Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby hover11 » September 17th, 2024, 10:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
PariaMan wrote:She was hgonna implement the correct way starting with industrial and commercial first

Showing care for the small man

Commercial people would have just passed on that cost to the consumers.... Shrugs shoulders
So the logic is businessmen shouldn't be subjected to taxes because they will inflate their prices?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 17th, 2024, 10:26 pm

Makes sense lol. Anyone with a business exempt from tax because they will simply pass it on to customers. Include all land lords too so rent can stay low

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 17th, 2024, 10:27 pm

Imbert is also a businessman and represents the 1 % he knew exactly what he was doing

Postby paid_influencer » September 17th, 2024, 11:02 pm

hover11 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:She was hgonna implement the correct way starting with industrial and commercial first

Commercial people would have just passed on that cost to the consumers.... Shrugs shoulders
So the logic is businessmen shouldn't be subjected to taxes because they will inflate their prices?

businessmen is the wrong word tho. is an antiquated term, like bandit. antiquated term.

the correct term is shareholders. shareholders own the company.

the people that actually run the company ("the executive") are employed by shareholders. the executive have a legal duty to fulfil the wishes of the shareholders. Wishes that usually involve making as much profit as possible for the shareholders.

this is the joy of capitalism.

taxes will raise costs for everybody. it will punish companies that try to keep the same price. those companies will make less profit. they will have less capital. the market will correct against them.

what this tax does is move wealth towards those that own the means of production.
inflation will erase and devalue savings.
bank accounts will have the same dollar value but much less purchasing power
Last edited by paid_influencer on September 17th, 2024, 11:26 pm, edited 4 times in total.

wing

Postby wing » September 17th, 2024, 11:03 pm

She was going to tax commercial first? But was elected by singing axe the tax? Are you believing politicians promises? They serve the interests of the financiers, thought you might have forgotten.

Postby paid_influencer » September 17th, 2024, 11:29 pm

kamla did not implement any form of property tax in her term

wing

Postby wing » September 18th, 2024, 5:38 am

paid_influencer wrote:kamla did not implement any form of property tax in her term
She promised to the electorate that her government would axe the tax. She did not. Another poster above says that she was in fact going to implement tax on commercial, then residential. Does axe mean implement?

Postby bluefete » September 18th, 2024, 5:46 am

She did diddlysquat.

She could have taken action to repeal the law or vary it or something so that it would not have been so punitive for homeowners.

Postby zoom rader » September 18th, 2024, 5:50 am

PariaMan wrote:Makes sense lol. Anyone with a business exempt from tax because they will simply pass it on to customers. Include all land lords too so rent can stay low
wing wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:kamla did not implement any form of property tax in her term
She promised to the electorate that her government would axe the tax. She did not. Another poster above says that she was in fact going to implement tax on commercial, then residential. Does axe mean implement?
This is 2024

PNM is unfairly taxing US not UNC

U keep beating ur chest Kamla this and Kamla that. We paid no unfair taxes under UNC or PP

wing

Postby wing » September 18th, 2024, 6:08 am

PariaMan wrote:Makes sense lol. Anyone with a business exempt from tax because they will simply pass it on to customers. Include all land lords too so rent can stay low
wing wrote:
This is 2024

U keep beating ur chest Kamla this and Kamla that. We paid no unfair taxes under UNC or PP
We voted her into government to remove the tax and she did not. Now you want us to kick out the PNM for her to do what exactly? There must be a rum shop open somewhere, go relax and enjoy what Farley and the THA giving you.

Postby hover11 » September 18th, 2024, 6:12 am

wing wrote:
wing wrote:
This is 2024

We voted her into government to remove the tax and she did not. Now you want us to kick out the PNM for her to do what exactly? There must be a rum shop open somewhere, go relax and enjoy what Farley and the THA giving you.
Regardless, the standard of living was much better when kamla was in power compared to the sorry excuse for leadership offered by the present administration, she accomplished alot more than Rowley did in his NINE years, don't worry Rowley order imbert to present the best budget to forget the 9 years of hardship to BS the followers like yourself to justify why he should be given another Five years

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2024, 7:06 am

hover11 wrote:

I never said businessmen shouldn't be taxed... All I'm saying is when it does happen, the consumer would end up paying for it. How many small businesses you known absorb unnecessary costs?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 7:26 am

hover11 wrote:

I never said businessmen shouldn't be taxed... All I'm saying is when it does happen, the consumer would end up paying for it. How many small businesses you known absorb unnecessary costs?
So Rowley said he would not shutdown Petrotrin and then did just that

Circumstances change and then we adjust

But starting with the residential is just plain wrong and just a move by the elite to avoid being taxed for as long as possible

If people can not acknowledge this, then God help us

The 1 percenters will give them sheit to eat and call it ice cream, and they will say thanks and ask for more

Postby hover11 » September 18th, 2024, 7:35 am

hover11 wrote:

This is where the consumer has choice, if I notice something I want is too expensive locally, I order it online. If businessmen don't want to absorb any losses or costs and set any price that they wish they are entitled to do such but the consumer has a choice not to buy. If ppl don't buy they have no choice but to drop prices.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 7:38 am

Good points exactly what I was going to say

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 18th, 2024, 7:41 am

imagine they taking property to give they friends more contract and pocket for themself to get work like this.
Just think after 10M on a blasted roof and STILL it leaking all over after "renovations", the good ole tried and tested PNM bobol, no maintenance; run it way down and den give friend contract to shoddily rebuild.
According to zoom, take bull.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/weeks-a ... ff00a4b0f8

Postby zoom rader » September 18th, 2024, 7:59 am

wing wrote:
wing wrote:
This is 2024

We ? Who is we ?

U a Rowlee lick arse

In PP term we did not pay any house tax.

We dealing with present .

Rowlee himself said he will not bring any house taxes, but look where we are now

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 9:00 am

If hypocrisy was a person

Read what Rowley said in 2009

Rowley hits property tax
December 20, 2009 News 6 Comments
By Sean Douglas
December 20 2009 – newsday.co.tt

Dr. Keith RowleyDIEGO Martin West MP Dr Keith Rowley believes that people from all walks of life are angry at the Government’s property tax which they blame on squandermania. Rowley was speaking on Friday in the Lower House on two bills to bring the new tax, the Property Tax Bill 2009 and the Valuation of Land (Amendment) Bill 2009.

He said, “In my constituency there is anger, anxiety and resentment, at both ends of the spectrum.”

Saying the property tax is obviously a revenue-raising measure, he said people are saying if the Government had better handled its largesse, there would have been no need for this tax.

“Stop taking your own advice that nobody is annoyed…,” he advised the Government. He said they have brought the tax at the worst possible time, alluding to tough economic times. He repeatedly said that people were not against the idea of paying taxes but were upset that this measure could have been averted if the Government had acted differently previously, in its expenditure.

Rowley lamented that the Government in this bill had not taken the opportunity to begin a paradigm shift in how local government is treated. He lamented that the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) model – which holds local officials to a greater accountability to citizens – has not been adopted for local councils in Trinidad.

Saying the lifeblood of performance is money, Rowley said without such reform in Trinidad, the introduction of property tax would likely not bring improvements to local communities. Adding that the Government has not come clean over the property tax, he said the country would only have to wait until people’s bills are paid in September to find out if it is in fact a serious revenue earner.

“I suspect the three percent will be on values considerably higher than being made out to be. You’ll get good values for most properties,” he said, forewarning of high tax bills.

Scoffing at claims that some people might pay less tax than they now pay, Rowley quipped, “Don’t bother to tax me; Pass on the benefit.”

Rejecting the Government’s claim that the tax promoted equity between different people, he said there was no equity in North-West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) CEO Agatha Carrington being sent on leave pending an audit, while Udecott executive director, Calder Hart, remains in office, despite revelations at the Uff Commission of Inquiry.

Rowley made the point that the property tax is being imposed for something that is not a revenue-earner for him, that is, his home. He said that through no act of their own, persons living on Diego Martin Main Road might have found the value of their house climb over the years to $1 million or $2 million, and now be liable to the property tax, despite never having any intention to sell it or rent it out.

“If you try to defend the indefensible, you’ll create resentment and provoke people, and that is what we have at the moment.”

Rowley said in areas of his constituency, such as Upper Cemetery Street, there are residents who must pay water rates despite the fact that no water flows in the water-pipes laid down four years ago. He said any hike in such water rates under the property tax would now amount to provocation.

Rejecting claims that the property tax won’t cause hardship, he said, “I know a lot of people for whom $100 is a lot of money. A lot are struggling to make ends meet.”

ROWLEY ON THE ATTACK
“I want to tell my Government tonight that the tax I pay, I marking meh money. And it is to buy medicine for the hospital, chalk for the schools and to pay old age pension…”
As he registered his strong objection to the property tax on Friday night in the House of Representatives, in the Red House, Port of Spain, Diego Martin West MP Dr Keith Rowley demanded that the revenues collected from this tax be spent responsibly.

wing

Postby wing » September 18th, 2024, 9:13 am

No problem with what you posted. It's the hypocrisy on both sides, especially one who was elected to axe the tax, preferred not to, then saying all sorts of things and spreading conspiracy theories to confuse and fool the simpletons. If you referencing Rowley to make a point of hypocrisy, that's a really low bar to aim for.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2024, 9:17 am

Allyuh know allyuh fighting a lose battle right? Either way yuh hada pay.... Tanty K had the power to stop it and didn't... Atm she doesn't even look to be a favorite come next year.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 9:44 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Allyuh know allyuh fighting a lose battle right? Either way yuh hada pay.... Tanty K had the power to stop it and didn't... Atm she doesn't even look to be a favorite come next year.
I do not want it to stop

I just want the Commercial and Industrial to pay their fair share

With Kamla, it would have started with them while all Imbert is saying is its coming for those entities and not giving a timeline.

On a personal level, because of this I am voting UNC even though I voted PNM last two elections

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 18th, 2024, 10:06 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Allyuh know allyuh fighting a lose battle right? Either way yuh hada pay.... Tanty K had the power to stop it and didn't... Atm she doesn't even look to be a favorite come next year.
Exactly

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 10:53 am

Closer to election we should get a clearer idea if UNC's plan towards the property tax

But as right now I giving her my vote simply because of their past intention to start with commercial and industrial and then move to residential as I believe this is the fairer way to do it

I Have no problem with property tax but it must be equitable across the board and not only residential bearing the brunt of it

kyle115

Postby kyle115 » September 18th, 2024, 2:08 pm

Idk about that man.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 18th, 2024, 10:56 pm

Do you guys see "2%" on your assessment forms?

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 19th, 2024, 5:11 am

AlphaMan wrote:Do you guys see "%" on your assessment forms?

Yea I have % on my form

The back and forth about property tax, it’s back and it not going anywhere even if there is a change in government it’s going to stay.

At a minimum the method may be varied, but it’s here. Residential collection already started so that can’t be reversed for Commercial and Industrial instead.

We’re screwed either way

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 19th, 2024, 5:35 am

Yes but we can show we disagree by voting out the PNM

Postby paid_influencer » September 19th, 2024, 7:41 am

PariaMan wrote:Yes but we can show we disagree by voting out the PNM

there are also plenty of other reasons to vote out dem fkers rowley, hinds, imbert no vision no progress only continued suffering comes from voting pnm or abstaining

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2024, 9:31 am

Bro the PNM African man are renters & Squaters they dont care about house taxes and have no need to vote non PNM parties.

The greedy Injuns could not care for less to vote non PNM. Most of these greedy injuns was blanked by UNC and decided to mash up UNC in favor of PNM.

Moral is Trinidad is full of people that only put themselves first and don't give a damm about you.

Postby adnj » September 19th, 2024, 9:59 am

Bro the PNM African man are renters & Squaters they dont care about house taxes and have no need to vote non PNM parties.

The greedy Injuns could not care for less to vote non PNM. Most of these greedy injuns was blanked by UNC and decided to mash up UNC in favor of PNM.

Moral is Trinidad is full of people that only put themselves first and don't give a damm about you.

Squatters are held responsible for property taxes also.