Postby pioneer » July 25th, 2014, 11:32 pm

^^^get the monoprice one's then

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby X_Factor » July 25th, 2014, 11:49 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Cerwin-VE5M-Watts ... f+speakers

http://www.amazon.com/Cerwin-Vega-Chann ... DWCY0CYGN9

that will be exactly within budget and based on online reviews, that combo should rock!

Humes

Postby Humes » July 26th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Cool.

But first...how is this Polk center?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 26th, 2014, 10:54 pm

The issue with the new B52s was a tweeter adjustment. A resistor had to be changed to a lower value on the passive crossover, the tweeter was too attenuated. Also the new ones were not stuffed as much as the old.

Postby X_Factor » July 26th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Humes wrote:Cool.

its also a good choice for the price, just make sure and get L/R that will match it properly

Zim

Postby Zim » July 27th, 2014, 4:38 pm

Humes wrote:New. I'm not an audiophile, but I appreciate good sound quality with my movies. As I said before, clear dialogue is important. I'll also be playing games on the system, so there's that. I doh even know what vintage is.

Nothing too much over $100USD per pair/center.

Pioneer, I went searching for those B652s, and I found a thread on reddit claiming that the manufacturer had changed and the quality had dropped a lot.

Oh I see. Understand buddy. Well you can look at Energy as well as BIC America.
Vintage is old school.
Those Polk & CV are good units, makes me wonder why I didn't go with CV initially :)

Lemme know if u need any further advice also.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2014, 5:33 pm

X_Factor wrote:

its also a good choice for the price, just make sure and get L/R that will match it properly
I would have bought that same centre on Amazon if I could find a matching L/R from Polk also on.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 27th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Zim wrote:
Humes wrote:New. I'm not an audiophile, but I appreciate good sound quality with my movies. As I said before, clear dialogue is important. I'll also be playing games on the system, so there's that. I doh even know what vintage is.

Nothing too much over $100USD per pair/center.

Pioneer, I went searching for those B652s, and I found a thread on reddit claiming that the manufacturer had changed and the quality had dropped a lot.

Oh I see. Understand buddy. Well you can look at Energy as well as BIC America.
Vintage is old school.
Those Polk & CV are good units, makes me wonder why I didn't go with CV initially :)

Lemme know if u need any further advice also.

Definitely!

Postby X_Factor » July 27th, 2014, 7:05 pm

i would love a pair of these with matching center
http://www.amazon.com/Cerwin-Vega-XLS-2 ... orstanding

Zim

Postby Zim » July 27th, 2014, 7:16 pm

X_Factor wrote:

I would have bought that same centre on Amazon if I could find a matching L/R from Polk also on.

Actually there are the new bookshelf monitors & floor standing which are matched for it. Even the older ones would do.

Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 27th, 2014, 9:29 pm

Zim wrote:Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)
^ ^ ^ An Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package w/ 42"LCD TV will do for the kids for now.

Eventually when $$$ permit (maybe over 2 years), I'll complete my ol' school, "Hi-Fi" stereo system... in a small (16'L x 12'W x 10' H) but purpose built, "dampened" listening room.

A few things to do first (plus a car project or two)... including a full restore of my ol' man's Garrard 401 transcription turntable... w/Shure Tonearm, Cartridge & Diamond stylus. All spares bought, only a new 'face plate' still needed... and maybe a motor 'referb' in the US or UK (similar to "blueprinting" an engine) to guarantee more precise speed control.

Already have 1st spare turntable (Kenwood KD 5100)... and my pride-&-joy...
Klipsch Epic CF-3 Floorstanding Loudspeakers... Trust me, that's all I'll need for 'clean' audio.

Also hoping to buy the ol' school amp (Audio Research), mixer (TEAC), tuner (Audio Research) and 2nd spare turntable (Technics SL-D2 Direct Drive) that I have on loan.

That should do it for a start, to enjoy some "real" music... my 250+ LP collection ranging from light classics, through rock (ol' school 'classic' & 'acid' mainly), ol' school calypso (a few), instrumentals, R&B and jazz (growing)... :)
Sanctifier wrote:FYI... 'LP' sales in the US alone crossed over 500,000 last year. :wink:
My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on August 30th, 2015, 11:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

Zim

Postby Zim » July 28th, 2014, 1:14 am

Sanctifier wrote:
Zim wrote:Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)
^ ^ ^ An Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package w/ 42"LCD TV will do for the kids for now.
wow lucky kids, nice system 4 them, something not too expensive & reliable. Nice! :)

Eventually when $$$ permit (maybe over 2 years), I'll complete my ol' school, "Hi-Fi" stereo system... in a small (16'L x 12'W x 10' H) but purpose built, "dampened" listening room.

A few things to do first (plus a car project or two)... including a full restore of my ol' man's Garrard 401 transcription turntable... w/Shure Tonearm, Cartridge & Diamond stylus. All spares bought, only a new 'face plate' still needed... and maybe a motor 'referb' in the US or UK (similar to "blueprinting" an engine) to guarantee more precise speed control.

Already have 1st spare turntable (Kenwood KD 5100)... and my pride-&-joy...

Klipsch Epic CF-3 Floorstanding Loudspeakers... Trust me, that's all I'll need for 'clean' audio.

Also hoping to buy the ol' school amp (Audio Research), mixer (TEAC), tuner (Audio Research) and 2nd spare turntable (Technics SL-D2 Direct Drive) that I have on loan.

That should do it for a start, to enjoy some "real" music... my 250+ LP collection ranging from light classics, through rock (ol' school 'classic' & 'acid' mainly), ol' school calypso (a few), instrumentals, R&B and jazz (growing)... :)
Sanctifier wrote:FYI... 'LP' sales in the US alone crossed over 500,000 last year. :wink:
My $0.02¢

Okay nice hope it goes your way. Well mine is mixed & matched (old & newish :oops: )

I LOVE those Klipsch units! How did you score those. Hmm, cool didn't know ppl here were still using LPs. Never had much experience with them though. Nice collection you have. Technics makes nice turntables, good choice. Impressive LP sales figure in the US btw :shock:

How would you know when / if the turntable's motor needs a refurb?
I like the metaphor you used :)
I take it that parts are still avaoiable for the old turntable?
BTW do those LPs sound clean and crisp? As mentioned before I haven't had much experience with them. Please pardon my ignorance.

Never used Audio research equipment either. They good?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2014, 1:22 am

Zim wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

Actually there are the new bookshelf monitors & floor standing which are matched for it. Even the older ones would do.

Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)
not looking for floor standers ATM. Which bookshelf speakers are matched to that center? You have an amazon link?

Zim

Postby Zim » July 28th, 2014, 3:34 am

Anton

Postby Anton » July 28th, 2014, 8:32 am

Anton

Postby Anton » July 28th, 2014, 1:23 pm

Good deal today on the LOTR Extended edition bluray set on Amazon!
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007ZQAKHU/ref ... 1740370942

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2014, 1:57 pm

Damn them jbl prices look good. :P

Zim

Postby Zim » July 28th, 2014, 2:34 pm

^ U sure? I find they expensive & the specs ain't all that.
I mean an 8" giving you 80 Hz :?
$6,000 EACH? :?
Also BIG difference in US to TT price (YES, I factored in S&H, duties etc...)

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 28th, 2014, 4:18 pm

hey guys i forgot to show the tv. its really amazing quality and the 3d is stunning. saving up to get that good quality theatre sound soon.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2014, 4:43 pm

Zim wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ An Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package w/ 42"LCD TV will do for the kids for now.
wow lucky kids, nice system 4 them, something not too expensive & reliable. Nice! :)
not too expensive... It's a factory reconditioned system with full warranty... @ $269 US shipped to Miami (eBay) I couldn't refuse. :)
It will let me "get my feet wet" for a few years, while I learn more about room acoustics, home theatre design, systems & setup.

Garrard 401 will be used with SME 3009 Tonearm, Shure V15 Type III Stereo Cartridge w/ Shure VN35E Biradial Stylus.

I LOVE those Klipsch units! How did you score those... Used ($750 US + Shipping)... eBay... like almost everything else that I buy these days... whether it's electronics, tools, heavy equipment, car parts, 'mint' LPs... whatever... eBay!

Technics makes nice turntables, good choice.... Yup the Technics SL-D2 Direct Drive is a GREAT unit... but I still prefer the '401.'
Hopefully the Technics will be my 'backup' and then the Kenwood KD-5100 will be for the kids.
......... Image
......... Kenwood KD-5100 turntable...
Sanctifier wrote:BTW about 6 months ago on eBay, an Audiophile listed a 'Loricraft (UK) reconditioned' 401 in a custom 'OMA slate plinth' (that alone is > $2,000 US). :roll:
He was asking over $9,000 US. IIRC it sold for over $5,500 US. Image
After seeing that, I decided to buy OEM spares and restore my Dad's Garrard 401. :lol:

How would you know when / if the turntable's motor needs a refurb?... Gut reaction! Do it well... Do it ONCE! I can't afford to cut corners and then have "do overs." The '401' is over 40 years old. About time for a "tune up" IMHO.

I take it that parts are still available for the old turntable?... Yup, eBay again. There were a lot of great quality '401' parts listed about 6 months ago. VERY expensive... but worth it. BTW I bought a 'backup' motor too.

BTW do those LPs sound clean and crisp?... Seems that ""Hi-Fi" buffs prefer the sound of LPs in preference to CDs etc. They say that reproduction from CDs is too "sterile"... while LPs deliver music that's more "alive." Their Image
Sanctifier wrote:Possibly because almost inaudible noises over a broad frequency range are "picked up" by the stylus during the recording session and transferred to the "Master disk."

This also may be because LPs have a very slight amount of "white noise" from the recording stylus that cuts the 'Master', which gives the LP more realistic "studio quality" playback.

Never used Audio Research equipment either. They good?... Yup, VERY good! That's what I used with the Technics to digitally remaster* some LPs a couple years ago. [*Removing the "snap,crackle & pop" from wear, careless handling and dirty equipment.]

Most older, heavily used LPs need this when archiving music files to a PC* or before 'burning' to CD for "general use".
I used DART XP Pro and a few others, back then... but I'll be using Audacity software from now on...
Sanctifier wrote:I'll also start with a 5-step LP Cleaning Routine...
(LP Cleaning Machine + Distilled water 'solution'... 'Glue'... 'Steam'... Distilled water 'solution' rinse... Vacuum drying)
Yup... 'glue' & 'steam' too :lol:

Sanctifier wrote:Image

*That's where I'm heading (eventually) with all my music/archived movies/streaming media (Netflix etc.) sent to my Dell PowerEdge T300 server (Yup, eBay again!)... and use LAN &/or 'RF' to transmit to any/all TV(s)/Speaker system(s) in the house... Maybe 'broadcast' multiple channels (audio + movies simultaneously to multiple destinations)... while still having a dedicated "Listening Room" for my 'stereo' music.
My Image
Last edited by Sanctifier on April 30th, 2015, 4:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 28th, 2014, 6:08 pm

^ I have one of those Nyrius wireless HDMI transmitter.. the one that travels 160ft .. and it works great! I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in wireless streaming of audio and video. Setup is easy as you just need to plug it on and it works on the spot without any software. And NO lag!! :D :D

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2014, 8:09 pm

^ ^ ^ Thanks for the feedback. Can you give more details on how to use it properly?
I bought one 'on sale' a couple weeks ago... but I have to install the Onkyo system first.

BTW do Nyrius offer additional transmitters for use with the receiver?
If so, maybe this might do the job of receiving (& broadcasting) output from multiple sources simultaneously.
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 28th, 2014, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » July 28th, 2014, 8:13 pm

Sanctifier always brings pwnage to every DIY ched.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2014, 8:52 pm

^ ^ ^ What ah do wrong now pioneer?... Just curious about a lot of topics, that's all. :lol:
I know little or nothing about Home Theatre systems and not much more about "Hi Fi"...
Just starting to learn from you guys. I just like to take things to a logical conclusion.

I got a deal on a new transmitter/receiver (1/2 price)... just trying to get the best out of it now...
and maybe 'work some magic' at the same time, just for fun. 8-)

My Image

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 28th, 2014, 9:50 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Thanks for the feedback. Can you give more details on how to use it properly?
I bought one 'on sale' a couple weeks ago... but I have to install the Onkyo system first.

BTW do Nyrius offer additional transmitters for use with the receiver?
If so, maybe this might do the job of receiving (& broadcasting) output from multiple sources simultaneously.

Well the one I bought was just a basic transmitter and receiver.

http://www.amazon.com/Nyrius-Transmitte ... +aries+pro

To use it, I just connected the transmitter to the HDMI port of my laptop and the transmitter is powered by a USB connection. But the one you posted is powered by a normal DC powered adapted. On the receiving end, you just need to connect your TV/projector or whatever output device to the receiver and it works.. and well the receiver is powered by a DC adapter as well.

To answer your other question, I don't think they sell additional transmitters to add on to your receiver. Even though if you buy a transmitter and receiver just for the transmitter, I don't think it would work with any other receiver besides the one you purchased it with. So therefore you would need to purchase another system.
Last edited by Cross Blood on July 28th, 2014, 11:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2014, 11:23 pm

^ ^ ^ So much for that idea... Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

Electronic Interiors Ltd

Postby Electronic Interiors Ltd » August 31st, 2014, 9:25 pm

Hey guys good to see this much interest in home theater.

I would like to let you all know that we are pleased to offer the following products and services :

Products :

Bowers & Wilkins
Speakercraft
Elan

Services :

Home Automation
Home Theater
Distributed Audio
Residential and Commercial A/V Solutions

Please feel free to call us at 362-2814 or 374-0711 to discuss our products and services or set up an appointment to come into the showroom.

Postby pioneer » September 7th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Demoed the Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin wireless dock yesterday...very impressed

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2014, 3:42 pm

I always look forward to a sanctifier post :lol:

Guys, I was wondering if its possible for those TV mounts to be moveable in not just an outward but downward also... Anyone ever saw that type of mount? I saw outward with a tilt but I want it to drop also. I assume it may have to have some hydraulics involved to have it lowered from the original height?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 18th, 2014, 6:34 pm

M_2NR wrote:I always look forward to a sanctifier post :lol:
Not sure if this is a compliment :) ... or picong :oops: