it depends on what the owner of the facility decides to offer obviously. Without sanctioning or affiliation a facility can be made to any standard.Mit_Dynasty wrote:gt-foure wrote:Mit_Dynasty wrote:Are we ever going to get a new track, cause this thing i swear going on for like forever?
however there are private tracks being built slowly but surely we[racers/fans] need to support them in anyways possible if we want to secure a better future in motorsports for t&t...
One question I am left to ask is will these private tracks have proper facililites or will they just be a private piece of land with a strip?
nismoid wrote:Back in the early 80's when I was a member of TTASA there were alot of "Beau-rats". I stopped being a member after the "Beau-rats" protested my car that was a purposely built GT-2, but allowed a certain "sponsor" to import a foreign used car of very similar specs run. Now 20+ years later it seems like nothing has changed, wow progress!
rcadiz wrote:nismoid wrote:Back in the early 80's when I was a member of TTASA there were alot of "Beau-rats". I stopped being a member after the "Beau-rats" protested my car that was a purposely built GT-2, but allowed a certain "sponsor" to import a foreign used car of very similar specs run. Now 20+ years later it seems like nothing has changed, wow progress!
Case in point - In 2009 2 members of the Rally Club were suspended for 2 years on the grounds that they brought the Club into disrepute. They went the way of legal advice which could have caused a lot more damage and cost. The TTRC and the suspended competitors agreed that we would go through MATT as a Court of Appeal and abide by any decision taken without pursuing the matter further. I am pleased to say that the TTRC lost the case and was forced to re-instate the members immediately. Today those 2 members and the Club are long passed the issue and the 2 members are very active in the running of events. This is all part of what we are trying to accomplish by moving to a Federation and having the Governing Body actually Govern and stay out of throwing events and managing championships.
tr1ad wrote:so you ok ... once you getting to race?
THE_FUGITIVES wrote:How all these Fools in here Decide to make this Argument when we get a place to race , Why they didnt yap think nasty mouths when threads like these was put up viewtopic.php?f=24&t=332849&hilit=track , EVERYONE WAS QUIET THEN , IGNORING IT , NOW WATCH THE RASSWHOLEEESS,
and the thing is , theres nothing they doing to find a solution, only talking bad bout this one that one , do something nah allyuh , form a group , have protests , give ideas nah??? Thats right all you can do is nothing but talk crap in here but still find Yourselves to the Race meet TTASA might have LOL
Most of the arguments in here are between points made by Link (who is the Vice President of TTASA), AutoSport (who is the head of AutoSport Promotions, AutoSport Racing Association and who is on the board of MATT) and rcadiz (who is the Vice President of TTRC (Rally Club) and also on the board of MATT).THE_FUGITIVES wrote:How all these Fools in here Decide to make this Argument when we get a place to race , Why they didnt yap think nasty mouths when threads like these was put up viewtopic.php?f=24&t=332849&hilit=track , EVERYONE WAS QUIET THEN , IGNORING IT , NOW WATCH THE RASSWHOLEEESS,
and the thing is , theres nothing they doing to find a solution, only talking bad bout this one that one , do something nah allyuh , form a group , have protests , give ideas nah??? Thats right all you can do is nothing but talk crap in here but still find Yourselves to the Race meet TTASA might have LOL
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:no disrespect, but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T
tr1ad wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T
END OF THREAD
THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Ok so im wrong and they are right, ive done nothing but they are doing something, good luck motorsports in T&T.
sparky wrote:The directors of MATT who wrote on this forum have said through their writings that the way to go is through the NSO ASN. The only organization holding that status is TTASA. I also do not hold any grief for TTASA because of their past but I as a member of TTUNDRA am willing to put aside my prejudices in the interest of moving motor sport forward. THE MILLION QUESTION IS ARE YOU WILLING TO DO THE SAME. I do not expect you to allow TTASA to walk over you but the way forward can be negotiated. NOW THAT IS A WORK IN PROGRESS. Lets get back to basic TTASA was the one to successfully get a place for drag racers, we are not contented to race in a parking lot[no offense intended] so it is only natural to gravitate towards them but in so doing we gravitate not as individuals. We do so as a body of drag racers called TTundra.
tr1ad wrote:THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Ok so im wrong and they are right, ive done nothing but they are doing something, good luck motorsports in T&T.
is a chest burning experience you having there?
rcadiz wrote:sparky wrote:The directors of MATT who wrote on this forum have said through their writings that the way to go is through the NSO ASN. The only organization holding that status is TTASA. I also do not hold any grief for TTASA because of their past but I as a member of TTUNDRA am willing to put aside my prejudices in the interest of moving motor sport forward. THE MILLION QUESTION IS ARE YOU WILLING TO DO THE SAME. I do not expect you to allow TTASA to walk over you but the way forward can be negotiated. NOW THAT IS A WORK IN PROGRESS. Lets get back to basic TTASA was the one to successfully get a place for drag racers, we are not contented to race in a parking lot[no offense intended] so it is only natural to gravitate towards them but in so doing we gravitate not as individuals. We do so as a body of drag racers called TTundra.
First let me be very clear - We have to 'use' the name TTASA, not go the way of TTASA. This is to ensure that Trinidad and Tobago does not lose FIA Affiliation. At the end of the day the only thing needed is the name to ensure continuity. The internal structure however must change to be more equally representative. The answer is MATT organizations are NOT willing to join TTASA as affiliates - we must be allowed an equal vote as to the future path of motorsport.
Consider this simple scenario:
We have the following disciplines already up and running with established infrastructure (some more than others). I have attached the names of the respective bodies as well for consideration also (no specific order of importance):
Stages Rallying - TTRC - NSO for Rallying
Karting - TTKA - NSO for Karting
Dexterity - CARS
Drifting - DWO (I believe)
Drags - ASA and TTASA - NSO/ASN
Circuit - ASA and TTASA - NSO/ASN
Motocross - TORMATT (there is also Mr. Woods)
Now let me ask you for example - can TTASA presently make decisions for the betterment of Rally and Karting and Dex, given that these organizations have established themselves as very reputable and well performing NSO's. The organizations already have well established Championships, not to mention strong links to other islands for regional competition. The TTRC (and i am not tooting our horn here, i just happen to know what has been told to us) is one of the top performing NSO's in the Ministry. The ONLY thing that we require the ASN for is FIA sanctioning for international events.
As you can see its only the Drags/Circuit situation that is the bone of contention, which ironically are also the most financially viable (food for thought). The name TTASA must be retained for the FIA affiliation status, however TTASA in its present form should not still be a member's organization with the traditional Pres, VP, Treasurer, etc. etc. TTASA needs to switch to Federation type and allow each organization a vote as to how motorsport is governed. The President of the Federation TTASA will serve to act on the decisions taken by the majority of the Federation.
Because TTASA today gets a piece of tarmac to race on temporarily should not automatically make them the governing body over all of us. The TTRC and TTKA and CARS are all managing their own affairs and have legitimately earned a voice as we move forward. Since when are Drags and Circuit more important than Rally, Kart, and Dex? TTASA is NOT supposed to be hosting events - this has been dictated to them by FIA/NACAM (i can say this having been there when it was said). With all respect to TTASA - How many executives have come in and out the door from President go back in the last 3-5yrs. My point is that although they are the ASN for FIA, it is fact that there has been a lot of internal instability at a time when the other organizations have really gotten there act together administratively.
So let's re-structure TTASA as a motorsport Federation NOW. Give each organization (including TTRC, TTKA, TTUNDRA, DWO, CARS, ASA, TORMATT etc etc) an equal vote on ALL decisions and we move forward with the Government's support. TTASA membership that exists today will fall into either one of the competitive associations and clubs. Auto-sport will decide what they intend to do (i.e. only the not-for-profit association will be permitted to sit on the Federation board). If the present TTASA executive wishes to host events then they can decide on what they would like to do.
Folks this is not a difficult scenario. IT IS THE ONLY WAY.
I am assuming that the reason for the birth of TTUNDRA was to give the drag racing drivers a voice. How come we don't see Rally / Kart / Dex drivers forming their own associations? I am just giving you food for thought but maybe there wouldn't be a need for a drag racers association if things were being done correct at top administrative level and you felt as though the club/association had your best interests at heart. Again this is simply for consideration. And so you know there are some Rally car budgets that rival and exceed the investment by the most expensive Dragsters, and the drivers have faith that the club is going to make the sport the top priority which encourages them to spend, and race, and for no financial reward at the end of it - bragging rights and a little trophy.