New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System Comes alive March 2nd!

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2020, 11:01 am

ADONI wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:any official confirmation of the system being deferred for a month?

Heard it on the news with Rohan speaking, saying they doing warnings instead to sensitize people still.

porbably not ready for actual official launch yet, so spin tactics nah.

But I have noticed something on the roads today
for some reason, (idk if it's related to this points system & traffic cam system) ppl seem to be a good bit more considerate & mindful.
I say this because this morning I passed a few junctions in and around PoS where there is usually gridlock on mornings and where ppl regularly blocking the intersections daily trying to cross when there is no place for them to go, and imagine my surprise to see ppl actually NOT blocking the intersection, actually waiting in an orderly fashion till there is space across on the other side for them to proceed without blocking the rest of the traffic flow.

A very pleasant & welcome surprise indeed, & I hope it lasts.

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2020, 11:24 am

^^ TOTALLY demerit points on traffic camera... it wukin!!

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 11:49 am

but tickets still sharing without points?

Postby aaron17 » March 2nd, 2020, 11:59 am

redmanjp wrote:but tickets still sharing without points?

Why is that a question?
Just obey the laws....or last month for carelessness?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2020, 12:01 pm

ADONI wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:any official confirmation of the system being deferred for a month?

Heard it on the news with Rohan speaking, saying they doing warnings instead to sensitize people still.

porbably not ready for actual official launch yet, so spin tactics nah.

But I have noticed something on the roads today
for some reason, (idk if it's related to this points system & traffic cam system) ppl seem to be a good bit more considerate & mindful.
I say this because this morning I passed a few junctions in and around PoS where there is usually gridlock on mornings and where ppl regularly blocking the intersections daily trying to cross when there is no place for them to go, and imagine my surprise to see ppl actually NOT blocking the intersection, actually waiting in an orderly fashion till there is space across on the other side for them to proceed without blocking the rest of the traffic flow.

A very pleasant & welcome surprise indeed, & I hope it lasts.

sins, I agree with you......no shoulder runners on my end, men stopping on amber etc....I saw some even afraid to overtake a police vehicle :lol:

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 12:12 pm

the issue with blocking intersection- that is not against the law except where there is a 'box'- i would think if you entered the intersection before the light turns red you should be OK? what if there a lil traffic so u can't make it through before the light change?

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2020, 1:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:the issue with blocking intersection- that is not against the law except where there is a 'box'-

tho there is a law that states it is unlawful for a vehicle crossing an intersection to stop within the "box", there is also the aspects of little things I like to call "road courtesy" & "road sense", and most vehicle operators on the road today neither have nor apply either. Not because you don't see a "box", that doesn't equate to it's ok to block an intersection, & imho a person that'd do such would have to be a real professional unthinking and inconsiderate jackhole to block an intersection and stop other road users from going on their way simply because there isn't a "box" to tell them don't do that.

redmanjp wrote: i would think if you entered the intersection before the light turns red you should be OK?what if there a lil traffic so u can't make it through before the light change?

if you blocking the traffic from moving in the other direction you won't be ok at all, reason be damned, & the current charge for it is called obstruction of vehicular traffic.
If traffic ahead is what stopped your vehicle in the "box", who's fault is that other than yours? Remember, it's you and you alone responsible for what that vehicle on the road while in the drivers seat. so you couldn't see there was traffic ahead and wait till there was room on the other side of the junction before crossing , thus making sue to not block any part of the intersection?

All I saying is this...
When it comes to using public roadways, more often than not one or a few persons lack of thought, or patience, or consideration, or their unwillingness or inability to wait 30-60 seconds and pay attention to what's happening ahead, does cause all sorts of traffic pile up problems for a lot of people that wouldn't go thru that if the persons at the intersection trapped in the "box" used a bit better judgment.

But as ah venting
A pet peeve of mine is lane splitting. what happen that give these jackasses the idea that even tho you diving one vehicle you should do all you can to occupy two lanes? Often crawling along slowly because they fraid they mash up the car suspension cuz they put over-sized rims on the vehicle/drop it low, & they broke ass can't afford to buy parts? Or is it to show off that they driving a vehicle? Either way pick one blasted lane & get yuh mudda-ass in it & stay in it, & doh change lanes unless it necessary.

Postby adnj » March 2nd, 2020, 2:28 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Just realise that when they say "driving or in charge of a vehicle," in charge could mean park up on the side of the road getting you a ticket if you on the phone.

Then you use your phone in the passenger seat if that is the case
That doesn't qualify. There is no legal definition for "while in charge of a vehicle." Case law seems to indicate that the only exception is to be a distance away from the vehicle and clearly demonstrating no intent to drive.

Postby zoom rader » March 2nd, 2020, 2:38 pm

adnj wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Just realise that when they say "driving or in charge of a vehicle," in charge could mean park up on the side of the road getting you a ticket if you on the phone.

Then you use your phone in the passenger seat if that is the case
That doesn't qualify. There is no legal definition for "while in charge of a vehicle." Case law seems to indicate that the only exception is to be a distance away from the vehicle and clearly demonstrating no intent to drive.
Well step away from the car or use the hands free system in the car if equipped.

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 7:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:the issue with blocking intersection- that is not against the law except where there is a 'box'-

tho there is a law that states it is unlawful for a vehicle crossing an intersection to stop within the "box", there is also the aspects of little things I like to call "road courtesy" & "road sense", and most vehicle operators on the road today neither have nor apply either. Not because you don't see a "box", that doesn't equate to it's ok to block an intersection, & imho a person that'd do such would have to be a real professional unthinking and inconsiderate jackhole to block an intersection and stop other road users from going on their way simply because there isn't a "box" to tell them don't do that.

redmanjp wrote: i would think if you entered the intersection before the light turns red you should be OK?what if there a lil traffic so u can't make it through before the light change?

if you blocking the traffic from moving in the other direction you won't be ok at all, reason be damned, & the current charge for it is called obstruction of vehicular traffic.
If traffic ahead is what stopped your vehicle in the "box", who's fault is that other than yours? Remember, it's you and you alone responsible for what that vehicle on the road while in the drivers seat. so you couldn't see there was traffic ahead and wait till there was room on the other side of the junction before crossing , thus making sue to not block any part of the intersection?

All I saying is this...
When it comes to using public roadways, more often than not one or a few persons lack of thought, or patience, or consideration, or their unwillingness or inability to wait 30-60 seconds and pay attention to what's happening ahead, does cause all sorts of traffic pile up problems for a lot of people that wouldn't go thru that if the persons at the intersection trapped in the "box" used a bit better judgment.

consider this- you are supposed to obey a traffic signal right? that includes a traffic signal that is on green. so, in the absence of a 'box' wouldn't the law trump courtesy?so technically you are required to proceed through a green light.

another thing- if there isn't any traffic at first but as u pass the white line one car in front just decide for whatever reason to stop (dropping & pickup passenger, old talking with another driver etc.) in other words that person all of a sudden obstructs traffic how can u be blamed in that situation?
Last edited by redmanjp on March 2nd, 2020, 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

linton

Postby linton » March 2nd, 2020, 7:50 pm

That last thing happened to me already and I got a $1000 ticket for breaching a red light .

A pH driver stopped in the middle of the road as soon as he swung out the corner while the light was green .

I stopped behind him and then the light turned red . When he moved off and left me in the center of the intersection , I had to move so I wouldn't block the opposite cars from moving .

The police said I broke the light and gave me a ticket

You cant even forget your driver's permit home now.

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 8:01 pm

^ should have challenged it

the law should be 'entering the intersection' on a red light, not being in the intersection when the light turns red that is the offence.

wikipedia have the right idea

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_light_camera#Operation
A red light camera (short for red light running camera[citation needed]) is a type of traffic enforcement camera that captures image of vehicle that has entered an intersection in spite of the traffic signal indicating red (during the red phase).[1] By automatically photographing vehicles that run red lights, the photo is evidence that assists authorities in their enforcement of traffic laws.[2][3] Generally the camera is triggered when a vehicle enters the intersection (passes the stop-bar) after the traffic signal has turned red.

linton

Postby linton » March 2nd, 2020, 8:13 pm

I thought about doing that , but getting time off was a problem , plus , lawyer etc. Candle would cost more that the funeral .

They were second in line to cross and I asked them if they didn't see what happened.

One said that he only see me break the light . I told him that people children does pay for the wickedness they do.

He say , well that go be their problem .
Last edited by linton on March 2nd, 2020, 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 8:14 pm

^ now demerit points would add to that tho

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 2nd, 2020, 8:22 pm

stopping at the green light due to the fear of blocking the intersection is dangerous unless the traffic is really slow. Its when slow traffic is really slow and muffler bearings go tru because they are frustrated to wait the cycle the award of the ticket should occur. I once got cautioned for being caught in the middle of a yellow box by two SRP who wanted to ticket me at curepe junction. The light changed 5 times and only one car in front of me was able to cross from west to east because maxis were occupying the corner using the spot as a taxi stand obviously endorsed by the police, and the street from north turing east kept filling the little available space. i eventually said firetruck that and then went tru when green and got stuck, the police ignored the 3 cars behind me who went tru as well and decided to take it up on me. It went really nicely, they appeared drunk smelling like stag at 12 in the middle of they day lecturing me about being in the wash out yellow box. After some lengthy argument they told me to not do it again and go ahead as if they were doing me a favor lol. i remember telling one of them look the maximan calling you to give you the money dey boi and the BUGWAAANAAA went

Postby adnj » March 3rd, 2020, 12:20 am

redmanjp wrote:

All I saying is this...

consider this- you are supposed to obey a traffic signal right? that includes a traffic signal that is on green. so, in the absence of a 'box' wouldn't the law trump courtesy?so technically you are required to proceed through a green light.

another thing- if there isn't any traffic at first but as u pass the white line one car in front just decide for whatever reason to stop (dropping & pickup passenger, old talking with another driver etc.) in other words that person all of a sudden obstructs traffic how can u be blamed in that situation?
The regulations state:

GREEN means you may

GO ON if the way is clear.

Take special care if you mean

to turn left or right and give

way to pedestrians who

are crossing.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 3rd, 2020, 7:40 am

Why are they making excuses about starting soft to give people a chance? the laws have been there forever, everyone is fully aware of when they are breaking the laws, why give them a chance? just enforce the damn rules for once please.....
We are just too damn accustomed to breaking the law and getting away with it......

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 1:45 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

All I saying is this...

The regulations state:

GREEN means you may

GO ON if the way is clear.

Take special care if you mean

to turn left or right and give

way to pedestrians who

are crossing.

nothing about giving way to cross traffic then?

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 1:47 pm

i saw 3 cameras next to each of the traffic lights facing both directions on South Quay by City Gate. 6 in all. that have to be the Red LIght cameras?

Postby pete » March 3rd, 2020, 2:10 pm

By the Ana Street traffic lights there are a bunch of cameras on the traffic lights as well.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 4th, 2020, 8:38 am

While we are on the subject of "lights": WHY PEOPLE DON'T TO USE INDICATORS OR THE TURN SIGNALS ON THEIR VEHICLES when they are about to execute such maneuver ?

It costs nothing to use. I am sure there are tuners who don't use them. So why you don't do it?? Tell me??
Last edited by Seeker on March 4th, 2020, 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 4th, 2020, 8:43 am

Because laws can change, speed limits change, road rules change; and let's face it, our sign placement is piss poor.
Ben_spanna wrote:Why are they making excuses about starting soft to give people a chance? the laws have been there forever, everyone is fully aware of when they are breaking the laws, why give them a chance? just enforce the damn rules for once please.....
We are just too damn accustomed to breaking the law and getting away with it......

Postby Ben_spanna » March 4th, 2020, 9:31 am

So the cable barriers between the highway around the turnoff by Nagar have been damaged, yesterday some kant coming from South who wanted to go pricesmart side, used a gap there to simply fly across the north highway sending drivers into a panic mashing brakes! and he gone about hsi life normal normal.........

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2020, 10:53 am

Seeker wrote:While we are on the subject of "lights": WHY PEOPLE DON'T TO USE INDICATORS OR THE TURN SIGNALS ON THEIR VEHICLES when they are about to execute such maneuver ?

It costs nothing to use. I am sure there are tuners who don't use them. So why you don't do it?? Tell me??
Cause I think there is no law for it.

Hand signals still effect

Postby maj. tom » March 4th, 2020, 11:05 am

Nothing wrong with hand signals. Hand signals supersede every other type of indication in fact. But they don't use it!

devrat

Postby devrat » March 4th, 2020, 11:33 am

License Officers and Police were out in force yesterday at "Gulf City" Traffic lights, all directions, all lanes. Spoke to one officer and I quote "We making sure the motoring public is ready for the system".

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2020, 10:56 am

This whole "grace" period is because the entire thing has not been proclaimed as yet

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2020, 11:11 am

devrat wrote:License Officers and Police were out in force yesterday at "Gulf City" Traffic lights, all directions, all lanes. Spoke to one officer and I quote "We making sure the motoring public is ready for the system".

popular spot to issue speeding tickets
As more and more drivers stick to 100 on the highways, they're moving to 50 kph roads where people routinely do 60-70
I've seen them timing along the stretch by Usine Ste Madeline pond in south as well....easy pickings on any long stretch of 50 kph road....

devrat

Postby devrat » March 5th, 2020, 11:34 am

devrat wrote:License Officers and Police were out in force yesterday at "Gulf City" Traffic lights, all directions, all lanes. Spoke to one officer and I quote "We making sure the motoring public is ready for the system".

popular spot to issue speeding tickets
As more and more drivers stick to 100 on the highways, they're moving to 50 kph roads where people routinely do 60-70
I've seen them timing along the stretch by Usine Ste Madeline pond in south as well....easy pickings on any long stretch of 50 kph road....
They usually wait in the bushes right after coconut drive entrance. There are two signs roughly 50ft apart, 1st is 50 kph and right after 40 kph. See lots of people getting tickets there. One person was fined $1000 for 47 kph.
Last edited by devrat on March 5th, 2020, 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 5th, 2020, 11:36 am

Are there cameras to monitor if drivers use mobiles while driving?