building the PC as a hobby (just started building basic ones last year). So this one really has no specific purpose. I will be gaming but not often, and I also do video editing.

I am sticking with AMD... and I want to have 2 monitors attached (22" LCD).
I'm new to this so forgive me- just excited to have a great system for myself! Well budget is negotiable but modest- I'm buying parts one at time to make sure I get it right the first time :)

Driven

Postby Driven » February 1st, 2012, 2:28 pm

may I ask why AMD?
Like the other tuners highlighted, Sandy Bridges (and lewwe not even start on Ivy Bridges) outshine Bulldozer and previous AMD chips completely for ~$30 USD more. It's much more worthwhile from a price/performance standpoint to go Intel.

The new 7970(~$580) and 7950(~450) ATI cards are fantastic from what I've been seeing in reviews so far and are more than capable of handling a dual monitor Eyefinity setup.

casper

Postby casper » February 1st, 2012, 2:31 pm

^^^nice...only problem with buying things one @ a time though is a GPU u'd buy now and rest down will be easily outdated a year from now when u finish gather all ur stuff...i realise GPUs are the fastest hardware to become outdated so i suggest u buy that piece last...PSU and CPU and MOBO is basically u buy what u want...u have a 1200W or a 750W corsair now....it will still be great next 3- 5 years....PSU is PSU...get good RAM now u wont need to REALLY upgrade ur RAM in a hurry...get the best MOBO that u can afford that goes with ur chip....etc etc...

in short just buy the GPU last lolz

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 1st, 2012, 2:50 pm

casper wrote:in short just buy the GPU last lolz

Get a 7950/70 bro, if you could, with that card you pretty much future proof for a good while. It will handle your dual/triple monitor setup with ease, & any game coming on the market right now. Get one fa me too :lol: