The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

ZeroOne

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby ZeroOne » August 2nd, 2012, 3:04 pm

Ok I dont have any issues with any of those. Ill pass on this update.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 2nd, 2012, 3:10 pm

How unsafe is triangle away? I rooted and I'm wondering if I need to send it in for warranty if I should use that.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 2nd, 2012, 4:14 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:How unsafe is triangle away? I rooted and I'm wondering if I need to send it in for warranty if I should use that.

I have used it many times on the S2

But if you are careful and always make backups, you should only have to use it once

Follow instructions, and all should be well

Postby DVSTT » August 2nd, 2012, 4:30 pm

Want to root acer iconia a500, its running stock ICS. How do I root it? Also once I root it, can I go back to stock?

achillies

Postby achillies » August 2nd, 2012, 6:15 pm

DVSTT wrote:Want to root acer iconia a500, its running stock ICS. How do I root it? Also once I root it, can I go back to stock?

Go here, should find all the relevant info

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1133

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 2nd, 2012, 7:57 pm

I don't like how Samsung just pushed an update without notifying the user exactly what this update is about.

Don't want to end up like some s2 users who got bricked after updating.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 2nd, 2012, 8:01 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:How unsafe is triangle away? I rooted and I'm wondering if I need to send it in for warranty if I should use that.

But if you are careful and always make backups, you should only have to use it once

Heard there was a risk of bricking the phone rendering it unusable. It'd be in need of a motherboard replacement, that's true?

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2012, 8:03 pm

Well just replacement of the ROM chip if you can solder. But if you follow instructions to the letter, nothing going to happen. It's just a disclaimer so you can't blame them if something happens. Things go wrong when people don't follow the instructions properly, or unplug during flashing, etc.

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 11:28 am

achillies wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Want to root acer iconia a500, its running stock ICS. How do I root it? Also once I root it, can I go back to stock?

Go here, should find all the relevant info

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1133

Thanks!

Was looking at this also

Postby Stephon. » August 3rd, 2012, 6:41 pm

I think I'm doing it wrong.

If you had a sim in a blackberry before switching it to an android phonw // do I needs to call bmobile and tell them so they could adjust my account from blackberry or something???

I dunno but I'm realizing that now I'm not able to do a single thing (not even go on Google) unless I'm on wifi. Its kinda annoying.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 3rd, 2012, 7:30 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

Heard there was a risk of bricking the phone rendering it unusable. It'd be in need of a motherboard replacement, that's true?

I haven't heard any reports of that, but given the nature of the app and what it actually does, and also that there is a warning from the developer himself that you can brick, I wouldn't doubt it

achillies

Postby achillies » August 3rd, 2012, 7:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:I think I'm doing it wrong.

If you had a sim in a blackberry before switching it to an android phonw // do I needs to call bmobile and tell them so they could adjust my account from blackberry or something???

I dunno but I'm realizing that now I'm not able to do a single thing (not even go on Google) unless I'm on wifi. Its kinda annoying.

Bmobile has been busy patching those exploits, maybe that is causing the issue you are having

If you are willing to pay the price for unlimited EDGE, call them and inquire

Postby S_2NR » August 3rd, 2012, 10:20 pm

Stephon. wrote:I think I'm doing it wrong.

my edge down too

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » August 3rd, 2012, 10:58 pm

Today I got an S2, they changed my 'blackberry' $99 data plan to a $150 android package, claiming that one data plan does not work with the other. So sadly I cant revert back to the BB in a pinch

Postby Trini Hookah » August 3rd, 2012, 10:59 pm

^What's that package like? If you don't mind me asking.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » August 4th, 2012, 4:26 am

Ahhhhh, I don't have firm details, as I didn't get any documentation with that plan today (the details will appear in the next bill) but it was the most basic personal data package, not even the "4G" service, I think with the same 100mins and 30sms as the basic bbry package, so $75 + 150 +vat.

Ill tell you the Digicel setup which is better: They got the S2 for $1399 postpaid on an 18 month contract, with the smaller data package being 500sms, 500minutes, and 1GB of the 4G service for ~$345 a month. http://www.digiceltt.com/en/postpaid/di ... id_tariffs

Kukka

Postby Kukka » August 4th, 2012, 5:28 am

Just to update you guys. I went into Bmobile Trincity branch friday. I returned the black S2 I got as a replacement for my initial faulty device. I was given a new white S2 this time around. Dealth with the branch manager. She confirmed that the black S2's they have in stock are not updating to ICS, trying at least 2 of the black S2's they have in stock. However the white S2's are updating so I took one.

Zero you seem to be right about the region thing. Their black S2 doesn't seem intended for this region. Other customers that got black S2's from them should please be advised that you will void warranty "according to the branch manager" if you update the operating system of the S2's not using normal methods (OTA or KEIS)

Just goes to show with a little patience, you get things done. I plan to update both TATT and TSTT complaints on the matter and press further, because besides this scenerio that played off with me, I also got terrible customer service from that branch.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 4th, 2012, 10:45 am

Anyone installed asphalt 7 on their s3 as yet?

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2012, 12:17 pm

Kukka wrote:Just to update you guys. I went into Bmobile Trincity branch friday. I returned the black S2 I got as a replacement for my initial faulty device. I was given a new white S2 this time around. Dealth with the branch manager. She confirmed that the black S2's they have in stock are not updating to ICS, trying at least 2 of the black S2's they have in stock. However the white S2's are updating so I took one.

Zero you seem to be right about the region thing. Their black S2 doesn't seem intended for this region. Other customers that got black S2's from them should please be advised that you will void warranty "according to the branch manager" if you update the operating system of the S2's not using normal methods (OTA or KEIS)

Just goes to show with a little patience, you get things done. I plan to update both TATT and TSTT complaints on the matter and press further, because besides this scenerio that played off with me, I also got terrible customer service from that branch.

*just saying, Duane doe ban meh*
Last time I dealth with that branch I switched to Digicel :lol:
I admire your patience.

Kukka

Postby Kukka » August 4th, 2012, 12:32 pm

I will still shop at the branch, I'm just educating users and even TSTT themselves of the issue with a product. Branch manager assured me, she wasn't aware and thanked me for bringing this to their attention. With jellybean around now, who wants to be stuck on gingerbread os? :)

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2012, 12:39 pm

Kukka wrote:I will still shop at the branch, I'm just educating users and even TSTT themselves of the issue with a product. Branch manager assured me, she wasn't aware and thanked me for bringing this to their attention. With jellybean around now, who wants to be stuck on gingerbread os? :)

i was talking about the service you got that branch lol. I'm glad you alerted them about the difference in phone type. I'm guessing the black ones they have now is the i9100g.

I guess I'll see next week which one digicel sells.

Postby S_2NR » August 4th, 2012, 4:23 pm

All that drama when yu coulda just flash d dam thing urself. Allyu men different oui :lol:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 4th, 2012, 8:21 pm

bassotronics wrote:Anyone installed asphalt 7 on their s3 as yet?

Gonna try that tonight.

S_2NR wrote::rofl:
All that drama when yu coulda just flash d dam thing urself. Allyu men different oui :lol:

LOL same thing I thought. Two clicks in Odin and ur done :/ the white is nicer though.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 4th, 2012, 8:37 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:

Gonna try that tonight.

Great, let me know if you get through with it. Reason I asked is because I downloaded the apk and installed it, it installed properly and downloaded the game files properly, but anytime the game starts, it crashes and returns to the homescreen :(

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 4th, 2012, 8:57 pm

bassotronics wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

Gonna try that tonight.

Great, let me know if you get through with it. Reason I asked is because I downloaded the apk and installed it, it installed properly and downloaded the game files properly, but anytime the game starts, it crashes and returns to the homescreen :(

And that is the reason I hate having processors that aren't Tegras lol. Happened a million times with my S2. I'm rooted so if that happens I'll see if chainfire has any fixes in store for this one too. I'll post back tonight.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 5th, 2012, 12:37 am

Totally new to smartphones. I've been using me-toos for years now (pretty happily). The Galaxy Note is the only smartphone that's made me seriously consider upgrading. So here's the thing:

Is there any catch with the Note on sale in Digicel? Is it a refurb, a weaker version, software-limited in some way, or anything else I should consider? Alyuh know the scene, so help me out. If it's some sort of trap, I'll keep my me-too save my money for a Nexus 7. If it's a good buy, I think I'll be getting one.

Consensus?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 5th, 2012, 7:06 am

^ You do know that the Nexus 7 is just a tablet and not a phone right? You're probably referring the the Galaxy Nexus. If you can wait and can afford it, then yea go for the Galaxy Nexus and get JB.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 5th, 2012, 11:22 am

Yeah, I know. I want a tablet and I need a phone, so a Nexus 7 and a me-too are best of both worlds.

But a Note is supposed to be that too, so I'm considering it.

Is the Digi Note legit, or is there a catch?

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » August 5th, 2012, 9:30 pm

i got one of the samsung galaxy ace 2 from bmobile. i tried flashing to remove the network lock. I was only able to root the phone. anyone knows how to unlock it?

stretch

Postby stretch » August 5th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Looked around the play store for a keyboard app for the s3 because i was annoyed with the stock version. Downloaded swift key 3. Great app.