The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby mero » August 15th, 2020, 12:17 pm

Lol so zoom this is my last post last less than an hour?

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 12:20 pm

President speaks on status of PM, ministers

The Office of the President (OTP) is seeking to clarify the procedure that follows a general election.

This follows misinformation being spread on social media regarding the current status of the prime minister, ministers and other Members of Parliament.

President Paula-Mae Weekes said in a statement that the process to appoint or reappoint a prime minister and Ministers of Government along with the Senate president and House Speaker lies in the constitution.

She noted:

“Prime Minister (Section 77)

After any dissolution of Parliament, the prime minister vacates office only after he is informed by the president that he is to be re-appointed or that she is appointing someone else as prime minister.

Ministers of Government (Section 77)

Ministers vacate office only after any person is appointed or re-appointed as prime minister.

President of the Senate (Section 45)

The president of the Senate remains Senate president after the dissolution of Parliament until the Senate first meets after that dissolution. At that first meeting, the Senators will elect a President from among themselves.

Speaker of the House (Section 50)

The Speaker of the House remains Speaker after the dissolution of Parliament until the House of Representatives first meets after that dissolution. At that first meeting, the members of the House will elect a Speaker from among themselves.”

The OTP said it hoped the information puts to rest any unease felt by citizens.

Source: http://www.looptt.com/content/president ... -ministers

Postby eliteauto » August 15th, 2020, 12:27 pm

UNC to host a press conference shortly

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 12:34 pm

mero wrote:Lol so zoom this is my last post last less than an hour?
Because it was in the Covid Chead and the mods moved it over here

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2020, 12:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:UNC to host a press conference shortly

Finally gonna concede????

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 12:52 pm

UNC Press Release - 15th August 2020

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 15th, 2020, 12:52 pm

The man in the UNC press conference speaking some sense there.

VII

Postby VII » August 15th, 2020, 1:02 pm

Frigging go allyuh way,all that bull talk,sore losers...
Last edited by VII on August 15th, 2020, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 1:03 pm

UNC so inept they can't even fold the blasted tablecloth when they put it away.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 15th, 2020, 1:03 pm

I wonder what they really planning for....another election?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2020, 1:04 pm

Agree or disagree?

BC Pires - YOU KNOW your week’s not going to end well when, on Monday, Africans and Indians in Trinidad & Tobago are furiously spitting accusations of racism at one another and, on Tuesday, a white American, Democratic presidential nominee, Joe Biden, chooses a dougla woman, Kamala Harris, as his vice-presidential nominee.

The irony becomes steely when you consider that this is place that coined the word, “dougla” to describe the child born of an African and an Indian person making love to one another!
You think, well, what’s the firetrucking point of being Trinbagonian any more? Look, you best tell David Rudder to firetruck away with the Ganges & the Nile, yes.
The great Lloyd Best, who was right about more or less everything while he was alive (and was more or less ignored by policymakers for the same period), recognised race was a legitimate basis for political organisation in newly-Independent Trinidad &Tobago.
Our problem is that, in near 60 years of Independence, we never laid anything more upon that foundation: our whole political building, every block, every trowel-full of mortar, every lintel, the ring beam and the roof, all is race.
And, if you try to build an institution on racial politics, all you end up doing is institutionalising racism.
So you didn’t need to be a political seer-man to predict either the PNM or the UNC would win this week’s election. The 17 other parties/people who contributed to the coffers of the Elections & Boundaries Commission were only extras, no matter how many thought they would become stars.
And it was safer to put your money on the PNM getting to 21 seats ahead of the UNC. The PNM has got out its unfailing 28 per cent of the electorate to put an X next to the balisier every election since 1956; especially in a pandemic, PNM supporters personify “diehard”. Additionally, low voter turnouts usually favour the incumbent, and “it had pandemic” this week.
Again, the UNC political leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, whom I like personally, added much more bacchanal than substance to the debate. The blank man feeling to party in the covid19-free sunshine and thing. It was not so much debate as picong, and pretty ineffective picong at that.
Not that the “debate” had any meaning at all, for debates only matter if someone is likely to be persuaded to change his or her mind, and we have more swing bridges than swing voters in Trinidad.
Here, political party loyalists are not so much PNM-til-Ah-dead as PNM/UNC-from-birth-in-Belmont/Barrackpore.
Monday’s proceedings, then, were not so much an election as a probably more accurate count than any census of how many Africans and Indian voters are registered in every constituency.
For nearly 60 years, two full anthropological generations, either the Indian or the African party in Trinidad has won the election, with the single exception in 1986 of the National Alliance for Reconstruction, Lloyd Best’s “party of parties”, and even that quickly revealed itself to be nothing more than a drunken punch-up at a wedding (to borrow from Radiohead).
Fully 19 parties or independent candidates took part in Monday’s exercise and, for 17 of them, the day and week would end even worse than it did for Trinidad & Tobago, shown up as racist opportunists by the American Democratic Party.
The older masochists — David Abdullah of the Movement for Social Justice, Steve Alvarez of the Democratic Party of T&T, Garvin Nicholas of the Movement for Something Else, Carolyn Sepersad-Bachan of the Congress of No People — have developed scar tissue, but you had to feel sorry for Kirk Waithe of the National Organisation of We the People, who found out on Monday night what Jamal Shabazz, one of the 114 Jamaat “soldiers” of the 1990 attempted coup, discovered when he contested a Parliamentary seat in Morvant/Laventille.
“You is one o’ we,” they told Jamal. “You take bullet for we! We would never vote for nobody but you! You is we boy!” Etc etc, ad lib, fade.
Jamal gave himself up for his people, like Taffy of VS Naipaul and Earl Lovelace novels fame.
He lost his deposit.
The lesson of the week, then, for those who really want to start a third political party in Trinidad & Tobago, is dead simple:
Start a new race.
Or get out of the electoral one.
In Trinidad & Tobago, no matter how we party at fetes, at elections, Indians vote for the Indian party and Africans vote for the African party.
And the douglas could haul they arse to the US and vote for Kamala, not Kamla.

BC Pires is staining his finger red only for pepper mango

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 1:05 pm

and whyyyyyyyyyy TF they not wearing masks and sitting so close!!
WTF who want these people in Government?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:and whyyyyyyyyyy TF they not wearing masks and sitting so close!!

310,000 people apparently.

VII

Postby VII » August 15th, 2020, 1:18 pm

Ent de figures wrong..

Kewell35 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:and whyyyyyyyyyy TF they not wearing masks and sitting so close!!

310,000 people apparently.
Last edited by VII on August 15th, 2020, 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 1:19 pm

DUE PROCESS IN ALL MATTERS IS OUR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT AS CITIZENS - DO NOT BE INFLUENCED OR BULLIED BY MISLEADING PROPAGANDA

by Kamla Persad Bissessar.

Good morning, everyone.

The UNC called for recounts following numerous allegations of serious discrepancies in Monday’s polls. This is our Constitutional right and a VALID part of T&T’s democratic election process

Further, because of the unprecedented absence of independent election observers, it is our duty to ensure that the elections were, at all costs, conducted in a free and fair manner. The fact remains that, despite this, the country STILL HAS a functioning Government.

As the Office of the President noted earlier this week, under Section 77 of the Constitution, the incumbent Prime Minister and his Cabinet—in this case PM Rowley and his Ministers—remain in office until a new Government is sworn in.

Due process in all matters is our Constitutional right as citizens. Anyone seeking to mislead the population, therefore, stands guilty of attempting to seriously undermine our democratic liberties

This is in particular reference to one of the Government's very public supporters suddenly emerging to falsely and mischievously blame the UNC in the wake of the sudden, alarming increase in Covid-19 cases.

Essentially, this person is misleadingly contending that the ongoing election recounts in five marginal constituencies are preventing the Rowley Government from managing the Covid-19 crisis.

The public placed an enormous trust in the Government since being told by them to expect a second wave of Covid-19. It is vital that that trust is met with openness and transparency about any mistakes and decisions that have been made.
What exactly were their plans and strategy for handling and abating a second wave. What is their excuse for the past five months, when they deviously deliberately under-tested the population to hide the true, alarming spread of the disease?

Coronavirus is a national emergency. Everyone is anxious about what the next few months will bring, but we know we must be resolute in our determination to see this virus defeated.
The incumbent Health Minister remains legally empowered to implement any relevant decisions on all matters, including Covid-19.

I therefore reiterate that the UNC will NOT be bullied or intimidated by dangerous, dictatorial, misleading propaganda

We are committed to always fiercely preserving and protecting our citizens’ and nation’s cherished democratic rights at all costs, and I urge all right-thinking citizens to do the same.

Stay safe and God bless.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/KamlaPersadBis ... 253829798/

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2020, 1:20 pm

Skanky wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Kamla really needs to concede this and stop these games. We have to move on. We are facing a crisis and we need a Cabinet. In any other circumstances i would find this entertaining and laugh at the egg on her face when the results are declared. But Kamla holding the country hostage right now over an issue that she knows she is wrong about. She knows she lost. A recount can't change thousands of votes.

What's sad is that she is still surrounded by the weak yes men in the party who say they supporting her fully, so she believes it and will follow through. She is blind to the fact that the people of TT, through popular vote too, voted against her rather than for another party than the PNM.

Meanwhile more people are getting infected and more people die.

Pnm fighting for the win to come in and thief.
Unc fighting for the win to come in and thief.
You interested in Covid and ultimately you and yours.
The common theme is everybody only cares about themselves and their friends and family, you included.
You are being hypocritical.

politics have a morality of its own. if you have to sleep with the devil which devil would you sleep with? the devil you know or the devil you dont know ? indian will sleep with the unc devil cause they know the indian mentality, negros will sleep with a negro devil cause that is who they know. the bible said god made man in his own image so by that statement y is there plenty different races ? is there plenty different god that each race should be praying to? or is it that man will pray and be comfortable with god in their image of white, black ,yellow ? y is there pictures of white jesus and black jesus ? religion an politics make men divided so if everyone put god and politics out of their thoughs the would might be a better place, IDK jus saying, not intended to be racial or taking sides, just my thoughts.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 1:20 pm

Watching this conference, it unfortunalely seems this Election fraud was very real. Extremely disappointing if true.

Also, to those bad talking the UNC over this, please realize that while you and I may not support them, these are some serious allegations that need to be investigated.

One then cannot call them sore losers or holding back Covid related issues when it was infact Rowley who should have locked down weeks ago did not.

He is still PM and he could have done so any time this week.

Remove your biases, if UNC was the incumbent and this happened, bet your bottom dollar the uproad from PNM supporters would be 10x this.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on August 15th, 2020, 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » August 15th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Everyone knew they would cry fraud..these people are dangerous...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2020, 1:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:DUE PROCESS IN ALL MATTERS IS OUR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT AS CITIZENS - DO NOT BE INFLUENCED OR BULLIED BY MISLEADING PROPAGANDA

by Kamla Persad Bissessar.

Good morning, everyone.

The UNC called for recounts following numerous allegations of serious discrepancies in Monday’s polls. This is our Constitutional right and a VALID part of T&T’s democratic election process

Further, because of the unprecedented absence of independent election observers, it is our duty to ensure that the elections were, at all costs, conducted in a free and fair manner. The fact remains that, despite this, the country STILL HAS a functioning Government.

As the Office of the President noted earlier this week, under Section 77 of the Constitution, the incumbent Prime Minister and his Cabinet—in this case PM Rowley and his Ministers—remain in office until a new Government is sworn in.

Due process in all matters is our Constitutional right as citizens. Anyone seeking to mislead the population, therefore, stands guilty of attempting to seriously undermine our democratic liberties

This is in particular reference to one of the Government's very public supporters suddenly emerging to falsely and mischievously blame the UNC in the wake of the sudden, alarming increase in Covid-19 cases.

Essentially, this person is misleadingly contending that the ongoing election recounts in five marginal constituencies are preventing the Rowley Government from managing the Covid-19 crisis.

The public placed an enormous trust in the Government since being told by them to expect a second wave of Covid-19. It is vital that that trust is met with openness and transparency about any mistakes and decisions that have been made.
What exactly were their plans and strategy for handling and abating a second wave. What is their excuse for the past five months, when they deviously deliberately under-tested the population to hide the true, alarming spread of the disease?

Coronavirus is a national emergency. Everyone is anxious about what the next few months will bring, but we know we must be resolute in our determination to see this virus defeated.
The incumbent Health Minister remains legally empowered to implement any relevant decisions on all matters, including Covid-19.

I therefore reiterate that the UNC will NOT be bullied or intimidated by dangerous, dictatorial, misleading propaganda

We are committed to always fiercely preserving and protecting our citizens’ and nation’s cherished democratic rights at all costs, and I urge all right-thinking citizens to do the same.

Stay safe and God bless.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/KamlaPersadBis ... 253829798/

where was section 77 when robbie gave mannin the govt in 2000 or 2001? kams is a senior council an attorney general she should have known the law then, she should have know observers are free to the state and she could have invited them and done, but i still think both sides playin we for fools an in the background all dem bubbling a pot and laughing. i feel both sides wanted to loose as the country broke. 5 years an the piano man still free, 15 years or so and the sunway man still free, y d insurance billionaire still free, y d 2 million $ flag man still free, y d 6 million $ firetruck man still free. them feel we is fools and we showing them we are.
Last edited by screwbash on August 15th, 2020, 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2020, 1:25 pm

The question asked by one reporter was "If the time was extended why did the UNC people leave?"
Was that question answered?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 1:26 pm

VII wrote:Everyone knew they would cry fraud..these people are dangerous...

Sigh and what if there was fraud?

I can tell you for a FACT that there was some fraud in Toco PDs where persons were allowed to vote on behalf of others and the UNC rep was bullied into allowing it. That UNC person made a note of it in her diary, but because it was only 15 votes and her safety is at question, it was not brought up officially.

I don't support UNC, not this UNC at least (though i did vote for them). But the bias in people's responses are rediculous. If there was fraud, even if PNM would have won still, that should NEVER happen nor be allowed in a democracy.

Let them investigate please, this is for the betterment of our future more than you'd think.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on August 15th, 2020, 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 1:27 pm

Pnm would have done the same thing if unc was in power.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 15th, 2020, 1:29 pm

Hope EBC continues the recount with or without UNC present. If UNC can't find time to stay for the recount clearly their objective is to delay. UNC really desperate and grasping at straws.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 1:30 pm

Rowley up next? Nice of UNC to finish right before he starts his.

$100 he late as usual

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 1:31 pm

Although I'm giving the benefit of the doubt that the PNM won, by observers not being here and Rowley not showing the correspondence that the observers can't be here because of covid, funding etc, an avenue was opened for this debacle to take place mischief or not by the UNC.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 15th, 2020, 1:32 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Hope EBC continues the recount with or without UNC present. If UNC can't find time to stay for the recount clearly their objective is to delay. UNC really desperate and grasping at straws.

If was my constituency the recount was being done for and i was certain dem votes incorrect, i would have made it my business to sit it through unless some emergency came up. You telling me all UNC reps left? Steups

VII

Postby VII » August 15th, 2020, 1:43 pm

Youre and asss or a marble? When has PNM never bowed out gracefully after a defeat ? You wanna replace history with your stupidity ? Ok let's do that yaaaay!!! Dingbat..

aaron17 wrote:Pnm would have done the same thing if unc was in power.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 15th, 2020, 1:45 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

I can tell you for a FACT that there was some fraud in Toco PDs where persons were allowed to vote on behalf of others and the UNC rep was bullied into allowing it. That UNC person made a note of it in her diary, but because it was only 15 votes and her safety is at question, it was not brought up officially.

I don't support UNC, not this UNC at least (though i did vote for them). But the bias in people's responses are rediculous. If there was fraud, even if PNM would have won still, that should NEVER happen nor be allowed in a democracy.

Let them investigate please, this is for the betterment of our future more than you'd think.

UNC rep getting bullied when there are police officers at each polling division.

Cool story bro

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 1:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The question asked by one reporter was "If the time was extended why did the UNC people leave?"
Was that question answered?

Apparently there was consensus among the Returning officer of the EBC, PNM reps and UNC reps for the counting to be done between the hours of 9-5. PNM reps made the suggestion to the presiding officer for the time to be extended seemingly without UNC reps present. The presiding officer agreed and the recount was restarted at 6pm and ended 11pm without UNC reps present.

I said seemingly because i'm not clear if the suggestion to continue recounts from 6-11 was made when UNC reps was present or not. If the UNC reps was present and said no, the process will be resumed from 9 to 5 the next day. Even if UNC reps were not present when the suggestion was made, you cannot continue a recount without consensus from UNC reps and without their presence.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 1:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

UNC rep getting bullied when there are police officers at each polling division.

Cool story bro

Lol 100% true son, police allowed it she said