.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Jaipaulsingh

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby Jaipaulsingh » May 26th, 2014, 10:33 am

Lick bottom? But ent ah man nibble ah boy nipple?

kaylex

Postby kaylex » May 26th, 2014, 10:58 am

The Fire Next Time

By Sunity Maharaj
Story Created: May 24, 2014 at 7:46 PM ECT

When the time comes, let us remember that it was in the week of May 18 - 24, 2014 that we sealed the fate of our country and our future.

This was the moment when, faced with the terror mushrooming around the corner, we chose to lower our eyes, turn our heads and duck into the grimy alleyway to Room 201, there to hide our inadequacy and bury our fear under a mirthless uproar of scandal and laughter.

What serious people could allow themselves to be distracted by the indiscretions and possible misdemeanours of Anil Roberts while giving him a pass on the dangerous developments being fuelled through his Ministry’s funding of the Carapo Jamaat via the LifeSport programme? Distracted from Anil by Anil. How much cuter can we get?

If we knew we would be passing this way again, and so soon, we could have saved ourselves the millions spent on the Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup. For, once again, we are in the privileged position of seeing just how a country, its government, its forces of law and order, and its people of every class, willingly and with their eyes wide shut, put themselves on a path to suicide, celebrants at their own funeral—until the first shot is fired. Then the complicit conga line scatters, each man, woman and child for themselves, rushing behind burglar-proof bars to pump up the music and drown out their guilt, while out on the street the blood flows along the path to someplace forgotten.

It has taken us less than 25 years to work our way right back to the massive loss of political legitimacy which opens the way for the entry of illegitimate forces of power, armed with their own ideas of law and order.

If there were one responsible person in the Cabinet of Trinidad and Tobago, they would step forward today and demand that the LifeSport programme be immediately shut down, audited and investigated, with appropriate action taken to establish accountability of people and process. Expenditure figures alone tell us that the government has lost control of LifeSport and is now flirting dangerously with those in control. But who among them has the courage to bell this cat? Which one has the impulse to put country before personal ambition or to recognise when they’re being hoisted on their own petard?

Imam Hassan Ali of the Carapo Jamaat needs to sit down and have a chat with his fellow Imam Abu Bakr. Perhaps, like Bakr of the 1980s, he sees himself as a man on a mission to clean up the rot of this republic by creating his own state of discipline within the indisciplined state of Trinidad and Tobago.

For the young and lost who find their way to him, he and his mosque probably offer the leadership so lacking on the outside, a means to a better living and the family so sadly absent from their lives. History should tell him, however, that no good will come from putting them into the hands of desperate politicians and their power brokers, no matter the price they’re willing to pay.

The hand of history continues to write the stories of our lives as a people so disempowered that not even having our own hand on the instruments of state and power can convince us that we are now responsible and in charge. But we are. And ultimately, the future will demand answers and accountability of each one of us. We were here; what did we do? Well, we mostly lied to ourselves, and fooled each other, hiding the self-interest of wallet and back-pocket behind the veil of party, ethnic and group loyalty.

As the Head of the Public Service, the public interest requires that Reynold Cooper evacuate his comfort zone at the Prime Minister’s Office and deal with the situation at the Ministry of Sport.

It is his responsibility, not just the media’s, to investigate the report that permanent secretary Ashwin Creed had to flee the country on information that a hit had been put on his life.

What else might be going on with the public servants at the ministry? Next comes the Opposition Leader to say that a senior member of the Carapo Jamaat signed and submitted a financial document in the name of Mr Creed. Has Larry Howai so lost his moorings since becoming Minister of Finance that such allegations can occur under his watch without the most serious of interventions from him?

And now along comes the acting Commissioner of Police to pour fuel on the fire that is already threatening the life of journalist Mark Bassant. By recklessly blaming the victim, Stephen Williams has now emboldened the hand of anyone with a vendetta against Mark Bassant. Given his expressed opinion of the TV6 journalist’s reporting, his vow to “vigorously” pursue the case must be taken with a pinch of salt. Whether Mark Bassant’s reporting was irresponsible or not should be of no relevance to Mr Williams and the investigation.

If, at the highest levels of public office such unprofessionalism could exist, what is to be expected of the rest of us? Well, a lot actually. With the gatekeepers having abandoned the job, it is now left to us to man and woman the ramparts.

Prepare to stand up. It could be the start of something really good.

omegadan

Postby omegadan » May 26th, 2014, 11:23 am

That article by Sunity Maharaj was spot on... we were distracted FROM Anil BY Anil. Amazing.

Postby zoom rader » May 26th, 2014, 12:03 pm

Jaipaulsingh wrote:Lick bottom? But ent ah man nibble ah boy nipple?

That was false and the guy was charged

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » May 26th, 2014, 12:16 pm

You are false, the man was charged...that does not mean the allegations are false pedestrian :|

Postby UML » May 26th, 2014, 12:57 pm

kaylex wrote:The Fire Next Time

By Sunity Maharaj
Story Created: May 24, 2014 at 7:46 PM ECT

When the time comes, let us remember that it was in the week of May 18 - 24, 2014 that we sealed the fate of our country and our future.

This was the moment when, faced with the terror mushrooming around the corner, we chose to lower our eyes, turn our heads and duck into the grimy alleyway to Room 201, there to hide our inadequacy and bury our fear under a mirthless uproar of scandal and laughter.

What serious people could allow themselves to be distracted by the indiscretions and possible misdemeanours of Anil Roberts while giving him a pass on the dangerous developments being fuelled through his Ministry’s funding of the Carapo Jamaat via the LifeSport programme? Distracted from Anil by Anil. How much cuter can we get?

If we knew we would be passing this way again, and so soon, we could have saved ourselves the millions spent on the Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup. For, once again, we are in the privileged position of seeing just how a country, its government, its forces of law and order, and its people of every class, willingly and with their eyes wide shut, put themselves on a path to suicide, celebrants at their own funeral—until the first shot is fired. Then the complicit conga line scatters, each man, woman and child for themselves, rushing behind burglar-proof bars to pump up the music and drown out their guilt, while out on the street the blood flows along the path to someplace forgotten.

It has taken us less than 25 years to work our way right back to the massive loss of political legitimacy which opens the way for the entry of illegitimate forces of power, armed with their own ideas of law and order.

If there were one responsible person in the Cabinet of Trinidad and Tobago, they would step forward today and demand that the LifeSport programme be immediately shut down, audited and investigated, with appropriate action taken to establish accountability of people and process. Expenditure figures alone tell us that the government has lost control of LifeSport and is now flirting dangerously with those in control. But who among them has the courage to bell this cat? Which one has the impulse to put country before personal ambition or to recognise when they’re being hoisted on their own petard?

Imam Hassan Ali of the Carapo Jamaat needs to sit down and have a chat with his fellow Imam Abu Bakr. Perhaps, like Bakr of the 1980s, he sees himself as a man on a mission to clean up the rot of this republic by creating his own state of discipline within the indisciplined state of Trinidad and Tobago.

For the young and lost who find their way to him, he and his mosque probably offer the leadership so lacking on the outside, a means to a better living and the family so sadly absent from their lives. History should tell him, however, that no good will come from putting them into the hands of desperate politicians and their power brokers, no matter the price they’re willing to pay.

The hand of history continues to write the stories of our lives as a people so disempowered that not even having our own hand on the instruments of state and power can convince us that we are now responsible and in charge. But we are. And ultimately, the future will demand answers and accountability of each one of us. We were here; what did we do? Well, we mostly lied to ourselves, and fooled each other, hiding the self-interest of wallet and back-pocket behind the veil of party, ethnic and group loyalty.

As the Head of the Public Service, the public interest requires that Reynold Cooper evacuate his comfort zone at the Prime Minister’s Office and deal with the situation at the Ministry of Sport.

It is his responsibility, not just the media’s, to investigate the report that permanent secretary Ashwin Creed had to flee the country on information that a hit had been put on his life.

What else might be going on with the public servants at the ministry? Next comes the Opposition Leader to say that a senior member of the Carapo Jamaat signed and submitted a financial document in the name of Mr Creed. Has Larry Howai so lost his moorings since becoming Minister of Finance that such allegations can occur under his watch without the most serious of interventions from him?

And now along comes the acting Commissioner of Police to pour fuel on the fire that is already threatening the life of journalist Mark Bassant. By recklessly blaming the victim, Stephen Williams has now emboldened the hand of anyone with a vendetta against Mark Bassant. Given his expressed opinion of the TV6 journalist’s reporting, his vow to “vigorously” pursue the case must be taken with a pinch of salt. Whether Mark Bassant’s reporting was irresponsible or not should be of no relevance to Mr Williams and the investigation.

If, at the highest levels of public office such unprofessionalism could exist, what is to be expected of the rest of us? Well, a lot actually. With the gatekeepers having abandoned the job, it is now left to us to man and woman the ramparts.

Prepare to stand up. It could be the start of something really good.

i smell fear...what newspaper does she work with again? :roll:

Postby toyolink » May 26th, 2014, 1:08 pm

The undecided voter remains the key for those who aspire to the reins of power.
Unfortunately,the undecided are not attracted to the dysfunctionalism demonstrated by the hardcore members of the tribes.
Anything above 40 % turn-out on election day indicates that the population who avoids tribal thinking have decided to cast a ballot.
History is there to allow formulation of plans for future stratagies in order to achieve objects.
I like many others look forward to compelling reasons to vote in 2015.
Low voter seems to be on the cards.
Political aspirants and there supporters need to avoid demonstrations of arrogance,nepotism,stupidity,disrespect,dishonesty and any form of prejudice over the next 12 months in particular.
.....But then again -if wishes were horses!

Postby zoom rader » May 26th, 2014, 1:10 pm

Crackpot wrote:

You are false, the man was charged...that does not mean the allegations are false pedestrian :|

PNM mischief again

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2014, 1:15 pm

UML wrote:i smell fear...what newspaper does she work with again? :roll:

whats the issue with the news paper she works with?

machete

Postby machete » May 26th, 2014, 1:35 pm

It's actually the minority who supports the PNM, the majority are all still PP supporters.

In fact, while PP will obviously have lost some support, I've heard many people who either voted PNM or didn't vote last election, now fully support PP.

I heard an old gentlemen (afro trini) yesterday saying that he has never seen so much progress in Trinidad as what he observed over the last 4 years. He said he felt ashamed to support the PNM that squandered our wealth so badly. (this story is 100% true. I doubt he is alone.

What many don't realize is that while many bad talk the government, they don't want back the PNM, especially under Rowley. Penelope actually had a much better chance at the generals than Rowley simply because he WILL NOT garner the undecided voters due to this personality, looks (no shame in saying this, it matters a lot politically whether we want to confront it or not) and lack of new blood and vision.

Out of that 450+ PP got last election, expect ~400K to vote PP again...PNM will get about 315K and a max of 15 seats

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 1:38 pm

I thought the life sport programme was shifted from the sport ministry to the national security ministry with an audit underway by the ministry of finance. read that in one of the saturday papers.

Also I noticed that us Trinbagonians are so wrongside, Proper procurement legislation is finally in parliament and no one on this entire site has commented on it in this thread except for 1 person, yet the thread with anil is heading to page 20.

something is wrong with us as a ppl when we only talking about bacchanal and non - issues when important things like these, no one cares about except private sector interests groups.

I think we do not understand how important this legislation is, it can stop the john o' hallarans, ish and steves and calder harts etc etc etc

Postby UML » May 26th, 2014, 1:43 pm

SiR8081 wrote:I thought the life sport programme was shifted from the sport ministry to the national security ministry with an audit underway by the ministry of finance. read that in one of the saturday papers.

Also I noticed that us Trinbagonians are so wrongside, Proper procurement legislation is finally in parliament and no one on this entire site has commented on it in this thread except for 1 person, yet the thread with anil is heading to page 20.

something is wrong with us as a ppl when we only talking about bacchanal and non - issues when important things like these, no one cares about except private sector interests groups.

I think we do not understand how important this legislation is, it can stop the john o' hallarans, ish and steves and calder harts etc etc etc

I asked the PNMites a while back what was their party's policy on Procurement legislation....still waiting on their answer. I believe the PNM will vote against it.

machete

Postby machete » May 26th, 2014, 1:47 pm

SiR8081 wrote:I thought the life sport programme was shifted from the sport ministry to the national security ministry with an audit underway by the ministry of finance. read that in one of the saturday papers.

I totally agree. This is probably the best thing any government has ever done in Trinidad to stamp out corruption. Yet it goes unnoticed by the Media.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » May 26th, 2014, 1:48 pm

rfari wrote:
rspann wrote:when an African joins the PP they call him a brother but when an indian joins the PNM ,they call him a traitor.

Truth right here.

Nah the real truth is when an afro joins the PP is know as a lick bottom africian as Cro Cro always says.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 1:51 pm

Whats wrong with fear when Dana's killer is still out there roaming and the Police is saying that "Mark look for that?"

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 26th, 2014, 1:54 pm

machete wrote:It's actually the minority who supports the PNM, the majority are all still PP supporters.

In fact, while PP will obviously have lost some support, I've heard many people who either voted PNM or didn't vote last election, now fully support PP.

I heard an old gentlemen (afro trini) yesterday saying that he has never seen so much progress in Trinidad as what he observed over the last 4 years. He said he felt ashamed to support the PNM that squandered our wealth so badly. (this story is 100% true. I doubt he is alone.

What many don't realize is that while many bad talk the government, they don't want back the PNM, especially under Rowley. Penelope actually had a much better chance at the generals than Rowley simply because he WILL NOT garner the undecided voters due to this personality, looks (no shame in saying this, it matters a lot politically whether we want to confront it or not) and lack of new blood and vision.

Out of that 450+ PP got last election, expect ~400K to vote PP again...PNM will get about 315K and a max of 15 seats

On the flipside I know three persons, all indos, who find the government is doing utter rubbish moving from scandal to scandal and won't be voting for the PP next election. By your logic 3 vs 1 would be saying the swing is much larger against than for this government.

What many don't realize is that people vote for what they consider the lesser of two evils. Don't take my word for it. The last three elections prove that there are alot of persons very upset with this government. Momentum is a hell of a thing. The climate reminds me when almost everyone I knew didn't like how Manning was handling things late 2009 into early 2010.

Hardcores like it when their party spins things and duck and weave. That is to be expected but those on the fence don't appreciate it as it feels insulting to their intelligence. Especially if the issues are large and explanations hard to believe. I find it extremely difficult to believe that KPB didn't know about who was getting Life $$. She gets security briefings as head, GG mentioned to KPB that Carapo was receiving this $$, Anil has to convince the cabinet more $$ is needed for his ministry. I find it harder to believe that they think their explanation to the Anil video is an answer that will help them in the next election.

Finally, say something over and over and over and people will assume that it is right even without facts. Call into question Rowley's personality and state he isn't essentially "handsome" enough to be PM and people start to believe the drivel instead of realizing that the looks of a leader should not take precedent over the quality of his or her decisions.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 1:56 pm

Ask any contractor how Ministers and them demanding their cut before a project is started.

I was speaking to one and he said never in Trinidad has it been so bad.

You ever wonder why this will only go int pace close to the end of the five year term?

SMH

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 2:12 pm

PariaMan wrote:

Ask any contractor how Ministers and them demanding their cut before a project is started.

You ever wonder why this will only go int pace close to the end of the five year term?

SMH

I have no illusions about the PP bringing it to close to the end of their 5 year term but the fact of the matter that this legislation has been 12 years in the making, with the majority of the work being done within the last 2 years. Furthermore it should be noted that the PNM is neither for or against the procurement legislation.

Saying the bill was a promise of the People’s Partnership manifesto, Tewarie said, the Government had kept faith with recommendations on the bill by a parliamentary committee comprising government, opposition and independent members. He said while the Opposition didn’t oppose the recommendations, they hadn’t voted for it either. He said the joint select committee recommended regulations that should be presented by the Finance Minister.

still waiting on that comment to be refuted by the opposition but seems it is either true or seeing as the majority of the country does not care, they have not bothered to make a statement. So much for rowley being the supposed beacon of integrity as is pushed by the pnmites on this site.

Also the recommendations beings spoken about by Minister Tewarie is for Special purpose state companies (UDECOTT, HDC, NIDCO and the 53 other state companies) will now fall under the legislation, as well as govt to govt contracts. Previous to this, we were getting the same exact legislation however there is now a clause which shall include these 2 entities. If these 2 entities were not included in the legislation, we would be looking at nothing more than a updated version of the CTB Act which is easily bypassed.

Some articles by Afra Raymond who is President of the JCC for procurement legislation on behalf of the construction industry

http://www.raymondandpierre.com/procure ... cle03.html

The article below is actually quite good and gives some insight into the corruption and squandermania via the construction boom in PoS under the Manning Administration

http://www.raymondandpierre.com/procure ... cle01.html
Last edited by SiR8081 on May 26th, 2014, 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 2:28 pm

Our Politics are Leader dominated. The prime Minister sets the tone . It is unfair to say if Rowley wins it will be the same as under Manning.

The PP is in charge now and there job is to govern. The opposition must balance by showing the opposite side.

Manning is to blame for what happened under his watch and not the UNC which was then in opposition!

That said elections is all about voting out bad governments.

The Manning administration was bad. And we (including I) voted them out.

The KPB govertment is bad also (for different reasons) and we will vote them out too!

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2014, 2:49 pm

PariaMan wrote:

SMH

ah hear dey eh wah d normal 7%, but 10% and up front...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Some going as High as 15% up front .

Postby RASC » May 26th, 2014, 3:04 pm

PariaMan wrote:Some going as High as 15% up front .

15% is the cut nowadays. Apparently its worse than ever.
Spoken to many contractors that not even under Manning was it as bad as this.

All of them are strong anti PP as of late.

machete

Postby machete » May 26th, 2014, 3:06 pm

The Kickback thing is true but it's neither better nor worse....contractor's I know say things are a lot more fair now.

Previously, a lot of projects were selective tendering to companies all willing to give the same kickback. Nowadays PP has promoted the use of public tendering and prequalification (for selective tendering) making the entire process much more visible.

And the climate now is not even close to as when Manning was in power. Remember, UNCOP crowd is the majority of country and their stance whether it's justified or not is "NO PNM".

Which means you're looking at a 18-18 akin deadlock, however given PP's large margin in some constituencies.

I actually take back what I just said about PNM getting 15 seats....it'll be close to 20, but not more.

machete

Postby machete » May 26th, 2014, 3:07 pm

RASC wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Some going as High as 15% up front .

15% is the cut nowadays. Apparently its worse than ever.
Spoken to many contractors that not even under Manning was it as bad as this.

All of them are strong anti PP as of late.

LOL which industry? Because a lot of them are smiling all the way to bank...no PP hate, especially amongst contractors. B real

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 3:16 pm

If corruption was a problem that you really wanted an end to, you would demand of your gov't that they bring the procurement legislation into law ASAP.

But from the comments on this site, it seems that corruption is only a problem when you're not getting a piece of the pie and the shoe is on the other foot.

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2014, 3:17 pm

is only the injun dem smiling to d bank....doh vex wit wah i say...is true.....play blind to it nuh....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 3:18 pm

I can only speak of what I heard directly from the horses mouth and i quote

"It has never been so bad much much worse under the PP. Ministers asking for 15% upfront"

This contractor is in the construction field from side walk to buildings.

They are also owing said contractors millions and simply refusing to pay.

Many of these contractors are getting desperate but at the same time afraid to speak out!

HGave you already forgotten the fire engine fiasco. Iwas on hand minutes after it happened and I can tell you it was no more than 50 feet . 10 million dollars?

And would you believe i heard this is from an Indian contractor who voted for PNM in last elections?
Last edited by PariaMan on May 26th, 2014, 3:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2014, 3:19 pm

http://news.gov.tt/content/government-s ... sers/gjohn

Mus agree.....She IS the PM, fine people ent like she, but doh talk down to she nah..

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 3:25 pm

What exactly did he do wrong ?

Not heard anyone try to explain as yet.

If she was not capable of speaking coherently why did she take the call?

Whatever wrong happened if any was self inflicted.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2014, 3:33 pm

PariaMan wrote:Our Politics are Leader dominated. The prime Minister sets the tone . It is unfair to say if Rowley wins it will be the same as under Manning.

The PP is in charge now and there job is to govern. The opposition must balance by showing the opposite side.

Manning is to blame for what happened under his watch and not the UNC which was then in opposition!

That said elections is all about voting out bad governments.

The Manning administration was bad. And we (including I) voted them out.

The KPB govertment is bad also (for different reasons) and we will vote them out too!

Herein lies Trinidad's biggest problem. After 5 years every Government looks like a bad Government. The sad part is the allegations remain the same no matter the Administration - corruption, nepotism, favouritism, elitism