Diversification! Oil prices falling!

orangefox

Re: oil prices falling

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 8:22 am

We should be asking how do we as a country with $$ BB $$$ oil investments maintain
growth and weather out a business cycle ? Or more important adjust our revenues.

The average person wants to know if my job/business is safe, can I expect my expenses to increase,
while my wage/revenue does not ? Or am I in the wrong job. Or wrong business.

And can I trust our Gov't to provide leadership and an educated well thought of revenue path for TT.

Nothing is free.
Once one starts to think "freeness" then others know where you coming from and where you not going.

Postby UML » January 8th, 2015, 8:24 am

...No Budget cuts for 2009 mas'

Although Prime Minister Patrick Manning on Wednesday announced a further $3 billion reduction in the national budget, Culture Minister Marlene McDonald said there will be no cuts when it comes to Carnival 2009.

"It was said to the interest groups there will be no scaling back...money has already been allocated to the interest groups. By and large the status quo remains," said McDonald at the post-Cabinet press conference, at the Prime Minister's office, St Clair yesterday.

However, McDonald said there would be some measure of tightening with respects to individual requests for monetary assistance for hosting Carnival functions and other events.

McDonald added that bandleaders have indicated that costume bookings are full and this was because some persons received February's salary in advance.

She also issued a call for soca artistes to perform live on the music trucks for Carnival.

McDonald said this has been on the decline and is needed to enlighten masqueraders and lift the standard of Carnival.

She added that the National Carnival Commission has hired some 100 persons to help with painting and other odd jobs at Carnival venues.

McDonald also took the opportunity to recognise the passing of Kelvin Pope "The Mighty Duke". She said he has made an invaluable contribution to this country's calypso heritage.

McDonald said the Ministry's permanent secretary is in contact with Pope's family and will give whatever assistance they require.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___ ... &smobile=y

Wine wine wine wine beg beg beg beg dis is how the PNM handles carnival during financial instability!!

Postby Habit7 » January 8th, 2015, 9:09 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:80%, T&T is going to go bankrupt because 80% of GATE applicants choose to do BA Carnival Studies, a Humanities program (one of the cheapest at UWI).

There really is such a thing??

How to make money from the region's biggest cultural celebration and the country's largest tourism earner, what a waste!

WOW so UWI does offer Carnival Degree. Here I taught only UTT did this.....

Look how good things get abused, over $48K for a Carnival Degree :roll: :roll:

And then we want to know why GATE takes so much toll on the budget. It would be a sad shame if things like Medicine and Engineering is cut from GATE because of dotishness like this.
I think ppl need to understand that just because in their myopia, they don't see the benefit of a certain degree, doesn't mean it has no worth. If you want to curb spending focus on the billions lost by the govt not recouping taxes, LifeSport, failed foreign travel including $15000 bribes to journalists.

One of the many facets of a diversified economy is a monetised cultural product. This product is the same product being embraced by US cities, London and many Caribbean countries. 15 years ago carnival in Jamaica was a laughable possibility. Today it is a growing event and guess who is employed to produce, plan and perform in it? Trinis.

So thinking the handful of creative arts students who choose to get a professional certification in an annual multimillion event is somehow hindering T&T from producing the balanced budget that is eluding the PP is just dotish.

Postby Redman » January 8th, 2015, 9:28 am

How is that defensive?

Its a question -if yuh cant answer relax and let somebody make a solid contribution

Postby redmanjp » January 8th, 2015, 9:30 am

so what time is he PM's address today?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 8th, 2015, 9:51 am

orangefox wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Habit7 wrote:80%, T&T is going to go bankrupt because 80% of GATE applicants choose to do BA Carnival Studies, a Humanities program (one of the cheapest at UWI).

one of the issues in Trini is people do a degree just to say they have a degree.
UTT offers Fashion and Carnival bachelor degrees but this is the first time I hear that it is being offered at UWI also.
These so called degrees cost around $48,000 TT.
In terms if how likely this degree is to get you a Job, I cannot answer that at all. I have never seen a position asking for a Bachelors degree in Carnival at any company.

If not for GATE, absolutely no one is going to spend $48K on a degree in Carnival. You could use $3K out of that and go to a trade school to learn something to get you a Job and all the same skills to make a carnival costumes.
The degree is mostly about making costumes, god alone knows what the exams will be like? maybe multiple choice on who win dutty wine competition?

See waste of time degrees that gate sponsoring should be cut.

Hola ?

How you plan to stop a person from studying a certain subject ?

What University degree is a waste of time ?

Education and getting a job are two different issues.

Only educated tuners will Comprende or is it Comprendo ? .. :mrgreen:

comprendo is personal reference son. lol

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 8th, 2015, 9:57 am

orangefox wrote:To go back to the subject at hand.

^^ Only for the educated :) ... take a glance at Asia :) ... or mighty USA

Are they complaining about falling oil prices ?

Ask why ?

hedge bets? i bet that is corporate america desperate attempt at a bluff.

ill admit though.. pushing for the high while gambling on the low is a crafty move. if they really did it.
Last edited by bluesclues on January 8th, 2015, 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 8th, 2015, 10:00 am

Habit7 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

There really is such a thing??

How to make money from the region's biggest cultural celebration and the country's largest tourism earner, what a waste!

WOW so UWI does offer Carnival Degree. Here I taught only UTT did this.....

Look how good things get abused, over $48K for a Carnival Degree :roll: :roll:

And then we want to know why GATE takes so much toll on the budget. It would be a sad shame if things like Medicine and Engineering is cut from GATE because of dotishness like this.
I think ppl need to understand that just because in their myopia, they don't see the benefit of a certain degree, doesn't mean it has no worth. If you want to curb spending focus on the billions lost by the govt not recouping taxes, LifeSport, failed foreign travel including $15000 bribes to journalists.

One of the many facets of a diversified economy is a monetised cultural product. This product is the same product being embraced by US cities, London and many Caribbean countries. 15 years ago carnival in Jamaica was a laughable possibility. Today it is a growing event and guess who is employed to produce, plan and perform in it? Trinis.

So thinking the handful of creative arts students who choose to get a professional certification in an annual multimillion event is somehow hindering T&T from producing the balanced budget that is eluding the PP is just dotish.

duprey and calder hart, and they say howai approve a billion dollar loan for duprey before the collapse. and this man is we finance minister when he should be on the clico stand answering questions.

Postby UML » January 8th, 2015, 10:19 am

Carnival just like the failed Summit of the Americas!!!

Nothing to show for it and a waste of taxpayers money!!!

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 10:32 am

UML wrote:Carnival just like the failed Summit of the Americas!!!

Nothing to show for it and a waste of taxpayers money!!!

Minority view. But respected.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 10:48 am

Carnival is not about profit for Government.
Government is not about profit.

Carnival is serious $$$$ business.
Carnival is re-distribution of wealth.

Carnival can assist with revenue for a lot of people.
Carnival is when the Catholic Priests say " Go my Child, and Be Blessed " :)

Carnival can indirectly assist with " oil price falling " ...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 11:39 am

orangefox wrote:Hola ?

First of all are we to fund absolutely anything that a man decided to pull out of he ass for the sake of him making money?

This is wrong and abuse of tax payers money, schools need to be held accountable for what they are offering. It is behavior like this that is what is going to make the hard working students suffer when GATE is cut because a zillion dollar budget doe to every tom dick and harry want to get a BSc Degree in dutty wine.

Remember this is tax payers money and the government themselves say the budget is exhausted because of GATE. So seriously if they plan on cutting it they better think ahead and do an audit in what is causing this abuse of GATE.

To cut GATE funding for Medical, Science and Engineering and to some extent a business degree because people want to pay the same money to learn who win dutty wine will be unfair to hard working students. Medical and Engineering field are highly sophisticated and important to our country and the world, and should not suffer because of this level of assness going on in this place.

If GATE cut totally tomorrow, all those Universities are going to abolish their Carnival Degrees and that in itself says a lot about what they are offering in the first place. We are supposed to be encouraging the scientific field in this country. We need more doctors and scientists not more people to jump up and play mass wtf. What kind of thing UWI encouraging? they are supposed to know better.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 8th, 2015, 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 8th, 2015, 11:47 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
orangefox wrote:Hola ?

First of all are we to fund absolutely anything that a man decided to pull out of he ass for the sake of him making money?

This is wrong and abuse of tax payers money, schools need to be held accountable for what they are offering. It is behavior like this that is what is going to make the hard working students suffer when GATE is cut because a zillion dollar budget doe to every tom dick and harry want to get a BSc Degree in dutty wine.

Remember this is tax payers money and the government themselves say the budget is exhausted because of GATE. So seriously if they plan on cutting it they better think ahead and do an audit in what is causing this abuse of GATE.

To cut GATE funding for Medical, Science and Engineering and to some extent a business degree because people want to pay the same money to learn who win dutty wine will be unfair to hard working students. Medical and Engineering field are highly sophisticated and important to our country and the world, and should not suffer because of this level of assness going on in this place.

Now Carnival is a business and makes money in Trinidad, but what you need to make money is not a degree in it, its a skill that can be had from a Trade.

If GATE cut totally tomorrow, all those Universities are going to abolish their Carnival Degrees and that in itself says a lot about what they are offering in the first place. We are supposed to be encouraging the scientific field in this country, not this nonsense. We need more doctors and scientists not more people to jump up and play mass wtf..

Effectic until you can say how many students are actually doing these degrees you really can't blame the strain due to GATE on students doing degrees in carnival. If it's just say 1% of the total number of students then the savings involved in cutting them would be insignificant considering the cost of an engineering degree or a medical degree is higher than that of a degree in carnival.

It's why I asked you before for a number but you never gave one. Until then it's just talk basically with no facts.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 11:54 am

^ well its a fair question.

All I can say is at UTT the Carnival and Fashion degree classes are full and they all graduate as anyone can graduate from those programs. The Engineering is down to like 3 students when final year comes around. So really and truly UTT produces a tiny portion of Engineering Degree students as opposed these other fields.

With the exception of Carnival there are many other useless degrees that tax payers are also funding in this place. WTF is BSc Sports Management? And UWI has a BA in African And Asian culture? WTF just google that and you go find the answers, tax payers should not have to pay $48K for that.
UTT has one called BA in Culture aswell again more nonsense. Then a BSc in Food Technology which is how to cook really thats all it is about, its a chef program on how to cook for $48K that you can learn for $3K in a culinary arts school.

And I think BSc in Jockey Shorts management.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 12:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well its a fair question.

All I can say is at UTT the Carnival and Fashion degree classes are full and they all graduate as anyone can graduate from those programs. The Engineering is down to like 3 students when final year comes around. So really and truly UTT produces a tiny portion of Engineering Degree students as opposed these other fields.

With the exception of Carnival there are many other useless degrees that tax payers are also funding in this place. WTF is BSc Sports Management? And UWI has a BA in African And Asian culture? WTF just google that and you go find the answers, tax payers should not have to pay $48K for that.
UTT has one called BA in Culture aswell again more nonsense. Then a BSc in Food Technology which is how to cook really thats all it is about, its a chef program on how to cook for $48K that you can learn for $3K in a culinary arts school.

You seem to speak for ALL taxpayers :)

You cannot control education via your method.

A BSc in Food Tech is not a cook.

Tell us what you got your degree in Effect ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 12:04 pm

Habit7 wrote:I think ppl need to understand that just because in their myopia, they don't see the benefit of a certain degree, doesn't mean it has no worth. If you want to curb spending focus on the billions lost by the govt not recouping taxes, LifeSport, failed foreign travel including $15000 bribes to journalists.

I have never disputed that Carnival makes money and employment. Somewhat in a very bad way like saying well gambling and rum makes money and employs people but I know from first hand experience it destroys families etc. I was one of the few people who supported Manning at the time he wanted to close down those Casinos. But hey it makes money and creates employment so in some ways I turn a blind eye towards it because of this.

The issue with Carnival is what they charging $48K for is not worth even remotely close to that. Most people here know i am against carnival for multiple reasons, rape and unwanted children who turn out to be street children and vagrants on drugs is one of the biggest reasons I am against Carnival. BUT yet still I am saying ok fine its a business and we for that we can turn maybe 1 blind eye and 1 open.

The issue is making money off this is a Trade. Selling $48K degrees is an abuse of tax payers money and had it not been for GATE people would have went to Trade schools, community colleges, and paid a fraction of the price to learn the same thing.

Give it time you go see we will have BSc in Welding and Mason just now. Wanna bet?

Postby Habit7 » January 8th, 2015, 12:08 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 8th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 12:36 pm

orangefox wrote:
You seem to speak for ALL taxpayers :)

You cannot control education via your method.

A BSc in Food Tech is not a cook.

Tell us what you got your degree in Effect ?

Information Technology from the UK

Which was admittedly highly useless as opposed to Certs and Experience which then cost a tiny fraction of the price and of which actually helped. You need to look at it objectively, these schools are businesses and prey on young people who don't know better.

The recent boom for student loans in the US have proven just that aswell.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 8th, 2015, 12:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well its a fair question.

Before you edited your post you mentioned studying engineering to make videogames. You also mentioned you did a degree in IT. Anyways if you really studying engineering you not remotely sounding close to how an engineer thinks. An engineer would at least note what "full" really means with say a ballpark figure. In your example full could be all of 20 students. Even if it's say 100 students (I'm being generous) studying BSc in Carnival at UTT the total number of GATE students that enrolled in July 2012 was 52,300 in all institutions.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-09- ... t-students

The figure probably even went up since then.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 12:56 pm

^ I agree with you. Its not just carnival, gate should be given to courses based on the likelihood of getting a job with said degree and how much is this going help a person, before funding it.

Do you agree with this method?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 8th, 2015, 1:11 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I agree with you. Its not just carnival, gate should be given to courses based on the likelihood of getting a job with said degree and how much is this going help a person, before funding it.

Do you agree with this method?

No I don't agree. I believe a means test to determine a person's ability to pay full price would be better. I don't believe that truncating the allowable degrees at this point is justified. UWI is overflowing with engineers already. Med school in Trinidad is FULL. It's not that BSc in Carnival and other areas of study are taking away from fields like engineering and medicine or law for example.

I believe that if you want to even go down the road of not funding certain degrees you would have to do a study to determine really and truly how much value certain degrees really bring in rather than just being knee jerk/rum shop talk reactionary about things.

There is more to life than engineering.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 2:04 pm

Lol ...
Bunny .. Effective is a fraud.
Google his web site.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 8th, 2015, 2:14 pm

orangefox wrote:Lol ...
Bunny .. Effective is a fraud.
Google his web site.

These?

http://www.effectic.com/cgi-sys/suspendedpage.cgi

http://www.wiizl.com/effectic.com

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 8th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Went to a meeting today and most petrol stations were jammed packed. Decided to full also as I had less than qtr tank.

I believe people are fearing the removal of the fuel subsidy in PM's speech today.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 8th, 2015, 2:50 pm

Nah she won't do that. That's political suicide. But I'm waiting to hear what she says

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 8th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Chemical wrote:Went to a meeting today and most petrol stations were jammed packed. Decided to full also as I had less than qtr tank.

I believe people are fearing the removal of the fuel subsidy in PM's speech today.

Could never understand the logic in this . It's not like they could fill up to last a couple years. :roll:

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 3:00 pm

shotta 20 wrote:
Chemical wrote:Went to a meeting today and most petrol stations were jammed packed. Decided to full also as I had less than qtr tank.

Could never understand the logic in this . It's not like they could fill up to last a couple years. :roll:

:D :D :D :D :D

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 8th, 2015, 3:10 pm

White CZ4A wrote:Nah she won't do that. That's political suicide. But I'm waiting to hear what she says

Don't be surprised if the subsidy on Super will be cut by a % or removed in an effort for people to convert to CNG.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 3:11 pm

^ do we pay tax on the parts needed to convert to CNG?

If we do i think thats the place we need to start if we want people to convert.